Jump to content











Photo

Bitdefender Rescue CD in Win8pe


Best Answer Loisi , 12 June 2013 - 11:16 AM

Well, we have reports for the older versions to be working, so it is more likely that *something else*, like the grub4dos version you are using, something "wrong in the menu.lst entries that you are using (and that you did not post), the paths, a typo, the need (or not) of unmapping, *whatever* is the issue in your case.

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko

Wonko, thank you for your assistance. I decided not to use bitdefender, Kaspersky is working and so do F-Secure.

Loisi

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 09 June 2013 - 07:35 AM

I have Bitdefender Rescue CD included in the Grub4dos menu of my Win8pe SE. It starts, shows the logo and hangs.

A burned Rescue CD works.

In the menu.lst created by the  winbuilder the Bitdefender is called with

 

title Bitdefender
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso
map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32) || map --mem /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

 

Up to now no entry in the board

Loisi



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 10 June 2013 - 04:12 PM

If I recall correctly BitDefender uses a version of Ubuntu, so that the methods for Ubuntu should apply (possibly the isoscan cheat code) see:

http://reboot.pro/to...ing-ubuntu-iso/

more recent versions may need an unmap, see:

http://reboot.pro/in...?showtopic=9391

See if this still works with the version you have:

http://www.rmprepusb...-as-an-iso-file

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#3 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 11 June 2013 - 02:52 PM

If I recall correctly BitDefender uses a version of Ubuntu, so that the methods for Ubuntu should apply (possibly the isoscan cheat code) see:

http://reboot.pro/to...ing-ubuntu-iso/

more recent versions may need an unmap, see:

http://reboot.pro/in...?showtopic=9391

See if this still works with the version you have:

http://www.rmprepusb...-as-an-iso-file

 

:cheers:

Wonko

According the tutorial changed menu.lst. Ubuntu boots and hangs with:

can't open dev/sr0  scripts/casper-premount/20iso_scan.

Loisi



#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 June 2013 - 03:38 PM

According the tutorial changed menu.lst. Ubuntu boots and hangs with:

can't open dev/sr0  scripts/casper-premount/20iso_scan.

Loisi

Are you sure?

The "can't open dev/sr0  scripts/casper-premount/20iso_scan"

Looks like some kind of parsing issue. :w00t:

Maybe something changed in 2013 version, but it's strange, see also:

http://forum.bitdefe...php/t30010.html

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#5 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:31 AM

Are you sure?

The "can't open dev/sr0  scripts/casper-premount/20iso_scan"

Looks like some kind of parsing issue. :w00t:

Maybe something changed in 2013 version, but it's strange, see also:

http://forum.bitdefe...php/t30010.html

 

:cheers:

Wonko

The forum did'nt help. I used in addition to the 2013 version 2 older one's. Ubuntu boots and halts always with the same message. Dev/sr0 can't be opened, bitdefender.iso not found. I extracted the ISO, put it in the root of the stick-no change. 



#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 June 2013 - 09:40 AM

The forum did'nt help. I used in addition to the 2013 version 2 older one's. Ubuntu boots and halts always with the same message. Dev/sr0 can't be opened, bitdefender.iso not found. I extracted the ISO, put it in the root of the stick-no change. 

Well, we have reports for the older versions to be working, so it is more likely that *something else*, like the grub4dos version you are using, something "wrong in the menu.lst entries that you are using (and that you did not post), the paths, a typo, the need (or not) of unmapping, *whatever* is the issue in your case.

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#7 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 11:16 AM   Best Answer

Well, we have reports for the older versions to be working, so it is more likely that *something else*, like the grub4dos version you are using, something "wrong in the menu.lst entries that you are using (and that you did not post), the paths, a typo, the need (or not) of unmapping, *whatever* is the issue in your case.

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko

Wonko, thank you for your assistance. I decided not to use bitdefender, Kaspersky is working and so do F-Secure.

Loisi



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 June 2013 - 11:33 AM

Wonko, thank you for your assistance. I decided not to use bitdefender, Kaspersky is working and so do F-Secure.
 

