Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

VHD_XP_Setup - Install XP in VHD -

vhd xp

  • Please log in to reply
143 replies to this topic

#51 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 09:12 AM

Error:
Installation Failed: J:\I386\asms. Error Message : The parameter is incorrect.


***

Fatal Error:
One of the components that Windows needs to continue setup could not be installed.

The parameter is incorrect.


***
 



#52 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:13 AM

Error:
Installation Failed: J:\I386\asms. Error Message : The parameter is incorrect.

 

Did you use the map --e820cycles=0 fix also in the Continue GUI-mode XP Setup entry in menu.lst

It will be probably needed there as well.

 

You can try in VHD_XP_Create to Select the Checkbox Load XP Setup ISO in RAM.

That might help to overcome the error. 

 

What is the Size of your XP Setup ISO file and did you check if it is fragmented ?

Did you prepare it according to Section 2 http://reboot.pro/to...hd/#entry172481

Certainly required is:

 
Use DPsBase.exe to Integrate DriverPacks Chipset + Processor + MassStorage + LAN + WLAN DriverPacks
which will then be located in OEM Folder in your XPSOURCE folder.
(settings Disc - Method 2 - GuiRunOnce - Enable KTD for the DriverPacks I will Select)
 

 

Don't add more DriverPacks like Graphics and Sound


#53 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:22 PM

 

 

Did you use the map --e820cycles=0 fix also in the Continue GUI-mode XP Setup entry in menu.lst

It will be probably needed there as well.

yes

 

 

You can try in VHD_XP_Create to Select the Checkbox Load XP Setup ISO in RAM.

That might help to overcome the error.

Gives error in TXT-mode Setup

 

 

What is the Size of your XP Setup ISO file and did you check if it is fragmented ?

517 MB

yes

 

 

Did you prepare it according to Section 2 http://reboot.pro/to...hd/#entry172481

Yes

and i have already sp3 (the iso is original sp3)

but from "Use DriverForge.v4.5.4.exe" i did not do that

 

steps i did:

extract iso

Integrate DriverPacks Chipset + Processor + MassStorage + LAN + WLAN

(settings Disc - Method 2 - GuiRunOnce - Enable KTD for the DriverPacks I will Select)

create iso with same boot loader

 

AND what does winvblock driver do


Edited by Basel Sayeh, 20 January 2014 - 12:29 PM.


#54 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:36 PM

The asm error indicates that virtual CD drive is not found in Continue GUI mode XP Setup.

It should be solved by loading XP setup ISO to RAM by using --mem option.

 

Strange that TXT-mode gives problem for that case.

You can try to use proposed Checkbox but remove --mem option in TXT mode afterwards.e.g. use something like

map /XP3_1307.iso (0xff)

 

DriverForge is not the problem.

 

Your XP Setup CD is rather small.

Did you use nLite  to reduce size. That might be the reason .....

Start with original XP3 Setup CD and add the 5 DriverPacks as described.

 

Make new XP Setup ISO file and copy it to root next to where XP-1.vhd will be created.

Remove old stuff and use VHD_XP_Create.exe again to make new XP-1.vhd and menu.lst entries.



#55 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:39 PM

 

Your XP Setup CD is rather small.

Did you use nLite  to reduce size. That might be the reason .....

Start with original XP3 Setup CD and add the 5 DriverPacks as described.

i didnt touch n-lite

 

 

Strange that TXT-mode gives problem for that case.

You can try to use proposed Checkbox but remove --mem option in TXT mode afterwards.e.g. use something like

map /XP3_1307.iso (0xff)

i will try that



#56 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:53 PM

 

It should be solved by loading XP setup ISO to RAM by using --mem option.

not solved

gives me 7-zip not found error and "please insert windows xp sp3 cd"

 

 

Strange that TXT-mode gives problem for that case.

gives me cd could not be found



#57 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:57 PM

gives me cd could not be found

 

But TXT-mode was working for you previously.

Use same settings in menu.lst as used before to launch TXT-mode



#58 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 12:59 PM

But TXT-mode was working for you previously.

