Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

No GRLDR after I installed Hiren's on my USB key

grldr hiren grub4dos mbr

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#26 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 06 May 2013 - 07:30 AM

@ejat

 

yes, the "final goal" is to have a bootable USB stick that can boot to grub4dos, the version of RMPREPUSB you use is not that important, 2.1.1665 is OK, I presume that since you are taking part to this thread you do have another computer working and running, right?

 

:cheers:

Wonko

yes,currently im using another working pc.anyways,could you post some tutorial  step by step  to make me understand because dont want to get confuse.



#27 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 May 2013 - 07:55 AM

yes,currently im using another working pc.anyways,could you post some tutorial  step by step  to make me understand because dont want to get confuse.

Step by step what? :w00t:

 

I posted the video, if that is not enough, read the Quick start guide:

http://www.rmprepusb...ick-start-guide

 

As said I would like to have you examine the current state of your PC by running a few grub4dos command on it.

To do this you need to boot to grub4dos, possibly to a known, recent  version of it.

The most convenient way to do the above is to boot from a USB stick.

The most convenient way (easier) I can think of for making a bootable USB stick is running RMPREPUSB.

RMPREPUSB is a program very easy to use, for which there are video guides and instructions (see above).

If you managed to find and download those WAREZ, you can understand how to run a simple program alright, or ask some friend, you don' t really have to use RMPREPUSB, there are maybe 99 different ways to make a bootable stick booting to grub4dos, this is the goal, how you reach it is not important.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#28 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 06 May 2013 - 09:06 AM

Step by step what? :w00t:

 

I posted the video, if that is not enough, read the Quick start guide:

http://www.rmprepusb...ick-start-guide

 

As said I would like to have you examine the current state of your PC by running a few grub4dos command on it.

To do this you need to boot to grub4dos, possibly to a known, recent  version of it.

The most convenient way to do the above is to boot from a USB stick.

The most convenient way (easier) I can think of for making a bootable USB stick is running RMPREPUSB.

RMPREPUSB is a program very easy to use, for which there are video guides and instructions (see above).

If you managed to find and download those WAREZ, you can understand how to run a simple program alright, or ask some friend, you don' t really have to use RMPREPUSB, there are maybe 99 different ways to make a bootable stick booting to grub4dos, this is the goal, how you reach it is not important.

 

:cheers:

Wonko

ok.thank you.i will try and post some progress here



#29 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 06 May 2013 - 01:25 PM

i think i must ask this,on the RMprepusb,they are 3 bootloader option,which one i shouold choose?because on the video tell me to follow freedos.and the number 5 choose the source,what should i do?



#30 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 06 May 2013 - 01:38 PM

do i have to follow until part 3 of the video or just part 1?



#31 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6570 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 May 2013 - 01:41 PM

It does not matter what you choose because you install grub4dos as the bootloader afterwards.

1. Use RMPrepUSB to partition and format - steps 1 - 6

2. Click Install Grub4dos and install to MBR

3. Click the Test using QEMU button to make sure it boots OK

 

thats all



#32 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 04:06 AM

1.i just follow steve 6375.i just follow the method 1-6 on the video

 

2.click install  grub4dos but i cannot see where the install mbr is.

 

3.if i try to install grub4dos and test using QEMU button,the freedos menu appear with:

 

1)boot fredoss as floppy disk 0

2)boot freedos as hardisk 0

3)boot freedos as hardisk 1.

 

now what should i do?



#33 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 04:10 AM

but i can see before the freedos menu appear that

"Running menu commands(hangup means you have a problematic config)..."


#34 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 04:14 AM

No, asking if the previous working Windows was a "default" install or if you had a dual/multi-boot system using some third party bootmanager.
If I get it right before you botched it by running those WAREZ (BTW "improperly") you had a "plain", "normal" Windows 7, right?
 

The page with F2, F12 comes from the BIOS of your machine, it is perfectly normal and should be the same you saw before you botched your install.
 
The issue, again is if the message is EXACTLY "missing operating system" or something SIMILAR to it.
The string "Missing operating system" (please note the capital M) is embedded in the "standard" Windows 7 MBR, if that (with the capital M) is what you see then it likely comes from the "standard" Windows 7 MBR, if it has NOT the capital M, then it comes from "something else".
 

