Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Is this possible ? (It's a challenge) :D

grup4dos windows 2000

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#26 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15465 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 November 2012 - 11:38 AM

it's failing.

both lines fail with:
Autodetect number-of-heads failed. Use default value 255

Autodetect sectors-per-track failed. Use default value 63

Does the command need more parameters or this is just information of what is used ?

Thy do not fail, they are teling you that they cannot find any partition table in the first sector of the (hard disk) image hence they cannot imagine/guess a HS geometry and then default to 255/63, they are warnings, not errors.

An error in grub4dos normally has the format (as the one I posted earlier):

Error 61: refuse to hook int13 because of empty drive map table

More generally:

Error <errnum> : <error description>


:cheers:
Wonko

#27 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 09 November 2012 - 11:45 AM

Then it should show: Using default value 255
:)

#28 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15465 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 November 2012 - 01:06 PM

As a matter of fact it would also need "Autodetecting" to follow the reasoning or "Autodetection" to follow the connection.
:rofl:


Portugueses teaching Chineses how to write English! :w00t:

A whole new paradigm shift! :thumbup:

Let's say that historically the precedents (Portuguese teaching English) were not particularly successful :whistling::
http://en.wikipedia....As_She_Is_Spoke

;)

:cheers:
Wonko

#29 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:02 PM

It looks like a "practical" book lol
Just found it at amazon and buying it now.
http://www.amazon.co...52473262&sr=8-1

#30 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15465 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:23 PM

Well, being notoriously cheap :w00t:, since the Copyright is no more I use a more economical supplier:
http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/30411
to get the quotes needed from time to time, though of course it misses the one vastly (and wrongly) attributed to it, which is the magnificent :worship::
http://en.wikipedia....ck_by_lightning


:cheers:
Wonko

#31 saddlejib

saddlejib

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 270 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 November 2012 - 03:09 AM

Firstly, Thanks for Sha0's concise explanation of the means of achieving the objective and secondly,
No sarcasm intended at least we can look at your g4d ideas and see where your'e both heading,
Also Thanks to Wonko's concise explanation of Binary, We live in an analogue world, Fortunately, unfortunately, or somewhere inbetween.
Thats the problem with binary, "cometh" the dawn of digital analogue computers.
But the crux is have you resolved the problem ????

#32 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:10 PM

Currently it's on standby.
I've used the application (WinSetupFromUSB_1-0-beta8.exe) to use isos from usb and Memtest86 ( http://www.memtest86...86-4.0a.iso.zip ) failed to start and memtest86+ ( http://www.memtest.o...6 -4.20.iso.zip) returns that all memory is just fine. :S
I will (I hope today I get some time) try to install via pxe just to see if it passes the Windows "memory" error because I'm starting to think that it can be a hardware issue or a grub4dos issue.

Promise that I'll report my findings.

#33 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15465 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:27 PM

I am notoriously (besides cheap and grumpy, and picky :ph34r:) "old" :w00t:.

If I were you I would not introduce in the procedure on something that evidently has already it's part of issues any "automated" tool, expecially if relying on the booting/copying from USB during install (and remember that I know the WinsetupFromUSBwithGUI tool quite well ;)).

Use the good ol' way with DOS and WINNT.EXE at least while doing first experiments:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=16713
http://www.911cd.net...13

:cheers:
Wonko

#34 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:56 PM

It's a 10'' touchscreen tablet with a crusoe cpu running at 867Mhz and 128Mb (internal mem) + 256Mb.
It has ONE usb port, no floppy, no CD, no PS2 so I need to use the USB for the keyboard during instalation.

Now my problem is this:

The X Y problem, perhaps.

...
The BIG BIG problem is that it has a problem in the first 128Mb of ram (and it's not removable).

When I try to install it starts then gives an error that Microsoft point to a memory hardware failure.

Re-reading the original post, some questions were missed, as something slipped past... The above is a conclusion, rather than observations.

Up above, you said:

128Mb (internal mem) + 256Mb.

Are you mixing up RAM, ROM, internal storage, external storage? Which is which? If the unit only has 128 MiB of RAM, that should be ok. But for storage:

  • A 2 GB hard disk that has 650 MB of free space. If you are installing over a network, more free hard disk space is required


What was the actual error that you said that Windows "pointed to"?

#35 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 11 November 2012 - 07:17 PM

The machine has 128 Mbytes of RAM. It's possible to add another memory module (in this case I've added 256Mb).

