Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Debian PXE boot server wont boot PC Check


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#26 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 January 2013 - 10:09 PM

hi Icecube

 

Sorry forgot to add the third picture

 

boot3.jpg

 

it just hangs, saying booting...

 

 



#27 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 16 January 2013 - 10:57 PM

Add linux.c32 to your TFTP root and add this to your Syslinux config file:

 

LABEL lpc
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK
COM32 linux.c32
APPEND memdisk initrd=/pccheck.vfd pause

LABEL lpcraw
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK (raw)
COM32 linux.c32
APPEND memdisk initrd=/pccheck.vfd raw pause

And try to boot both of them.

 

Edit: added memdisk on APPEND line



#28 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:00 AM

Hi Icecube & Sha0

...

Thank you again for helping me out with this

After trying Icecube's suggestions, I'd also be interested in the results of your non-linux.c32 config-file, but with: APPEND raw pause nopassany noedd



#29 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:08 AM

Hi Icecube

 

This is the first time Ive seen Linux.c32, would that be in syslinux root folder and copy it across like i did with pxelinux.cfg?

 

With syslinux config file, do you mean pxelinux.cfg/default?

 

regards

 

Deaks 



#30 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:35 AM

This is the first time Ive seen Linux.c32, would that be in syslinux root folder and copy it across like i did with pxelinux.cfg?

It is located at com32/modules/linux.c32 of the Syslinux archive.

With syslinux config file, do you mean pxelinux.cfg/default?

 

Syslinux (= SYSLINUX, (EXTLINUX), ISOLINUX, PXELINUX).

For the PXELINUX variant, the Syslinux config file is pxelinux.cfg/default.



#31 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 17 January 2013 - 08:22 PM

Hi Icecube

 

I tryed want you said and the pictures below are the results

 

PCCheck with linux.c32 with memdisk

 

boot4.jpg

 

PCCheck with linux.c32 with memdisk (raw)

 

boot5.jpg

 

 

Also I notice that the linux.c32 file wasnt where you said it was.  I have attached pictures of the folder layout on my PC to see if thats a problem.

 

Screenshot2.png

 

Screenshot-1.png

 

Screenshot-2.png

 

Screenshot-3.png

 

Hope this helps, cheers again :)



#32 ady

ady

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:15 PM

I think the intention was for:

LABEL lpc
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK
COM32 linux.c32 memdisk
APPEND initrd=/pccheck.vfd pause

LABEL lpcraw
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK (raw)
COM32 linux.c32 memdisk
APPEND initrd=/pccheck.vfd raw pause


or with the relevant paths to ldlinux.c32 and to memdisk:
 
 

 

 

 


LABEL lpc
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK
COM32 /path/to/linux.c32 /path/to/memdisk
APPEND initrd=/pccheck.vfd pause

LABEL lpcraw
MENU LABEL PCCheck with linux.c32 and MEMDISK (raw)
COM32 /path/to/linux.c32 /path/to/memdisk
APPEND initrd=/pccheck.vfd raw pause

and eventually you could also test the parameters that Shao suggested too.

 

 

 



#33 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 17 January 2013 - 11:31 PM

I edited post #27: added memdisk on APPEND line.

Can you try it again with the updated commands?

 

When you download Syslinux from: http://www.kernel.or.../boot/syslinux/ linux.c32 is at the path I told you.

Distros might put those files at a total different location.



#34 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:03 AM

hi Icecube

 

I have updated the commands from post #27 and the pictures are below

 

boot6.jpg

 

 

boot7.jpg

 

Thank you again.

 



#35 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:48 AM

Hi Sha0

 

 

After trying Icecube's suggestions, I'd also be interested in the results of your non-linux.c32 config-file, but with: APPEND raw pause nopassany noedd

 

 

Here is what I get from the command you asked me to use

 

boot8.jpg

 

thank you again



#36 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:03 AM

@ deaks

Do you have another PC from which you can try the PXE boot on?

It might be that your BIOS doesn't like the PCCheck floppy (or the other way around).

You can also check if there is a BIOS update for your motherboard.

 

Other people are able to boot this floppy image from PXELINUX with MEMDISK:

http://freedos.10956....html#a34335754



#37 ady

ady

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 12:53 PM

Other people are able to boot this floppy image from PXELINUX with MEMDISK:
http://freedos.10956....html#a34335754


I don't think the guy in that linked post solved his issue with MEMDISK (at least not from that linked post). I don't see any answer there, and he also posted here in reboot.pro around the same time.
 

Hi Sha0
Here is what I get from the command you asked me to use


@deaks, I might be wrong, but I think that what Shao wanted was something like:
 

LABEL lpc
MENU LABEL PCCheck with MEMDISK
LINUX /path/to/memdisk
APPEND nopassany noedd pause initrd=/pccheck.vfd

LABEL lpcraw
MENU LABEL PCCheck with MEMDISK (raw)
LINUX /path/to/memdisk
APPEND raw nopassany noedd pause initrd=/pccheck.vfd


From your screenshot, I am not sure this is what you used. But I could be wrong.



