Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Ways to Install Windows XP through network


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 romsempire

romsempire

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 April 2007 - 01:10 PM

Hi all,

I would want to install windows xp through network.

I have read many posts about matter, so I have understant that it is possible with tftpd32.
So I have made this post in this section.

This is my problem.

I have a LAN with inside two PC (pc1 server and pc2 client) in workgroup, no domain.
I have a shared folder on pc1 I have named "share". Inside share there is my customed Windows XP cd.

Now on pc2 I would install my customed windows cd.
I know it is possible with PXE, but on pc1 and pc2 there aren't PXE compatible NIC, but the NIC is integrated on motherboards.
PC1 and PC2 are in a LAN with DHCP integrated in a router, so I cannot enable it in tftpd32 and insert linuxpxe.0


What are the ways to install windows XP on pc2?
By Win PE with winnt32 command? If yes, how?

If I want to use tftpd32 on pc1, how I can load a boot sector that contains a menu where I can chooose what I want to install or what I want to run like a multiboot menu?
For example I know that I can run Win PE on clients through pxe.
What is it possible with my network configuration?

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 April 2007 - 02:03 PM

Maube it's not what you need, but, not being at all an expert with RIS/PXE, etc., I found this to solve the problem I had once for a friend:
http://winner.windowsdream.com/

jaclaz

#3 romsempire

romsempire

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 April 2007 - 02:34 PM

Maube it's not what you need, but, not being at all an expert with RIS/PXE, etc., I found this to solve the problem I had once for a friend:
http://winner.windowsdream.com/

jaclaz



Thx jaclaz for your reply.
I have tried winner one year ago, but it didn't work.

I will retry.

Grazie.

#4 Moon Goon

Moon Goon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 265 posts

Posted 11 April 2007 - 03:22 PM

This might be an alternative:

http://davehope.co.u...neous-Bootdisk/

Advantage: Just need a properly set up share - no PXE
Disadvantages: Murky licensing. Probably need to install as FAT32. Need to find proper NIC drivers.

#5 bilou_gateux

bilou_gateux

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 208 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 12 May 2007 - 05:46 PM

If you can run VMware Server (free) on the PC1 (which acts as a server), you can use Ultimate Deployment Alliance

#6 Aman Agarwal

Aman Agarwal
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2007 - 11:11 AM

needed some help...cause really confused....

i have 5 systems in my office in workgroup mode on lan...

at present i m using manual config on the systems,,,2,,access shares between pcs...

1 which is acting as a server has vista ultimate installed....rest has xp pro sp2...

i need 2 format all my 4 pcs and reinstall xpsp2 on all the 4.... via network....

since my server has a dvd writer,,,,so i want 2 use it 2 install xp on all 4....via lan.

when i checked my mobo bios,,, it supports boot from lan... when i enabled and restarted....

it said xpe started.... and it started 2 search dhcp...

but when it didnt find any dhcp server...it failed........

i have my own custom xpsp2 cd....whic i want 2 install.......

my lan cards are onboard....

so wot should i do for proper steps...2..installl xpsp2...

help needed...urgent...

thanx

aman agarwal

#7 Artur

Artur
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 October 2007 - 12:55 AM

People! Use Acronis Snap Deploy + Acronis Disk Director. There is built in PXE server.

#8 Artur

Artur
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 October 2007 - 12:59 AM

Ppl. Use Acronis Snap Deploy server + Acronis Disk Director . It has built in PXE server.

cheers :cheers:

#9 kloudfreak

kloudfreak
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 October 2007 - 02:10 AM

People! Use Acronis Snap Deploy + Acronis Disk Director. There is built in PXE server.

or save yourself $19.99 + $499.00 and use TFTPD32. There is a built in PXE server there as well. :cheers:

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 October 2007 - 05:41 AM

@Artur

If I may, not the best 2 first posts (second one was in a new thread titled "urgent" wich I deleted).

Are you a shareholder of Acronis?

If you have nothing constructive to do, you could take your time reading the Rules:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules

jaclaz

#11 john3voltas

john3voltas

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 17 November 2007 - 10:35 AM

Hi guys.
My 1st post here.
I have recently bought a laptop with no cdrom or fdd, although it can boot from lan, and I want to install my legit Windows XP Pro on it.
I have learned about the existence of tftpd32 and I would like to try it.
Unfortunately I can't seem to find a way to do it.
Can you point me to a good step by step guide on how to accomplish this?
Thanks in advance
Cheers

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 November 2007 - 11:24 AM

Hi guys.
My 1st post here.
I have recently bought a laptop with no cdrom or fdd, although it can boot from lan, and I want to install my legit Windows XP Pro on it.
I have learned about the existence of tftpd32 and I would like to try it.
Unfortunately I can't seem to find a way to do it.
Can you point me to a good step by step guide on how to accomplish this?
Thanks in advance
Cheers


Hi, welcome to the board :cheers:.

