Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Extents

file copy in use

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

Looking at your previous wishlist :

 

1) checks if it is contiguous (only one extent), and only if this is the case outputs the file:

    Not the case for now - will output details in all cases (i.e contiguous or not)
2) LBA Start (in decimal, sectors)

   Done
3) LBA Length (in decimal, sectors)

    Done (for each extent)
4) Number of (contiguous) clusters used (decimal)

    Done

5) Size of the cluster (in decimal, sectors)

    Done : you have the volume cluster size, sector size and sectors per cluster (this later you call size of the     cluster in sectors)
6) Size of the file (in decimal, bytes) from the filesystem

    Done



#27 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Very good :) , I 'll test and report.

 

About the "hidden", I understand how some people (including some clueless peps  from MS) may use that, but it still doesn't make any sense, because they are not at all "hidden" (and whether they are actually "allocated" or not has nothing to do with the MBR or the relative partition entry) while they are definitely "before" (or an offset to the partition start, as you say).

 

As well I stand by having (on a separate line) "File size on disk" (because that is accurate and actually what is shown in Windows Explorer when chosing File->Properties):

 

If you could actually make it so that the download file here:

http://reboot.pro/fi...le/316-extents/

 is the new one (and not the old one) this could help for the testing. :whistling:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#28 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

 

If you could actually make it so that the download file here:

http://reboot.pro/fi...le/316-extents/

 is the new one (and not the old one) this could help for the testing. :whistling:

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Normally the reboot.pro download link points to http://erwan.labalec...her/extents.zip

I suspect reboot.pro to "cache" one way or the other.

I always and only update the zip file on my web site so that I dont have to update other forums/web sites download links.

Use http://erwan.labalec...her/extents.zipfor now until I see what's wrong with reboot.pro download/upload section.



#29 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Normally the reboot.pro download link points to http://erwan.labalec...her/extents.zip
I suspect reboot.pro to "cache" one way or the other.
I always and only update the zip file on my web site so that I dont have to update other forums/web sites download links.
Use http://erwan.labalec...her/extents.zipfor now until I see what's wrong with reboot.pro download/upload section.

Nahh, the issue is on your site:

Da: http://erwan.labalec...her/extents.zip
A: C:\Downloaded\grub4dos-0.4.6\extents.zip
Dimensione: 589 KB (602.785 byte)
Trasferiti: 298 KB (304.964 byte)

 
The resulting file (which has obviously an exclamation mark  in Opera "Transfers" as it is to all effects a "partial download") is actually a "valid" .zip file, containing:
extents.exe 569886 2014-03-15 16:03
and the
src.zip 17967 2015-12-04 21:17
 
And this is yet another reason why it would have made much more sense to use version number in the archive filenames. :frusty:
 
:duff:
Wonko

#30 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

Indeed, version files would avoid these issues.

Still I am highly frustrated with these obscure "caching" mechanism either with the browser(s) or with some forums.  :frusty: 

File is fresh new on my ftp and this is the zip file you should get, from march 24th.

Zip no longer contains the source code since I now share it via github (in my signature).

RJFmYEB.png

 

 

EDIT.

 

I have refreshed the download page for extents.

 

 6zBFeCl.png



#31 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Ok, now the right file is downloaded :).

BUT:

C:\appoggio\Alcor>extents-win32.exe
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
extents filename
extents source destination

C:\appoggio\Alcor>extents-win32.exe LoadDriver.exe
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
Division by zero
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:0
Sectors per Cluster:4241771
Cluster size :0

no clusters found...

C:\appoggio\Alcor>myfragmenter -i LoadDriver.exe
MyFragmenter v1.2, 2008 J.C. Kessels

Commandline argument '-i' accepted.

Processing: LoadDriver.exe
Fragment list:
Extent 1: Lcn=32014747, Vcn=0, NextVcn=5
5 clusters, 1 fragments.

Finished, 1 files processed.


:dubbio:

:duff:
Wonko

#32 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

This is what I call the developper syndrom : it always work on the developper computer :)

 

Try again in admin shell (i.e run cmd as admin, etc).

 

I should probably make it so that exe runs as an elevated process.



#33 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

ah yes : do provide a full path please :)

as I use the 3 first characters to derive the volume letter...

 

extents c:\whatever\LoadDriver.exe

 

updated command line help accordingly.

extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
extents path_to_filename
extents path_to_source path_to_destination


#34 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

This is what I call the developper syndrom : it always work on the developper computer :)

 

Try again in admin shell (i.e run cmd as admin, etc).

 

I should probably make it so that exe runs as an elevated process.

Look, I am running XP (and SP2 while at it), the computer is mine, I own it, and I am the supreme ruler on it.

I am Admin, no UAC in the way.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#35 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

Look, I am running XP (and SP2 while at it), the computer is mine, I own it, and I am the supreme ruler on it.

I am Admin, no UAC in the way.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

And I am sure will take this XP SP2 computer away from you ;)

See previous post : provide the full path to the filename - I know I know, yes i could get the current directory, etc.



#36 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Yep. :)

@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS

ECHO extents-win32.exe "%~dpnx1"

extents-win32.exe "%~dpnx1"

;)

 

 

 

C:\appoggio\Alcor>runextents.cmd Loaddriver.exe
extents-win32.exe "C:\appoggio\Alcor\LoadDriver.exe"
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:512
Sectors per Cluster:8
Cluster size :4096
Filesystem :NTFS
***************************
Filename:C:\appoggio\Alcor\LoadDriver.exe
File Cluster count :5 (20480 bytes)
File size in bytes :20480
File cluster first :32014747
Extents count :1

extents_[0] - VCN : 0 LCN : 32014747 Lba : 256118039 Sectors : 40

 

:duff:

Wonko



#37 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

Nice, you worked out the current directory with you command line powers :)

And the tool actually "works" at second attemp : not so bad !

