Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Mozilla Firefox universal

win8.1se

  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:05 PM

Posted Image

File Name: Mozilla Firefox universal
File Submitter: Mikka
File Submitted: 02 Oct 2012
File Updated: 25 May 2016
File Category: App scripts

Firefox Web browser has security, speed and new features that will change the way you use the web.

This script supports current Firefox versions (merely tested for 32 bit) and has been tested with v41 to v46. You should be able to use it with official milestone releases as with beta versions. Confirmed working with Win8.1SE x86 and should work for x64 builds as well.

Note: If you're like me, you might want to include the add-on Classic Theme Restorer Customize Australis via the option to "include XPI extensions" in order to restore the traditional, "old-fashioned" GUI.

Requirements
  • sufficient RAM > 1 GB if you want to use Flash or Firefox add-ons
  • Flash installed on host system if you want to add the Flash plugin to your build (not recommended though)
  • Internet connection for fetching the Mozilla installer (optional)
  • additionally my script Sumatra PDF universal if you want to equip Firefox with the ability to display PDF files (as the built-in way is somewhat crappy at times)
This is the best and most convenient script for Mozilla Firefox around: Set everything you want to, include bookmarks, add-ons, display various file formats in the browser thanks to the SumatraPDF plugin, and utilize additional search plugins.

Enjoy!
Mikka

Click here to download this file

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13334 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 October 2012 - 06:28 PM

Just to keep things as together as possible, the previous thread about the earler release of Mozilla Firefox universal .script is here:
http://reboot.pro/17575/

:cheers:
Wonko

#3 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:38 PM

Wonko, thank you very much for the hint. :D
Seems I messed up things a bit at first... but now it's Ordnung again. ^_^

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 October 2012 - 02:29 PM

@Mikka:

An additional suggestion to make the script more "common" and usable in other projects:

You use
  • %BaseDir%Projects%ProjectName%
  • %BaseDir%Target%ProjectName%
%ProjectName% is a win7pese proprietary variable. It is even not contained in other win7 based projects like Win7RescuePE.

Just replace
  • %BaseDir%Projects%ProjectName% by %ProjectDir%
  • %BaseDir%Target%ProjectName% by %TargetDir%
That variables are logically the same ones, and project independent defined by WinBuilder.

Peter

#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13334 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 October 2012 - 03:07 PM

Maybe Mikka could edit this:

I wrote it primarily for Win7PESE but it might work with other projects as well.

to something like :unsure::

I wrote it primarily for Win7PESE but it might work with other projects as well, but still it is was developed on WIN7PESE and originally intended for WIN7PESE ONLY and tested ONLY on Win7PESE and you might need to make a few changes - along pscEX's suggestions - to have it working on any project exception made for Win7PESE.


:cheers:
Wonko

#6 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 03 October 2012 - 04:55 PM

Peter: Thank you! Script was updated.
Wonko: I guess people will get the point.

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13334 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:31 PM

Wonko: I guess people will get the point.

People may :thumbsup:, Peter seemingly had some difficulties.... :whistling:

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 21 October 2012 - 12:00 PM

Version 4 of the script is now available.

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2012 - 02:45 PM

I downloaded and added to the multiPE project.

Result: Build and use w/o any issues! :clap:

Suggestion for enhancement:
  • Do not download in every build, when that has been already done.
  • Try to switch the "import" and "default brower" questions off in configuration. Appearing in every boot is boring.
  • When starting in the PE, it should default to a known URL like reboot.pro or google.
  • Make the interface panel's height 2 pixels smaller. Then you do not have the scroll bar at the right.
Peter

#10 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 October 2012 - 05:15 PM

I downloaded and added to the multiPE project.

Result: Build and use w/o any issues! :clap:


Peter, I'm sorry to dampen your elation, but there might be glitches in multiPE. :logik:

  • Do not download in every build, when that has been already done.
  • Try to switch the "import" and "default brower" questions off in configuration. Appearing in every boot is boring.
  • When starting in the PE, it should default to a known URL like reboot.pro or google.
  • Make the interface panel's height 2 pixels smaller. Then you do not have the scroll bar at the right.

  • Just untick Fetch Firefox setup online (leave the url as is) and specify a valid path for Local Firefox exe installer (optional).
    That way you may point my script to any downloaded setup file, including betas
  • Can't remember such stuff in tests I did for Win7PESE; shouldn't occur due to dynamically written prefs.js.
    Did you tick or untick Make Firefox default browser?
  • A Homepage option would be an idea. Currently, some mozilla address is supposed to load.
  • Any screenshot of that please? :dubbio:


#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 October 2012 - 05:26 PM

I did not change anything in the original script's options. (The "factory supplied" options should be something, which the "everage" user makes happy).
ScreenShoots:
gui_NOK.gif
gui_OK.gif
This seems to be an issue with different display options of the host system.
But it deals only with one or two pixels.

Peter

#12 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 October 2012 - 10:53 AM

I did not change anything in the original script's options.


Right, it does work then, at least as long as used with Win7PESE. Last tests were done with WB 083, too.
You can check if the prefs.js in the profile folder is similar to the one attached below.

This seems to be an issue with different display options of the host system.
But it deals only with one or two pixels.


I see... Yes, this is due to a different Windows theme that I use on my production system.
I'll fix that in the next version. ;)

Attached File  prefs.7z   1.42KB   496 downloads

#13 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 04 December 2012 - 06:27 PM

Version 5 is now available.