Check these two topics:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2322
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3475
(and links therein)

jaclaz

#13 john3voltas

john3voltas

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 17 November 2007 - 08:00 PM

Hi, welcome to the board :cheers:.

Check these two topics:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2322
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3475
(and links therein)

jaclaz

Thanks jazclaz :cheers:.
I will take a look at those links and report here if I have any further questions.
Cheers

#14 john3voltas

john3voltas

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 01 December 2007 - 10:59 AM

Ok, I tried using a floppy image that I got from nu.com.
They say it's got a whole bunch of cdrom drivers.
Unfortunately it didn't work.
Eventually I got to the point where I have started my laptop, I press f12 and then a menu comes up.
I choose my floppy disk image and then it doesn't boot up and it just restarts the laptop.
Questions, if I may:
- where do I get an img or ima of a good floppy disk with cdrom drivers?
- is there a way I can get windows installation undergoing without the unattended files?
I want to manage what I want to install and with an unattended method I can't choose that.
I'm sorry if I am not posting all the right info but I ran the tests last weekend and my memory is starting to fade away.
I will try it again this WE and I'll try to post any error messages that popup or something similar.
Cheers

#15 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 December 2007 - 06:34 PM

In the meantime a nice guide has been posted, here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=1961

Not to be too picky, mind you, but as said elsewhere my divinatory capabilities are at their lowest level and is very hard to understand that by:

Ok, I tried using a floppy image that I got from nu.com.
They say it's got a whole bunch of cdrom drivers.
Unfortunately it didn't work.


You are NOT referring to:
http://www.nu.com/
Northeast Utilities (NU) is New England's largest utility system
BUT to:
www.nu2.nu
Nu2 Productions Website
and that among the several bootdisks and programs on that site, you are referring to this one:
http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/network/
after this, all I can see is just "a suffusion of yellow"....:cheers:

Did you use the manual or automated method, which drivers did you loaded in the disk, which card has your laptop, etc, etc.

Or maybe you were referring to this one:
http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/cdrom/
:cheers:

If the question is "I need a network DOS bootdisk", get it here:
http://www.netbootdisk.com/
though since you haven't a floppy drive I am curious to know how you plan to use the floppy...:cheers:

If you are going to PXE boot, you need the PXElinux package also.

Once you will be able to boot to DOS and transfer files locally, we will see what we can do about the actual install, unattended or not. :cheers:

jaclaz

#16 john3voltas

john3voltas

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:14 AM

In the meantime a nice guide has been posted, here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=1961

I had already read that thread but found it cannot help me...

Not to be too picky, mind you, but as said elsewhere my divinatory capabilities are at their lowest level and is very hard to understand that by:


You are NOT referring to:
http://www.nu.com/
Northeast Utilities (NU) is New England's largest utility system
BUT to:
www.nu2.nu
Nu2 Productions Website
and that among the several bootdisks and programs on that site, you are referring to this one:
http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/network/
after this, all I can see is just "a suffusion of yellow"....:cheers:

You are absolutely right.
Being a mod in a couple of forums should have taught me that if I want help I need to provide accurate facts.
Yes I tried Bart's network bootdisk.
Then I thought it could be something in the process of building the bootdisk and so I went to try www.netbootdisk.com/ but still no good results.

Did you use the manual or automated method, which drivers did you loaded in the disk, which card has your laptop, etc, etc.

Manual? Automated? Well for starters I would be glad if I could boot to dos, partition the harddrive and copy win32 directory into the harddrive.
But coming to think of that, how will dos recognize my SATA controller and harddrive?
XP itself needs some special drivers to recognize SATA controllers so I'm starting to wonder if dos doesn't need some special drivers too.
But now I'm only focused on getting dos to boot up properly.
Ultimately I'd love to have WinXP booting directly from tftpd32.
That would be something!

Or maybe you were referring to this one:
http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/cdrom/
:cheers:

As mentioned above this is the one I tried with no success.

If the question is "I need a network DOS bootdisk", get it here:
http://www.netbootdisk.com/

Also as mentioned above I also tried this one with no success.

though since you haven't a floppy drive I am curious to know how you plan to use the floppy...:cheers:

I can easily emulate a floppy diskdrive using VFD at http://chitchat.at.i...vmware/vfd.html.
Then I can easily copy the ima or img file that it creates and use it in the tftpd32 server.

If you are going to PXE boot, you need the PXElinux package also.

I already have this one downloaded and I used it to get the pxelinux.0 and memdisk.0.

