Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

ISO Toolkit incompatibility


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 590 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 12 April 2013 - 09:36 PM

This free tool can produce working bootable ISO of Windows XP, that is quite rare...

http://www.askvg.com...so-image-files/

 

But when I use its feature "Convert Image" for creating .nrg or .bin files, the created files cannot be mounted with ImDisk. This even occurs for non bootable images.

 

Any idea?



#2 Voltaire

Voltaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Lawrenceville,GA
  • Interests:Programming in assembler,Computers,Computers,Computers.
    SciFi,Single Malt Scotch
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 April 2013 - 10:33 PM

Can the converter program mount those images that it converts?  Could be defective/incorrect conversion.  Try a different conversion program.

I use nero but often find that that programs lack of support for iso to be quite frustrating.  I use feeware to convert nrg to iso with no problem.

When I get home tonight, I will post the name of the converter program (can't remember the name) that I use.

BTW; Pulling content out of a bootable image to place in a new image does not make the new image bootable - the new image needs a boot loader.



#3 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 590 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 12 April 2013 - 11:10 PM

Can the converter program mount those images that it converts?

 

Yes. It would be weird that it cannot mount its own images...

 

Try a different conversion program.

I use nero but often find that that programs lack of support for iso to be quite frustrating.  I use feeware to convert nrg to iso with no problem.

When I get home tonight, I will post the name of the converter program (can't remember the name) that I use.

BTW; Pulling content out of a bootable image to place in a new image does not make the new image bootable - the new image needs a boot loader.

 

Unfortunately, I currently have no other tool to manipulate the .nrg and .bin files.

 

But here is something new, and quite weird: the .nrg (and not the .bin) can be properly mounted with the control panel applet of ImDisk, but not with imdisk.exe, even if I manually set the offset found by the GUI (600). With imdisk.exe, the .nrg file is mounted, but Windows don't find a valid filesystem.

(my commands:

imdisk -a -m Z: -f D:\Image.nrg

imdisk -a -m Z: -f D:\Image.nrg -b 600)



#4 Voltaire

Voltaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Lawrenceville,GA
  • Interests:Programming in assembler,Computers,Computers,Computers.
    SciFi,Single Malt Scotch
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 April 2013 - 11:44 PM

By any chance did you specify the load (in control panel) to be a drive or a CD? 

Since the default on the command line is to load a nrg file as a CD, if the image is a drive image that could confuse it.

I have noticed on my system the control panel applet defaults to drive instead of CD when mounting an iso.

Grasping at straws here...



#5 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 590 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:31 AM

I was letting the default in both cases. And it seems that both control panel and command line are indeed using the CD type, as it should be : manually setting the hard drive type does not produce the same result (fail in both cases, with Explorer who asks to format the drive).

 

But what you are saying is quite weird: if you try to mount an ISO as a hard drive, Windows cannot recognize the filesystem. So, it means that is not a real ISO.  :dubbio:

 

Anyway, if the control panel applet can mount a file with the default parameters and not the command line, there is definitely a bug.



#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:31 PM

But what you are saying is quite weird: if you try to mount an ISO as a hard drive, Windows cannot recognize the filesystem. So, it means that is not a real ISO.   :dubbio:

 

Just for the record, not really, it could well be a hybrid image.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#7 Olof Lagerkvist

Olof Lagerkvist

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1433 posts
  • Location:Borås, Sweden
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 13 April 2013 - 01:58 PM

Just for the record, not really, it could well be a hybrid image.

 

Yes, my thoughts too after reading all here. In that case, try -b auto, or -v 1 on command line. In case that still does not work, it could be worth checking exactly which offset and size is effectively used in the Control Panel case.



#8 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 590 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 13 April 2013 - 03:38 PM

Yes, my thoughts too after reading all here. In that case, try -b auto, or -v 1 on command line. In case that still does not work, it could be worth checking exactly which offset and size is effectively used in the Control Panel case.

 

I think this answer was not for me, but about the .nrg file, it now works with -b auto. Sorry, I had not taken care about the unit by default in the control panel ("Blocks" instead of "Bytes"). I was thinking it was the same between the control panel and the command line.

 

However, I still have no success with the .bin file... And -v 1 shows "Error: Partition table not found.".



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 April 2013 - 04:32 PM

I would add that there is no actual documentation coming with the tool.

While the .nrg format, one way or the other is documented and "univocal", there are more different formats for .bin, and .cue.

 

Without knowing the exact format used is difficult to propose anything, but a question comes to mind :whistling::

WHY (the heck) one would want to convert a common, standard format like .iso to either a proprietary one (.nrg) or to a "suffusion of yellow" (.bin, .cue)?

 

For NO apparent reason:

Spoiler

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#10 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 590 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 13 April 2013 - 04:56 PM

I would add that there is no actual documentation coming with the tool.

While the .nrg format, one way or the other is documented and "univocal", there are more different formats for .bin, and .cue.

 

Without knowing the exact format used is difficult to propose anything, but a question comes to mind :whistling::

WHY (the heck) one would want to convert a common, standard format like .iso to either a proprietary one (.nrg) or to a "suffusion of yellow" (.bin, .cue)?

 

For NO apparent reason:

Spoiler

 

:cheers:

Wonko

 

And if I need a bigger file (bigger is better)? :air_fan:

 

More seriously, I just wanted to check some features of ImDisk, and I don't have found a way to produce .nrg files with the last version of Nero Burning Rom. So, I used this tool.



#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 April 2013 - 05:20 PM

More seriously, I just wanted to check some features of ImDisk, and I don't have found a way to produce .nrg files with the last version of Nero Burning Rom. So, I used this tool.

Yep :), but still you should have a tool capable of telling you which specific .nrg format it converts to, and different "source" .iso may provide different "target" .nrg see:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NRG_(file_format)

and/or have the exact documentation for it.

 

I suspect that due to the missing official specs for the format(s) *any* tool but the original Ahead software will produce, in the best case, a "simplified" kind of .nrg, which won' t be then a suitable "test sample" :dubbio:.

 

:cheers:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users