Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Error used firadisk and grub4dos boot CD to installer windows XP(ISO) on HDD

windows xp firadisk grub4dos

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 04 May 2013 - 02:14 AM

sorry for my english level less
I’m trying fix error according as follow link:
http://diddy.boot-la...iso_install.htm
To installer windows XP from a file ISO on HDD (don't use USB)
My computer profile: RAM 2GB and two HDD, One of HDD(hd1) will be use to installer and use windows. Another HDD(hd0) will be use to installer Grub4dos and boot file ISO.in hd0 ( installed grub4dos and it will be boot bios first) I created one partition contains menu.lst, grldr and another separate partition contains xp.iso + firadisk.ima.
I use the grub4dos MBR to load BootICE hd0 and PBR for partition load menu.lst, grldr
and here is my menu.lst

title XP setup from iso
find --set-root /xp.iso
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --mem /firadisk.ima (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)
map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --hook
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
chainloader (0xff)


title Continue XP setup
find --set-root /xp.iso
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --hook
chainloader (hd0)+1

When booting into XP setup from iso, then this is a bug
http://i.imgur.com/APkQhKL.jpg

(I have not tried it on a real computer , is used to test virtual PC)
Highlights are the steps I have done any wrong step?
Looking forward to helping people
thanks


Edited by trymse, 04 May 2013 - 02:18 AM.


#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 May 2013 - 10:12 AM

Where did that menu.lst originate from?
I mean is it entirely your creation or you took it "as is" from some guide/tutorial or you took it from some guide/tutorial and modified it?
Try as follows:
 
 
 
 
 
title XP setup from iso
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
find --set-root /xp.iso
map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --mem /firadisk.ima (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)
map --hook
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
chainloader (0xff)

 
:cheers:
Wonko

#3 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 04 May 2013 - 02:27 PM

Where did that menu.lst originate from?
I mean is it entirely your creation or you took it "as is" from some guide/tutorial or you took it from some guide/tutorial and modified it?
Try as follows:
 
 
 
 
 
:cheers:
Wonko

I copied it from method 1 of :

http://diddy.boot-la...iso_install.htm

Here is the diagram of my HDD :

http://i.imgur.com/UfAlBYB.jpg

thanks for your code :cheerleader: I will try it


Edited by trymse, 04 May 2013 - 02:36 PM.


#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 May 2013 - 03:15 PM

I presume that the error is caused by find --set-root before the hooking of the drives re-mapping, if the suggested modified code does not work, use command line, typing commands one by one, to understand which command creates the error.

Mind you it could also be an issue with the simulated BIOS of Virtual PC.

I normally recommend testing these things in QEMU (+Qemu Manager):

http://www.sorted-sy...mu_manager.html

as the BOCHS BIOS included with it generally behaves as a "real" BIOS would do.

It's a lot of time I don't use Virtual PC, but I remember issues with it's BIOS, as well there are more than a few issues with the Virtualbox one. 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 May 2013 - 03:48 PM

Since the iso and firadisk.ima on on different partitions, try this...

 

 

 

title XP setup from iso
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --mem /firadisk.ima (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)

find --set-root --devices=h /xp.iso

map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --hook
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
chainloader (0xff)

Lots of examples, etc. on my site...



#6 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 05 May 2013 - 09:13 AM

Where did that menu.lst originate from?
I mean is it entirely your creation or you took it "as is" from some guide/tutorial or you took it from some guide/tutorial and modified it?
Try as follows:
 
 
 
 
 
:cheers:
Wonko

Here are the results I have tried:

http://i.imgur.com/hgjyLZg.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/6U2ILni.jpg

 

Since the iso and firadisk.ima on on different partitions, try this...

 

 

 

title XP setup from iso
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --mem /firadisk.ima (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)

find --set-root --devices=h /xp.iso

map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --hook
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
chainloader (0xff)

Lots of examples, etc. on my site...

