Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

cannot access reboot.pro unless thru a proxy


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1920 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 11 May 2013 - 11:48 AM

Hi Guys, For a few days I regularly get site not found and reboot.pro does not even ping back (178.63.20.146). When going thru a proxy, site works ok. I am orange french network if it may helps. Help? :) Regards, Erwan
  • Dc0de likes this

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13649 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 May 2013 - 03:01 PM

Hi Guys, For a few days I regularly get site not found and reboot.pro does not even ping back (178.63.20.146). When going thru a proxy, site works ok. I am orange french network if it may helps. Help? :) Regards, Erwan

Yep, there have been problems from Italy as well. :(

 

Cannot say if it is one of the experiments Nuno makes from time to time to try and get a better service or if reboot.pro was "under attack" :w00t:.

 

Yesterday www.boot-land.net instead of redirecting to reboot.pro had the CDN page saying it didn't exist (offline):

http://en.wikipedia....elivery_network

http://en.wikipedia....wiki/CloudFlare

as well it could be hiccups in the actual CDN :ph34r: Cloudflare, see:

http://nunobrito1981...service-to.html

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=25087

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko


  • Dc0de likes this

#3 Dc0de

Dc0de
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:24 AM

Having same problems here accessing site from in UK, down here in Superfast Fibreoptic Cornwall.

 

Im trying to use Winbuilder to create a live xp disc. While downloading the scripts, reboot.pro ( 178.63.20.146) appears to ban my IP address. I then cant get access to any site on that ip (reboot.pro, sitebuilder.net) until i get a different IP from my isp. Tracert also indicates that everything upto that IP works. This is making Winbuilder unusable as not all scripts download.

 

It appears to happen when downloading the small scripts rapidly (im on super fast web access)....could it be thinking im trying to do some kind of DOS attack?

 

Ive also tried a proxy, and it does work....but its very slow.

 

Any suggestions how to fix this?

 

@wonko Are you sure about those posts...they are from last year 2012?

 

ALSO

 

Just registered to state above problem, and clicking on the email link to validate account gives the following error

 

Fatal error: Call to undefined method han_login::validateAccount() in /home/reboot/public_html/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 2270

 

Account validates ok though as you can see (im logged in)



#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13649 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:58 AM

@wonko Are you sure about those posts...they are from last year 2012?

 

Sure they are from 2012, but the CLoudflare error I got was a few days ago, this leads me to believe that Cloudflare is still one of the factors of the equation (cannot say if relevant to the issue at hand or not).

The traffic on this site has steadily increased over the years, and from time to time Nuno has to find a way to provide enough bandwidth, concurrent users and what not.

 

The risk of some issues here and there does exist (and just for the record it was forecast early enough in the history of the tool).

 

Depending on what you want to build/need, you could try using one of the Amalux's "frozen builds":

http://reboot.pro/to...-portable-apps/

http://amalux.winbui...p?dir=Projects/

or find the good guys that forked from reboot.pro and developed independently the LiveXP.

 

In order to contribute to a peaceful environment, Nuno placed a "word filter" to prevent anyone from posting a link to that site, and one of my preferred activities :smiling9: is to find creative workarounds to that (senseless) provision.

Do not take this link as a "personal matter", it is just a way to provide you with the info (and not use a tinuirl or the like ;)) :

http://en.lmgtfy.com...kin with codes"

 

:cheers:

Wonko 


  • Dc0de likes this

#5 Dc0de

Dc0de
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 May 2013 - 02:20 PM

@wonko

 

Thanks for the tips.

 

Its a bit of a shame really that the "website protection" settings that are in place make it very frustrating to use winbuilder. I managed to get all scripts for XP live though winbuilder, but had to change my IP 4 times in the process and resume. I wonder how many other people are having this problem and are just thinking that the website is down, and just give up. Alot of good projects here, that are not getting maximum coverage to the internet.

 

Obviously I could be wrong, and it could be something totally different and not what we think :)

 

@Admins @Moderators Anyone on the case to fix or investigate this?

