Jump to content











Photo

Bug Reports, Requests, HowTo's about Tiny PXE Server

pxe network boot

  • Please log in to reply
832 replies to this topic

#826 cabye

cabye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Cape Verde

Posted 2 weeks ago

does tinypxeserver support only file smaller than 2GB?

I saw it can serve file at 1.9GB, but not 2.3GB.
no error, just shows: 04:23:59 HTTPd:Server : Returning /sp3.iso
and client get nothing

it's named "Tiny" so can only serve tiny file? maybe not a bug.

#827 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2735 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 weeks ago

does tinypxeserver support only file smaller than 2GB?

I saw it can serve file at 1.9GB, but not 2.3GB.
no error, just shows: 04:23:59 HTTPd:Server : Returning /sp3.iso
and client get nothing

it's named "Tiny" so can only serve tiny file? maybe not a bug.

 

You meant "bigger than" not "smaller than" right?

Normally yes it can do but I can look for a possible bug.

In which scenario does it fail : using memdisk or sanboot (as they use a slightly different http process).



#828 cabye

cabye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Cape Verde

Posted 2 weeks ago

booting linux live CD usually need a second stage filesystem.squashfs, and it's a big file. I can boot it after changing to other httpd server.

even at browser firefox I can not download file bigger than 2G from tinypxeserver

#829 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2735 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 weeks ago

booting linux live CD usually need a second stage filesystem.squashfs, and it's a big file. I can boot it after changing to other httpd server.

even at browser firefox I can not download file bigger than 2G from tinypxeserver

 

Understood.

Will have a look at it over the week end.



#830 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2735 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 weeks ago

booting linux live CD usually need a second stage filesystem.squashfs, and it's a big file. I can boot it after changing to other httpd server.

even at browser firefox I can not download file bigger than 2G from tinypxeserver

 

I have uploaded a new version.

 

Tiny PXE Server now supports files bigger than 2GB over HTTP.

pxesrv.exe 
1.0.0.23
06/07/2019 12:50 
3B8AA11D517651DB5AF705373FC65A97


#831 cabye

cabye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Cape Verde

Posted 2 weeks ago

nice.


in changelog pxeserv.txt I saw this:
>> 1.0.0.21
>> modified : dns proxy will read entries from config.ini (section=hostname,ident=ip), no more from hosts file


I tried to add something like this in config.ini:
[hostname]
server1=192.168.1.10

but it didn't work.
11:44:11 DNSd:incoming packet from : 192.168.1.8
11:44:11 DNSd:could not resolve server1 (A)

then I add this line to hosts:
192.168.1.10 server1

immediately it worked:
11:45:39 DNSd:incoming packet from : 192.168.1.8
11:45:39 DNSd:resolved server1 (A) to 192.168.1.10 (PTR)


so maybe dns still read entries from hosts file, not from config.ini (section=hostname,ident=ip)?
or I used wrong format?

Edited by cabye, 2 weeks ago.


#832 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2735 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 weeks ago

Hi Cabye,

 

The "hosts" file way will always work as this you are forcing dns resolution at the system level.

As such TPS will also be submitted to these changes.

 

However, I dont want to ask the user to modify this system file as this is way to drastic and possibly introduces side effects.

Hence me introducing an extra config.ini section.

 

One possible application is to come with generic batches for install where you could force a hostname named MY_REPO_SERVER pointing to an IP you would set on your PXE server side (no more hardcoded ip in your batch then).

Related to that topic is also the discover.exe tool (here and here and here) part of TPS as well but this is another discussion and I dont want to deviate too much...

 

The syntax in config.ini is may be unclear.

You have to put the hostname between brackets and for this section then add ip=a.b.c.d.

Or in the case of ip to hostname resolution, put the ip between brackets and for this section add host=whatever.fr

 

Example below

 

->host to ip resolution (192.168.1.144 being my TPS acting as DNSd).

[mydomain.fr]
ip=10.0.0.254
>nslookup mydomain.fr 192.168.1.144
Serveur :   erwan-pc2.home
Address:  192.168.1.144

Réponse ne faisant pas autorité :
Nom :    mydomain.fr
Address:  10.0.0.254

And the other way around ->ip to host resolution (192.168.1.144 being my TPS acting as DNSd).

[10.0.0.253]
host=mydomain2.fr
>nslookup -type=PTR 10.0.0.253 192.168.1.144
Serveur :   erwan-pc2.home
Address:  192.168.1.144

Réponse ne faisant pas autorité :
253.0.0.10.in-addr.arpa name = mydomain2.fr

EDIT : found a small bug where under some circumstances, the DNSd would stop.

Fixed in latest upload today.

 

Regards,

Erwan



#833 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2735 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 weeks ago

Latest changelog for version 1.0.0.23 so far, most of it thanks to Cabye feedback.

1.0.0.23
added: php,vbs,py files can be processed server side using php, vbs, py entries under web section
added : will notify in the log window if another dhcp server exists on the LAN
added : if index.html exists, http will display this file instead of listing directory
added : httpd will be bound to one interface (or binded...) if bind option is selected
fixed : http server now supports bigger than 2gb
fixed : minor bug in dnsd where the daemon would stop unexpectedly under some circumstances






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: pxe, network boot

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users