Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

VistaPE 008 Boots to Black Screen


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#26 jtgamble

jtgamble
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 April 2007 - 10:11 PM

jtgamble
do you download new Standard-0-preconfig.script and WimUtil.exe files?

MD5:
5878815963e29e33e50b1e7b36f9ed8b *WimUtil.exe

1. try use short name of folder, without spaces
2. try use imagex from WAIK


I did get the latest files yesterday and ended up with the same result. I have a CD version running without the boot.wim, and I don't have spaces in any file names, just using the defaults created by winbuilder.

#27 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 April 2007 - 06:39 AM

Is this the problem ?

I also have the problem with black screen and mouse cursor after boot of VistaPE 008 Update 1. My WimUtil is MD5 5878815963e29e33e50b1e7b36f9ed8b.

I'm quite sure 008 was working up to Update 1.

I now tried to build with no Pack boot.wim in finalize (it gives some errors in mkisofs about too long filenames). The very interisting result after boot is that there is no black screen anymore but now a System Crash occurs:

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The NT Initial Command Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000001 (0x00000000 0x00000000).
The system has been shut down.

I attach both the log files of packed version (black screen) and no pack (system crash).

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#28 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 14 April 2007 - 10:08 AM

I'm not into VistaPE, but i would say that, if mkisofs complains about your filenames being to long, than the boot process won't find those files. (As the filenames get truncated))
Thus BSOD.

:cheers:

#29 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 April 2007 - 02:30 PM

I'm not into VistaPE, but i would say that, if mkisofs complains about your filenames being to long, than the boot process won't find those files. (As the filenames get truncated))
Thus BSOD.

:cheers:


Hi MedEvil,

the truncated filenames are all (as far as I got see) from SxS directory. I can't imagine that the Initial Command Process (do they mean the shell swapper?) relies on them.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#30 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 14 April 2007 - 02:58 PM

the truncated filenames are all (as far as I got see) from SxS directory. I can't imagine that the Initial Command Process (do they mean the shell swapper?) relies on them.

I don't know Vista, but i havn't seen a successful boot of XPSP2 if the WinSxS directory was deleted.

:cheers:

#31 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2007 - 02:12 PM

I don't know Vista, but i havn't seen a successful boot of XPSP2 if the WinSxS directory was deleted.


If I remember correctly I also had the problem longer time ago with BartPE that WinSxS files got a shortened name in the iso image, but this did not matter. OK, I'm not sure, it's been a while.

But here the real important stuff:............ :cheers:

I don't have the black screen with mouse cursor problem anymore !!! Only disadvantage: I have to run WinBuilder on an English Windows XP. See my post on topic VistaPE 008 Update 1 :cheers:

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#32 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 15 April 2007 - 08:58 PM

Great news!
I however, can not see why the language of the system WB runs on, should make any difference.
Please let me know, when you find the problem.

:cheers:

#33 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 April 2007 - 02:06 PM

I don't have the black screen with mouse cursor problem anymore !!! Only disadvantage: I have to run WinBuilder on an English Windows XP. See my post on topic VistaPE 008 Update 1 :cheers:


The above is not correct !

I don't have the issue with black screen with mouse cursor after boot when WinBuilder is run from C:\ partition !!!.
It has nothing to do with the language of the host operating system and probably also not with VistaPE 008 plus Update 1.

The build is ok when WinBuilder resides in following directories:
C:\WinBuilder
C:\WinBuilder068
C:\WinBuilder 068
C:\Verschiedenes\WinBuilder
C:\Verschiedene Sachen\WinBuilder 068

The build is not ok when WinBuilder resides in
I:\WinBuilder
(I: is also a NTFS partition on a physical drive, no substitute, network drive etc.)

Configuration:
German Windows XP SP2,
WinBuilder 068, VistaPE 008 Update 1 (or Update 2),
ImageX from German (or English) WAIK,
Source German (or English) Vista DVD (or WAIK),
pack BootWIM

Many Greetings
Michael

#34 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 24 April 2007 - 02:51 PM

The above is not correct !

I don't have the issue with black screen with mouse cursor after boot when WinBuilder is run from C:\ partition !!!.
It has nothing to do with the language of the host operating system and probably also not with VistaPE 008 plus Update 1.

The build is ok when WinBuilder resides in following directories:
C:\WinBuilder
C:\WinBuilder068
C:\WinBuilder 068
C:\Verschiedenes\WinBuilder
C:\Verschiedene Sachen\WinBuilder 068

The build is not ok when WinBuilder resides in
I:\WinBuilder
(I: is also a NTFS partition on a physical drive, no substitute, network drive etc.)

Configuration:
German Windows XP SP2,
WinBuilder 068, VistaPE 008 Update 1 (or Update 2),
ImageX from German (or English) WAIK,
Source German (or English) Vista DVD (or WAIK),
pack BootWIM

Many Greetings
Michael

Did you also try what happens if the Waik is installed on I: too?
Cause it sure sounds to me, like if something can't be found:.
That means eighter at build time a script can't find a file, when run from I: and therefore it's missing in the ISO or at boot time a file can't be found, because the reference points to the wrong path.

