Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

LiveXp - Anything changed?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 ylafont

ylafont

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 November 2013 - 05:48 AM

I went to recreate an image today (it has been a while)  and livexp does not see local C-drives. I tried both  projects. livexp #153 and  amd LiveXp 2012, #155.  Just in case i also updated the Mass Storage drivers to  DP_MassStorage_wnt5_x86-32_1209 and hard drives are set to ATA mode in BIOS.

 

Host is windows 8.

 

Please let me know.


Edited by ylafont, 10 November 2013 - 05:50 AM.


#2 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:42 AM

Perhaps this package will work?

Only tested & working (seeing host drives) on 3 different PC's...



#3 ylafont

ylafont

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 November 2013 - 06:36 PM

Al_jo,  thank you. but did not work for me.  I got a blue screen both in VM  10 and a Dell E6410.  I am going to create an XP VM and see if a can generate  a good image from there,  Unless there are other ideas.

 

livexp.PNG



#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2013 - 07:18 PM

When you already are fishing in the dark, why not try multiPE, too?

 

Peter



#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13408 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 10 November 2013 - 07:45 PM

"When you already are fishing in the dark, why not try ....,  too" is it  the translation/adaptation of a German proverb? :unsure:

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#6 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:22 PM

Al_jo,  thank you. but did not work for me.  I got a blue screen both in VM  10 and a Dell E6410.  I am going to create an XP VM and see if a can generate  a good image from there,  Unless there are other ideas.

 

livexp.PNG

 

Does ”VM” mean VMware?

Just tested the ISO here in both VMware & VirtualBox without any bsod’s.

You did not modify some settings before building?


  • ylafont likes this

#7 ylafont

ylafont

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2013 - 12:57 AM

No modifications to the images what so ever. Just ran the project and booted the iso.   I also just finished  running the all three projects  on a clean XP install in VM (yes, VMware) and got the same results.  Could it be my WInXP SP2 CD? I wonder, but that can't be.

 

I compiled the project twice just to make sure.  Same error both on the Laptop and  VMware.


Edited by ylafont, 11 November 2013 - 01:48 AM.


#8 ylafont

ylafont

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2013 - 02:37 AM

Al_JO,

 

My apologies, Your project works.  I made the mistake of testing the ISO via the PXE server only. It just hit me that i never tested the image by booting the ISO directly.   That seems to work just fine. the error above only occurs via PXE. 

 

This does not happen with LiveXP #153 and  or LiveXp 2012, #155.  

 

Let me see if i can figure this out.



#9 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 11 November 2013 - 09:48 AM

Al_JO,

 

My apologies, Your project works.  I made the mistake of testing the ISO via the PXE server only. It just hit me that i never tested the image by booting the ISO directly.   That seems to work just fine. the error above only occurs via PXE. 

 

 

Good (concerning bsod). What about “seeing” local C: drive when booting the

image directly from CD/USB in a real machine?



#10 ylafont

ylafont

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 November 2013 - 06:37 AM

Booting from the machine worked fine,  I had to go back to the original image LiveXp 2012, #155,  a few errors where initially reported when i ran the script.   I temporarily disable the script and everything is working  as it should. 

 

thanks.



#11 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 August 2014 - 04:55 PM

FIshing in the dark for LiveXP_20100908_Official_2_Recommended_v888.rar.

The "Download Latest" (from Winbuilder.net) on "main" LiveXP page brings to "page not found".

 

While fishing in the dark I might try MultiPe. Or al_jo's.



#12 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:15 PM

al_jo's is missing too!



#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13408 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:23 PM

While fishing in the dark I might try MultiPe. Or al_jo's.

 

 

al_jo's is missing too!

 

It would not be very nice to try multiPE only out of desperation :w00t: :ph34r: as it remains the ONLY possibility. :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#14 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:43 PM

It would not be very nice to try multiPE only out of desperation :w00t: :ph34r: as it remains the ONLY possibility. :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Agreed. But it's out of desperation anyway as I want to use XP on a computer which I have to use,

which runs Windows7 when the specs should really tell it not to use OSes that it can't handle.

As I have to use the computer, I was thinking of stealthily booting XP from USB, and the other people

wouldn't even realize. Then it'd be quicker and we'd all be happy!

So, LiveXP or whichever.

 

Btw, do these:

 

 

Also, WHAT exactly do you think that the scripts in:

http://livexp.boot-land.net/

LiveXP/Drivers/4 Storage

Actually do? particularly these ones:

 

  • Bin file for Build DPs Mass Storage Drivers script 009 10,77 Mb Contains DP BASE and .7z archive of mass storage drivers Galapo
  • Build DPs Mass Storage Drivers script 059 330,82 Kb (x86 only) Builds (or re-builds) DriverPacks Mass Storage Drivers script. Galapo
  • DPs-MassStorageDrivers_au3    25    29,61 Kb    (x86 only) DPs_MassStorage_DriverPack Integrator with au3 programming    saydin77

 

:unsure:


:cheers:

Wonko

 

bypass integrating the nlite way? I.e, drop in the folder and Winbuilder adds them to the iso?

(I wouldn't think so)



#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13408 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:50 PM

Btw, do these:

 

 

bypass integrating the nlite way? I.e, drop in the folder and Winbuilder adds them to the iso?

Yep :), that at least is the idea, adding drivers to the "buiild" (without touching the "source").

 

:duff:

Wonko



#16 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:55 PM

Good. :).



#17 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 August 2014 - 07:53 PM

It would not be very nice to try multiPE only out of desperation :w00t: :ph34r: as it remains the ONLY possibility. :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko

Naah, I wanted to stay LiveXP in the discussion as long as possible, BEFORE going towards multiPE.



#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 31 August 2014 - 05:22 PM

FIshing in the dark for LiveXP_20100908_Official_2_Recommended_v888.rar.

The "Download Latest" (from Winbuilder.net) on "main" LiveXP page brings to "page not found".

 

While fishing in the dark I might try MultiPe. Or al_jo's.

You can have a remake of the "original" LiveXP (before the baker's revolution) here. Then you need the older WinBuilder version 080  (Unfortunatelly the link is broken)

 

Or you can use the adapted LiveXP here. Then you need the actually released WinBuilder version 082 (Which has been the trigger for the baker's revolution).
 

Or you can have multiPE with included WinBuilder version 083. All(?) or at least most version 82 known bugs fixed.

 

 

Peter

 

BTW: IMO the only solution, where some support is possible, is the multiPE alternity. As you may know, it is my child, and in interesting situations, maybe I step down from the WinBuilder 2014 development to the legacy.


  • betrand likes this

#19 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 15 September 2014 - 07:05 PM

Cheers Peter, thanks fo the links and info.

 

Unfortunately I don't have time at the moment.

 

 

:cheers:

 

:)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users