Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

HELP PLEASE LAPTOP WONT BOOT


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 December 2012 - 06:26 PM

i was running a scan for spyware with spyhunter4 and it didn't find anything unusual but it didn't recognize a program... i think it was SQL something not really sure. anyways it suggests that i disable the program and then reboot my laptop and so i do and now its giving me this black screen with 3 options to boot from, Spyhunter, Windows xp, and Windows vista/7 (non of which work) i click enter on any of them and it gives me an error 17 message. i dont know what to do . i'm using an HP 2730p 1.8 Ghz  intel centrino 2 running windows 7. 



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 December 2012 - 06:33 PM

Most likely you are using or have used in the past a WAREZ release of some kind.

Review this thread:

http://reboot.pro/to...please-help-me/

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#3 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:50 PM

Most likely you are using or have used in the past a WAREZ release of some kind

 

i dont even remeber ever downloading Grub4dos. i dont even know what it's for. 



#4 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:25 PM

i the link you sent me and it didnt really help me any. i even went ahead and checked the links within the one you sent and none where helpful i tryed running all the code provided and i got totally different results. i dont know what to do from here.



#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 December 2012 - 09:33 AM

i the link you sent me and it didnt really help me any. i even went ahead and checked the links within the one you sent and none where helpful i tryed running all the code provided and i got totally different results. i dont know what to do from here.

It doesn't work "in bulk" if you can't make head or tails yourself, ask for help.
To obtain help you need to describe EXACTLY what happens and attempt doing EXACTLY what is advised to you.


What you posted is a mish mash of what happened, right now you are seemingly experiencing:
 

and now its giving me this black screen with 3 options to boot from, Spyhunter, Windows xp, and Windows vista/7 (non of which work) i click enter on any of them and it gives me an error 17 message

you cannot have possibly (and should have NOT blindly) run:

 

 

all the code provided

 

The error 17 is typical of a misconfigured grub or grub4dos menu.lst but it may well come from something else.

Now be nice, post the EXACT error that you see.

Try pressing "c" at the menu choice you see, and see if you get to a grub> prompt.

In it type:

 

 

geometry (hd0)

 

[ENTER]

post the result

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#6 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2012 - 04:11 PM

when i start my computer i get this screen

 

https://www.dropbox....22412102120.jpg

 

it will automatically run the spyhunter commands after 3 seconds of not clicking anything and then i get this message

 

https://www.dropbox....22412102213.jpg

 

if i press enter after that it will send me back to the inital screen and then i can move up or down to choose from the options. i click on Windows xp and i get this

 

https://www.dropbox....22412102246.jpg

 

and when i click on the last option which is Windows 7 i get this

 

https://www.dropbox....22412102307.jpg

 

 

now as for the geometry results for hd0,0 it gave me 

 

drive 0x80(LBA): C/H/S=19458/255/63, Sector Count/Size=312592770/512

     Partition num: 0, Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x7



#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:04 PM

The result of geometry is "normal" your first (and only) partition is recognized as NTFS and i has a Partition ID of 07 (which is correct).

 

Since you were running 7 before, a file BOOTMGR should exist on first, active partition of the disk.

The fact that it cannot be found could mean that it has been deleted or renamed.

When you are on the first screen, press "c" to get to comand line, then

 

 



root (hd0,0)

[ENTER]

 

 



ls

[ENTER]

you should get a listing of the files on the first partition of the hard disk.

 

If there isn't any "BOOTMGR" or "bootmgr" file, it means that *somehow* it was deleted.

Post anyway a screen picture of what you get.

 

You will need a Windows 7 install disc or a "recovery" disc to re-instate the missing file (which may not be the only one missing).

Or in any case you need to get a valid bootmgr file and a boot disc (CD or DVD) capable of copying it to the NTFS filesystem.

Let's first see if the partition filesystem seems like the right one, then we will see which options you have.

 

Additionally, when in command line type:

 

 



ls /b

 

[TAB]

it should list a number of items whose name begins with "b", and allow you to "autocomplete" to:

 

 



ls /boot/

 

[TAB]

is a file named "BCD" or "bcd" listed?

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#8 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:35 PM

i typed in the root command and i got the same information about the partition "Filesystem type is nfts, partition type 0x7"

but when i go and type in the "ls" command it gives me an error 32: unrecognized command. and as for pressing the tab button after "ls /boot/" is gives me an error 18: inconsistent  filesystem structure



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 December 2012 - 05:47 PM

"ls" command (that is small letters for "LS") should be there, even if it's a very old grub4dos version that you have. :dubbio:

The error 18 seems like more serious :ph34r:, as it hints that it is not the case of a simple file missing, but of a filesystem issue (of which the missing file is a "sub-set").

 

In any case you need an install or "recovery" DVD, do you have one?

 

I have checked the HP2730p you posted, that PC is a HP notebook and "normally" they have a (hidden) recovery partition (unless you re-partitioned and re-installed Windows 7).

 

Try running the following command:

 

 

cat --hex (hd0)+1

 

and post a screen picture of the result. (it should show a hex view of your MBR or first sector of the drive).