Good. :)

Good. :)
Now get RMPREPUSB:
http://www.rmprepusb.com/
and use it to create a bootable USB stick with grub4dos.
It doesn't matter which filesystem you choose, but select "2PTN" and after having prepared the stick install to it grub4dos.
Just follow the video:

 
You should be able to boot from it and get to a grub4dos menu.
From the menu by pressing "c" key you should get to the grub4dos prompt:
 
 







grub> _

Post when you get there.

Please also detail what EXACTLY you did BEFORE asking for help, i.e. each and every action you performed that made you post this:

(please don't tell me that you downloaded the file attached to post #7 and that you applied it to your hard disk (and did that without first making the backup)  :ph34r:

 
:cheers:
jaclaz

ok,i just go to grub4dos bootmenu and type and enter and get to grub>   what should ido



#35 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:08 PM

ok,i just go to grub4dos bootmenu and type and enter and get to grub>   what should ido

Good.

Normally if you have booted from the USB stick, the USB stick will become first disk, i.e. (hd0), while the internal disk will be "shifted" to second disk, i.e. (hd1).

at the grub prompt type

 

 





cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)0+1

and press [ENTER]

then type:

 

 





cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)1+1

and press [ENTER]

You should get an output *similar* to that in the attached picture.

 

Now, are the two results the same? (in the example picture the first output has a valid partition entry, i.e. non zero values, why the second is all zeroes).

Write down the lines containing non zero values of both the first and second output - if they are different.

Example, the posted image has:

(hd1)0+1

000001BE:00 01 01 00 01 0F 3F 02 3F 00 00 00 91 0B 00 00

...

000001FE:55 AA

(hd1)1+1

All zeroes.

 

Explanation:

A normal grub4dos install (IF this is what happened) would make a backup of the partition table (which is in the first sector of the hard disk) on the second sector of the hard disk, this way we check if this happened.

 

Then type:

 

 



root (hd1,0)

and press [ENTER] 

What feedback do you have?

Something like:

 

 

Filesystem is ntfs, partition type 0x07

post the feedback you receive.

If it is similar to the above, type:

 

 



chainloader /bootmgr

[ENTER]

What do you get as feedback?

Something like:

 

 

Will boot NTLDR form drive 0x80, partition 0x0, (hidden sectors 0x3f)

Post this feedback, if it is similar to the above try:

 

 



boot

 

[ENTER]

 

What happens?

 

:cheers:

Wonko

Attached Thumbnails

  • cat_hex.jpg


#36 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:32 PM

ok.i just type 2 command of cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)0+1 and cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)1+1 but the result for this is unusual.

 

(hd1)0+1

all zero

(hd1)1+1

all zero

 

why did this happen?do i have to move to next command?



#37 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:45 PM

i also noticed in my administartors:rmpreusb QEMU launcher have faile like this

 

"qemu.exe pci_add_option_rom:failed to find romfile"pxe-e100.rom"

 

why is that?



#38 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 May 2013 - 03:13 PM

i also noticed in my administartors:rmpreusb QEMU launcher have faile like this
 
"qemu.exe pci_add_option_rom:failed to find romfile"pxe-e100.rom"
 
why is that?
Leave alone Qemu and anything else if NOT the booted USB Stick to grub4dos.
 
ok.i just type 2 command of cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)0+1 and cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)1+1 but the result for this is unusual.
 
(hd1)0+1
all zero
(hd1)1+1
all zero
 
why did this happen?do i have to move to next command?
Are you sure? :w00t:
Are you actually testing the commands by booting the "failed PC" from the bootable USB stick you prepared? :dubbio:


You should see (at least for the command "cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)0+1") the "magic bytes".
000001FE: 55 AA

:cheers:
Wonko

#39 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 05:24 PM

Leave alone Qemu and anything else if NOT the booted USB Stick to grub4dos.
 