#14 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:20 PM

Current version 6 is a major release: it's the first Firefox script to optionally include extensions (or add-ons).

In case you intend to do this: Please bear in mind that additional extensions will slow down Firefox noticeably!

I advise to confine yourself to a fistful of extensions you literally can't live without...

 

To include extensions, throw 'em in a folder, point the script to it and you're already done. Naming conventions don't matter except for the xpi extension.

So in order to avoid the integration of a specific extension, just change its file extension.

 

There are quite a few extensions that bother you with welcome messages and crap. You might have to look into the xpi (i.e. compressed zip) files and make changes to files like prefs.js etc.

I don't know a simple/global workaround for it; if you do, please drop me a line.

 

Now finally, have fun with it!



#15 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 09 February 2013 - 01:32 AM

I love FIREFOX

I am busy upgrading my pe to WIN7PE_SE

Can you give a list of system dependency's?

FireFox seems to moan about missing things like

msdmo.dll

api-ms-win-core-com-l1-1-0.dll

ect...



#16 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:07 PM

Hi DarkPhoeniX,

 

Good question. Unfortunately I cannot tell you anything specific, but if I'm not mistaken Firefox ≥13 is compiled with Visual Studio 2010 and hence requests the Visual C++ Runtime stuff (see Components category). As I always include VcRunTimes.script due to numerous dependancies with other scripts, I haven't yet verified it.

 

I haven't experienced problems with missing files to date, developping and testing my script with Win7PESE v4x.



#17 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:24 PM

I have all Visual C++ Run-time scripts running

I'm now rebuilding WB with .net Scripts,I will report on how it goes

 

 

Edit:no Joy :blowup:



#18 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 February 2013 - 12:20 PM

I'm now rebuilding WB with .net Scripts,I will report on how it goes

 

I do know however, that Firefox doesn't depend on .NET (having written a script for a tool that does).

 

Well, troubleshooting then: Did you try to include the Firefox universal script right in an up to date Win7PESE release?

I remember having had strange issues a couple of months ago (adding other scripts) and after reverting to a "cleaner" release state, they were gone.



#19 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:15 PM

I tried to use the script in multiPE, and "was attacked" by a serious bug:

[Variables]
%CustomCopy%=?
%DownloadFolder%="%GlobalSupport%\Downloads\%ProgramFolder%"
%ProgramExe%=firefox.exe
%ProgramFolder%=Firefox
%ProgramTitle%=Firefox
%SumatraPDFComponent%=%ProjectDir%\Apps\Supplementary\Office\SumatraPDF_universal.script
%TargetFfxIni%="%TargetDir%\Users\Default\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox"

Here %ProgramFolder% is used in definition of %DownloadFolder% before it is defined. The value can be very random, depending on the script build history until 'now'.

 

BTW: Would be nice if you do not download firefox on every script run.

It should be downloaded when not yet on the user's pc, or when wanted in the interface GUI.

 

Peter :cheers:



#20 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12686 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:48 PM

I love FIREFOX

I am busy upgrading my pe to WIN7PE_SE

Can you give a list of system dependency's?

FireFox seems to moan about missing things like

msdmo.dll

api-ms-win-core-com-l1-1-0.dll

ect...

That is caused by a violence of my standard "App Script Rule":

 

A good app script has to be self supporting. It must not assume that the parent project offers every (rarelly used) file which is needed.

 

Unfortunatelly this rule is not understood by many bakers.

 

Peter

 

BTW:

After a change in [variables] according my above post, and after adding one line to [Process], I got this in multiPE:

firefox_multiPE.gif



#21 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 February 2013 - 06:35 PM

You're right, it is a bug and will be fixed. Other point, I'll check, that's something I wanted to tweak anyway.

Thanks for reporting, Peter.



#22 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2013 - 04:26 PM

@DarkPhoeniX: Good news, the encountered bug is due to a *@#~! DirectX dependency...

Thanks for reporting, I reproduced the error and placed a notice in the description.

 

Fortunately, both projects (Win7PESE and Win8PESE) come with a DirectX script, however names differ so I couldn't set a Depend= line in the script as I want it to work with both projects.

 

Feel free to check out the brand new version 7, thank you for giving me feedback.  ;)



#23 conan

conan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 21 April 2013 - 02:13 PM

Hello,

It's possible to modify the script so we can copy .xpi extensions and bookmarks.html inside separate folders located in the project folder or something like this ?

For example, in Opera v12 SL script, we can copy the bookmarks.adr file inside "\Workbench\Common\Opera12_Files\defaults" folder, so in future builds we don't need to provide again a path to bookmarks.adr file.

Thanks!



#24 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 21 April 2013 - 04:42 PM

There are separate variables for the (optional) bookmark file and for the extensions, so it's possible.

 

For instance, if you've created a folder Firefox_Extensions in \Win7PESE\Workbench\Common, you could use

%GlobalTemplates%\Firefox_Extensions for your XPI extensions (may correspond to C:\Win7PESE\Workbench\Common\Firefox_Extensions).

Your bookmarks file could be put anywhere else.



#25 conan

conan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 22 April 2013 - 11:16 AM

I'm thinking on something simpler: copy the entire profile folder (%AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\something.default) inside a project folder and we have all extensions, userscripts and bookmarks.

I did this after all building process was finished from wim folder and build iso again.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: win8.1se

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users