You are welcome :), but besides the fact that giving up is never an option :w00t:, your decision to not use it makes this thread pretty much unuseful, anyone searching for bitdefender will find it, find NO solution, no meaningful data and will loose some time :(

You contributed to pollute the internet! :ph34r:

:cheers:
Wonko

#9 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:29 PM

Using “clean” Win8pe & KasperskyRescue iso’s in Sardu:

Both booting fine without any problems…

 

Ps.

A small guide how to make a Win8pe is here.



#10 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:35 PM

 

You are welcome :), but besides the fact that giving up is never an option :w00t:, your decision to not use it makes this thread pretty much unuseful, anyone searching for bitdefender will find it, find NO solution, no meaningful data and will loose some time :(

You contributed to pollute the internet! :ph34r:

:cheers:
Wonko

I understand you are upset,but what option I have. Win8pe_se with winbuilder80/82 compiles the ISO and produces a not working menu.lst.

 
title Bitdefender
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso
map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32) || map --mem /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

 

Changing it to

 

 title BitDefender Rescue CD 2010
    map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (0xff)
    map --hook
    root (0xff)
    kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bitdefender.iso
    initrd /casper/initrd.gz

 

did not help. I replaced also (0xff) with (hd32).

Loisi
 



#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:51 PM

I understand you are upset,but what option I have. Win8pe_se with winbuilder80/82 compiles the ISO and produces a not working menu.lst.

I am not particularly upset, only normally (for my standards) grumpy.

 

 

 
title Bitdefender
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso
map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32) || map --mem /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

This is expected.

 

 

Changing it to

 

 title BitDefender Rescue CD 2010
    map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (0xff)
    map --hook
    root (0xff)
    kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bitdefender.iso
    initrd /casper/initrd.gz

 

did not help. I replaced also (0xff) with (hd32).

This is also expected :whistling:.

 

 

 

Let's see :dubbio::

 

 

 

 title BitDefender Rescue CD 2010
    map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (0xff)
    map --hook
    root (0xff)
    kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bitdefender.iso
    initrd /casper/initrd.gz

 

It is not that surprising that a file bitdefender.iso cannot be found in the ROOT since you placed it in /Boot/IMG/ .

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#12 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 June 2013 - 03:19 PM

Using “clean” Win8pe & KasperskyRescue iso’s in Sardu:

Both booting fine without any problems…

 

Ps.

A small guide how to make a Win8pe is here.

 

Just tested with Bitdefenders ISO together with Win8pe & Kasp ISO’s in Sardu:

All 3 booting fine…



#13 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:50 AM

I am not particularly upset, only normally (for my standards) grumpy.

 

 

This is expected.

 

 

This is also expected :whistling:.

 

 

 

Let's see :dubbio::

 

 

 

 

It is not that surprising that a file bitdefender.iso cannot be found in the ROOT since you placed it in /Boot/IMG/ .

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko

By mistake I copied a wrong menu.lst I never used. Bitdefender was located in /BOOT/IMG and in another attempt in ROOT.

By chance I found now the reason for the problem. In the Winbuilder Win8PE_SE the item "create ISO " includes on the bottom "Start Isolinux from Grub4dos" which was activated. Deactivating this item solved the problem. Bitdefender starts now with

 

title BitDefender Rescue CD 2010
    map /Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso (0xff)
    map --hook
    root (0xff)
    kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/Boot/IMG/bitdefender.iso
    initrd /casper/initrd.gz

 

Loisi



#14 Loisi

Loisi

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:57 AM

Using “clean” Win8pe & KasperskyRescue iso’s in Sardu:

Both booting fine without any problems…

 

Ps.

A small guide how to make a Win8pe is here.

Thank you al_jo, I already solved the problem. I know Sardu and like it but i am not certain of it will boot into a Win8 PC with UEFI. So I used the Win8PE_SE project.

Loisi



#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14303 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:03 AM

Bitdefender starts now with ...
Very good :).
Case closed :smiling9:

:cheers:
Wonko

#16 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:06 PM

Thank you al_jo, I already solved the problem. I know Sardu and like it but i am not certain of it will boot into a Win8 PC with UEFI. So I used the Win8PE_SE project.

Loisi

Good, just want to mention that the reason for my input was this:

Post7:

"I decided not to use bitdefender, Kaspersky is working and so do F-Secure"

B) 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users