Are you sure? :w00t:
Are you actually testing the commands by booting the "failed PC" from the bootable USB stick you prepared? :dubbio:


You should see (at least for the command "cat --hex --skip=446 (hd1)0+1") the "magic bytes".
000001FE: 55 AA

:cheers:
Wonko

do you mean i have to insert this usb that i install grub4dos to my failed pc with Missing operating system?



#40 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 May 2013 - 05:59 PM

do you mean i have to insert this usb that i install grub4dos to my failed pc with Missing operating system?

Sure :thumbsup:, the idea is to boot the "failed" PC from this newly made bootable USB stick, then run a few commands from the grub4dos prompt to inspect the most relevant sectors of the hard disk of the failed PC.

 

The generic approach is not "specific" to computing, it is the same when you go to a hospital or to the doctor:

  1. you describe the symptoms "hey, doctor, my throat aches"
  2. the doctor looks down your throat <- please note how it is your throat, not your friend's or cousin's one that is examined ;)
  3. from his/her experience and from what he/she has seen a diagnosis is made ("it is a cold", "it is an infection", etc.)
  4. a cure is prescribed to you (like only "stay put in bed for a couple days" or "take these antibiotics thrice a day for three days")
  5. hopefully you feel better after the cure :)

Right now we are past #1 and need to do #2 (examine the sectors involved in booting on the hard disk of the "failed PC").

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#41 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:18 AM

hi.sory for late reply.i think i should post my progress here.please check here

 

http://www.flickr.co.../in/photostream


Edited by ejat, 09 May 2013 - 05:19 AM.


#42 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:30 AM

im glad if somebody can help me quick because i i urgently need my data in the laptop back



#43 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2013 - 09:32 AM

The issue here is that the MBR data (partition table is (very) different between the "current copy" (the one in first sector (hd1)0+1) and the backup copy (on second sector (hd1)1+1).

The data in the "current backup" is seemingly valid.

 

#0 27 80 0 32 33 51 30 43 2048 819200 <- this is the "hidden" windows 7 partition created if the OS was installed to a "blank disk", though it's size is "strange" 419,430,400 bytes
#1 07 00 51 30 44 1023 254 63 821248 312569856 <- primary NTFS 160,035,766,272 bytes
#2 07 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 313391104 311750656 <- primary NTFS 159,616,335,872 bytes
#3 00 00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Only you can say if BEFORE you had this setup with the "hidden" partition and two primary partitions around 160 gb.

This could be related to a 320 Gb hard disk.

 

The backup contains these completely different setup:

 

#0 07 00 0 1 1 25 159 6 63 411585 <-Primary NTFS (created on OS before 7, probably) 210,731,520 bytes in size
#1 07 80 25 159 7 1023 254 63 411648 708718592 <- Primary NTFS Actve 362,863,919,104 bytes in size
#2 0F 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 709134336 236695552 <- Extended partition 121,188,122,624  bytes in size
#3 07 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 945829888 30722048 <- Primary NTFS 15,729,688,576  bytes in size

:dubbio:

 

Try issuing the set of commands you were asked to:

 

 

 

root (hd1,0)

chainloader /bootmgr

boot

and report.

:cheers:

Wonko



#44 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 May 2013 - 11:28 AM

The issue here is that the MBR data (partition table is (very) different between the "current copy" (the one in first sector (hd1)0+1) and the backup copy (on second sector (hd1)1+1).

The data in the "current backup" is seemingly valid.

 

#0 27 80 0 32 33 51 30 43 2048 819200 <- this is the "hidden" windows 7 partition created if the OS was installed to a "blank disk", though it's size is "strange" 419,430,400 bytes
#1 07 00 51 30 44 1023 254 63 821248 312569856 <- primary NTFS 160,035,766,272 bytes
#2 07 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 313391104 311750656 <- primary NTFS 159,616,335,872 bytes
#3 00 00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Only you can say if BEFORE you had this setup with the "hidden" partition and two primary partitions around 160 gb.

This could be related to a 320 Gb hard disk.

