Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Mozilla Firefox universal


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:42 PM

mozffx_uni.png
File Name: Mozilla Firefox universal
File Submitter: Mikka
File Category: App scripts
File Updated: 1st October 2012

Having now spent a fairly time on reboot.pro I'd like to present you a script of my own I'm using for a while.
I wasn't satisfied with existing scripts for Mozilla Firefox versions, so I developped an own approach.

Note: x64 support is not planned.

Script developed for Win7PESE (x86 only).

Main aspects:
  • Universality: This script works with Mozilla Firefox 13.x-16.x (beta), online/offline installer accepted
  • Flexibility: Optional Flash and Sumatra PDF plugin* insertion
  • Customization: Profile settings (Classic menu view, more search engines)
  • Beautifying: Additional eye candy for anybody liking it (alternative icons, personas)
* cf. separate script of mine below

Yet to do:
  • Maybe find a way to import custom bookmarks (tips are welcome)
1. Download Mozilla Firefox universal script here:
http://www.mediafire...lu7beo5ty7i12ax

2. Download (optional) SumatraPDF universal script here:
http://www.mediafire...qi7104e576x10cd
(Second script goes into ..AppsSupplementaryOffice)


Screenshots:

fx_demoflash_big.png fx_demopdf_big.png

#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4172 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:51 AM

Thanks for sharing it. :hi:

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10562 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:51 AM

HI Mikka,

Great share, why posting manually here and not on the downloads portal at http://reboot.pro/files ?

Can I help with something?
:cheers:

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:17 AM

There may to be one reason to prohibit offer as reboot.pro download:

It contains API functions not contained in the WinBuilder documentation, which makes the script only suited for win7pe_se.

Peter

#5 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:55 AM

It contains API functions not contained in the WinBuilder documentation, which makes the script only suited for win7pe_se.


That's right, I wrote and tested it for Win7PESE.
As this is my first official contribution (apart from a former RadioSure script), I put it here to gather feedback.
Maybe I could enhance it for other projects as well.

I can't tell if there are other issues... maybe Nuno or Peter, could have a look?

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:07 AM

file:///V:/multi%20Test/Pictures/info.gif File [%BaseDir%ProjectsmultiPEAppsMozilla_Firefox_universal.script] Version
file:///V:/multi%20Test/%27
....
file:///V:/multi%20Test/Pictures/accept.gif IF - [runfromram] is not equal to: [rundefault] evaluated string: [If,Not,%_run_%,Equal,Rundefault,Call,VariableToMacro,%_run_%,True]
file:///V:/multi%20Test/Pictures/warning.gif Unrecognized command: [Call,VariableToMacro,%_run_%,True]
....

For me it is no issue to fix. But an unexperienced user who downlads and uses in a different project, gets troubles.
With a 'official' command for the "RunFrom" your script can run in most projects.

Another issue:
You defined "%BaseDir%Projects%ProjectName%AppsSupplementaryOfficeSumatraPDF_universal.script" as necessary for this script.
In this case you should either add the script to the upload, or at least in the script GUI give a link to download the script.

Peter :cheers:

#7 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 October 2012 - 11:08 AM

But an unexperienced user who downlads and uses in a different project, gets troubles.
With a 'official' command for the "RunFrom" your script can run in most projects.


I'll get informed and improve it for the next version.

Another issue:
You defined "%BaseDir%Projects%ProjectName%AppsSupplementaryOfficeSumatraPDF_universal.script" as necessary for this script.
In this case you should either add the script to the upload, or at least in the script GUI give a link to download the script.


Unfortunately yes... :(
Okay, SumatraPDF universal script has been added to the initial post.

Enjoy.

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 12:26 PM

I'll get informed and improve it for the next version.

Easy to do:

Just replace

StrFormat,Replace,%ScrollBoxRAM%," ","",%_run_%

If,Not,%_run_%,Equal,Rundefault,Call,VariableToMacro,%_run_%,True

by

If,%ScrollBoxRAM%,EQUAL,"Run from RAM",RunFromRAM,True

Else,If,%ScrollBoxRAM%,EQUAL,"Run from CD",RunFromCD,True

Another hint: In your script the option "Run Default" uses the RAM / CD fom the random previously processed script, because on this option is nothing done.
I'm sure that this is not your intention.
You should remove the "Run Default" and let the user for this script decide for RAM / CD.
BTW: "Run Default" is also not a defined reboot.pro API command.