#38 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

Hi Icecube

 

 

@ deaks Do you have another PC from which you can try the PXE boot on? It might be that your BIOS doesn't like the PCCheck floppy (or the other way around). You can also check if there is a BIOS update for your motherboard

 

 

Do I have to do a clean install of debian and set the dhcp and pxe up again or can I simple put the hard drive with everything on it into a different PC

 

Deaks



#39 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2013 - 02:05 PM

hi Ady

 

I didnt do it that way, I did it the way below

 

LABEL lpcraw

MENU LABEL PCCheck with MEMDISK (raw) LINUX /path/to/memdisk

LINUX memdisk

APPEND initrd=/pccheck.vfd raw nopassany noedd pause

 

Deaks



#40 ady

ady

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 02:56 PM

@deaks, then that's fine. I probably missed something when I looked at your screenshot.



#41 Cobravox

Cobravox
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:06 PM

Hi Deaks,

 

For my job I used it in the past with syslinux/isolinux/pxelinux and nowadays with grub4dos/ipxe and WDS/MDT2012:

 

LABEL PCCHECKN

MENU LABEL ^1. Eurosoft Pc-Check v6.20 (network)

MENU DISABLE

KERNEL /modules/memdisk

APPEND initrd=/burnin/pccheck/pccheck.IMA keeppxe

TEXT HELP

Pc-Check determines hardware faults and reduces returns, RMAs and repairs.

ENDTEXT

F2 /help/f2.txt /graphics/pccheck.jpg

LABEL PCCHECKO

MENU LABEL ^2. Eurosoft Pc-Check v5.00 (local)

KERNEL /modules/memdisk

APPEND initrd=/burnin/pccheck/pcchecko.IMG

TEXT HELP

Pc-Check determines hardware faults and reduces returns, RMAs and repairs.

ENDTEXT

 

or grub4dos:

 

# Last updated: 01.11.2012

#password test

gfxmenu /menus/burnin.gz

clear

timeout 60

default /menus/burnindefault

title Return to previous menu

configfile /menu.lst

title Pc-Check® Computer Hardware Diagnostic Software

v6.21 local

map --mem /burnin/pccheckol.img (fd0)

map --hook

chainloader (fd0)+1

rootnoverify (fd0)

title Pc-Check® Computer Hardware Diagnostic Software

v7.06 local

map --mem /burnin/pcchecknl.img (fd0)

map --hook

chainloader (fd0)+1

rootnoverify (fd0)

title Eurosoft Pc-Check® Computer Hardware Diagnostic Software

v6.21 network

map --mem /burnin/pccheckon.img (fd0)

map --hook

chainloader (fd0)+1

rootnoverify (fd0)

title Eurosoft Pc-Check® Computer Hardware Diagnostic Software

v7.06 network

map --mem /burnin/pcchecknn.img (fd0)

map --hook

chainloader (fd0)+1

rootnoverify (fd0)

 

You can make a standard bootable 2.88 MG floppy disk (MSDOS/FREEDOS and add PC-Check files with winimage).  Eurodos.sys is not needed in this case.

Add pccheck.exe in autoexec.bat and it will work.  CMDLINE.TXT is optional as you know.

 

I hope this solves your problem.  Now I use Pc-Check with WDS/MDT2012 and ipxe with my own external webserver to boot all kind of images via http ;-)

 

regards,

 

Cobravox



#42 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 19 January 2013 - 07:07 PM

Here is what I get from the command you asked me to use

Could you please try this?:

LABEL pcchk
  KERNEL /memdisk
  INITRD /pccheck.vfd
  APPEND edd nopassany pause

Also: Could you please confirm that the floppy disk that you copied from boots another computer?  Perhaps it has bad sectors.

 

Also: Could you please try the attached Attached File  memdisk_trace.zip   13.75KB   356 downloads (needs unzipping) and the following?:

LABEL pcchk_trace
  KERNEL /memdisk_trace
  INITRD /pccheck.vfd
  APPEND pause


#43 deaks

deaks

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 22 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:09 AM

HI Icecube, Sha0 and Cobravox

 

Sorry Ive not posted for past few days, just had a few things that had taken my time up over the weekend.

 

@Icecube

 

Icecube, on 18 Jan 2013 - 10:03, said:@ deaks Do you have another PC from which you can try the PXE boot on? It might be that your BIOS doesn't like the PCCheck floppy (or the other way around). You can also check if there is a BIOS update for your motherboard

 

 

I have done a fresh install on a different machine and I get the same results as my old PC

 

@Cobra

 

Thank you for your post and I have tried the way you boot yours but it didnt work for me.  I also tried creating a 2.88mb MS-Dos disk and copied PCCheck.exe and the rest of the files excluding Eurodos.sys and I got the result in the picture below.

 

boot9.jpg

 

Thank you again Cobravox

 

@Sha0

 

[quote name='Sha0' timestamp='1358622479' post='166174'] LABEL pcchk KERNEL /memdisk INITRD /pccheck.vfd APPEND edd nopassany pause Also: Could you please confirm that the floppy disk that you copied from boots another computer? Perhaps it has bad sectors. [/quote]

 

I have attached the picture below of my result.  the floppy disk does boot on another PC

 

Boot10.jpg

 

downloads (needs unzipping) and the following?: LABEL pcchk_trace KERNEL /memdisk_trace INITRD /pccheck.vfd APPEND pause [/quote] confirm that the floppy disk that you copied from boots another computer? Perhaps it has bad sectors. [/quote]

 

I have attached the picture below of my results of using memdisk_trace,

 

Boot11.jpg

 

 

Thank again all for your help with this

 

Kind Regards

 

Deaks

 

 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users