Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

The board (software) is like wine .....

another stupid board error

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 September 2012 - 06:02 PM

.... like wine it may get better after some time or turn into vinegar. :w00t: :ph34r:

Steps to reproduce :whistling::

Go to search.
Search for posts by user "Wonko the Sane" with text "Kalashnikov"
One of the results will point to this link:

http://reboot.pro/15298/page__view__findpost__p__136216
http://reboot.pro/15...post__p__136216

which the board resolves as:
http://reboot.pro/15298#entry136216/
http://reboot.pro/15298#entry136216/

and which returns an error non-existing page.

Which is obvious, since a slash is missing in the middle and added at the end, the following "right" link works fine.

http://reboot.pro/15298/#entry136216
http://reboot.pro/15298/#entry136216

Or is it just me? :unsure:

:frusty:


:cheers:
Wonko

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,446 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 September 2012 - 06:15 PM

No, it is not your personal issue.
Look here http://reboot.pro/17420/#entry159711

Maybe you have to add the slash :clap: :dubbio:

Peter

#3 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,291 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 September 2012 - 09:16 PM

And this happens on all the "links" it creates for "goto first unread post" when looking at Unread topics.

My "guess" is that some sort of parsing on the URL is messing up when adding in the # and that maybe the "/" is used as some sort of escape character???

I know Nuno is looking for it...Any IP.Board "experts" out there that could help?

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 September 2012 - 08:09 AM

And this happens on all the "links" it creates for "goto first unread post" when looking at Unread topics.

My "guess" is that some sort of parsing on the URL is messing up when adding in the # and that maybe the "/" is used as some sort of escape character???

I know Nuno is looking for it...Any IP.Board "experts" out there that could help?

A very educated guess :thumbsup:, it is not the first time, and it all revolves around the use (first) of "friendly names" and (later) of the "short ones".
The otherwise good IP board guys are not capable of even understanding a problem report, or lack the will to check it, I doubt that they can actually correct one.
I know I sound heavily critical, but this is not invented, from time to time I re-read these:
http://reboot.pro/16746/
http://community.inv...-version-r37167
which are very useful as they remind me that the combination of ignorance with sloth (with some sparkles of stupidity and a lot of arrogance/presumption) is the perfect recipe for having botched software (or any other product) as a result.

:cheers:
Wonko

#5 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 11:51 AM

The really interesting thing is though, that "goto first unread post" works ok, with old topics.
Unless we have 2 different databases, one for the old - and one for the new topics, i can't understad that.

:cheers:

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 September 2012 - 01:36 PM

And, since the contents of this board are (not everywhere, but in spots ;)) actually sparkling :thumbsup:, the result is:
Spoiler


:rofl:

:cheers:
Wonko

#7 saddlejib

saddlejib

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 269 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:31 PM

thats what I like about you:
Succint no ambiguity.
"Cut to the Quick"

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 September 2012 - 12:28 PM

thats what I like about you:
Succint no ambiguity.
"Cut to the Quick"

Well, you might then appreciate my "botched" CODE on reboot.pro converter page ;):
http://pastehtml.com.../b4t99xk89.html

(besides the But ... then, why?)


:cheers:
Wonko

#9 Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 188 posts
  • Interests:K-Mart-ian Legend
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:54 PM

If you click on topics in the Reputation panel on the forum index, you get the 404 as well.

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,207 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:48 AM

Or is it just me?

Hi my friend,

I am trying to reproduce the same steps but it works fine for me. However, I see some error message on the page header that needs to be sorted. Nevertheless, I am finding the posts as mentioned.

I'm creating a new topic to concentrate the reports about broken links and get these issues sorted.

Take care,
Nuno

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:48 AM

I am trying to reproduce the same steps but it works fine for me.

Yep.
I just checked.
The behaviour is ok now (apart the PHP errors in the "top" part of the page).
The result is now:

http://reboot.pro/15298/page__view__findpost__p__136216__hl__kalashnikov

http://reboot.pro/15298/page__view__findpost__p__136216__hl__kalashnikov

which works, as it resolves to:
http://reboot.pro/15298/page__hl__kalashnikov#entry136216
http://reboot.pro/15298/page__hl__kalashnikov#entry136216

instead of:

http://reboot.pro/15298/page__view__findpost__p__136216

http://reboot.pro/15298/page__view__findpost__p__136216
which STILL resolves to the WRONG:

http://reboot.pro/15298#entry136216/

http://reboot.pro/15298#entry136216/

The issue has NOT been fixed, it has simply been worked around.

:cheers:
Wonko

#12 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:02 PM

The link contained in the notification email is also not working for me since long.

#13 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,207 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:41 PM

The link contained in the notification email is also not working for me since long.

What is the link that appears in your case?

#14 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:44 PM

What is the link that appears in your case?

For example, the link contained in this notification mail is:
http://reboot.pro/to...ke-wine/unread/

It gets redirected to:
http://reboot.pro/17521#entry160922/

It's an error page.

