Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

overlay icons for drives


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:06 AM

I managed by chance to activate the overlay icons for the drives in Win7PE_SE.

Unfortunately, when i discovered that this was not a new feature, but just an accident, it was too late. I had already changed numerous settings.

I tryed for the last 3 hours to recreate this magic build, but it's just not happening.

Can anyone give me a hint, what files or registry setting to look for in the scripts?

:cheers:

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 February 2013 - 06:06 PM

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ShellIconOverlayIdentifiers ? :unsure:
http://msdn.microsof...5(v=vs.85).aspx
http://www.codeproje...g-shell-objects
 
:cheers:
Wonko

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:39 PM

Thanks, but unfortunately that's not the problem.

The dll and the mui file are present in Win7PESE and the registry keys are also all accounted for. :confused1:

:cheers:

#4 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:57 PM

Little correction.

Completely wrong building site! ;)

But you gave me an idea.
I will look for the dll containing the missing icons and take it from there.

:cheers:

#5 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 02:40 PM

The icon for the systemdrive is in imageres.dll and it is number 36.

But there are no references to it anywhere in the registry. Not in a PE nor in a full install.

Still not one step closer to solving this mystery. :(

:cheers:

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 February 2013 - 03:17 PM

And you didn't hit the (BTW senseless) limit of 15 or 16 overlay icons?
http://blogs.msdn.co...09/9934348.aspx
http://abdullin.com/...ortoisesvn.html
http://social.msdn.m...d-5a975aca3eac/

:cheers:
Wonko

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:03 PM

Since it's just a PE without any additional non Windows stuff, i can't see how the limit could be broken.

I just don't get it. When the icon is not configured in the registry, then it must be hardcoded in a file and should therefore work fine, as long as the icon library is present.

btw. I also checked the opposite idea. That the icons do work fine, but are getting overwritten with other ones.
Non of the named registry keys have any entries.

:cheers:

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 February 2013 - 08:22 PM

Well, maybe they are NOT "overlay icons", they are "system overlay icons" :w00t:.

check this:

 

 

 

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Icons]
"31"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-55"
"32"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-54"
"3"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-3"
"4"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-4"
"5"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-29"
"6"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-28"
"8"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-32"
"107"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-36"
"9"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-33"
"10"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-31"
"11"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-30"
"59"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-37"
"7"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-43"
"12"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-34"
"29"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-163"
"34"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-110"
"51"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-143"
"15"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-109"
"40"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-85"
"0"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-2"
"1"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\shell32.dll,1"
"2"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\imageres.dll,-15"

and these:

http://www.codeproje...ing-shell-icons

http://www.virtualpl...ml/icn_reg.html

and this :unsure::

http://www.sevenforu...he-rebuild.html

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#9 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:28 PM

Ok, found the problem, the iconcache isn't build upon start and for some reason, it is also not used upon start, when a prebuild one is supplied.

Sometimes its use kicks in later. After a driver install for instance.

:cheers:

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:59 PM

Last update for today.

- Supplying a prebuild iconcache, installing drivers from HostOS, not just from a folder with drivers.
- Killing explorer and restarting it, will trigger a dllhost process, shortly seen in Taskmanager.
Once this happens the icons will be available in Explorer.

If you're lucky, just installing drivers from HostOS will do the trick by itself.

:cheers:

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:34 PM

I am not sure to understand your report.

This given link:

http://www.sevenforu...he-rebuild.html

provides a small batch, that essentially:

  1. kills Exporer
  2. rebuilds IconCache by re-starting Explorer after having deleted previously existing IconCache

 

 

 



:: Created by: Shawn Brink
:: http://www.sevenforums.com
:: Tutorial: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/49819-icon-cache-rebuild.html

@echo off
set iconcache=%localappdata%\IconCache.db

echo The Explorer process must be killed to delete the Icon DB.
echo.
echo Please SAVE ALL OPEN WORK before continuing.
echo.
pause
echo.
If exist "%iconcache%" goto delID
echo.
echo Icon DB has already been deleted.
echo.
pause
exit /B

:delID
echo Attempting to delete Icon DB...
echo.
taskkill /IM explorer.exe /F
del "%iconcache%" /A
echo.
echo Icon DB has been successfully deleted.
echo.
start explorer.exe
pause
exit /B

 

Does simply running it "as is" restore those system overlay icons or a further step is needed? :unsure:

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#12 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 07:08 PM

This report is wrong, even on a full install.

The iconcache does not get (re)created upon start of explorer, but upon system shutdown.

I tryed it on Win7PESE and full Win7.

The strange thing though, on a full install a missing iconcache does not cause missing icons, it just causes a slower loading of them.
Without a cache, they're basicly being fetched on demand from their original locations.

