Jump to content











Photo

How to make a program auto start in win8PE


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 chestertomato

chestertomato

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 14 October 2013 - 06:31 PM

I've a program say abc.exe , and want to auto start to run this program when win8pe boot up.

 

Something I found very strange. When I mount C:\Win8PE_SE_2013-10-03\ISO\WIM\sources\boot.wim to C:\mount , I found some files in C:\mount\windows\system32 , they are :

     winpeshl.ini , startnet.cmd , start.cmd

I know I can place the abc.exe in one of them and can be autorun. But when I boot up the win8pe , all the above 3 files are disappear.

 

In the mounted C:\mount\windows\system32 , the 3 files do exist. How come when boot win8pe , they disappear ?

 

So I can't find a way to place the abc.exe to autorun.

 

Please help

 



#2 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 15 October 2013 - 07:25 AM

Why not just make a simple script for the abc.exe and add autostart to it?
Example:
 
[Interface]
CheckBoxAS=AutoStart,1,3,44,32,84,18,True
 
[Process]
If,%CheckBoxAS%,Equal,True,Add_Shortcut,AutoStart


#3 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1030 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 October 2013 - 02:21 PM

So I can't find a way to place the abc.exe to autorun.


You may also consider the AddAutoRun command documented here if you require more control about how/when your program is started.



#4 MasterG

MasterG
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Greece

Posted 21 February 2014 - 03:42 PM

Another way is to make sure that Autorun is ticked in the Build section of WinBuilder.

Then add the following lines to the application script you want to run (change Ghost\Ghost64.exe to your application and application folder):
 

If,ExistFile,"%target_sys%\autorun.cmd",Begin
TXTDelLine,"%target_sys%\autorun.cmd","exit"
TXTAddLine,"%target_sys%\autorun.cmd","start %PE_Programs%\Ghost\Ghost64.exe","Append"
TXTAddLine,"%target_sys%\autorun.cmd","exit","Append"
End


#5 mixael

mixael
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Aruba

Posted 10 December 2018 - 07:45 AM

Hi. I am a beginner in work with winbuilder. I want to make so that at start the program necessary to me was installed. Where to me to put the ispolnyaymy file of the program and how it is correct to register a command for start? The above described solution at me did not turn out.



#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6943 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 December 2018 - 10:29 AM

Most WinBuilder projects include the Portable Finder Startup plugin.

This will automatically find and run a file a .cmd file which you can place in the root of any drive in the system.

See https://sites.google...s/143_pestartup

for more details.

 

 

 



#7 mixael

mixael
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Aruba

Posted 10 December 2018 - 11:09 AM

Thanks. About Pstart I know, I thought that it is possible to solve a problem just having written a script. I will tell what I want to make. I have a set of programs (for example autopsy) for which it is impossible to make a script. I want to make so that when loading a disk the installer of the program was started. I know keys for automatic installation through install.cmd, at me it is impossible to implement it.



#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6943 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 December 2018 - 11:27 AM

I don't quite understand. Autopsy is a Windows .msi file which is intended to be installed into a full Windows OS.

Have you managed to install it into a WinPE OS?

If so, how did you do it?



#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6943 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 December 2018 - 11:52 AM

P.S.  I did find an FCPortables  portable version of Autopsy 4.7.0 x64 which seems to at least run under Bob Omb's WInPE10x64 latest version of WinPE.

 

https://www.fcportab...gital-forensic/



#10 mixael

mixael
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Aruba

Posted 10 December 2018 - 02:01 PM

I want to use a possibility of keys of installation which are provided by msi packet. I want that program installation began automatically when loading WinPE.



#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6943 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 December 2018 - 02:04 PM

Most .msi packages will install if you use

start xxxxxx.msi /quiet /passive





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users