 

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#10 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:18 PM

i might have a install dvd but i dont really know about the history of this laptop. i bought it used on ebay so im not really sure if a different OS was initally installed and replaced with windows 7

 

this is the result of the cat --hex (hd0)+1

 

https://www.dropbox....h/CAM00679.jpeg



#11 mikinbing

mikinbing
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:21 PM

im sorry there was more after i pressed enter to continue 

 

https://www.dropbox....22412132000.jpg



#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:48 PM

Hmmm, the MBR CODE is not the "special" HP one and the partition size/alignment (translated from the partition table Hex):

 



80 07 0/1/1 1.023/254/63 63 312.576.642

 

is not one that Windows 7 would make, it looks like that hard disk has been re-partitioned under an earlier version of Windows, like XP or 2K, but the code is definitely not that of 2K/XP and at first sight (but I have to check) it doesn't look even like the standard Windows 7 nor the grub4dos one. :unsure:

 

Definitely you need to boot from some other media, and:

  • check the NTFS filesystem of the first partition
  • replace/fix the MBR code
  • add/replace the missing files

 

In the meantime I checked and as a matter of fact the "ls" command was not yet in the 0.4.3 version of grub4dos you have.

You can try:

 

 



cat /

 

[TAB]

 

which should anyway list the files on root.

If you have the same "error 18: inconsistent filesystem structure" it surely means that there are issues with filesystem, as I just tested the 0.4.3 version and it does have access to a NTFS volume of around 320 Gb allright.

 

:cheers:

Wonko

 



#13 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 03 January 2015 - 06:25 AM

The finder. can u help me to . it was just like him . but you're instruction's i followed is correct. can u continue ?



#14 skyide

skyide

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 218 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 January 2015 - 07:41 AM

This was posted mistakenly, please delete this post.



#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 January 2015 - 09:36 AM

The finder. can u help me to . it was just like him . but you're instruction's i followed is correct. can u continue ?

You'll need to describe your issue, the "it was just like him" (WHO?), "your instructions" (WHICH ones?) are too "vague".

Try describing your issue, what happens to your PC and what you did till now....

 

Very likely you are in a situation like the one described (and solved) here:

http://reboot.pro/to...lp-grub-screen/

http://reboot.pro/to...ta-not-booting/

 

which were actually solved, one way or the other.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#16 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 03 January 2015 - 01:22 PM

this instruction
grub> geometry (hd0)
drive 0x800(LBA): C/H/S=9730/255/63, Sector Count/Size=156312450/512
   Partition num: 0, active Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
grub> root (hd0,0)
 Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
grub> ls 
 MS0Cache Temp $AttrDef $BadClus $Bitmap $Boot $Extend $Logfile $MFT $MFTMirr $Recycle.Bin $Secure $Upcase $Volume 39c715ff0cb4f19dec9d autoexe.bat autorun.inf Boot bootmgr_BOOTSECT.BAK config.sys Documents\ and\ Settings Drivers hiberfil.sys Hotfix pagfile.sys Perflogs po Program\ Files ProgramData QLFR Recovery ROM sh4ldr slmapw.pif spyhunter.fix steam system\ volume\ Information Users Windows Windows.old
grub> ls/boot
 Possible files are: Boot bootmgr bootmgr_BOOTSECT>BAK

grub> is /boot/
Possible files are: BCD BCD.LOG BCD.LOG1 BCD.LOG2 BOOTSTAT.DAT cs-CZ da-DK de-DE el-GR en-US es-ES fi-FI Fronts fr-FR hu-HU it-IT ja-JP ko-KR memtest.exe nb-NO
grub> ls /boot/



#17 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 03 January 2015 - 01:27 PM

but you're topic above change . so i need a continuation :) :wacko:



#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 January 2015 - 02:18 PM

Try:

root (hd0,0)

chainloader /bootmgr

boot

 

:duff:

Wonko



#19 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 04 January 2015 - 02:13 AM

grub>root (hd0,0)

   Filesystem type is ntfs,partition type0x07
grub> chainloader /bootmgr

 

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format
grub> boot

 

Error8: Kernel must be loaded before booting 


. :( that's what i get. 



#20 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1351 posts

Posted 04 January 2015 - 09:47 AM

Try:
root (hd0,0)
ls /Windows/Boot/PCAT/bootmgr
chainloader /Windows/Boot/PCAT/bootmgr
boot

#21 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 04 January 2015 - 11:57 AM

grub> root (hd0,0)

  Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

grub>ls /Windows/Boot/PCAT/bootmgr

  bootmgr

grub> boot
  Error 8: Kernel must be loaded before booting .


that's what is says



#22 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1351 posts

Posted 04 January 2015 - 12:04 PM

Read again, what about the chainloader command?
Try again.

#23 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 04 January 2015 - 12:23 PM

chainloader /Windows/Boot/PCAT/bootmgr

Will boot NTLDR from drive=0x80, partition=0x0(hidden sectors=0x3f) 

that's what it says :)



#24 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13803 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 January 2015 - 09:18 AM

chainloader /Windows/Boot/PCAT/bootmgr

Will boot NTLDR from drive=0x80, partition=0x0(hidden sectors=0x3f) 

that's what it says :)

Good, now type:

boot

[ENTER]

What happens?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#25 QUIMSON

QUIMSON
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 05 January 2015 - 11:30 AM

THANKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE > You saved my WEEK  :) .thank you so much . i can't expressed my gratitude :) 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users