Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Error 17: File Not Found


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 June 2013 - 08:08 PM

Hi everybody!

 

I got this problem after running spyhunter4. I restarted my computer and got  this: http://img842.images...2/7229/j79u.jpg

 

I select vista/7 (because my OS is win7), press C and get this:  http://img842.images...2/1853/60ns.jpg

 

Now, I searched for similar threads and even found some, but I don't know how to get some commands, such as ";" (when I type "shift" + ";" a different character appears).

 

I'm sorry if my English isn't good enough; I hope that images will speak for myself (even though they're not that good as well).

 

Thanks in advance for any help.


Edited by gongolo, 15 June 2013 - 08:09 PM.


#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6709 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 June 2013 - 09:55 PM

If you press e you will see the menu commands for the Windows7/Vista entry

Post them here.

 

To use the grub4dos console, I suggest you type

find

and then

ls (hd0,0)/

ls (hd0,1)/

etc  depending on what was returned by find

 

you could also try

 

find --set-root /bootmgr

chainloader /bootmgr

 

and see if it boots.  (note two minus signs before set-root)



#3 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 June 2013 - 10:12 PM

First of all, thank you for your answer.

 

I followed your last advice and came out this http://img594.images...4/6779/pqqm.jpg

 

The last part says "partition=0x0(hidden sectors=0x3f)"



#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6709 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:20 PM

now type boot



#5 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:08 AM

Almost!

It seemed it was fine for a while.

Comes out a loading bar saying "loading files", then the windows logo and last my desktop, but without icons and grey instead of coloured.

 

Here is what I read now:

find --set-root /sh4ldr/vmlinuz

Error 17: file not found

Press any key to continue...



#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14177 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:01 AM

Switch the PC off, and reboot.
At the image
http://img842.images...2/7229/j79u.jpg
press "c" to get to command line.

type:

find --set-root /bootmgr

 

If you get:

 

(hd0,0) Filesystem is FAT, partition type is 0x1c

It means that first partition has been set (for *some* reason) to be "hidden".

Do you recall having a FAT32 (type 0c, i.e. LBA mapped) before?

try:

 

 

geometry (hd0)

 

What do you get?

Does it resemble the way that hard disk was partitioned "before"?

Post anyway what you get.

 

:cheers:

Wonko

 

 



#7 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:32 AM

What do you get?

This:

http://img560.images...0/8852/8koo.jpg

 

Gosh, all this for just wanting to clean my pc. Is it possible that anything like spyhunter causes such problems?

 

Thanks guys.



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14177 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:44 AM

This:

http://img560.images...0/8852/8koo.jpg

 

Gosh, all this for just wanting to clean my pc. Is it possible that anything like spyhunter causes such problems?

 

Thanks guys.

Cannot say, surely that grub4dos version, more than outdated, is obsolete.

 

The result you posted seems to imply that your disk before had three volumes:

(hd0,0) first primary partition FAT32

(hd0,1) second primary partition NTFS

(hd0,4) first logical volumes inside extended

 

Now, this is a non-common partitioning scheme, can you describe HOW you remember the disk was partitioned before?

 

It is possible that the first partition was previously visible and that *somehow* it became hidden and this is the issue causing the problem or it is possible that it was hidden even before, and then we must look for other reasons.

 

In any case, running at the grub> propmpt this:

 

 

unhide (hd0,0)

 

and then:

 

 

find --set-root /bootmgr
chainloader /bootmgr
boot

 

is the next attempt you should try.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6709 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:50 AM

maybe the 2nd sector will have the original contents if grub4dos was installed to the MBR?

 

try 

cat --hex --length=64 --skip=0x1be (hd0)0+1
cat --hex --length=64 --skip=0x1be (hd0)1+1

and compare the results???



#10 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:45 AM

 can you describe HOW you remember the disk was partitioned before?

Sorry, what do you mean with "partitioned"? I'm totally noob at this.

I tried what you suggested; a window opened: http://img43.imagesh...3/6080/l0wm.jpg

Must I follow instructions and see what happens?

 

@steve: thanks, I will also try that if it doesn't work.



#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14177 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:18 PM

Sorry, what do you mean with "partitioned"? I'm totally noob at this.

Good, then you couldn't have possibly made a "queer" partitioning, but you can still tell us if you had before 1 or 2 volumes visible (or 3 - which I doubt at this point see below).
A "volume" is the *whatever* that normally gets a drive letter, i.e. did you have C: and D: or C: only or C:, D: and E: as drive letters?
 