 

Latest version is more explicit if the file cannot be found.



#38 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Latest version is more explicit if the file cannot be found.

 

I thought that the English were the ones that made understatements.

 

Verbose version:

Since the program cannot do what any other program normally do (i.e. get the full path of a file in the same directory) a full path (that in new Windows versions used by new Windows users will likely include one or more space, necessitating for the filename incuding the full path to be enclosed in double quotes) is required for the target . Now it tells you that.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#39 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

I thought that the English were the ones that made understatements.

 

Verbose version:

Since the program cannot do what any other program normally do (i.e. get the full path of a file in the same directory) a full path (that in new Windows versions used by new Windows users will likely include one or more space, necessitating for the filename incuding the full path to be enclosed in double quotes) is required for the target . Now it tells you that.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Hold your fire :)

The next version will shortly support the lack of full path.



#40 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

And now (ONLY to show how much a bastard I can be ;)):

 

 

C:\appoggio\Alcor>extents-win32 \\?\Volume{83092730-6bfc-11df-b90c-806d6172696f}
\Appoggio\Alcor\loaddriver.exe
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
Division by zero
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:0
Sectors per Cluster:4241771
Cluster size :0

no clusters found...

C:\appoggio\Alcor>myfragmenter -i \\?\Volume{83092730-6bfc-11df-b90c-806d6172696
f}\Appoggio\Alcor\loaddriver.exe
MyFragmenter v1.2, 2008 J.C. Kessels

Commandline argument '-i' accepted.

Processing: \\?\Volume{83092730-6bfc-11df-b90c-806d6172696f}\Appoggio\Alcor\load
driver.exe
Fragment list:
Extent 1: Lcn=32014747, Vcn=0, NextVcn=5
5 clusters, 1 fragments.

:whistling:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#41 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

By popular demand, the last version now supports the lack of full path.

i.e extents-win32.exe LoadDriver.exe will work with LoadDriver.exe in the same directory as extents-win32.exe.

 

About spaces in the path, the software does not care or rather is ok with.

IMHO, this is something the user/call must adress when using dos/console programs.



#42 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

And now (ONLY to show how much a bastard I can be ;)):

:whistling:

...

 

I can only agree :)

 

Let me look into this one particular scenario.

Is that really a must have? Why would one use this way to adress a file?



#43 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted A day ago

Let me look into this one particular scenario.
Is that really a must have? Why would one use this way to adress a file?

Naah, noone knows, let alone actually type, the volume id, it is not a problem at all.
 
Don't worry :).
 
Tested, seemingly fine:

 

 

C:\appoggio\Alcor>extents-win32.exe LoadDriver.exe
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:512
Sectors per Cluster:8
Cluster size :4096
Filesystem :NTFS
***************************
Filename:C:\appoggio\Alcor\LoadDriver.exe
File Cluster count :5 (20480 bytes)
File size in bytes :20480
File cluster first :32014747
Extents count :1

extents_[0] - VCN : 0 LCN : 32014747 Lba : 256118039 Sectors : 40

:thumbsup: 
 
:duff:
Wonko



#44 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2476 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A day ago

Naah, noone knows, let alone actually type, the volume id, it is not a problem at all.
 
Don't worry :).
 
 

 

 

Was a question of honour :)

Last version support volume paths !

extents-win32.exe \\?\Volume{e26e7b16-122a-11e7-82bf-806e6f6e6963}\bootmgr
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:512
Sectors per Cluster:8
Cluster size :4096
Filesystem :NTFS
***************************
Filename:C:\bootmgr
File Cluster count :98 (401408 bytes)
File size in bytes :398356
File cluster first :3995359
Extents count :1

extents_[0] -  VCN : 0 LCN : 3995359 Lba : 32681720 Sectors : 784


#45 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14626 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 6 hours ago

Good :).

Some example batch parsing of the output:

@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION
FOR /F "tokens=1,2,3,4,5,6 delims=:-" %%A IN ('extents-win32.exe "%~dpnx1"') DO (
SET ThisToken1=%%A
SET ThisToken1=!ThisToken1: =_!
SET my!ThisToken1!=%%B
IF !ThisToken1!==extents_[0]_ CALL :get_LBA Start_LBA %%E&&CALL :get_LBA Length_LBA %%F
)
SET myFilename="%~dpnx1"

FOR /F "tokens=2,3 delims=()= " %%A IN ('SET myFile_Cluster_count_') DO (
SET /A myFile_Cluster_count_=%%A
SET /A myFile_size_on_disk_=%%B
)

IF %myExtents_count_%==1 (
ECHO File is contiguous
) ELSE (
ECHO File is NOT contiguous
ECHO A suffusion of yellow ...
GOTO :EOF
)
REM SET my
ECHO LBA Blocklist of file: %myFilename%
ECHO %myStart_LBA%+%myLength_LBA%

GOTO :EOF

:get_LBA
SET my%1=%2
GOTO :EOF

Results:

C:\appoggio\Alcor>extents-win32.exe LoadDriver.exe
extents 1.0 by erwan2212@gmail.com
***************************
Bytes Per Sector:512
Sectors per Cluster:8
Cluster size :4096
Filesystem :NTFS
***************************
Filename:C:\appoggio\Alcor\LoadDriver.exe
File Cluster count :5 (20480 bytes)
File size in bytes :20480
File cluster first :32014747
Extents count :1

extents_[0] -  VCN : 0 LCN : 32014747 Lba : 256118039 Sectors : 40

C:\appoggio\Alcor>getextents.cmd LoadDriver.exe
File is contiguous
LBA Blocklist of file: "C:\appoggio\Alcor\LoadDriver.exe"
256118039+40

:duff:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users