Jump to content











Photo

Hiren´s Boot Changes


Best Answer Cyrowll , 12 February 2014 - 04:26 PM

OK let me check

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n

  

OK let me check


Thank you. Works very well.
Best regards Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 10 February 2014 - 05:12 PM

Hello.

 

I want to change the memtest86 from hirens boot 15.2, to a news verion 5.01. I try to do but I couldn't do it. Can anyone help me?

 

Thank you



#2 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 1826 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 February 2014 - 05:22 PM

Hi,

 

Did you try to open/edit the iso in ultraiso, winimage, winrar, 7zip, etc?

 

Regards,

Erwan



#3 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 10 February 2014 - 06:40 PM

Hi,

 

Did you try to open/edit the iso in ultraiso, winimage, winrar, 7zip, etc?

 

Regards,

Erwan

yes, the memetes86 is in dos option, and I edit the file and the path to run the iso,, and nothing....it says something about ramdisk?!?!



#4 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member


  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 10 February 2014 - 06:44 PM

Hi,

 

Did you try to open/edit the iso in ultraiso, winimage, winrar, 7zip, etc?

 

Regards,

Erwan

Careful with Winimage, it can cause UPPERCASE /lowercase Problems.

 

it says something about ramdisk?!?!

What does it say about ramdisk?

 

:)



#5 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 1826 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 February 2014 - 06:54 PM

see screenshot.

you want to update tools.7z which contains memdisk.exe

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  hbcd.png   97.07KB   1 downloads


#6 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 10 February 2014 - 07:35 PM

see screenshot.

you want to update tools.7z which contains memdisk.exe

 

ok. but the memtest86 is .iso or .gr, not .exe?!?!?



#7 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member


  • Expert
  • 1313 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 08:04 PM

but the memtest86 is .iso or .gr


There is a file memtest86+-5.01.bin.gz too.
title Memtest86+ V5.01
#http://www.memtest.org/
kernel /memtest86+-5.01.bin.gz
Works booted from a USB stick.

#8 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 1826 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 February 2014 - 08:22 PM

ok. but the memtest86 is .iso or .gr, not .exe?!?!?

 

Depends to what you are refering : the dos version in HBCD (called from a cmd batch) or the syslinux version.

What I know is that HBCD contains a memtest.exe which is in tools.7z :)

 

Regards,

Erwan



#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member


  • Team Reboot
  • 10417 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:13 PM

Topic moved from Grub4Dos to Hiren's section.

 

@Cyrowll, bem-vindo. :)



#10 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:32 PM

Obrigado @Nuno Brito


Edited by Cyrowll, 10 February 2014 - 09:46 PM.


#11 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:39 PM

Depends to what you are refering : the dos version in HBCD (called from a cmd batch) or the syslinux version.

What I know is that HBCD contains a memtest.exe which is in tools.7z :)

 

Regards,

Erwan

 

There is a file memtest86+-5.01.bin.gz too.

title Memtest86+ V5.01
#http://www.memtest.org/
kernel /memtest86+-5.01.bin.gz

Works booted from a USB stick.

 

 

Here´s the default file in hiren´s boot,

 

title 3) MemTest86+\n
find --set-root /HBCD/Boot/memtest.gz
map --mem /HBCD/Boot/memtest.gz(fd0)
map --hook
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
map --floppies=1
 

This file is located in my usb drive: F:\HBCD\mem.lst

 

I test with .bin file and doesn't work.

 

The memtest.exe you mean is not the memtest86+......


Edited by Cyrowll, 10 February 2014 - 09:54 PM.


#12 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member


  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:16 PM

 

 

I test with .bin file and doesn't work.

 

 

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n



#13 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:19 PM

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n


OK let me check

#14 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:26 PM   Best Answer

OK let me check

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n

Please try this - https://www.mediafir...jy6bp2f23cw8y2n

  

OK let me check


Thank you. Works very well.
Best regards

#15 StuardBr

StuardBr

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 20 December 2016 - 06:41 PM

 Hello!

 

First, sorry for rise this zombie;

 

Second:

 

 

How do you do this? I search for a very long time and this is the ONLY place a found this memstest in "gzip" format and bootable.

 

I found the site of the memtest and dowloaded the new version, but isn't in gz extension. How do you compressed a .img file and still bootalble?

 

PS: I tested too in Hiren's Boot CD and is working very well, the problem is that i don't like other doing the things. I like to know how to do it myself :)


Edited by StuardBr, 20 December 2016 - 06:42 PM.


#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder


  • Advanced user
  • 13300 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 December 2016 - 10:42 AM

 

How do you do this? I search for a very long time and this is the ONLY place a found this memstest in "gzip" format and bootable.

 

I found the site of the memtest and dowloaded the new version, but isn't in gz extension. How do you compressed a .img file and still bootalble?

Go here:
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

get the .iso.gx file:
http://www.memtest.o...86 -5.01.iso.gz

open it in 7-zip.

You will find inside the .iso a BOOT folder and inside it a file MEMTEST.IMG and a [BOOT] folder with inside Bootable_1.44M.img.

Check the CRC of these files against each other, and against the one you got from Agent47's link (also opening the .gz file in 7-zip).

So, extract either the \BOOT\MEMTEST.IMG or the \[BOOT]\Bootable_1.44M.img, name it as you like it and compress it to .gz (using 7-zip or if you prefere gzip).

 

Explanation:

the .iso.gz is a compressed bootable .iso that uses the El-Torito "floppy emulation" approach, so the .iso actually simply contains a bootable floppy image ( Bootable_1.44M.img) which is normally "hidden" in the .iso if you mount it (but that 7-zip can see alright) and also a "visible" copy (MEMTEST.IMG).

Since both are identical and both represent a floppy image and grub4dos accepts floppy images .gz compressed for floppy mapping, that's it.

 

:duff:

Wonko 


  • StuardBr likes this

#17 StuardBr

StuardBr

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 21 December 2016 - 10:56 AM

Go here:
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

get the .iso.gx file:
http://www.memtest.o...86 -5.01.iso.gz

open it in 7-zip.

You will find inside the .iso a BOOT folder and inside it a file MEMTEST.IMG and a [BOOT] folder with inside Bootable_1.44M.img.

Check the CRC of these files against each other, and against the one you got from Agent47's link (also opening the .gz file in 7-zip).

So, extract either the \BOOT\MEMTEST.IMG or the \[BOOT]\Bootable_1.44M.img, name it as you like it and compress it to .gz (using 7-zip or if you prefere gzip).

 

Explanation:

the .iso.gz is a compressed bootable .iso that uses the El-Torito "floppy emulation" approach, so the .iso actually simply contains a bootable floppy image ( Bootable_1.44M.img) which is normally "hidden" in the .iso if you mount it (but that 7-zip can see alright) and also a "visible" copy (MEMTEST.IMG).

Since both are identical and both represent a floppy image and grub4dos accepts floppy images .gz compressed for floppy mapping, that's it.

 

:duff:

Wonko 

 

WAT? Only this? No black magic, summon of devils, nothing? I tested here and is working very well. Thank you for the explanation, i like to know how the things works.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users