Use same settings in menu.lst as used before to launch TXT-mode

Yes starts txt mode

and when i chose harddisk gives me error



#59 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:01 PM

here is my menu.lst

 

title Continue GUI-mode XP Setup on XP-1.vhd - WinVBlock driver - 10000 MB
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /winxpFirst.iso
map --mem /winxpFirst.iso (0xff)
map --rd-size=2048
map --mem (rd)+4 (0x55)
map --e820cycles=0
map --hook
write (0x55) #!GRUB4DOS\x00v=1\x00/winxpFirst.iso\x00\xff\x00
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XP-1.vhd
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd1)
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd0)
map /XP-1.vhd (hd0)
map --rehook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr

title Start -  TXT-mode XP Setup on XP-1.vhd - WinVBlock driver - 10000 MB
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /winxpFirst.iso
map --mem /winxpFirst.iso (0xff)
map --rd-size=2048
map --mem (rd)+4 (0x55)
map --e820cycles=0
map --hook
write (0x55) #!GRUB4DOS\x00v=1\x00/winxpFirst.iso\x00\xff\x00
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XP-1.vhd
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd1)
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd0)
map /XP-1.vhd (hd0)
map --rehook
chainloader (0xff)

title Boot  Windows XP from Image - XP-1.vhd - WinVBlock driver - 10000 MB
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XP-1.vhd
map /XP-1.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr



#60 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

Filename XP Setup ISO is too long and must be according to dos 8.3

 

So rename and use e.g. winxp1.iso

 

Try first to Install in 2000 MB VHD (use default setting 2 GB)



#61 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:25 PM

Filename XP Setup ISO is too long and must be according to dos 8.3

 

So rename and use e.g. winxp1.iso

 

Try first to Install in 2000 MB VHD (use default setting 2 GB)

it is winxpFirst.iso

F:\winxpFirst.iso

 

i will try



#62 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:49 PM

tried

with same error

in mem mode
setup could not find windows cd

after selecting hdd

 

in normal mode (without mem)

txt setup completes

but in gui setup

i see 7-zip extacting window

then error

"Installation Failed: J:\I386\asms. Error Message : The parameter is incorrect."



#63 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:01 PM

I think you need to have lines also just before rehook like this

map --e820cycles=0
map --rehook

#64 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:30 PM

I think you need to have lines also just before rehook like this

map --e820cycles=0
map --rehook

same errors

 

ive tested the same winxp iso in Oracle VM VirtualBox and it was booted normaly

 

what is wrong???????


Edited by Basel Sayeh, 20 January 2014 - 03:04 PM.


#65 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:30 PM

After TXT-mode Setup we can inspect your XP-1.vhd

Boot with normal OS and use R-mouse to Mount XP-1.vhd in ImDisk Virtual drive.

Then in mounted XP-1-VHD drive go to Windows\system32 and copy file $winnt$.inf to your local Harddisk.

Double-click on $winnt$.inf and mask your ProductKey like ProductKey=xxxxx

 

Post your modified $winnt$.inf as attachment to this forum so that I can study on it ....

 

:cheers:



#66 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:54 PM

After TXT-mode Setup we can inspect your XP-1.vhd

Boot with normal OS and use R-mouse to Mount XP-1.vhd in ImDisk Virtual drive.

Then in mounted XP-1-VHD drive go to Windows\system32 and copy file $winnt$.inf to your local Harddisk.

Double-click on $winnt$.inf and mask your ProductKey like ProductKey=xxxxx

 

Post your modified $winnt$.inf as attachment to this forum so that I can study on it ....

 

:cheers:

OK and i dont need imdisk

because im using win7


Edited by Basel Sayeh, 20 January 2014 - 04:55 PM.


#67 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:58 PM

 

[OemInfFiles]
OemInfName = "oemscs01.inf"
OemDriverFlags = "1"
OemDriverPathName = "%SystemRoot%\OemDir"
[GUIRunOnce]
command9 = "%SystemDrive%\DPsFnshr.exe"
[Unattended]
DriverSigningPolicy = "Ignore"
NonDriverSigningPolicy = "Ignore"
[Data]
OemDrivers = "OemInfFiles"
unattendedinstall = "yes"
floppylessbootpath = "no"
producttype = "winnt"
standardserverupgrade = "no"
winntupgrade = "no"
win9xupgrade = "no"
win31upgrade = "no"
sourcepath = "\device\cdrom1\"
MsDosInitiated = "No"
dospath=J:\



#68 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 06:05 PM

Try modified file $winnt$.inf

Mount XP-1.vhd and in $winnt$.inf Remove dospath=J:\

Save file and Unmount XP-1.vhd

Reboot from Grub4dos menu and try to Continue GUI mode XP Setup.

 

:cheers:



#69 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:01 PM

Try modified file $winnt$.inf

Mount XP-1.vhd and in $winnt$.inf Remove dospath=J:\

Save file and Unmount XP-1.vhd

Reboot from Grub4dos menu and try to Continue GUI mode XP Setup.

 

:cheers:

Same problem



#70 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1342 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:45 PM

@Basel Sayeh

Do you read the file /winxpFirst.iso from a USB drive?
Try a internal hard disk.

