Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Multiboot XP-Win7-Win8-Hiren Boot

multiboot xp win7 win8 hiren boot

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 04:48 AM

Hi all,

I want to get a multiboot USB with the following features

XP Pro SP3 installation
windows 7 enterprise Installation
windows 8 professional Installation
hirens boot cd


I make this boot file

but if windows 7 working

windows 8 will not working

what software and guide I should follow, I would be extremely grateful!

Many thanks,

#2 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:06 AM

http://www.msfn.org/...winntsetup-v23/

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=24424

Install of XP or Windows 7 from USB After Booting with 7 PE and
by using WinNTSetup2_x86.exe and Setup ISO file in Virtual drive

WinNTSetup2_x86.exe has support for Install of Win8

:cheers:

#3 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:35 AM

I'm sorry, but you did not understand my request
I want to make my usb multi bootable
Such a topic www.rmprepusb.com/tutorials/firawiniso
But when implemented steps
I found many mistakes

Example in windows 8

Windows cannot read the <ProductKey> setting from the unattend answer file.

Then I checked this topic http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__142622

And found the same error again

and in windows 7

windows cannt find any image

or something like this

what should i do

#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:09 AM

www.rmprepusb.com/tutorials/firawiniso - the tutorial clearly states that for WIn8 you need to change the Product Key in the xml file - did you do that? It has also been recently updated so that it will prompt the user for the product key - did you see the new menu for that?

re. Win7 - you must have done something wrong! Post your menu.lst for the Win7 install here and I will look at it.
Many people have this working, so if there is a problem it is 95% sure to be because you have not followed the instructions correctly!

cheers

Steve

#5 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:24 AM

ok i will tray with wi 7 agin

but the error in win 8

i sure i change the product key and i found same error

i can send you the product key

and names of my iso file's

and you create the file for me if you can please

#6 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:27 AM

this menu.lst for win 7

title Install Windows 7 32  Enterprise EditionnRun the Windows install DVD to install a copy of Windows to your hard disk

find --set-root /ImDisk/myiso.cmd

dd if=()/ImDisk/au.xml of=()/AutoUnattend.xml

dd if=()/ImDisk/cr.txt of=()/ImDisk/myiso.cmd

write ()/ImDIsk/myiso.cmd SET MYISO=isoWindows_7.isorn

map /iso/Windows_7.iso (0xff)

map (hd0) (hd1)

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

chainloader (0xff)



#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:29 AM

and what is the error message and where is the ISO file located and what is it called?

#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:30 AM

What Windows 8 ISO are you using? Where did it come from?

#9 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:34 AM

its Windows 8 Final Professional x86 Bit from microsoft msdn

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:39 AM

its Windows 8 Final Professional x86 Bit from microsoft msdn

Well you must use a Win 8 Professional Product Key - they can be purchased from Microsoft...

#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:46 AM

I have not tried this, but if you edit and re-make the ISO file, then apparently you can prevent it from asking for a product key on installation by changing the EI.CFG file inside the ISO.

See http://forums.mydigi...ll=1#post622398

and use UltraIso to edit each ISO as here

#12 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:58 AM

i not edit the iso file but i will search for this file
ok
the error in win 7
i add the windows 7 enterprise not aio
but when boot from usb
i see this
Posted Image

and when i change the code in menu.lst
map (hd1) (hd0)
to
map (hd0) (hd1)
i see this
Posted Image

#13 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:03 AM

For Win7 iso:
Did you try on a real system?
Are you booting from a USB Flash drive and do you see the blue command console Windows which asks if you want to repair windows (See Fig. 43.6.4 in Tutorial 43)?

#14 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 10:09 AM

yes i try it in my real system
and i see the blue command console but its appeared and then disappeared

#15 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:04 AM

When at the Install Windows screen as in your picture, can you press SHIFT+F10 to get a command console and then look for volumes by typing Notepad and then use File Menu to look at what drives you have? You should see the install.wim file is mounted as a virtual drive and it should have files in it???

