Jump to content











Photo

Reset a Windows 8 Password without using any third party software

do it in 10 minutes - how to

  • Please log in to reply
94 replies to this topic

#76 afk

afk
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 09 May 2016 - 12:28 PM

Hi, I've just found this topic to guide me through resetting forgotten Win 8 password.

 

But there's a problem for me - in the original post, Step 6 says:
 

 

 

6- When you are ready, boot the locked PC that needs to be unlocked with that CD or USB you just made, and follow the
pictures below

 but there are no pictures!

 

I've tried 2 different computers, and about 5 browsers, and I still get no images.

 

Can anyone help with the images, please?

 

Thanks :)



#77 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 06 August 2016 - 09:41 PM

I have used this with sucess before when I could not log on to my user account because it would not accept my pin and demanded a password which I did not have.

 

After upgrading to the Anniversary Update (AU) I was faced with the same problem but this time the fix does not work.

 

After entering the new password the second time I get this error message:-

 

" The system is not authoritative for the specified account and therefore cannot complete the operation. Please retry the operation using the provider associated with this account. If this is an online provider please use the providers online site"

 

Help!!! what does this mean?

 

AU is a disaster for me!

 

9 months old HP 27-n103a All-In-One, i7-6700T, 8GB memory, 2TB HDD, Win 10 home 64 bit.

 



#78 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 07 August 2016 - 12:08 AM

Hi, I've just found this topic to guide me through resetting forgotten Win 8 password.

 

But there's a problem for me - in the original post, Step 6 says:
 

 but there are no pictures!

 

I've tried 2 different computers, and about 5 browsers, and I still get no images.

 

Can anyone help with the images, please?

 

Thanks :)

 

There is a pdf file with all the pictures at the bottom of Jamal's original post



#79 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13333 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 August 2016 - 09:49 AM

These methods were made for "normal", "local" accounts, on Windows 10 many people are tricked into making a (stupid) MS account or "online" account, with which this won't probably work (and I don't think that it has been tested on Windows 10 "Anniversary Update" specifically anyway) :(.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#80 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 184 posts

Posted 08 August 2016 - 08:31 AM

@Wonko

This is correct. But all windows OS have a local built-in administrator account. I'm pretty sure Windows 10 has the account too, even if you use an online account. Just need to enable it via cmd: net user administrator /active:yes

 

Full tutorial here: http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/

 

I would be interested in knowing if this works for you guys that use Windows 10.



#81 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13333 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 August 2016 - 09:20 AM

@Wonko

This is correct. But all windows OS have a local built-in administrator account. I'm pretty sure Windows 10 has the account too, even if you use an online account. Just need to enable it via cmd: net user administrator /active:yes

 

Full tutorial here: http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/

 

I would be interested in knowing if this works for you guys that use Windows 10.

Sure :), the OP most probably attempted to use his account and not the administrator one (which once enabled actually should have no password by default), anyway trying:

net user administrator /active:yes

doesn't cost anything..
 

It is also possible that in that context it is possible to create a new account, but it has to be seen.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#82 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 184 posts

Posted 08 August 2016 - 01:41 PM

It is also possible that in that context it is possible to create a new account, but it has to be seen.

 

I was just going to suggest that.

 

Once utilman.exe is replaced with cmd it does not matter whether your account is online or not. You can either 1. enable the built-in account or 2. create a new admin account.



#83 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 August 2016 - 06:49 PM

all windows OS have a local built-in administrator account. I'm pretty sure Windows 10 has the account too

 

I would be interested in knowing if this works for you guys that use Windows 10.

 

It worked for me - I enabled it some months ago when I could not access my local user account (also admin) using my pin while trying to get into safe mode.

 

On that occasion I was dealing with a BSOD.this time it was installing the anniversary update (AU) that triggered the problem of accessing my local account with my pin.

 

I have now managed to revert to the previous build using an installation USB with the AU that I created specially to deal with this problem.

 

In the meantime I am pulling splinters from under my finger nails, caused by scratching my head while trying to figure out a solution. I am 84 and the last time I had to deal with this many problems was when I upgraded to Win 95

 

Ardgour :confused1:



#84 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 August 2016 - 06:58 PM

I was just going to suggest that.

 

Once utilman.exe is replaced with cmd it does not matter whether your account is online or not. You can either 1. enable the built-in account or 2. create a new admin account.

 

Sure :), the OP most probably attempted to use his account and not the administrator one (which once enabled actually should have no password by default), anyway trying:

net user administrator /active:yes

doesn't cost anything..
 

It is also possible that in that context it is possible to create a new account, but it has to be seen.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 
Having logged on as the built-in admin I was unable to create a new account or access my own user account. It remains to be seen if this was due to a deliberate alteration of the OS by MS or a bug in the upgrade.



#85 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13333 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 August 2016 - 07:51 PM

 
Having logged on as the built-in admin I was unable to create a new account or access my own user account. It remains to be seen if this was due to a deliberate alteration of the OS by MS or a bug in the upgrade.

This is strange, once you are "in" (and as administrator) you should have the right to create new user(s), while accessing your pre-existing account (if it was an "online" account) may still be problematic.

But I was thinking more of attempting to create a new account before logging in, the cmd.exe (renamed to utilman.exe) should be running under the System credentials. Again no idea if the old way of working applies to the new release and/or to "online" accounts.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#86 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 09 August 2016 - 03:30 AM

This is strange, once you are "in" (and as administrator) you should have the right to create new user(s), while accessing your pre-existing account (if it was an "online" account) may still be problematic.

