Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

New Release: SARDU 2.0.6.4 Final


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 February 2013 - 06:59 PM

New Release: SARDU 2.0.6.4 Final

This version isn't portable

This is the changelog:

Changelog SARDU 2.0.6.4


  • Fixed error caused by tails and android
  • fixed internet problem connections
  • fixed others various errors
  • fixed others graphic errors
  • Update support to new Panda
  • Change the name of Macrium reflect from Rescue.iso to MacriumRescue.iso
  • Added Anvi Rescue CD


Let me know if all works fine



#2 ambralivio

ambralivio

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 166 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:17 PM

Could you please better clarify what "it isn't portable" does mean ?

 

thanks,

ambralivio



#3 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:35 PM

Until now SARDU was a standalone, did not require installation.
Sino ad oggi SARDU era portable, non era prevista l'installazione



#4 Blackcrack

Blackcrack

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 321 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:35 PM

WTH !!! you damn install Adware  !!! the shit you can keep !!!

 

you should kick out of the board ! it is impossible, you should shame !



#5 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:43 PM

I don't see adware
 

There are only 4 false positive



#6 Blackcrack

Blackcrack

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 321 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:47 PM

okey, no adware, but what it is other crab software who want not to install,

Toolbars and so bullschit !! and still crappy, without asking !

you should become a full shitstorm ever !! shame on you !


Edited by Blackcrack, 14 February 2013 - 10:48 PM.


#7 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:52 PM

I think that the courtesy isn't  is not your strong point in the same way of sight and intelligence.
If you install Avira, Java, Flash and others software there are one easy checkbox to NON install toolbars or others software.
Now if you write "without asking" I can write that you aren't able to read.



#8 Blackcrack

Blackcrack

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 321 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 February 2013 - 11:04 PM

oh i did use the checkbox... how ever,

if anyone trade so much software into a one software setup like you,

it is no wonder to you have no overview on it..

If you whant try to make money with you Software

where you deceive others and in addition software installed,

it will not go unnoticed anyway .. oh slip down the hump, you're in my past



#9 mica1024

mica1024
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:40 AM

you don't get an option not to install the crapware :ranting2:

 

but, luckily it's easy enough to remove
http://malwaretips.c...o-search-virus/



#10 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:07 AM

This is very false.
There is a question with the same method of Java, flash and more free software.
If you don't read you can't tell that there aren't options.



#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2013 - 10:43 AM

Davide,

with all due respect :), and with the preamble that you are free to do whatever you see fit with the result of your work and intellectual property :worship:, it would be nice if you could spend a few words about the status of SARDU, in the sense that till now it was "portable" (good :)) and completely free (as in free beer but not as in freedom, also good :thumbsup: even if not "perfect").

 

I seem :unsure: that it has now become:

  • not portable (bad :()
  • Adware (worse :frusty:)

 

 

The comments between brackets are my personal comments on the nature of the tool, and of it's licensing/packaging and are worth just that and nothing more.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#12 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:29 PM

At this moment isn't portable
If java propose to install ask toolbar is one adware?
If SARDU propose the install of ask toolbar  why is or contain adware?



#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:06 PM

At this moment isn't portable
Pity. :( 
 
 
If java propose to install ask toolbar is one adware?
Yes, particularly Java is pretty much deceiving with "opting out" (which should NEVER IMNSHO be used, as an "opt-in" is much more "fair") that is voided at next update, (and as well the delayed install is something that really shouldn't be used)
http://www.zdnet.com...tes-7000010038/
If SARDU propose the install of ask toolbar  why is or contain adware?
Exactly like any other program, there is nothing "evil" in adding a toolbar to an installer, you are perfectly free to do so, but do not get offended if the software is called "adware".

Particularly (if we are talking of the Ask toolbar) I personally find it one of the worse crapwares around, see the above posted link and this one:
http://www.benedelma...s/012213-1.html


:cheers:
Wonko

#14 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:54 PM

I won't comment about the adding of the ask toolbar on the installer, not my software.

 

What I comment is about the links provided by Wonko, thank you. On those pages is mentioned an interesting tool that might be useful to many, it is called ninite. Look here: http://ninite.com/

 

:cheers:



#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2013 - 06:08 PM

I won't comment about the adding of the ask toolbar on the installer, not my software.

 

What I comment is about the links provided by Wonko, thank you. On those pages is mentioned an interesting tool that might be useful to many, it is called ninite. Look here: http://ninite.com/

 

:cheers:

Good :), we could post this under "News" :whistling:

http://reboot.pro/to...-freeware-apps/

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#16 mica1024

mica1024
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 19 March 2013 - 11:44 PM

This is very false.
There is a question with the same method of Java, flash and more free software.
If you don't read you can't tell that there aren't options.

 

Yeah, it's got checkboxes to install or not, but clicking 'next' does nothing until you choose to install it. :logik:



#17 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 07:53 AM

This is false.
If you uncheck the checkbox SARDU install fine the software.
this is the second lie



#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 12:35 PM

Davide,

ONLY to let you know what happens on my machine.

Actually DIFFERENT! :w00t: :dubbio:

 

SARDU version 2.0.6.5

During the install I am asked to install Babylon Search and set it as "Homepage". 

The text says:

 

 

Check both boxes to keep this software FREE!

....

By clicking 'Next' you accept the Legal Terms  of Babylon Toolbar

If I click on Legal terms the page: http://www.babylon.com/toolbar opens in Internet Explorer (NO matter which is my "default" browser).

There are TWO checkboxes, both UNchecked, one about the homepage and one about the search engine and NO 'Next' anywhere.

 

Then NO matter if I check one, two or no boxes, NO 'Next' appears anywhere.