Once you will be able to boot to DOS and transfer files locally, we will see what we can do about the actual install, unattended or not. :cheers:

Roger that.
As said before, I'll try to run some tests today and I'll try to post some error messages or anything that I might think as useful so that you can give me a hand.
Cheers

#17 burn84

burn84
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 December 2007 - 06:04 AM

Hi guys,

Sorry to bump in. I was reading through the thread and followed jaclaz's advise on using WINNER. I am trying to install Windows XP back into my Laptop, after using UBUNTU.

My laptop doesnt have USB Boot (didnt update the BIOS), CD-ROM BOOT(CD ROM doesnt read CDs anymore;spoilt), and only has HDD Boot, Network Boot. My laptop doesnt have a floppy drive on it.... :cheers:

When my Windows crashed, I installed UBUNTU thru network boot with help from my friend.

I followed the WINNER guide, from the link that jaclaz gave. Everything seemed fine but i am stuck at Generating the DVD Image? (I have a small desktop PC that has windows running on it)

I am stuck here:

*Applying Service Pack(might be long)

SysAngel DVD Generator was stuck here for about 7hours.....does it take that long? then i realised that SysANGEL was stuck. So i closed SysAngel and started it again. It is still stuck at that part "*Applying Service Pack(might be long)" - it has been 3 hours already.

Any ideas guys? Anyway to by pass that and still generate the DVD image? And also was wondering, I am running a simple D-Link switch or can I just connect my laptop directly to my PC with a cross-over cable?

#18 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 December 2007 - 04:27 PM

I am stuck here:

*Applying Service Pack(might be long)

SysAngel DVD Generator was stuck here for about 7hours.....does it take that long? then i realised that SysANGEL was stuck. So i closed SysAngel and started it again. It is still stuck at that part "*Applying Service Pack(might be long)" - it has been 3 hours already.

Any ideas guys? Anyway to by pass that and still generate the DVD image? And also was wondering, I am running a simple D-Link switch or can I just connect my laptop directly to my PC with a cross-over cable?


Cannot say :cheers:, maybe it depends on the source CD (I mean is it an OEM one like Dell or HP, a "Full" version or a "generic" OEM)?

Can you try either:
a. choose NOT to update the CD
b. make a new updated CD with another app, like nlite or:
http://smithii.com/slipstream_xpsp2
or
http://www.hfslip.org/

There should be no difference whatsoever in using a cross-over cable or a switch/router, maybe a simple hub might slow (imperceptibly) the data transfer, but I don't think so, unless you are at the same time using the network from a number of other clients.

jaclaz

#19 ariv

ariv
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Belarus

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:19 AM

Help ,
my intallation always stop at
<INSTALL\i386\mrxsmb.sy_>: sent 152 blks, 216817 bytes in 1 s. 0 blk resent [06/01 13:19:13.076]

#20 Draugen

Draugen

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 147 posts
  • Location:South of Heaven

Posted 07 January 2008 - 01:04 AM

Help ,
my intallation always stop at
<INSTALL\i386\mrxsmb.sy_>: sent 152 blks, 216817 bytes in 1 s. 0 blk resent [06/01 13:19:13.076]


check permissions on your server. You may have to enable null shares (and it is VERY likely a SMB/CIFS problem - i had a similar issue when attempting to boot from my linux server, and some configuration voodoo I unfortunately cannot remember did the trick.)

#21 zumbo

zumbo
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 26 September 2011 - 12:24 AM

hi all you
i'm working on this project for a while
i'd tried sevral method to install xp on tablette pc over the network
it never pass the same stage "... i386\mrxsmb.sy_>: sent 152 blks " whith the tfpd32 methode
logo of xp is still on my client pc whith the progrss bar runing but nothing els appers
sorry for my english
regards to you
thanks for your help
Zumbo

#22 cuky

cuky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2012 - 03:33 PM

Anyone help me get this working, as I am finding I still need to fix XP machines and CD drives in the machines can be broken. Plus I want a WInXP install system. Currently this is SP2 as this is the version I have the full CD for.

I am using a WIN7 HOME 64 Bit SERVER with tftpd32 ( 64 Bit version) with a few mistakes and hoops jumped. I have managed to get my server to boot the following.

Installer WIN7 and VISTA via the documented process ( many thanks for the docs)
PEbuilder : works sort of. ( need a good PE.ISO ) my version dont work in Virtual box
WinPE 2 and 3. both work lovely , had to add a bit extra to the DOCS to get both working from the same ramdiskoptions BCD file.

Even got the DOS box BINLSRV working and producing output, so this bit is working.