But I was thinking more of attempting to create a new account before logging in, the cmd.exe (renamed to utilman.exe) should be running under the System credentials. Again no idea if the old way of working applies to the new release and/or to "online" accounts.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

I may not have made things clear in my first posting.

 

When I could not log on to my own local account using my pin I logged on using the built in administrator account which I had activated on a previous occasion.

 

Using that account I was unable to access my own account to reset the pin/password nor was I able to create a new user account as the necessary fields were not accessable. I spent some considerable time looking for a hidden door but could find none.

 

I followed Kumar's instructions to the letter though I could see some shortcuts but did not try them.

 

In response to the instruction to confim the new password I entered it for the second time and pressed enter. It was then I got the following error message:-

 

" The system is not authoritative for the specified account and therefore cannot complete the operation. Please retry the operation using the provider associated with this account. If this is an online provider please use the providers online site"

 

Ardgour :confused1:



#87 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13333 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 August 2016 - 11:14 AM

Yep, what I am saying is that BEFORE you log in, when you run the cmd.exe renamed to utilman.exe or sethc.exe, you should have system credentials, there and at that time (again BEFORE logging in) you should be able to create a new user.

And for "creating a new user" I am not talking of using the GUI and filling "fields", but rather to run in the cmd window:



net.exe user Admin123 MyPassword /add
net.exe localgroup Administrators Admin123 /add
taskkill.exe /F /IM LogonUI.exe

http://www.overclock...0#post_23391366

 

Again, cannot say if this works the same on Windows 10 and particularly on AU :unsure:.

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • ardgour likes this

#88 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 09 August 2016 - 07:30 PM

Yep, what I am saying is that BEFORE you log in, when you run the cmd.exe renamed to utilman.exe or sethc.exe, you should have system credentials, there and at that time (again BEFORE logging in) you should be able to create a new user.

And for "creating a new user" I am not talking of using the GUI and filling "fields", but rather to run in the cmd window:



net.exe user Admin123 MyPassword /add
net.exe localgroup Administrators Admin123 /add
taskkill.exe /F /IM LogonUI.exe

http://www.overclock...0#post_23391366

 

Again, cannot say if this works the same on Windows 10 and particularly on AU :unsure:.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Thanks I will try this next time I get into trouble trying to log on. Which will probably be when MS forces AU on me.

 

Ardgour :confused1:



#89 Dreammily

Dreammily
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 17 October 2016 - 07:22 AM

If you want to use USB stick, then you can simply use multiplatform UNetBootin and select ntpasswd it'll download images and create bootable usb flash for you. Or for CD/DVD manually download image from ntpasswd Or you can use sources and integrate to your favorite live distribution.

This distro uses chntpw program that can reset, blank or set password for your accounts. It can even unlock blocked accounts from your Windows station. All offline, it comes even with offline registry editor.


  • ardgour likes this

#90 Dreammily

Dreammily
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 19 October 2016 - 01:44 AM

If you want to use USB stick, then you can simply use multiplatform UNetBootin and select ntpasswd it'll download images and create bootable usb flash for you. Or for CD/DVD manually download image from ntpasswd Or you can use sources and integrate to your favorite live distribution.

This distro uses chntpw program that can reset, blank or set password for your accounts. It can even unlock blocked accounts from your Windows station. All offline, it comes even with offline registry editor.

 

If you need free windows password recovery to reset your windows 8 password.

This is guide how to use ntpassword: http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/

 

If you wanna try paid software to reset win 8 password, iSeePassword may be your first choice.

http://www.iseepassw...8-password.html

 

free version is a little complex and paid is easy to use.

 

 


Edited by Dreammily, 19 October 2016 - 01:47 AM.

  • ardgour likes this

#91 ardgour

ardgour
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 19 October 2016 - 02:07 AM

Thanks for the suggestion - I will save it for the next time MS stuffs up my system.

 

Ardgour



#92 nycfanbee

nycfanbee
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 December 2016 - 06:37 AM

This command doesn't work for me: net user administrator /active:yes

 

The password still exists after typing it in command prompt


Edited by nycfanbee, 28 December 2016 - 06:38 AM.


#93 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13333 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 December 2016 - 03:57 PM

This command doesn't work for me: net user administrator /active:yes

 

The password still exists after typing it in command prompt

RE-read the previous posts.

The suggestion is NOT to activate the built-in Administrator account (unless you have it hidden and it has no password) but rather to create a new account (with administrative privileges).

 

:duff:

Wonko



#94 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 184 posts

Posted 30 December 2016 - 12:38 AM

Here's a script if any of you need to make a dedicated reset disk:

@echo off

(echo list disk
echo list volume
echo exit ) | diskpart.exe

set /p "drv=Type windows drive (sans colon, eg. C): "
pushd %drv%:\Windows\System32

md _overlay & copy utilman.exe _overlay\*
copy /y cmd.exe utilman.exe

copy sethc.exe _overlay\*
copy /y cmd.exe sethc.exe


#95 nycfanbee

nycfanbee
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 January 2017 - 06:31 AM

If you need free windows password recovery to reset your windows 8 password.

This is guide how to use ntpassword: http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/

 

If you wanna try paid software to reset win 8 password, iSeePassword may be your first choice.

http://www.iseepassw...8-password.html

 

free version is a little complex and paid is easy to use.

Finally solved the issue with UUkeys. NT Password Can't boot from the disk it made saying partition table invalid.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users