Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

YUMI - Boot windows 7 ISO

yumi boot windows 7 iso

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#26 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6945 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 September 2012 - 08:45 AM

Tut #43 includes Windows 8

#27 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1438 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 03:46 PM

ASMedia ASM1041

ASUS P9X79 Deluxe

I used nlite for XP and RT7lite for win7

Yes, this USB 3 controller requires XP and Windows 7 drivers.

There is no txtsetup.oem as for USB 3 drivers.
Hence nlite won't integrate this as a textmode driver.
And USB 3 is not active at boot: BSOD 0x7b.
Integrate USB3 drivers as textmode youself.

No idea about RT7lite.
Does RT7lite add drivers to boot.wim too?

Do you use IDE emulation or AHCI mode?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_X79

Which XP do you like to install? 32 bit or 64 bit
Asus offers X79 64 bit drivers only.

Which Windows 7 do you like to install? 32 bit or 64 bit

Which SATA connectors do you use for XP and Windows 7 at motherboard?
X79 or Marvell?

There are USB 2 connectors at motherboard still.

#28 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 04:05 PM

Yes, this USB 3 controller requires XP and Windows 7 drivers.

There is no txtsetup.oem as for USB 3 drivers.
Hence nlite won't integrate this as a textmode driver.
And USB 3 is not active at boot: BSOD 0x7b.
Integrate USB3 drivers as textmode youself.


How do I integrate them myself? I'm new to this that's why I used nlite

Does RT7lite add drivers to boot.wim too?


I think it does, at least rt7lite is saying so
How do I check for certain?

Do you use IDE emulation or AHCI mode?


I use AHCI mode

Which XP do you like to install? 32 bit or 64 bit Asus offers X79 64 bit drivers only.


Currently only have a 32-bit ISO

Which Windows 7 do you like to install? 32 bit or 64 bit


64-BIT Windows 7

Which SATA connectors do you use for XP and Windows 7 at motherboard?


Windows 7 is on X79
don't have XP installed

There are USB 2 connectors at motherboard still.


True, but 25 megabyte a second is all I can get out of it

#29 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1438 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:18 PM

How do I integrate them myself? I'm new to this that's why I used nlite



Not tested, no ASMedia hardware: txtsetup.sif
[SourceDisksfiles]

amdxhc.sys   = 1,,,,,,4_,4,1,,,1,4

amdhub30.sys = 1,,,,,,4_,4,1,,,1,4



asmtxhci.sys = 1,,,,,,4_,4,1,,,1,4

asmthub3.sys = 1,,,,,,4_,4,1,,,1,4





[BusExtenders.Load]

amdhub30=amdhub30.sys

amdxhc=amdxhc.sys



asmtxhci = asmtxhci.sys

asmthub3 = asmthub3.sys





[HardwareIdsDatabase]

PCIVEN_1022&DEV_7812="amdxhc"

AMDUSB30ROOT_HUB30="amdhub30"

AMDUSB30CLASS_09="amdhub30"



PCIVEN_174C&DEV_2104="asmtxhci"

PCIVEN_1B21&DEV_1040="asmtxhci"

PCIVEN_1B21&DEV_1041="asmtxhci"

PCIVEN_1B21&DEV_1042="asmtxhci"

USBASMEDIAUSBD_HUB="asmthub3"





[BusExtenders]

amdxhc   = "AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller",files.none,amdxhc

amdhub30 = "AMD USB 3.0 Hub Driver",files.none,amdhub30



asmtxhci = "ASMedia XHCI Controller",files.none,asmtxhci

asmthub3 = "ASMedia USB3 Hub Service",files.none,asmthub3
Be aware, this is a AMD and ASMedia example.


I think it does, at least rt7lite is saying so
How do I check for certain?

Boot from windows 7 installation media to installation screen.
Press shift F10
Diskpart, list volume
Does exist USB 3 drive?

I use AHCI mode

Do you use one hard disk or more?
Which HardwareID relates to Intel SATA controller?
It's PCIVEN_8086&DEV_1D02&CC_0106 ?