Which hardware do you use? Which BIOS do you use?

#71 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 08:04 PM

@Basel Sayeh

Do you read the file /winxpFirst.iso from a USB drive?
Try a internal hard disk.

Which hardware do you use? Which BIOS do you use?

no

i dont use usb for booting iso

 

acer aspire 5750

3g ram

intel core i3

win7

 

Insyde H2O rev 3.5

v1.21


Edited by Basel Sayeh, 20 January 2014 - 08:08 PM.


#72 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 21 January 2014 - 09:26 AM

@Basel Sayeh

 

The problem is that Virtual XP Setup CD in your case is not found in GUI mode of XP Setup.

 

To overcome your problem you can try a NEW modified way of Install XP in VHD.

 

0. If desired use first UFD_FORMAT.exe to make USB-Stick bootable with Grub4dos Menu and that can be used as Target Boot Drive
1. Then Use VHD_XP_Create.exe where XP Setup ISO file is NOT Selected in this case.
Select Target Drives and Grub4dos Boot Menu Checkbox and use GO 
to make XP-1.vhd on NTFS System Drive and to make NT Setup Grub4dos Boot Menu on Target Boot Drive.
2. Mount XP-1.vhd as ImDisk Virtual Drive - if needed use imdiskinst.exe to Install ImDisk driver

3. Use WinNTSetup v3.2 - click on XP tab - Right-click to Select XP Setup ISO file

Select as Boot Drive and as Installation Drive the ImDisk Virtual drive of mounted XP-1.vhd

Click Setup to prepare $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS folders in XP VHD

http://www.msfn.org/...winntsetup-v32/

4. Use menu.lst on Target Boot Drive which has following entry in Grub4dos Boot Menu

5. Take care that winvblock.ima is found next to XP-1.vhd

6. Reboot to Install XP in VHD  - Start TXT-mode and then reboot 2x with Grub4dos menu Boot Windows XP

 

title Start -  TXT-mode XP Setup on XP-1.vhd - WinVBlock driver - 2000 MB
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XP-1.vhd
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd1)
map --mem /winvblock.ima (fd0)
map /XP-1.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
 
title Boot  Windows XP from Image - XP-1.vhd - WinVBlock driver - 2000 MB
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XP-1.vhd
map /XP-1.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
 
 

VHD_XP_WinNTSetup3.png ===> VHD_XP_WinNTSetup.png

 

:cheers:



#73 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 21 January 2014 - 10:37 AM

Will this work on a USB HDD, SATA HDD or IDE HDD only?



#74 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 21 January 2014 - 10:47 AM

Will this work on a USB HDD, SATA HDD or IDE HDD only?

SATA or IDE HDD drive can be used as location for XP VHD file.

USB drive or HDD drive can be used for boot files e.g. booting with Grub4dos Boot Menu.

 

I have not tested yet using XP VHD located on USB HDD,

but that might be possible but requires to Integrate Wait4UFD driver in XP Setup Source

Direct Install of XP in VHD on USB requires to Integrate Wait4UFD driver in XP Setup Source
http://reboot.pro/to...it/#entry167235

 



#75 Basel Sayeh

Basel Sayeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 21 January 2014 - 11:37 AM

@Basel Sayeh

 

The problem is that Virtual XP Setup CD in your case is not found in GUI mode of XP Setup.

 

To overcome your problem you can try a NEW modified way of Install XP in VHD.

 

1. Use VHD_XP_Create.exe to make XP-1.vhd as usual with Grub4dos Boot Menu on Target Boot Drive

2. Mount XP-1.vhd as ImDisk Virtual Drive (ImDisk required !)

3. Use WinNTSetup v3.1 - click on XP tab - Right-click to Select XP Setup ISO file

Select as Boot Drive and as Installation Drive the ImDisk Virtual drive of mounted XP-1.vhd

Click Setup to prepare $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS folders in XP VHD

http://www.msfn.org/...winntsetup-v31/

4. Modify menu.lst on Target Boot Drive to make following entry in Grub4dos Boot Menu

5. Take care that winvblock.ima is found next to XP-1.vhd

6. Reboot to Install XP in VHD (3x boot with given Grub4dos menu entry)

 

 

attachicon.gifVHD_XP_WinNTSetup3.png ===> attachicon.gifVHD_XP_WinNTSetup.png

 

:cheers:

Thanks

But new error

setup cannot find winvblock

and the floppy needs format

but i have extracted and solved the problem and finally started winxp

now can i integrate sound-a and sound-b?

i want to reinstall in 10gb vhd







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vhd, xp

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users