It can be only one of the two, if the language isn't the problem.

:cheers:

#35 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 April 2007 - 09:27 PM

Did you also try what happens if the Waik is installed on I: too?
Cause it sure sounds to me, like if something can't be found:.
That means eighter at build time a script can't find a file, when run from I: and therefore it's missing in the ISO or at boot time a file can't be found, because the reference points to the wrong path.

It can be only one of the two, if the language isn't the problem.


WAIK is used only for ImageX. It is not installed on C: but in
F:\Verschiedenes\Windows AIK
When I tried to use WAIK as source instead of Vista DVD I think there was no difference in which path WAIK was residing.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#36 jtgamble

jtgamble
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 April 2007 - 11:33 PM

I'm still getting a black screen and mouse cursor. I've tried moving winbuilder to C:\Winbuilder\ and its still giving me problems, but only when using a boot.wim. I've gotten it running on a CD with the files NOT packed in a wim file, but whenever I use the wim, and put it on either a CD or a USB drive, just the black screen and mouse cursor. I'm using all the default folder names, have the latest update for VistaPE. I've run out of ideas :cheers:

#37 jtgamble

jtgamble
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 May 2007 - 10:13 PM

I'm still getting a black screen and mouse cursor. I've tried moving winbuilder to C:\Winbuilder\ and its still giving me problems, but only when using a boot.wim. I've gotten it running on a CD with the files NOT packed in a wim file, but whenever I use the wim, and put it on either a CD or a USB drive, just the black screen and mouse cursor. I'm using all the default folder names, have the latest update for VistaPE. I've run out of ideas :confused1:


Shameless bump because I still can't solve this one. I've tried everything suggested to no avail. Its still working on CD when not packed in a WIM, but CD and USB both fail to finish loading (sticking on black screen with mouse cursor) when using a WIM. I'd really appreciate some help if anybody has any more ideas.

#38 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 May 2007 - 11:54 AM

Last time this was solved because imagex can't run on FAT32 partitions - it will need NTFS to work properly.

Can you repost your hardware/software details again?

Partitions, OS used as host, Type of source (vista or waik), log.html, pathnames used, antivirus and anything else you feel relevant..

:confused1:

#39 jrouer

jrouer
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 May 2007 - 02:26 PM

I had the same issue with booting to the black screen with nothing but the mouse pointer. I have a dual boot system with my primary operating system being XP and on partition 2 which happens to be my D: drive. Not sure if it's an 8 character naming convention thing or not or the path being too long, but I put the Winbuilder file in a folder called bootcd on the root of my D: drive and now everything works no matter which way I pack the WIM file. Hope this helps

#40 jtgamble

jtgamble
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 May 2007 - 09:02 PM

I'm doing the build on an XP system, installed to C:. Winbuilder is located in C:\Winbuilder. I'm installing from a vista DVD, but the WAIK is installed as well. I've been using a FAT32 partition to install it on, so I'll try it on an NTFS when I get a chance. I'm not at the computer I use for this now, so I'll repost more info monday.

Thanks :confused1:

#41 fly

fly

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 08:48 PM

Anyone get this resolved yet?

#42 smiley2

smiley2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 31 May 2007 - 08:48 AM

Anyone get this resolved yet?


German XP SP2, all the latest and greatest hotfixes
installed .NET3 plus german lang pack, 1.1 came preinstalled.
WAIK german installed in default location (C:\Programme\WindowsAIK)

Winbuilder 069 beta 6 in C:\winbuilder, started with this file alone
Download "complete", deselect everything except vistape, and hit play.

So I think this is a real "vanilla build", and it works for me.
Tested on two very different machines.

hth :confused1:

#43 Mike Reynolds

Mike Reynolds
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 June 2007 - 11:21 PM

Anyone get this resolved yet?

I still get black screen w/mouse pointer
American English XP SP2 + hotfixes
.NET v2.0.50727 (is .NET even relevant?)
WAIK in standard location
WinBuilder 070 (I downloaded from 070 link, but still says 068, maybe 070 is just updated scripts?) in C:\WinBuild
VistaPE 009 beta (got same result with 008)
Dell Optiplex GX240 (Radeon VE video on motherboard)

I see for some solution is to just not pack the .wim file and use CD boot. However, I need the boot.wim to work, as I'm trying to boot from ramdisk (no-touch imaging from hard drive, so no inserting CD or USB)

Thanks for any help.