True, but 25 megabyte a second is all I can get out of it

What's the major request?
Install windows from USB?
Install windows from USB3?

What about install windows from USB2?
Add USB3 drivers next and use USB3.

#30 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:07 AM

Not tested, no ASMedia hardware: txtsetup.sif


Be aware, this is a AMD and ASMedia example.


Is this the only way? I also wanted to inject drivers for all USB3 chipsets

Boot from windows 7 installation media to installation screen. Press shift F10 Diskpart, list volume Does exist USB 3 drive?


Yep it detects it

What about install windows from USB2?


OK, I will try USB2 first with XP

#31 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:18 AM

Also I tried editing txtsetup.sif like you said cdob, but it said it couldn't find the file, then quit, are txtmode drivers stored somewhere else?

#32 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:18 AM

USB2 worked fine for XP phase1, no BSOD

Edited by Damnation, 04 September 2012 - 09:26 AM.


#33 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1438 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 06:31 PM

Is this the only way? I also wanted to inject drivers for all USB3 chipsets

Hide USB 3 ISO image from installation.
Assume some RAM at USB 3 capable boot machines. 1 GB RAM as for a CD image.
Load ISO image to RAM, let firadisk detect RAM loaded CD and install XP from RAM CD drive.
Boot twice from USB and RAM load ISO image after first reboot too.
http://reboot.pro/13967/

Also I tried editing txtsetup.sif like you said cdob, but it said it couldn't find the file, then quit, are txtmode drivers stored somewhere else?

Textmode files are searched at \I386\

USB2 worked fine for XP phase1, no BSOD

This is a nice approach at low RAM machines.

#34 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:21 AM

I attempted to install win7 64bit using my MultiISO in a VMware machine.

it made it past the restart phase, and booted from the virtual hdd just fine,

but when it got to completing installation, it errored saying "Setup could not configure windows to run on this computers hardware"

Any help?

P.S Gave up on USB3 on XP

#35 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:30 AM

Disregard last post, I managed to fix it

#36 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 September 2012 - 12:28 PM

Just a quick question

Is it possible to hide my USB from the Windows 7/8 Installer?
Just so I don't accidentally format my USB

#37 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6945 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 September 2012 - 12:32 PM

You could try changing the partition table entry - e,g, if NTFS then change 07 to 17 or 27 in partition table.

#38 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

Um, how do I do that?

#39 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6945 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 September 2012 - 01:41 PM

You can edit sectors using a disk editor (e.g. WinHex) or use RMPrepUSB - Disk Doctor (Ctrl-D) - Start=0 No. Secs=1, click on Sequential Read, click on Display and Edit Buffer, change byte at 1C2h, click on Write using Buffer to write it back


01B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - FC 88 4F 73 00 00 00 20 ........ üˆOs...
01C0 21 00 07 FE FF FF 00 08 - 00 00 00 38 F9 0D 00 00 !..þÿÿ.. ...8ù...
01D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
01E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
01F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 55 AA ........ ......Uª

#40 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 October 2012 - 03:40 PM

default 0
timeout=0
title Windows 8 x86 ISO (USB3 included)
map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map /multiboot/ISOs/win8.x64.915440.EI.ISO (0xff)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOs/win8.x64.915440.EI.ISO;n0
chainloader (0xff)/BOOTMGR || chainloader (0xff)

save

now goto the root of your YUMI USB (G: for me) and create a folder

Firadisk

extract the firadisk zip file into there

after that your done and you should have all your windows ISOs booting off the 1 USB


Do you or do you not have to set firadisk to a virtual floppy first? Like

map /firadisk/firadisk.ima (fd0)

I am trying to understand. Are you saying you injected the firadisk driver into the ISO?

This is the part that is not clear

Firadisk

extract the firadisk zip file into there


What is the Firadisk folder for on the USB Drive?