I tried what you suggested; a window opened: http://img43.imagesh...3/6080/l0wm.jpg

Strangely enough, this is good news.
It means that you have a recovery partition (created by the manufacturer) and that then it was ALREADY hidden.

Must I follow instructions and see what happens?

NO. :ph34r:
That (if it works) will restore the OS "as it was" (and you will lose all data).

Revert the change you made:



hide (hd0,0)


then issue the following:

 



root (hd0,1)
chainloader /bootmgr
boot

 

It should boot alright.

 

Possible explanation:

That PC is a laptop and the manufacturer has made a "recovery" partition on it.

That partition is (and should be) "hidden", but even if hidden remains first partition on disk.

The grub4dos command "find --set-root /boomgr" scans ALL partitions (no matter if hidden or not) for file /bootmgr, since the recovery partition is evidently Windows PE based, actually more likely Windows RE based (both use BOOTMGR as OS loader, like Windows 7 install does) the first found file is on the first partition (but this is the one that is hidden and not actually the one that should be booted).

 

Spyhunter (or some other software that *somehow* installed grub4dos) has a "standard" menu.lst (grub4dos menu) that looks for BOOTMGR on first partition first, and this creates the issue.

 

Report what happens, then if hopefully successful we'll talk about how to "fix" the issue. 

 

:cheers:

Wonko

 



#12 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:37 PM

I really appreciate your patience and how complete your answers are.

I had C, D and E (and yes, it is a laptop).

I got two more errors now: http://img13.imagesh...3/9240/7h39.jpg



#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14177 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 01:13 PM

I really appreciate your patience and how complete your answers are.
I had C, D and E (and yes, it is a laptop).
I got two more errors now: http://img13.imagesh...3/9240/7h39.jpg
But E: was the CD/DVD drive?
It has a CD/DD drive, right?
 
The error 18 might be an issue. :dubbio:, it may mean that the filesystem has issues :ph34r: (but it could be also be the obsolete version of grub4dos having issues with some peculiarity of that volume)
 
Try doing this:
 
 
find (hd0,1)/
 
and press the [TAB] key instead of [ENTER]
 
Ideally you should see a list of the files in that volume.
 
Do also another check, run:
 
 
cat --hex --skip=446 (hd0)+1
[ENTER]
You should see five lines of hex numbers, the last one being only 55 AA, out of the first four, one should start with 80 (and all the others with 00), which is it (it should be 2nd one).
 
Do you have a USB stick that is "eXpendable" (in the sense that it only holds data that you have already a copy elsewhere or that you can copy now)
The idea is to make a bootable USB stick with an updated grub4dos and see if it makes a difference.
Which exact make/model is that laptop?
 
Do also this other test:
 
 
root (hd0,1)
chainloader +1
boot

 
:cheers:
Wonko

#14 gongolo

gongolo
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:36 PM

Yes, E was cd/dvd driver.

 

find (hd0,1)/

 
and press the [TAB] key instead of [ENTER]

Says "Error 18: inconsistent filesystem structure"

 

cat --hex --skip=446 (hd0)+1

[ENTER]
You should see five lines of hex numbers, the last one being only 55 AA, out of the first four, one should start with 80 (and all the others with 00), which is it (it should be 2nd one).

Right.

 

Any USB key would be fine?

 

Laptop is an Asus K50IJ series.

 

Do also this other test:

 root (hd0,1) chainloader +1 boot

 

Nothing happens.


Edited by gongolo, 16 June 2013 - 02:37 PM.


#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14177 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 June 2013 - 03:03 PM

Any USB key would be fine?


Sure :), as long as you don't have data you value on it (the process to make it bootable will delete that data).
 

 

Laptop is an Asus K50IJ series.
 

Good (in the sense that is not among the "reknown" troublemakers when it comes to USB booting).

 

 

 

Do also this other test:
 root (hd0,1) chainloader +1 boot
 
Nothing happens.

This is strange. :dubbio:
You should have the "usual" Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07 after the "root (hd0,1)"
Nothing after the "chainloader +1"
*Something* after "boot", possibly an "Errore lettura da disco/Premere CTRL+ALT+CANC" or anyway some message coming from the bootsector (if the stupid thingy does not boot).

Anyway, easiest would be if you could download RMPREPUSB adn follow the instructions here:
http://www.rmprepusb...-maintain/e2bv1
for the moment just the part titled "How to make a new grub4dos bootable USB Flash drive", if needed you can add some .iso at a later time.

Confirm that you can boot the laptop to the USB stick and that you get to a menu looking like:
UVbz73X.jpg
 

:cheers:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users