Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

[WB 2013.09.01] "No project is defined for building"


Best Answer pscEx , 26 December 2013 - 05:40 PM

No reason to believe it's not his dev machine, which is *of course* running the version he modified, rather than a version he had just retrieved from the same place *I* must retrieve it. None at all; he certainly doesn't say in his posting here.

 

I lost the motivation to reply here.

 

Do you think, I'm so stupid, that that I use the development version of my source code for test?

 

What I did is:

  • Download the actual version of WinBuilder from reboot.pro into an empty directory in my host.
  • Typed "Auto"

Topic closed.

 

Have fun with BartPE!

 

Peter

Go to the full post


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
37 replies to this topic

#26 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:14 PM

Peter, does AUTO works for you from a clean folder?

 

I'm saying this just to rule out a possible problem on the current version of Win7PE available for download.

 

If changes are being made and this was not being tested from a clean folder, we might just be wasting our time here. :cheers:

 

 

Just as reminder that even getting one single command to work is not an easy task.



#27 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:18 PM

As far as I remember, I tested it successfully on XP SP1 x86 host

 

I have just started a new test, but that will take a while with download of the win7 iso ...

 

Peter



#28 Baylink

Baylink

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:38 PM

I myself was wondering whether Peter had a separate test machine which he could completely clean off, to make sure that, perhaps, his builds weren't working where mine were not because he was testing on his dev box. Hopefully, it's clear that by "firewalled", I was talking about "%CPU Utilization"... not an actual firewall. Though I do have Avast Free/Shields running, yes.

It is now, like 90 minutes since I said AUTO, and my WinbuilderJ window still contains what I said above that it did; if it has done anything more, it hasn't told me. In the meantime, I downloaded 082, and have been running that against Win7PESE...

and as I typed that, it fired VirtualBox for me to test.

I am going with "WinbuilderJ is beta, and people wanting to do production work should be steered to 082 for the time being", myself.

Edited by Baylink, 24 December 2013 - 04:39 PM.


#29 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:49 PM

Those two files were /it/, Peter.

Nothing else there.

Will try the other, Nuno; tnx.

In other words: The INSTALL did not write anything into your WinBuilder area.

For me, the most propably reason is that some security tasks of your system prohibit that.

 

And when there is no project, it is not possible to select a project for build :clap:

 

Peter



#30 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:58 PM

As far as I remember, I tested it successfully on XP SP1 x86 host
 
I have just started a new test, but that will take a while with download of the win7 iso ...
 
Peter

Works perfectly!
 
Here the console output of the complete session (without confusing Art-ASCII):

Spoiler

 

Peter



#31 Baylink

Baylink

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2013 - 05:41 PM

Yup. None of that stuff happened here, and there were no corroborating error messages to tell me why it might not have; "downloading and installing Win7PE" was the last thing I saw.

I have an XmasEve party to attend tonight, so I'm off to prep for that while my second (expanded) WB082/W7PESE build completes (SetMaxRes tripped Avast, which *did complain in real time*; it didn't notify me of any problems during the WBJ build; I turned it back off).

I'll try, for completeness' sake, redoing a fresh AUTO with Avast on pause, but probably not til sometime Christmas Day -0500. Peter, I know you're in UTC+1; which zone is Nuno in?

#32 Baylink

Baylink

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2013 - 05:47 PM

No, never mind.

I've just read Nuno's peremptory thread-lock message on the Billy-Bob thread. If he is disinclined to give value to *the thing that I do* -- to wit: *identifying and elucidating* on precisely where the pinch points are that make the project he's working on less than useful to people -- I'm sorry, but that's the only help I can provide; I'm not a coder -- not on this level, anyway.

Snapping at people who -- y'know what? *are* providing help -- and cutting them the fuck off in mid sentence, though, that is *not going to help you at all*.