Mike Reynolds
University of Washington (Seattle) ITS

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.html   1.39MB   287 downloads


#44 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 June 2007 - 11:28 PM

You are using 068, not sure if it's related but you can find the latest WinBuilder.exe beta numbered as 071 at this moment here: http://www.boot-land...?...t=0&start=0

I don't see any errors from your log and the path you've used seems quite regular too - maybe nightman or some other member can point for more solutions on this case.. :1st:

#45 jtgamble

jtgamble
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 June 2007 - 04:22 AM

I still get black screen w/mouse pointer
American English XP SP2 + hotfixes
.NET v2.0.50727 (is .NET even relevant?)
WAIK in standard location
WinBuilder 070 (I downloaded from 070 link, but still says 068, maybe 070 is just updated scripts?) in C:\WinBuild
VistaPE 009 beta (got same result with 008)
Dell Optiplex GX240 (Radeon VE video on motherboard)

I see for some solution is to just not pack the .wim file and use CD boot. However, I need the boot.wim to work, as I'm trying to boot from ramdisk (no-touch imaging from hard drive, so no inserting CD or USB)

Thanks for any help.

Mike Reynolds
University of Washington (Seattle) ITS


Small world. Exactly the same setup as you, and I'm working on this for CIS at Seattle Pacific! I have no idea why this is happening only when using the .wim, but it's getting old :1st:

#46 Mike Reynolds

Mike Reynolds
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 June 2007 - 07:06 PM

You are using 068, not sure if it's related but you can find the latest WinBuilder.exe beta numbered as 071 at this moment here: http://www.boot-land...?...t=0&start=0

I don't see any errors from your log and the path you've used seems quite regular too - maybe nightman or some other member can point for more solutions on this case.. :1st:


Just because "newer is better" (joke we always tell our boss before we break everything by installing newest release...) tried beta 071 to build vistape 008. Alas, same result. I'm hoping, too, that perhaps nightman or one of the other super-experts can shed light.

Or perhaps a workaround? From other posts, it sounds like previous to vistape version 008, it was possible to boot from boot.wim ok. Until this gets resolved, I wonder if someone could make available vistape 007, perhaps? If nothing else, would be helpful in troubleshooting to confirm that does work in earlier versions.

OK, I'm learning. Never mind, I see 007 version is in the archive, will try building that, let everyone know what I get.

One last thing: the CD image created uses /ems switch when booting the .wim. In my BCD, I just try to boot the .wim normally from ramdisk. I don't think this is cause of my problem, as I get same result when booting from the CD, but thought I'd mention.

--Mike Reynolds
Univ of Washington Libraries ITS

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.html   1.01MB   353 downloads


#47 Mike Reynolds

Mike Reynolds
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 June 2007 - 11:42 PM

Just because "newer is better" (joke we always tell our boss before we break everything by installing newest release...) tried beta 071 to build vistape 008. Alas, same result. I'm hoping, too, that perhaps nightman or one of the other super-experts can shed light.
OK, I'm learning. Never mind, I see 007 version is in the archive, will try building that, let everyone know what I get.

One last thing: the CD image created uses /ems switch when booting the .wim. In my BCD, I just try to boot the .wim normally from ramdisk. I don't think this is cause of my problem, as I get same result when booting from the CD, but thought I'd mention.

--Mike Reynolds
Univ of Washington Libraries ITS


At last! VistaPE 007 still did black screen, but version 005 (small english version), which I downloaded from http://vistape.boot-...g/download.html, works! Whew! Still some problems -- some sort of error when I ask to start network and such -- but nothing that I can't sort out. I'll probably try 006, too, just to see which version gets me the smallest memory footprint to help me meet my goal of re-imaging these 256Mb machines via ramdisk boot. But I think I'm on my way now. Will append a note when I find out whether 006 does black-screen, just to help anyone who wants to troubleshoot this.

I must say, I really like this site; it seems the only place on the Internet where crafted WinPE environments are being done, and the tools are quite useful. Thanks much to the contributors doing this.

--Mike Reynolds

#48 ThatOneGuy

ThatOneGuy
  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 June 2007 - 02:20 PM

At last! VistaPE 007 still did black screen, but version 005 (small english version), which I downloaded from http://vistape.boot-...g/download.html, works! Whew! Still some problems -- some sort of error when I ask to start network and such -- but nothing that I can't sort out. I'll probably try 006, too, just to see which version gets me the smallest memory footprint to help me meet my goal of re-imaging these 256Mb machines via ramdisk boot. But I think I'm on my way now. Will append a note when I find out whether 006 does black-screen, just to help anyone who wants to troubleshoot this.

I must say, I really like this site; it seems the only place on the Internet where crafted WinPE environments are being done, and the tools are quite useful. Thanks much to the contributors doing this.

--Mike Reynolds


I tried getting VistaPE to boot from PXE and USB on computers with 256MB of RAM a while back. I got very close, but then found that ImageX required a fluctuating amount of RAM when decompressing the WIM file that it was applying. I eventually gave up and just told people to boot from CD if they're using a computer with 256MB RAM. The biggest thing I dislike about that is the two minutes you have to wait before the network is available. :1st:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users