 

So I  run the Task Manager and kill the InstallManager.exe process and the Sardu install continues and ends successfully.

 

Independently on what the (stupid) installer for the (stupid) babylon toolbar might eventually install (and whether this is good, bad, neutral or whatever), it is so stupid that it "botches" effectively the install of the Sardu.

 

I don't think that I may be the only one that has this happening, my  machine is fairly "standard" (though intentionally not "updated" to the last crapware, and also don't think that really all people facing this issue will actually think of (or know how to)  killing a .exe (and find the one that needs to be killed).

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#19 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 12:58 PM

Mmm,

I ask an explanation, I do not like how he behaved in my PC, I unselected all and properly installed SARDU.
I checked better, if user decline the license don't install toolbars.
Force the install is illegal



#20 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 01:22 PM

Mmm,

I ask an explanation, I do not like how he behaved in my PC, I unselected all and properly installed SARDU SARDU

 

I checked better, if user decline the license don't install toolbars.
Force the install is illegal

 

 

The explanation is essentially your problem, but if you want me to run tests on my machine, just ask, I will gladly try and help you with troubleshooting the issue :).

I simply told you what happened (and happens) on my machine, i.e. there is NO way to install SARDU if not killing the babylon toolbar installer.

You are of course perfectly free to ignore this bug report, or investigate about it/solve it.

 

As a side note, beside the IMHO not-so-marginal issue about the known Warez release linked to from SARDU, there is a BIG issue (REALLY NOT trivial) about the licensing. :w00t:

 

Creative Commons licenses (in general) and particularly the "most restrictive" one you are using, the "Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported" are NOT compliant with the GNU GPL under which MOST of the tools you distribute SARDU with are originally released (7-zip, Qemu, Syslinux, grub4dos to make some examples) and obviously also NOT with the much less restrictive license tools like BCDW were released under.

Please, consider how this is NOT (only) "my" opinion, it is the opinion of the actual Creative Commons guys:

http://creativecommons.org/tag/gpl

 

 

The basic idea of Creative Commons, offering free copyright tools, is copied from the free software movement. However, CC licenses are not intended to be used to release software, as our FAQ has always said.

One important reason why Creative Commons licenses should not be used to release software is that they aren’t compatible with existing free software licenses, most importantly the GPL from the Free Software Foundation, which is used by over half of free software projects. A commons fractured by legal incompatibilities is a weak commons, and it would be deeply contrary to our mission to fracture the commons of software.

 

 

http://wiki.creative...for_software.3F

 

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#21 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 02:11 PM

Press the decline and you have one SARDU that works fine.
I make this test in my PC and works fine.

When I started any months ago there was only a checbox, now they have replaced the checkbox with the accept or decline install of toolbar. (this can appear more times)

 

License:

The creative commons is only for SARDU.exe and barrosu.exe.

Now I have to ask if I'm violating their rules

I only have to think about whether it is still useful to continue so, and decide if close the project or open it in commercial version.

The 99,99% of works for develope SARDU I do it myself, SEO, SERP, SEM studies, I haven't sponsor. All money of my works. I have many expenses (hosting, antispam, database sql, my time) but everything that I do is a problem.
For this reason often I don't update in this forum (last version is 2.0.6.5), publish new versions just mean having new problems.

Now i repeat: If pressing decline of toolbar this is installed....I have to make only one thing: remove SARDU from download page and suspend today the project.

 



#22 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 March 2013 - 02:54 PM

The 99,99% of works for develope SARDU I do it myself, SEO, SERP, SEM studies, I haven't sponsor. All money of my works. I have many expenses (hosting, antispam, database sql, my time) but everything that I do is a problem.
For this reason often I don't update in this forum (last version is 2.0.6.5), publish new versions just mean having new problems.

 

I respect your decision and goals but need to point out that some of the reasons you told us in the past why you don't often update on this forum simply occur because you want to keep activity going on the dedicated Sardu forum at your own site and don't liked the fact that we extend our support to other freeware multibooting tools. 

 

If you don't want to write updates about your new versions of Sardu on this community then don't. 

 

Otherwise it seems that you are just enjoying the nice flow visitors that we bring to your site with each new version announcement and then complain that members of our community are just replying back to what you post with "new problems", when in fact they are expressing genuine opinions.



#23 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 04:02 PM

I made my site after any days of the review of raymond.cc
A added one forum for my site for a simply reason: my forum is splitted in 3 sections: english, german, italian. Here only english.
I am honest and open more sections in this forum advising other software It I do not was pleased but I'm the only that continues to reply in this forum. Or you deny me that xBoot is dead? Or the sections of Lili?

I don't use this forum for bring to my site for new version, if you think this I pray you: merge this forum to generic section, remove me from moderators. I'm not a profiteer on. (is easy to see that the 55 members came this week from this forum are a very small percentage)
Remember: I asked you of not to be mentioned in the newsletter any years ago.


You can't find one thread or post spamming my site, I have advised my software out of this section two or three times. All this can be refuted in a few minutes. I don't spam forums, I don't spam facebook etc. In this forum another user wrote of my software.


 



#24 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 06:25 PM

Press the decline and you have one SARDU that works fine.
I make this test in my PC and works fine.

What I am trying to tell you that on my PC I have NO 'Next', NO 'Decline', NOTHING I can click on (NO matter if the two checkboxes are ticked or not) with the only exception to the link to the http://www.babylon.com/toolbar .

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#25 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2013 - 06:37 PM

Now in my test I pressed:

 

cancel for babylon toolbar, one msgbox is appeared and I pressed skip, after I pressed two times decline for others toolbar...and...the SARDU works fine without toolbar
 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users