Here are the results I have tried:

http://i.imgur.com/zeszXyt.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/uGcKsS7.jpg

 

I will use QEMU (+Qemu Manager) to try, Can not fit my firadisk.ima ?, I can download firadisk.ima where?


Edited by trymse, 05 May 2013 - 10:03 AM.


#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 May 2013 - 09:27 AM

Why didn' tyou type all the commands?

 

If you just want to make a multiboot drive that will run linux ISOs and Windows Install ISOs, etc. try Easy2Boot...



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 May 2013 - 10:07 AM

I will use QEMU (+Qemu Manager) to try, Can not fit my firadisk.ima ?, I can download firadisk.ima where?

What do you mean "cannot fit"?

You either have a floppy image containing firadisk (the firadisk.ima) or you have it not. :unsure:

 

In the setup you posted about using Virtual PC you have two hard disks (I presume two hard disk images).

Map those same images in Qemu Manager.

 

The screenshot you posted is about the input of ONLY these commands:

 

 

 

map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
find --set-root /xp.iso
map --mem /xp.iso (0xff)
map --mem /firadisk.ima (fd1)

that part seems OK, but you need to input also the rest:

 

 

 

map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)
map --hook
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
chainloader (0xff)

and issue a final 

 

 

boot

 

command.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#9 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 05 May 2013 - 10:35 AM

Why didn' tyou type all the commands?

 

If you just want to make a multiboot drive that will run linux ISOs and Windows Install ISOs, etc. try Easy2Boot...

sorry, had edited the post

can HDD install easy2boot ? I just : install windows xp and boot hiren's boot(ISO - but still use all of its tools). thanks for the advice, I will learn about easy2boot and Try the above code. disagreement unpleasant language . :suda:



#10 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1317 posts

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:16 AM

Here are the results I have tried:
Use a current grub4dos http://code.google.c.../downloads/list

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:42 AM

The complete set of commands I suggested seems OK.

 

Try re-doing those and add the final boot command.

 

In the set of commands suggested by Steve6375, you have one error when using:

 

 

find --set-root --devices=h /xp.iso

 

because most probably you are using an old version of grub4dos that does not include the "--devices=" parameter with find, follow cdob's advice and use a recent version.

Be very careful when typing, the second error 27 you get with Steve6375's set of commands is because you typed chanloader instead of chainloader.

 

:cheers:

Wonko


  • trymse likes this

#12 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 05 May 2013 - 01:58 PM

What do you mean "cannot fit"?

You either have a floppy image containing firadisk (the firadisk.ima) or you have it not. :unsure:

 

In the setup you posted about using Virtual PC you have two hard disks (I presume two hard disk images).

Map those same images in Qemu Manager.

 

The screenshot you posted is about the input of ONLY these commands:

 

 

 

that part seems OK, but you need to input also the rest:

 

 

 

and issue a final 

 

 

 

command.

 

:cheers:

Wonko

Thanks, I have been this way and was successful :cheerleader:

if i boot file Hiren's boot.iso with size: 683 MB (716,558,336 bytes),write something in menu.lst? :suda:



#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:11 PM

Thanks, I have been this way and was successful :cheerleader:

Good :), though noone but you will know WHICH EXACT "way" was succesful.

 

if i boot file Hiren's boot.iso with size: 683 MB (716,558,336 bytes),write something in menu.lst? :suda:

I personally DO NOT support WAREZ  :ph34r: and their usage, you may wait for Steve6375, who usually supports and promotes that particular release :realmad:.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#14 trymse

trymse
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:23 PM

I personally DO NOT support WAREZ  :ph34r: and their usage, you may wait for Steve6375, who usually supports and promotes that particular release :realmad:.

ok, topic can close here :suda:

Thanks for everyone's help :clap: :good:



#15 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:27 PM

Visit my site for Hirens menu.

You should have an XP licence if you plan to use Hirens though... :ermm: 


  • trymse likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows xp, firadisk, grub4dos

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users