Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Wim Mounter


  • Please log in to reply
73 replies to this topic

#51 kirby

kirby
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Zagreb
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:12 PM

- I've had to install wimmount.sys driver manually
- WimMounter extracts image files correctly to mount folder
- reports to log accordingly (The operation completed successfully)
- HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\wimmount\Mounted Images\ has all the keys and values set as it should have
  (Mount Path, Status, Mount Version, WIM Path, etc.)
- wimserv.exe is up and running
- and now comes the message from WimMounter of unsuccessfull mounting !
- as a consequence the buttons open & save stay disabled

Second time around WimMounter reports that the image has been mounted
but still doesn't offer to open it.

What now?
Kirby

 



#52 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:50 PM

ill have to add that registry check, think thats gonna help :)



#53 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 February 2013 - 08:03 AM

updated, let me know if this helps :P



#54 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 February 2013 - 11:15 AM

I copied the "Wim Mounter" folder and content from: C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Application Data\Wim Mounter

to a non-internet access xp pc, also copied Wim Mounter.exe and above to same location running Wim Mounter from desktop shortcut.

 

From the Dism folder right click "wimmount.inf" option install and everything worked for me, thank you damian666

 

I'm not going to talk about the PE version as Wim Mounter worked on the Hiren xp wim which I use hee hee


Edited by dummkopf007, 07 February 2013 - 11:17 AM.


#55 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:06 PM

i ddint even update the PE version so, it works, ill just keep it as that xd



#56 ericgl

ericgl

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 314 posts
  •  
    Israel

Posted 07 February 2013 - 03:57 PM

damian666,

you need to update the version number in the "About" dialog of WimMounter.

It stil says Version 2.0.

 

Also, would be nice if you prompt the user to where he wishes to put the downloaded files, and then copy the WimMounter executable to that location, so everything is in one single (and user-aware) location.

Thanks.



#57 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:09 PM

... where he wishes to put the downloaded files, ....

WHICH downloaded files? :unsure:

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#58 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:12 PM

he means the dism tools etc, but no, im not gonna do that, its fine in appdata.

 

thanx for the about heads up though ^^



#59 kirby

kirby
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Zagreb
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 07 February 2013 - 05:49 PM

Thank you Damian, works like a charm now :-)

The idea with progress bar is very good.

One thing I've noticed though is that when you save the image,

then unmount it, the buttons open & save don't change the state to disabled

as they should. What I mean is:

Mount -> Open -> some changes in files (or not) -> Save - Unmount

Take a look at that, please.

 

Mount -> Open -> Unmount  behaves correctly.

 

Great job, thank you once again and bye.

Kirby



#60 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 February 2013 - 06:03 PM

guess i missed those xd

 

ill check it mate, glad to hear it works now :)



#61 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 February 2013 - 06:26 PM

double post :P

 

just letting you know i updated it, buttons should be good to go now :3



#62 Vladimir Izmalkov

Vladimir Izmalkov
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:11 PM

Hello.

 

Strange programm. Not working with proxy. Why it`s want download something ? Imagex is not enough ? 



#63 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:24 PM

Hello.

 

Strange programm. Not working with proxy. Why it`s want download something ? Imagex is not enough ? 

The idea is to download "on the fly" from Microsoft authorized servers the needed files.

This is to avoid re-distributing files that MS releases as non-redistributable.

 

IF the Author would be so kind as to provide additionally:

  1. an EXACT list of the needed files
  2. the exact location where these files are saved by the tool

 

you would be able to use the tool (it only attempts to download the files IF it cannot find them) by providing those files yourself. 

 

And no, AFAIK imagex is not used/involved at all, DISM (and connected files) are used instead.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#64 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:29 PM

bcdboot.exe
 CompatProvider.dll
 Dism.exe
 DismCore.dll
 DismCorePS.dll
 DismProv.dll
 DpxSS.dll
 Expand.exe
 FolderProvider.dll
 imagex.exe
 intlcfg.exe
 LogProvider.dll
 Msdelta.dll
 Mspatcha.dll
 oscdimg.exe
 SSPkgMgr.exe
 ssshim.dll
 wdscore.dll
 wdsmcast.exe
 wimgapi.dll
 wimmount.inf
 wimmount.sys
 WimMountInstall.exe
 WimProvider.dll
 wimserv.exe

these go in the "appdata\wim mounter\dism" folder

 

and yes, wonko is right, if found, it wont download anything :)



#65 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:49 PM

and yes, wonko is right, if found, it wont download anything :)

 

But Wonko is also seemingly wrong :w00t: :ph34r:, as after all imagex is in the equation.

 

Maybe if the developer of the app, besides providing the whole exact list of files downloaded  :thumbsup: would also provide info about which files are used when, and from where each file is downloaded (and in in which version) this could further clear the way the app works :whistling:.

 

BTW and just for the record Wonko suspects :dubbio: that the Author is unneededly downloading a number of files that are not used at all by the little app, basically because he is re-using - without citing it - a downloading tool that is aimed at a different scope (and that actually needs all those files):

http://www.msfn.org/...-the-huge-isos/

whilst, in a perfect world , he would have used the info in the above thread, namely here:

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__999488

to develop it's own "custom" downloader aimed at ONLY the needed files.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#66 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:05 PM

seeying the tool used is shunned around here, i didnt mention it, also, most files are unneeded on 7, but needed on XP.

 

so i just download them all to be sure :suda:

 

and perfect worlds dont exist mate :P



#67 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:48 PM

Still, we evolved from an app that senselessly (and possibly illegally) distributed needed non-redistributable files, to another one that senselessly (but legally) downloads UNneeded files (besides the needed ones) .... :whistling:

 

:cheers:

Wonko.



#68 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:53 PM

Can we come to a discussion that may improve Wim Mounter rather than counting peanuts?

 

Peter



#69 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 February 2013 - 08:03 PM

Can we come to a discussion that may improve Wim Mounter rather than counting peanuts?

Actually the idea was to provide feedback on possible improvements like, you know, downloading only what is needed ;).

Reducing as much as possible the increase in entropy by avoiding bytes travel the internet without need.... :whistling:

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#70 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 February 2013 - 08:33 PM

OK

 

Please send me a PM, when this (IMO unnecessary) "download improvement" has been solved.

 

I think that then I can come back ito the core discussion.

 

Peter



#71 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:02 PM

meh, this works, is legal, its fine for me.

 

i dont force anyone to use it now do i?



#72 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:41 AM

meh, this works, is legal, its fine for me.

 

i dont force anyone to use it now do i?

Sure, no prob, everything is cool, bro :).

 

:cheers:

Wonko


  • damian666 likes this

#73 Grumpy Old Techie

Grumpy Old Techie
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Bristol, England.
  • Interests:Far too much to mention. Including: Gaming. PHP. Budabot. USB Booting. Reading.
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:56 AM

Heh, I think I've found my successor when I finally retire, and go plant carrots in my vegetable patch..

 

Wonko, I hereby hand over my title of 'GrumpyOldTechie' to you

 

Regards, love n kisses, etc...

 

Eli. .


  • damian666 likes this

#74 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14725 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:49 PM

Heh, I think I've found my successor when I finally retire, and go plant carrots in my vegetable patch..

 

Wonko, I hereby hand over my title of 'GrumpyOldTechie' to you

 

Regards, love n kisses, etc...

 

Eli. .

Thanks for your kind offer :), but my grumpiness is already well established and publicly declared ;), example:

http://reboot.pro/to...ms/#entry163605

being old is - anyway - objective :ph34r:

 

:cheers:
Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users