Nothing I said in that thread was "gimme gimme". It was "if you're getting complaints -- and I see that you are; they're in public forums -- *here is why*, and *here is the most productive avenue to fix it, assuming you care*.

I will interpret his response as "nope; don't care". And if he doesn't care, I don't see any particular reason that I should, either.

[ and apparently, I'm giving up on WB082 as well, since the only project which appears useful to me, Win7PESE, also throws random errors in unidentifiable places, on anything larger than a 'recommended' build. <sigh> ]

You have a nice day, gents.

Damn shame.

Edited by Baylink, 24 December 2013 - 06:32 PM.


#33 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 December 2013 - 06:08 PM

I'll try, for completeness' sake, redoing a fresh AUTO with Avast on pause, but probably not til sometime Christmas Day -0500. Peter, I know you're in UTC+1; which zone is Nuno in?

 

Same one

 

Peter



#34 Baylink

Baylink

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 December 2013 - 03:39 PM

PS: Merry Christmas. :+)

#35 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 December 2013 - 04:18 PM

Two facts to consider:

- You just had the confirmation from Peter on a clean machine that the AUTO command is fully functional.

- You are unable to build *any* kind of winbuilder project.

 

 

So, I'd suspect that you might indeed need to look into the firewall settings or something that is blocking the software from running. Not much else that we can do on our side and the only "thanks" we get is seeing our work being called "winbuilderj" as reward.



#36 Baylink

Baylink

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 December 2013 - 04:49 PM

You are cordially invited to read my other posting, explaining in nauseating detail why it's functionally impractical for both these programs to have the same name. It's not a knock, it's not an attack; you simply *cannot do it*, adn expect users to be able to make any use of the information available about either.

What I had was confirmation from Peter that *he got it to build on some machine about which I know nothing*.

No reason to believe it's not his dev machine, which is *of course* running the version he modified, rather than a version he had just retrieved from the same place *I* must retrieve it. None at all; he certainly doesn't say in his posting here.

As for firewalls: those and realtime AV blocking are completely separate things, but *either* will prompt me before blocking something, as that is the default setting, and also my preferred one -- and indeed, my Winbuilder082 attempts with Win7_PESE popped an AV fail on SetMaxResolution, which I had to remove from the build to succeed... so I know that they're working as expected.

Neither subsystem popped up a warning when attempting to do a fresh, clean, AUTO build.

Oh: to further illustrate my point:

> You are unable to build *any* kind of winbuilder project.

I am? No; I've built two: Win7_PESE with the recommended build, and an expanded version, which took three attempts due to various fails in different places.

Oh, you didn't *mean* Winbuilder 082?

Edited by Baylink, 26 December 2013 - 04:51 PM.


#37 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 December 2013 - 05:40 PM   Best Answer

No reason to believe it's not his dev machine, which is *of course* running the version he modified, rather than a version he had just retrieved from the same place *I* must retrieve it. None at all; he certainly doesn't say in his posting here.

 

I lost the motivation to reply here.

 

Do you think, I'm so stupid, that that I use the development version of my source code for test?

 

What I did is:

  • Download the actual version of WinBuilder from reboot.pro into an empty directory in my host.
  • Typed "Auto"

Topic closed.

 

Have fun with BartPE!

 

Peter



#38 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 December 2013 - 07:29 PM

You are cordially invited to read my other posting, explaining in nauseating detail why it's functionally impractical for both these programs to have the same name. It's not a knock, it's not an attack; you simply *cannot do it*, adn expect users to be able to make any use of the information available about either.

 

I'm sorry, it was too long of a post and after a while it is hard to read or even reply. Short messages work best.

 

I should point out that this is the winbuilder project. We provide a base platform for building boot disks while you are repeatedly comparing our project to someone else's project that is built on top of an old winbuilder edition. These are different projects and most remarkably, the aims for each of them are different too.

 

You need to permit winbuilder access to the Internet for downloading the files needed to build a boot disk.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users