The error was:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/826720
Actually was:

Unexpected error (0) occurred at line 1562 in D:ntprivatentosbootsetuparcdisp.c.



The HD has 40Gbytes and it will be fully formated ( but the install procedure doesn't even get to the F8 page)


Edited by MarsWalker, 11 November 2012 - 07:49 PM.


#36 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 November 2012 - 08:05 PM

The machine has 128 Mbytes of RAM. It's possible to add another memory module (in this case I've added 256Mb).

The error was:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/826720
Actually was:

Unexpected error (0) occurred at line 1562 in D:ntprivatentosbootsetuparcdisp.c.


Thanks. I see that the error is just slightly different. I think I got that once from using a scratched CD.

Did you try installing Windows 2000 without the additional 256 MB of RAM?

Also, could you be interested in running the Hardware Detection Tool on it and reporting the PCI VENdor and DEVice ID for the storage controller?

The HD has 40Gbytes and it will be fully formated ( but the install procedure doesn't even get to the F8 page)

Great.

#37 saddlejib

saddlejib

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 270 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 November 2012 - 09:33 PM

The drivers or the .iso therein maybe of interest ???

http://download.pace.../PaceBook/PB56/

It has a round usb port also ??? Interesting but not relevant.

#38 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 11 November 2012 - 10:19 PM

Thanks. I see that the error is just slightly different. I think I got that once from using a scratched CD.

Is was on the HD so no scratch CD.

Did you try installing Windows 2000 without the additional 256 MB of RAM?

Yes I did try.

Also, could you be interested in running the Hardware Detection Tool on it and reporting the PCI VENdor and DEVice ID for the storage controller?

I will try it.

Great.

#39 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 11 November 2012 - 10:20 PM

The drivers or the .iso therein maybe of interest ???

http://download.pace.../PaceBook/PB56/

The iso then trys to use something with the rest of the OS that I don't have.



It has a round usb port also ??? Interesting but not relevant.

Is has but I don't have the adapter.

#40 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 11 November 2012 - 10:28 PM

Latest (good) news.

I was able to install via PXE the windows 2000 but failed the windows xp.
The xp installation starts, loads of all the initial drivers and when it shows "Starting Windows." (before F8) it just reboots.

I'm currently using windows 2000 sp4 with all the drivers and everything is working BUT I have an extra HD to keep on trying to install XP.

Tomorrow I will try the Hardware Detection Tool.

#41 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:20 AM

Latest (good) news.

I was able to install via PXE the windows 2000 but failed the windows xp.

Wow! Congratulations for using PXE to overcome a frustrating challenge! Very nice. :good:

The xp installation starts, loads of all the initial drivers and when it shows "Starting Windows." (before F8) it just reboots.

How odd! Was this with an installation disc, files copied to the HDD, or again via PXE?

I'm currently using windows 2000 sp4 with all the drivers and everything is working BUT I have an extra HD to keep on trying to install XP.

That's terrific for Windows 2000. Once you said that a memory test had showed no bad RAM, it made sense why your original goal of using GRUB4DOS to reserve some of the RAM didn't work out. It's a bit mysterious to me why the installation would work via PXE but not from the HDD.

Tomorrow I will try the Hardware Detection Tool.

Actually, if you managed to run Windows 2000, I guess there's no point. I was worried that Windows 2000 might need some storage drivers, but if you're running it, there's no worry. You can find the PCI IDs in Device Manager, but now there's no need.

#42 MarsWalker

MarsWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:33 AM

Wow! Congratulations for using PXE to overcome a frustrating challenge! Very nice. :good:

Yes, it's working. Slow but working lol

How odd! Was this with an installation disc, files copied to the HDD, or again via PXE?

Some thing from HDD and from PXE (tried original XP SP2, XP with slimstream SP3 and nLite full automatic instalation).

That's terrific for Windows 2000. Once you said that a memory test had showed no bad RAM, it made sense why your original goal of using GRUB4DOS to reserve some of the RAM didn't work out. It's a bit mysterious to me why the installation would work via PXE but not from the HDD.

There is a manufacture patch that breaks Windows 2000.
pbbl.exe = Windows 2000/XP backlight driver for the Pacebook version 02.02.27
It always gives me a blue screen (on reboot) with a ACPI.SYS error. (Had to reinstall windows 2K) so maybe its a hardware issue but not related to memory.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: grup4dos windows 2000

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users