#41 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:17 PM

You can edit sectors using a disk editor (e.g. WinHex) or use RMPrepUSB - Disk Doctor (Ctrl-D) - Start=0 No. Secs=1, click on Sequential Read, click on Display and Edit Buffer, change byte at 1C2h, click on Write using Buffer to write it back


01B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - FC 88 4F 73 00 00 00 20 ........ üˆOs...
01C0 21 00 07 FE FF FF 00 08 - 00 00 00 38 F9 0D 00 00 !..þÿÿ.. ...8ù...
01D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
01E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
01F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 55 AA ........ ......Uª


Ok, I tried this and now my drive will not show up under Windows at all. Now the disk doctor will not find it. How do I get it back to 07 instead of 17?????

Never mind. Used Boot Ice to unhide the partition

I confirm 17 nor 27 worked for my drives anyway. 17 puts the drive in a hidden state and windows will not even show the partition nor can my command find my install.wim when I try to do a Win7 install. Changed it to 27 and that didn't seem to make a difference either way. My USB Sticks do not show up under the pick the HD section to install to portion of the install but my USB HD do and I myself would like to hide it so I don't accidentally delete my USB stuff.

Should I be changed numbers else where? This is my read out of my drive

0110 DB E8 4B 00 73 03 75 F1 - F9 E8 5C 11 0F 87 F3 1B ÛèK.s.uñ ùè‡ó

0120 83 C6 0C 81 FE FE 01 72 - CF 77 0C BE B2 31 B0 04 ƒÆ.þþ.r Ïw.¾²1°.

0130 B9 01 00 31 D2 EB CF BE - 91 01 E8 4D 00 EB FE 1E ¹..1ÒëϾ ‘.èM.ëþ

0140 06 52 56 57 55 F9 CD 13 - 5D 5F 5E 5A 07 1F C3 FA .RVWUùÍ ]_^Z.Ãú

0150 B8 00 20 8E D0 BC DC 8F - FB 66 61 07 1F EB C1 60 ¸. ŽÐ¼Ü ûfa.ëÁ`

0160 50 53 51 FE C8 00 C1 D0 - E0 00 C7 B0 01 E8 CF FF PSQþÈ.ÁÐ à.Ç°.èÏÿ

0170 59 5B 58 72 04 FE C8 75 - E7 61 73 09 60 31 C0 E8 Y[Xr.þÈu ças.`1Àè

0180 BD FF 61 4F F9 C3 B4 0E - CD 10 2E AC 3C 00 75 F6 ½ÿaOùô Í.¬<.uö

0190 C3 0D 0A 4D 69 73 73 69 - 6E 67 20 4D 42 52 2D 68 Ã..Missi ng MBR-h

01A0 65 6C 70 65 72 2E 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 elper... ........

01B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 79 CF BC 5F 00 00 80 01 ........ yϼ_..€.

01C0 01 00 07 FE FF FF 3F 00 - 00 00 A4 14 00 08 00 FE ..'þÿÿ?. ..¤...þ

01D0 FF FF 07 FE FF FF E3 14 - 00 08 4D 4B 38 32 00 00 ÿÿ.þÿÿã ..MK82..

01E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........

01F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 55 AA

This is after I changed the number back to 07 from 27.

#42 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6945 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:21 PM

That is surprising as only the volume should be hidden, not the whole drive! Did you try unplugging and re-inserting? Can you see it in Windows Disk Manager?
Is it listed in DiskPart?

#43 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:45 PM

That is surprising as only the volume should be hidden, not the whole drive! Did you try unplugging and re-inserting? Can you see it in Windows Disk Manager?
Is it listed in DiskPart?


I have that drive in two partitions. One 64gig for grub4dos and the other 400gig for other stuff. The 400gig shows up fine but not partition 1(grub4dos partition). I did unplug it and replugged it back in and it did not show that partition. Did not try Windows Disk Manager. I tried to load Win7 and got the error, Win7x32 Install wim could not be found. Tried to load Vista and same error from the grub4dos partition with number set on 17. Once I set it back to 07 or 27, Win7 install and Vista install.wim was located fine for install and Windows showed it back up. Disk Doctor would not show up the partition til I use the unhide partition option in BootIce. I will reset it to 17 and see if Windows Disk Manager shows it, if it would help you?