Peter

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:11 PM

Mikka's script (slightly changed according previous post) running in multiPE_Win7
firefox.gif
Peter :smiling9:

#10 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:56 PM

Thanks, Peter! Version 3 of Mozilla Firefox universal is online now. :D

As to the screenshot: Firefox isn't supposed to look like this by default when using my script.
Custom files prefs.js, profiles.ini and localstore.rdf should be written, there might be an issue with the profile path in multiPE. :ermm:

Edit: Screenshots added to first post. :rolleyes:

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:07 PM

As to the screenshot: Firefox isn't supposed to look like this by default when using my script.
Custom files prefs.js, profiles.ini and localstore.rdf should be written, there might be an issue with the profile path in multiPE. :ermm:

No, it seems to be an issue of WinBuilder (internal timing ?).
Sometimes, not reproducable, I get an error on only single lines like:
TxtAddLine - Added line: [%BaseDir%Target%ProjectName%UsersDefaultAppDataRoamingMozillaFirefoxprofileprefs.js] line: Value: ????
Other logically equal lines are processed w/o issue.
IMO it's really not the fault of your script or my project.

Peter

#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15400 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:42 PM

There may to be one reason to prohibit offer as reboot.pro download:

It contains API functions not contained in the WinBuilder documentation, which makes the script only suited for win7pe_se.


Is there a (new) prohibition in developing for Win7PESE and posting on reboot.pro? :w00t:


Note: x64 support is not planned.

Script developed for Win7PESE (x86 only).


Or, conversely, does *any* .script posted on reboot.pro be certified to work with multiPE_Win7? (and since when?) :dubbio:

I mean a .script has been posted using something NOT contained in the notoriously constantly updated and omniscent/omnicomprehensive Winbuilder documentation :ph34r:, how queer :unsure: someone must stop this degradation of costumes....



:cheers:
Wonko

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:57 PM

Is there a (new) prohibition in developing for Win7PESE and posting on reboot.pro? :w00t:

Not a prohibition, only the glitch I mentioned.
Explained: In win7pe_se "nearly on a daily base" the API is changed. It is still called "Common" API, but it gets more and more functionality which is not included in the reboot.pro API documentation.
And unfortunatelly, these additions are also not reported in reboot.pro.

Peter

#14 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15400 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:04 PM

Only that one I mentioned.
Explained: In win7pe_se "nearly on a daily base" the API is changed. It gets more and more functionality which is not included in the reboot.pro API documentation.
And unfortunatelly, these changes are also not reported in reboot.pro.

This is an (unneeded) explanation on why the Winbuilder documentation is not up to date with changes in the API made not on reboot.pro.
This is obvious.
The question was IF such a prohibition (posting here anything that works in WIN7PESE but not - without modifications - on multiPE_Win7 being forbidden) is in effect, and if yes, when and by whom it was instated.

:cheers:
Wonko

#15 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:10 PM

I do not know such a "forbidden".
And as you can see, I edited my post to

Not a prohibition, only the glitch I mentioned.

just after posting, but unfortunatelly also after your quoting.

Peter :cheers:

#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15400 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:18 PM

I was referring to this:

There may to be one reason to prohibit offer as reboot.pro download:

It contains API functions not contained in the WinBuilder documentation, which makes the script only suited for win7pe_se.

That has not been edited/rephrased (if needed) right now.

It gave me the false impression that you were trying to induce people to believe that posting on reboot.pro something specifically developed and tested on WIN7PESE, using a new API (not developed on reboot.pro and thus not listed in Winbuilder documentation) not working - without modifications - on multiPE_Win7 was forbidden.

I am happy you confirmed that it is not.

:cheers:
Wonko

#17 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4172 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 08:17 AM

Thanks for the update. So will it now work with LiveXP also.

Question:
SumatraPDF why is it needed with firefox?

#18 Mikka

Mikka

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 175 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 02 October 2012 - 08:55 AM

SumatraPDF why is it needed with firefox?


That depends on whether you set the PDFView.dll browser plugin tick, the library file is provided by SumatraPDF.
By doing so, you'll be able to display pdf (and chm, djvu, epub, mobi, xps etc.) files within Firefox as shown in the screenshot on the right.

#19 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10562 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:13 PM

I'm closing this topic because the script is now posted on the downloads portal and the support topic uses a new thread.

Whenever possible, I advise developers to keep app scripts compatible between different projects to ease the life of end-users and ensure they will remain working in future years.

As note, the winbuilder documentation wiki about common API is found at http://code.google.c...iki/wbcommonapi

Look on the left pane for a list of commands and how they are compatible across different projects.



You find the new discussion point for this script at http://reboot.pro/17584/

:cheers:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users