Jump to content











Photo

Using MicroSD over 32GB


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jlee928

jlee928
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 September 2012 - 08:46 PM

For those using any microSD over the size of 32GB, you probalby know Windows won't allow you to format anything over 32GB as Fat32, it only allows you to format as NTFS or exFat. One way to work around this is to use the program fat32format.exe found at the following site.

http://www.ridgecrop...fat32format.htm

I am able to format my 64GB microSD to Fat32.
  • Nuno Brito and elegantinvention like this

#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6407 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:11 PM

or RMPrepUSB ;-)

#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:43 AM

or the Tokiwa thingy:
http://tokiwa.qee.jp...Fat32Formatter/

And NO, no need to move this to "News" :whistling::
http://reboot.pro/15137/
http://reboot.pro/10271/
http://reboot.pro/4539/

:cheers:
Wonko

#4 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:54 AM

I have not checked this particular detail, but I bet it is handled in ufat.dll. Maybe it could be patched..

#5 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1440 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 September 2012 - 03:38 PM

I have not checked this particular detail, but I bet it is handled in ufat.dll. Maybe it could be patched..

To my understanding, it does not touch the Windows format library, i.e. ufat.dll. Had it been so, we could be able to use "normal" Windows format utility to format a drive over 32 GB with FAT32. But, it is not so. IMHO, it writes the allocation table by accessing the raw storage device.

#6 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1440 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 September 2012 - 03:40 PM

For those using any microSD over the size of 32GB, you probalby know Windows won't allow you to format anything over 32GB as Fat32, ...

For those who are unaware of the fact...
http://support.micro...;EN-US;Q314463

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 September 2012 - 04:11 PM

And - strangely enough :w00t: - besides being a stupid limitation (the way it is implemented) the general idea is not that much wrong.
http://www.msfn.org/...tb-hard-drives/

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:38 PM

I don't know that much about fat, so it's hard to locate where in the code the limit is set.

#9 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:20 PM

To my understanding, it does not touch the Windows format library, i.e. ufat.dll. Had it been so, we could be able to use "normal" Windows format utility to format a drive over 32 GB with FAT32. But, it is not so. IMHO, it writes the allocation table by accessing the raw storage device.

I am quite sure ufat.dll is central in formatting FAT32 volumes, just as untfs.dll is for NTFS.
(I just loaded it into olly)

See attached image. Session performed on Winodws 7 x64.

Attached Files



#10 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1440 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:06 AM

I am quite sure ufat.dll is central in formatting FAT32 volumes, just as untfs.dll is for NTFS.

Didn't you try to mean that fat32format patches ufat.dll?

#11 jlee928

jlee928
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:26 AM

no, you open administrative command prompt and go to the directory where you extracted fat32format then type the following command "fat32format <drive letter>:"

such as "fat32format d:"

#12 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1440 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:26 AM

I am quite sure ufat.dll is central in formatting FAT32 volumes, just as untfs.dll is for NTFS.
(I just loaded it into olly)

See attached image. Session performed on Winodws 7 x64.

I perfectly agree with you, too.

Have a look at the PE Explorer export viewer, the highlighted parts. But, my point was something else.

Posted Image

#13 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4127 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:50 AM

Thanks for the tips. Had Micro SD Card that was using exfat, needed fat32. Ended testing the first program mentioned, the gui version. Works! :thumbsup:

I didnt know rmprep did it also.
Like the suggestion for Tokiwa thingy.

#14 taa

taa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 January 2013 - 08:54 PM

Mac OS X 10.7.5

New SanDisk Ultra 64 GB MicroSDXC (SDSDQU-064G-AFFP-A)

 

The above SanDisk came pre-formatted as exFat.

 

Although this topic is Windows-centric, it seemed like the best place to post info about formatting a MicroSD over 32GB on Mac OS X.

 

http://reboot.pro/to...ck/#entry156918

 

The above steps provide a link to the SD Format download for both Windows and Mac, however, using the Mac version (latest is 0.91 beta as of this writing) there's no option to choose the format type -- the utility appears to support only the exFat format type.

 

I decided to use the Mac's own Disk Utility to format the card. If I choose "MS-DOS (FAT)" it will format it as FAT32 and all 64GB is available.

 

Can the steps at the above URL be modified to indicate that SD Format is only required if you're going to format on Windows?



#15 elegantinvention

elegantinvention

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 310 posts
  • Location:South Bend, Indiana, USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 January 2013 - 11:29 PM

Thanks for pointing that out, I have linked back to this thread in the instructions.

 

I am slowly compiling all of these things into a final feature set for ISO Manager, so it can handle formatting the card, managing your ISOs, loading ISOs into isostick's optical drive, and so on for Windows, Linux, and MacOS X.



#16 Fredrik B

Fredrik B
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:46 AM

Fat32 is not a good option atleast for me. I have a iso of Microsoft SBS2011 this is 6GB+ so it cant be placed on a FAT32 partition.

 

Can you get around this by first format it as fat32 and then use gparted to create a smaler partition that uses Xfat and put some ISO files there?



#17 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10418 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:47 AM

I confirm the same problems as @Fredrik B, on my android phone with a 32Gb MicroSDXC. 



#18 taa

taa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 January 2013 - 02:57 PM


Fat32 is not a good option atleast for me. I have a iso of Microsoft SBS2011 this is 6GB+ so it cant be placed on a FAT32 partition.

 

Can you get around this by first format it as fat32 and then use gparted to create a smaler partition that uses Xfat and put some ISO files there?

FAT32 is required, the solution is to split the 6GB+ into multiple 4GB files. See this topic: http://reboot.pro/to...s-for-isostick/


  • elegantinvention likes this

#19 Fredrik B

Fredrik B
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 16 January 2013 - 03:03 PM

Thanks, will try when I get home



#20 elegantinvention

elegantinvention

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 310 posts
  • Location:South Bend, Indiana, USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:15 PM

Just popping in to confirm what @taa said.

ISO Manager will soon be available for linux and osx, so that will simplify the process since it splits large ISOs automatically.  :good:






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users