:cheers:

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 February 2013 - 07:58 PM

The iconcache does not get (re)created upon start of explorer, but upon system shutdown.
 

Maybe upon "next boot" or "re-start" (I doubt that a system that is OFF can rebuild anything :whistling:).

 

Now that we know that the issue revolves around "iconcache" this could be another thing to test:

http://xenomorph.net...-rebuild-icons/

the "trick" should lie in changing the colour bit depth of the adapter (cannot say if it works or if reschanger or the like may do to automate the process).

Or possibly "icon 29" :w00t::

http://www.sevenforu...014-post99.html

 

It seems like the restart is NOT needed on a 64 bit OS :dubbio: 

http://www.sevenforu...75-post151.html

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 10:33 PM

Maybe upon "next boot" or "re-start" (I doubt that a system that is OFF can rebuild anything :whistling:).
Nope not on next reboot. On shutdown.
It seems the iconcache is kept/created in memory and only written to disk on shutdown of windows.

If you have a Win7 handy, you can test yourself.
Check for the iconcache on the offline system after deleting it and it will be there.
Delete it again and start Win7, there's no new iconcache found on the booted system.

The other things you've posted, i have to look over tomorrow.

:cheers:

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 20 February 2013 - 05:22 PM

I tested it every which way possible.

None of the linked tips work in a PE.
There must be some needed driver or service missing, cause without that magic "Dpinst: Driver from HostOS" the icons just won't show, no matter what.

:cheers:

#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:40 PM

None of the linked tips work in a PE.

But do they (or one of them, and which one of them) actually work on a "normal" 7? (there is some controversial info in the given references :w00t: :ph34r:)

If yes, maybe the behaviour can be "traced" in the "full" 7 and the "missing" *whatever* in the PE pinned down. :unsure:

 

This other source (admittedly related to pre-Vista :ph34r:) operating systems seems to link the rebuild to logoff (and not to shutdown) which makes to me some (very little) more sense:

http://smallvoid.com...icon-cache.html

 

So, if this is the case, and since you are already System in a PE, we must find a way to simulate a Logoff without shutdown and reboot. :dubbio: or find which particualr step in logoff is connected to the IconCache rebuild and find a way to replicate it without actually logging off.

 

This other source cites ie4uinit.exe -ClearIconCache (which I have not the faintest idea if exists on 7 or on a 7 based PE)

http://www.winhelpon...dows-7-quickly/

but here:

http://www.winhelpon...-type-in-vista/

there is possibly another way that seemingly involves the use of SHChangeNotify function:

http://msdn.microsof...118(VS.85).aspx

but seemingly overlay icons are not affected (but would they be talking of "overlay icons" or of "system overlay icons"?)

However there is a tool that you may want to try that does that:

http://www.sepago.de...rogrammatically

http://www.sepago.de.../desktoprefresh

 

Also seemingly assoc.exe would do the same:

http://www.autohotke...v1108/?p=536021

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#17 Voltaire

Voltaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Lawrenceville,GA
  • Interests:Programming in assembler,Computers,Computers,Computers.
    SciFi,Single Malt Scotch
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:51 PM

Since windows 2000 days, I have used the desktop ini file to set drive icons (to look like a drive with a large drive letter on it).

I keep a 'stash' of images for that - hmm, wonder if I should put them in a dll - think I will look into that.  Anyway, this would not work for random drives or those of a host system.  What are you looking to do regarding the icons?



#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 April 2013 - 08:37 AM

Since windows 2000 days, I have used the desktop ini file to set drive icons (to look like a drive with a large drive letter on it).

I keep a 'stash' of images for that - hmm, wonder if I should put them in a dll - think I will look into that.  Anyway, this would not work for random drives or those of a host system.

JFYI ;):

http://reboot.pro/to...aningful-icons/

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#19 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 10:20 AM

What are you looking to do regarding the icons?
In Win7 the SystemDrive gets a special icon, non-available removable drives get greyed out and optical media drives get a better decription than all just being called a CDROM.

:cheers:

#20 Voltaire

Voltaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Lawrenceville,GA
  • Interests:Programming in assembler,Computers,Computers,Computers.
    SciFi,Single Malt Scotch
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:14 PM

JFYI ;):

http://reboot.pro/to...aningful-icons/

 

:cheers:

Wonko

 Thanks wonko, old posts have many little gems.

 

In Win7 the SystemDrive gets a special icon, non-available removable drives get greyed out and optical media drives get a better decription than all just being called a CDROM.

:cheers:

 Thanks MedEvil, simple explanation.  (First real build/boot last night - didn't notice that.)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users