#15 AceInfinity

AceInfinity

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Windows Security, Programming, Customizing & Crash Dump Analysis.
  •  
    Canada

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:49 PM

I have this error too where the parser doesn't add a slash. So I created a simple js bookmarklet to help me with that:
javascript:(function(){ window.open(window.location.href.replace('#', '/#'), '_self'); })();


#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,446 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:11 PM

Does this script really show the first "unread" post or the first one in the topic?

Peter :dubbio:

#17 AceInfinity

AceInfinity

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Windows Security, Programming, Customizing & Crash Dump Analysis.
  •  
    Canada

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:14 PM

Does this script really show the first "unread" post or the first one in the topic?

Peter :dubbio:


That depends on if the input link is just the thread link or a specific post permalink.

If we have:
http://reboot.pro/15298#entry136150

Where entry136150 is a permalink, and we're missing a '/' before the '#' then it will load the page:
http://reboot.pro/15298/#entry136150

And when done with loading the page, it will 'scroll' to that link on page as expected. :)

Interesting thing is... A link like this on Reboot:
http://reboot.pro/15298///////#entry136150

Still get's parsed to:
http://reboot.pro/15298/#entry136150

Regardless of how many slashes we have, so my js bookmarklet ALSO acts as a refresh button :loleverybody:

#18 AceInfinity

AceInfinity

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Windows Security, Programming, Customizing & Crash Dump Analysis.
  •  
    Canada

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:28 PM

Ahh!.. After a few tests, it seems that my script doesn't, and it's actually looking like it's a result of the added '/' at the end, so removing that my script works flawlessly now :)

javascript:var x=window.location.href;(function(){ window.open(x.replace('#', '/#').substr(0, x.length), '_self'); })();


#19 saddlejib

saddlejib

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 269 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:35 PM

So software being what it is "fingers or hands that control the machine" is there a linux, specifically, 'boot floppy' that can do what usbaspi or Duse can do to allegedly in Dos, that make usb drives, devices, visible and useable in much the same way as they can. Some Linux distros can 'probe' and mount usb devices?
Question aimed at The Oracle and Steve lots of numbers and of course everyone else of course.
The objective is to boot anything from a usb linux floppy.
Why.?
Cos I can't:

#20 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:20 PM

The objective is to boot anything from a usb linux floppy.
Why.?
Cos I can't:


By unanimous consensus :w00t: :dubbio: you have just been awarded the "2012 most OT post" prize. :1st:

:cheers:
Wonko

#21 AceInfinity

AceInfinity

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Windows Security, Programming, Customizing & Crash Dump Analysis.
  •  
    Canada

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:27 PM

By unanimous consensus :w00t: :dubbio: you have just been awarded the "2012 most OT post" prize. :1st:

:cheers:
Wonko


:loleverybody:

Back on topic, even though just a temp fix, my script seemed to work perfectly for going directly to the newest post from clicking the last post link from my content area. Confirms that it doesn't just navigate to the page as pscEx tried to hint at me I believe....

#22 saddlejib

saddlejib

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 269 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:51 PM

Well I always had a bad sense of humour !
Cheers guy's

#23 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,964 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:12 PM

Well I always had a bad sense of humour !

I see nothing bad in your sense of humour, the actual issue is if you are "oriented in space and time" :dubbio: .
This thread is about a board issue and is in:
reboot.pro
→ Groups
→ Community forum
→ Site feedback
If you want help about booting a Linux from USB maybe you should ask for it here:
http://reboot.pro/forum/71/
reboot.pro
Boot methods & tools
Boot from USB / Boot anywhere
or here:
http://reboot.pro/forum/70/
reboot.pro
Boot methods & tools
Boot Linux and other OS flavours

You might want to reduce your expectations regarding the underlined part:

The objective is to boot anything from a usb linux floppy.


as - as is - it has too many similarities to the "any" and "all" referenced here :ph34r::
http://reboot.pro/8944/

:cheers:
Wonko

#24 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,446 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:41 AM

Ahh!.. After a few tests, it seems that my script doesn't, and it's actually looking like it's a result of the added '/' at the end, so removing that my script works flawlessly now :)

javascript:var x=window.location.href;(function(){ window.open(x.replace('#', '/#').substr(0, x.length), '_self'); })();

Thanks Acefinity!

After I googled a bit about bookmarklets and how to make, now I use your snippet with 100% success.

Peter :clap:

#25 AceInfinity

AceInfinity

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Windows Security, Programming, Customizing & Crash Dump Analysis.
  •  
    Canada

Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:31 AM

Thanks Acefinity!

After I googled a bit about bookmarklets and how to make, now I use your snippet with 100% success.

Peter :clap:


Bookmarklets are amazingly useful, what I do, is I have my localhost with Apache/MySQL/PHP all set up, then for a bookmarklet i'll put the .js file into my localhost folder (XAMPP or whatever you have) and reference it by a bookmarklet, for the more complicated scripts.