As most have been stuck on this one. I cant get the older XP to network install. managed to get this as far as "loading Windows Setup", it then goes away and loads a few files, then stops loading. the syslog file shows the last file as.

mrxsmb.sy_

then TIMEOUTS. would increasing the TIMEOUT value and tftp window size asssit this.
-----
WINNT.SIF

[SetupData]
BootPath = "i386"
OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect "
; Needed for first stage
SetupSourceDevice = "DeviceLanmanRedirector192.168.1.161tftpbootwinxp"

[data]
floppyless = "1"
msdosinitiated = "1"
; Needed for second stage
OriSrc = "192.168.1.161tftpbootwinxpI386"
OriTyp = "4"
LocalSourceOnCD = 1
DisableAdminAccountOnDomainJoin = 1
AutoPartition=0

[UserData]
;ProductID=xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx
ComputerName="*"
--------END

Edited by cuky, 06 September 2012 - 03:33 PM.


#23 cuky

cuky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2012 - 03:41 PM

one useful thing I did find handy was to install the tftpd32 server with delayed startup, so that tcp comes up before hand. If this isnt done on WIN7 the service starts up with 0.0.0.0 and a restart of it is needed to pickup your defaults.

think my issue with the sharing of the smb layer from windows7 to winxp(dos). any ideas?

#24 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,125 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 September 2012 - 03:16 PM

Even got the DOS box BINLSRV working and producing output, so this bit is working.


Why not the "standard" Sherpya's one?
http://diddy.boot-la.../files/binl.htm


And don't forget that there is a new kid on the block:
http://www.vercot.com/~serva/
http://www.vercot.co...indowsPXE1.html


:cheers:
Wonko

#25 cuky

cuky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 September 2012 - 08:36 AM

Why not the "standard" Sherpya's one?
http://diddy.boot-la.../files/binl.htm


And don't forget that there is a new kid on the block:
http://www.vercot.com/~serva/
http://www.vercot.co...indowsPXE1.html


:cheers:
Wonko

thanks for the reply. Had a quick look at the serva offering and didnt like it very much.

I kinda liked the older tftpd32 and standalone binl server more as it was more configurable and easy to update with new drivers.

I decided to re-visit network settings in windows 7 and for good measure downloaded a few additional driver packs relating to sound/cpu/chipset/graphics and a few others for good measure. updating infparser and copy these drivers to windows install directory.

Well that appeared to do the trick.

For anyone elsewho hits this one. Stopping at mrxsmb.sy_ is normal and not an error. the XP RIS based install doesnt use DHCP / TFTP for the files from this point and moves to using BINLSRV and the anonymous share.

Here is what I did to get the NULL SHARE stuff working on windows 7. Got this working for a full xpprof and xpoem both with sp3.


full credit to this software and remember to read the documentation, when I used it a few bits that werent that clear are detailed below.

http://tftpd32.jounin.net/tftpd32.html

WINDOWS 7 as a WINXP install server.
1) enable guest login and configure the windows7 local firewall to allow incoming connections.( or if on a safe LAN, turn the damn thing off)
2) add TFTPROOT as text to the following key and update other REG options to allow NULL shares.(see below)
MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesLanManServerParametersNullSessionShares
3) Now goto the control panel. turn off password shares.
4) share out the the TFTPROOT directory to allow everyone.
5) get tftpd32 and install it. test it works with the ODIN floppy PXE
6) follow the install documentation for BINL and start it up. take special care with BINL and download as many extra drivers as possible. compile them with infparser.
7) follow the install xp section.
8) Install SP3 to a network install directory
WindowsXP-KB936929-SP3-x86-ENU.exe /integrate:d:xpoem
Where d:xpoem is the directory containing the XP CD files.
9) create a batch file to fireup BINLSRV
10) fireup tftfpd32( delayed automatic ) & batch file for BINLSRV
11) boot PC via PXE boot.
12) install XP as normal only no CD needed! WOOP! WOOP!
The server should PXE boot and deliver the install files via tftp.

The last line in the TFTPD32 log will say it is unpacking mrxsmb.sy_ , if the install hangs then the windows server is not sharing NULL Shares correctly.(review the REG HACKS and share options on the server)

HERE IS some useful information on NULL SHARES

Stuff that MS left out of the lesser versions of windows that can be put back in if a PXE build machine is needed for XP.
REGHACKS

Network access: Let Everyone permissions apply to anonymous users
MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetControlLsaEveryoneIncludesAnonymous

Network access: Named Pipes that can be accessed anonymously
MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesLanManServerParametersNullSessionPipes

Network access: Restrict anonymous access to Named Pipes and Shares
MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesLanManServerParametersNullSessionShares

Network access: Shares that can be accessed anonymously
MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesLanManServerParametersNullSessionShares

from
http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=25250


This was tested using an two oracle Virtualbox PC's one remote and one local.

regards

computer
usage
kills
you

Edited by cuky, 11 September 2012 - 08:55 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users