 

Now some keywords so that others having this problem, may find this post (if they can reach the website that is)

 

reboot.pro down winbuilder.net down can't access IP banned winbuilder stops downloading scripts XPLive



#6 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1920 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 13 May 2013 - 02:33 PM

Hi Guys,

 

As far I am concerned, I am not a winbuilder user but I do know that it has been a week that I can no longer access reboot.pro.

 

I am a "moderate" user at worse pushing on the refresh key from time to time.

 

if I understand well, does it mean that my domain has been blacklisted by the hoster because too many requests comes from there?

 

Regards,

Erwan



#7 Dc0de

Dc0de
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 May 2013 - 03:03 PM

@erwan.l

 

I really dont know for sure. Im only saying what it appears to be from my end.

 

Like now, i am accessing the forum/site ok. If I then run winbuilder and download the small scripts involved, which happens quickly as there is alot of small scripts (many requests from server), part way through it stops downloading and tracert gets no response from the above IP as if my current IP has been blocked. Other websites work ok, just nothing hosted at the above IP (winbuilder.net , reboot.pro etc).

 

If I then get my router to get a new IP from my ISP, all works fine again.

 

Can you access winbuilder.net or are you "blocked" from there too? Surely this would point to IP ban. If you are on a dynamic Ip from your ISP, get a new IP and see if everything works again.

 

My next test is to limit my bandwidth with my router and try an be less agressive with the download speeds.

 

I would use proxy in winbuilder to avoid this problem, but

 

1) All the free proxies are very slow..unless you can recommend one

 

2)It doesnt fix the underlying problem.



#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10447 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 May 2013 - 09:45 PM

Was not easy to counteract this one but we seem to be back in full-speed, don't know how long this performance will last before the next round of bots is launched.

 

Wonko, there is a reason for word filters to sites that you point with a creative manner. Some of them have no manners and wouldn't be surprised if some people there wouldn't be behind the stress being caused on our server machine in lack of better way to get us off the way. So, thanks for pointing to them.

 

 

 

Fatal error: Call to undefined method han_login::validateAccount() in /home/reboot/public_html/admin/sources/base/core.php on line 2270

 

Sorry about that. The company that builds the software for this forum has released a critical security patch that needed to be applied (given the high incidence of daily attacks to our site). The patch broke some forum features since we are not using the most recent version (wonko can explain why..).

 

Don't know yet if we will soon be deploying the most recent version because of this issue you report. Another annoyance is that I'm also unable to delete member accounts from the admin panel and some people already requested their accounts to be closed and removed.

 

Sorry for not posting public updates, I don't do this while an attack is proceeding or otherwise it doesn't get any better.



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13649 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 May 2013 - 10:31 AM

Wonko, there is a reason for word filters to sites that you point with a creative manner. Some of them have no manners and wouldn't be surprised if some people there wouldn't be behind the stress being caused on our server machine in lack of better way to get us off the way. So, thanks for pointing to them.

Sure some of them have no manners :(, but it is not by putting the dust under the carpet that you clean a room.

 

Notwithstanding being one of the few that tried (vainly) to re-compose the quarrels, I have been personally bad-mouthed as well on that site, but still attempting hiding it is not only a non-solution, it also puts you on the same level of senseless litigiosity.

 

And from that to accusing the good :) (and bad :ph34r:) guys over there to be part of an evil plot to deny access to reboot.pro :w00t: it is a really loooog leap into conspiracy theories.

 

Come on :), you don't really *need* a tinfoil hat, even if you are Portuguese, you don' t really have more risks to be abducted by aliens ;) than any other person:

http://reboot.pro/to...evice/?p=115108

and actually last time Steve6375:

http://reboot.pro/to...evice/?p=115076

and myself were abducted by them, they were very nice to us and taught us a lot of nice things on MS partitioning and filesystems:

http://reboot.pro/to...ns/#entry171614

 

@Dcode:

JFYI, whenever I think at the good guys that make the board software, they remind me of the marketing department of the Sirius Cybernetics Corporation:

http://hitchhikers.w...ics_Corporation

and there are REASONS for that:

http://reboot.pro/to...oxes-messed-up/

http://reboot.pro/to...55-once-again/ 

http://reboot.pro/to...with-the-board/

http://reboot.pro/to...code-converter/

 

:cheers:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users