Just got your message so this will not work as that USB partition is required for Win7 installs?

#44 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6945 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 October 2012 - 08:10 AM

Disk Doctor should always be able to access the disk even if there is no partition table? Disk Doctor does not work with volumes but only on the whole disk, so I don't know what you mean by 'Disk Doctor would not show up the partition til I use the unhide partition option in BootIce.'
If you make a partition hidden, it will hide the volume but not the disk.
Since I don't know what menu.lst you are using, what type of Win7/Vista install you have and where the files are located, it is hard to comment on why the installs won't work when the volume is hidden.
I understand your intention is that you want to prevent the boot disk from being wiped or repartitioned (and preferably to not appear in the selection list during the Setup install process)? But how are you booting from the USB HDD, what menu.lst are you using and what files do you have where?


P.S. This thread is on YUMI ISO - we seem to have drifted way OT or are you using YUMI!!!! Can you start a fresh thread and clearly explain what setup you have and what you want to achieve rather than asking specific Q's about specific patching/hacking?

#45 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 October 2012 - 10:31 AM

Disk Doctor should always be able to access the disk even if there is no partition table? Disk Doctor does not work with volumes but only on the whole disk, so I don't know what you mean by 'Disk Doctor would not show up the partition til I use the unhide partition option in BootIce.'
If you make a partition hidden, it will hide the volume but not the disk.
Since I don't know what menu.lst you are using, what type of Win7/Vista install you have and where the files are located, it is hard to comment on why the installs won't work when the volume is hidden.
I understand your intention is that you want to prevent the boot disk from being wiped or repartitioned (and preferably to not appear in the selection list during the Setup install process)? But how are you booting from the USB HDD, what menu.lst are you using and what files do you have where?


P.S. This thread is on YUMI ISO - we seem to have drifted way OT or are you using YUMI!!!! Can you start a fresh thread and clearly explain what setup you have and what you want to achieve rather than asking specific Q's about specific patching/hacking?


Yes this is getting off topic. I do use Yumi but not in this case and I am using tutorial 47 I believe, when you copy mysetup.cmd, winpeshl.ini, startnet.cmd to the mounted boot.wim and change the wim to say boot2.wim. Yes would like a separate post on this matter. I actually may have done something wrong as far as the Disk Doctor not showing the whole drive. I guess when mysetup.cmd runs to find wim, it can't because the partition is hidden. When I go back to 07 instead of 17, mysetup.cmd runs and finds wim on the USB partition fine.

#46 Mojtaba Rezaeian

Mojtaba Rezaeian
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Iran

Posted 14 October 2013 - 04:26 PM

I had many problems creating boot usb disks and YUMI was the best solution until I found another software described and introduced here with same abilities.

There is an easier way to do this. Just need to download X-Boot from here:https://sites.google...rxboot/download and use it simply in place of YUMI. It's very simple and easy to use.


Edited by mojtaba, 14 October 2013 - 04:28 PM.


#47 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14778 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:38 PM

I had many problems creating boot usb disks and YUMI was the best solution until I found another software described and introduced here with same abilities.

There is an easier way to do this. Just need to download X-Boot from here:https://sites.google...rxboot/download and use it simply in place of YUMI. It's very simple and easy to use.

Really? :unsure:

 

I am uncertain if this is to be categorized under "News" or under "Discoveries".

 

Do you know which is the official support forum for XBOOT (and where the app has been developed)? :dubbio:

 

Surprise :w00t::

http://reboot.pro/forum/126-xboot/

 

JFYI, unfortunately, and for very sad reasons :(:

http://reboot.pro/to...riam-of-shamur/

 XBOOT will NOT be updated/supported anymore, and in the meantime several alternatives were developed.

 

:cheers:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users