 

The backup contains these completely different setup:

 

#0 07 00 0 1 1 25 159 6 63 411585 <-Primary NTFS (created on OS before 7, probably) 210,731,520 bytes in size
#1 07 80 25 159 7 1023 254 63 411648 708718592 <- Primary NTFS Actve 362,863,919,104 bytes in size
#2 0F 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 709134336 236695552 <- Extended partition 121,188,122,624  bytes in size
#3 07 00 1023 254 63 1023 254 63 945829888 30722048 <- Primary NTFS 15,729,688,576  bytes in size

:dubbio:

1.wow,its hard to understand because im not computer literate.

2.this is the progress:

 

  root (hd1,0)

-error 17:cannot mount selected partition

chainloader /bootmgr

-error 15:file not found

boot

-error 8:kernel must be loaded before booting

-



#45 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2013 - 12:16 PM

Well, you could try describing the hardware (how big is your hard disk) and how the disk was partitioned before.

The two sets of data are - as said - very different, it is possible that the MBR data is OK BUT that a filesystem/partition was corrupted, it is possible that the "right" set of data is the one in the  backup sector, or it is possible that BOTH are "wrong" and the next step needed will be that of trying recovering/fixing the partition table.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#46 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 09 May 2013 - 01:36 PM

Woo, what a longish thread.

I'll read it with more accuracy,

but for now I'll mention some similar experience.

I had a laptop with a buggy boot, same messages as post 1.

Grldr not found etc.

I left it aside and it got better.

 

No, really, I tried booting it with an XP bootfloppy.

In that case it booted alright.

 

Using the minimal Xpcli and a disk editor recently, I saw the partition tbl was ok, but the rest (before p- table),

was not what it should.

And the code after, i.e the 63 sectors, were probably then a mess, of trying various things.

Pasting the grldr.mbr (except partition data), should work.

 

-xcept for the table not being there?- :/



#47 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 May 2013 - 02:01 PM

wonko:my hdd is 750gb.if not mistake,i have the local c ,local d or e and one i think a recovery disk for onekey recovery(lenovo laptop).so far,i just remember just 3  but i afraid im wrong.

 

betrand:im dont know what it is because im not computer literate



#48 ejat

ejat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 09 May 2013 - 02:05 PM

but the one key recovery not appear on 'my computer'.



#49 betrand

betrand

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 467 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 09 May 2013 - 04:23 PM

betrand:im dont know what it is because im not computer literate

Yeah, sure, don't worry. I just posted as a sign that recovery is possible in some scenarios.

Sometimes it is good to have a sign saying "Recovery 3miles" on the side of the road.

Keeping hope alive.. ;)

 

You could try with using a win7 bootfloppy (from ram), just saying this in parallel with me using xp bootfloppy (on an xp system).

see if it finds a bootmgr file.. There used to be an "universal windows Vista bootfloppy", quite interesting for testing stuff.

Anyway, take all this with a pinch of salt, i.e, if you are not too computer literate, be careful etc.

 

Also, as Wonko says,

the next step needed will be that of trying recovering/fixing the partition table.


#50 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13497 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2013 - 08:24 PM

The data in the second sector seems "reasonable" for a 750 Gb disk.

 

Surely if you could have provided EXACT data (like the exact number of partitions you had before, their approximate size, etc. that would have helped).

 

Let's see if the second sector contains valid data (and code).

 

Try running this (be VERY careful, check, double check and triple check the command line BEFORE hitting [ENTER] all characters are small letter and commands are CaSe SeNsItIvE:

 

What we are doing is making a copy of sector 0 and 1 of the hard disk on sectors 61 and 62, then copy secto 1 (second sector) over sector 0 (first sector or MBR):



dd if=(hd1) of=(hd1) skip=0 seek=61 count=1

[ENTER]

you will get an output like:

 

 

 

buf_size=0x10000  loops=0x1, in_pos=0x0, out_pos=0x7A00

0000000

bytes read/written = 0x200/0x200

 

Now run:

 

 



dd if=(hd1) of=(hd1) skip=1 seek=62 count=1

[ENTER]

and:

 

 



dd if=(hd1) of=(hd1) skip=1 seek=0 count=1

[ENTER]

 

Try rebooting "normally" (i.e. without the USB stick inserted).

Report what happens.

 

:cheers:

Wonko







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: grldr, hiren, grub4dos, mbr

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users