#1 wickerstick

wickerstick
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 March 2013 - 10:52 PM

Hello all 

My issue is this, I've been working on a PXE server that uses a GENTOO BASE Im starting to figure things out but at every corner there is a failure, I am by no means a linux expert, my friend and fellow tech GURU got me into this and is too busy most of the time to help 

my background is a IT tech, apple certified, a+, etc. I mostly work in windows and osx. standard stuff, virus removals, cloning/data recovery/backup images using acronis and woundershare, clonezilla etc. 

Iv'e always used multiboot USB's (currently YUMI) but im tired of making them all the time for new techs wanting custom multiboot usb's so i started a project PXE server to do this 

I have slip streamed Windows installers AKA all-in0ones. i have them as:

xp 9n1  (xp home, pro,media center etc

VistaAIO SP2 integrated. (all versions x64 and x86)

Win7AIO (same as above)

Win8AIO (same again) (not too worried about getting this to work its on the back burner) 

Also i need a couple of linux live CD's and some tech tools 

I've been beating at this for 3 days straight almost formatted the server last night i was so pissed i couldn't get this stuff working

so in /var/tftpd I have : memdisk, pxelinux.0 gpxelinux.0, menu.c32, vesamenu.c32, linux.c32 and i have folders for each OS : Win7, winV, Ubuntu, Pear6, Hirens(i know not to ask for help on that one) and  pc check classic.img

I had PC check working however when i rebuilt my server (added gnome cause working in a limited back end was too much for me.) i lost the pc check image to i need to re extract from the iso.

now in my pxelinux.cfg i have a default menu i was meddling with attempting to get stuff working. first i was just trying to load the .ISO's