#16 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1696 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 November 2012 - 12:54 PM

For windows 8 you do not need the product key to be preinstalled. Just create a ei.cfg in the sources folder that contains 2 lines:

[Channel]
Retail

Then you will get a list of windows 8 versions to choose from ( assuming your install.wim contains multiple versions ). This is the opposite to win7 where you delete ei.cfg.

If you need to run a program or batch file mount iso's or to ensure the USB drive is available prior to running setup.exe use winpeshl.ini [LaunchApps].

The above ei.cfg works for me in both the run iso from USB and using multiple bcd files ( bc0, bc1 etc ) approach. I find that booting the recovery environment does not work correctly if run from a iso on a USB drive ( the recovery environment never finds a windows installation to recover ).

Big problem I have with running windows installs from USB is file size on fat32. Fully patched windows 7 / 8 x64 / 2012 isos exceed 4GB in size.

.

#17 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 01:14 PM

Sorry for the delay
I've tested the EI.CFG file in windows 8
and its worked
When I came back to try windows 7
Gave me this error

selected disk does not exist

But when i try it on a real system
its Work again and gave me the first mistake that I mentioned to you before

#18 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 03:24 PM

Sorry, but I don't understand why it shows an empty list - can you do the shift+f10 test that asked in a previous post pls?

#19 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 06 November 2012 - 08:35 PM

the command console get this code
x:sources>
just this

#20 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:02 PM

please see post 15.

#21 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1696 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 November 2012 - 02:48 AM

I sometimes find that when the first dialog appears that I have to unplug and replug the USB drive and wait a few seconds. Then the USB drive becomes available.

#22 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:47 AM

hi steve I press SHIFT+F10 and typing Notepad and using File Menu and I see the virtual drive he have files in it but I searched for install.wim file it's not there

#23 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:02 AM

Sorry, what I should have said was you should see ISO mounted as a virtual drive and it should have a sourcesinstall.wim file visible.
Also check that you do not have any other volume (drive letter) that has a sourcesinstall.wim file - only the mounted virtual iso drive should have a sourcesinstall.wim.
In a cmd prompt, try typing the USB flash drive letter followed by the command firdiskloadiso.cmd and see what happens - e.e.g type
U:firadiskloadiso.cmd and substitute U for the USB drive letter.
cheers
Steve

#24 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:33 AM

sorry steve I tray again and researched for the install.wim file and I found it in the virtual drive and in the my usb drive and try the command findiso.cmd its open the blue command and its closed by her self

#25 mada4max

mada4max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:36 AM

this the menu.lst again if something wrong tell me

title Install Windows 7 32-bit Enterprise EditionnRun the Windows install DVD to install a copy of Windows to your hard disk

find --set-root /ImDisk/myiso.cmd

dd if=()/ImDisk/au.xml of=()/AutoUnattend.xml

dd if=()/ImDisk/cr.txt of=()/ImDisk/myiso.cmd

write ()/ImDIsk/myiso.cmd SET MYISO=isowindows_7_enterprise_32.isorn

map /iso/windows_7_enterprise_32.iso (0xff)

map (hd0) (hd1)

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

chainloader (0xff)

title Install Windows 7 64-bit Enterprise EditionnRun the Windows install DVD to install a copy of Windows to your hard disk

find --set-root /ImDisk/myiso.cmd

dd if=()/ImDisk/au.xml of=()/AutoUnattend.xml

dd if=()/ImDisk/cr.txt of=()/ImDisk/myiso.cmd

write ()/ImDIsk/myiso.cmd SET MYISO=isowindows_7_enterprise_64.isorn

map /iso/windows_7_enterprise_64.iso (0xff)

map (hd0) (hd1)

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

chainloader (0xff)

title Install Windows 8 32-bitnRun the Windows install DVD to install a copy of Windows to your hard disk

find --set-root /ImDisk/myiso.cmd

dd if=()/ImDisk/au.xml of=()/AutoUnattend.xml

dd if=()/ImDisk/cr.txt of=()/ImDisk/myiso.cmd

write ()/ImDIsk/myiso.cmd SET MYISO=isoWin.8.Pro.x86.ISOrn

map /iso/Win.8.Pro.x86.ISO (0xff)

map (hd0) (hd1)

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

chainloader (0xff)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: multiboot, xp, win7, win8, hiren boot

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users