Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

YUMI - Boot windows 7 ISO

yumi boot windows 7 iso

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:22 PM

I'm attempting to use YUMI to make a multiISO bootable USB

I was wondering is it posible to boot the Windows 7 Installation ISO whilst keeping all the files inside the ISO? (YUMI extracts the files)

#2 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 10:33 AM

Solved it on my own

Grab YUMI

Grab Ultimate boot CD – it like windows will use GRUB to boot

Grab FiraDisk – needed for windows

http://reboot.pro/in...?showtopic=8804

Install UBCD with YUMI onto USB (or SSD if your like me)

Once installed goto the multiboot folder on the YUMI USB

open syslinux.cfg

add this

label System Tools
menu label Windows Installation ISOs ->
MENU INDENT 1
kernel vesamenu.c32
APPEND /multiboot/menu/windows.cfg

save

now goto the menu folder and create a windows.cfg file

windows.cfg

add this

" # Menu Entry Created by Lance http://www.pendrivelinux.com for YUMI – (Your USB Multiboot Installer)
default vesamenu.c32
prompt 0
menu title System Tools
menu background yumi.png
MENU TABMSG http://www.pendrivelinux.com
MENU WIDTH 72
MENU MARGIN 10
MENU VSHIFT 3
MENU HSHIFT 6
MENU ROWS 15
MENU TABMSGROW 20
MENU TIMEOUTROW 22
menu color title 1;36;44 #66A0FF #00000000 none
menu color hotsel 30;47 #C00000 #DDDDDDDD
menu color sel 30;47 #000000 #FFFFFFFF
menu color border 30;44 #D00000 #00000000 std
menu color scrollbar 30;44 #DDDDDDDD #00000000 none " — remove the " after pasting

label <-- Back to Main Menu
kernel vesamenu.c32
append /multiboot/syslinux.cfg
MENU SEPARATOR

label Windows XP Installation ISO
menu label Windows XP Installation ISO
MENU INDENT 1
KERNEL /multiboot/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/multiboot/menu/WindowsXP.lst

label Windows 7 Installation ISO
menu label Windows 7 Installation ISO
MENU INDENT 1
KERNEL /multiboot/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/multiboot/menu/windows7.lst

label Windows 8 x86 Installation ISO
menu label Windows 8 x86 Installation ISO
MENU INDENT 1
KERNEL /multiboot/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/multiboot/menu/windows8x86.lst

label Windows 8 x64 Installation ISO
menu label Windows 8 x64 Installation ISO
MENU INDENT 1
KERNEL /multiboot/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/multiboot/menu/windows8x64.lst

save

more next post

#3 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 10:34 AM

part 2

create windowsxpx86.lst -and an x64 if you want

add

default 0
timeout=0
title Windows XP x86 MAHER ISO with USB3
map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map /multiboot/ISOs/WINXP.X86.MAHER.USB3.ISO (0xff)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOs/WINXP.X86.MAHER.USB3.ISO;n0
chainloader (0xff)/BOOTMGR || chainloader (0xff)

save

create windows7.lst

default 0
timeout=0
title Windows 7 x86/x84 MAHER ISO with USB3
map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map /multiboot/ISOs/WIN7.X86.X64.MAHER.USB3.ISO (0xff)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOs/WIN7.X86.X64.MAHER.USB3.ISO;n0
chainloader (0xff)/BOOTMGR || chainloader (0xff)

save

Note: I added USB3 drivers myself for XP and 7
XP – used nlite
win7 – used rt7lite

next create windows8.x86.lst – and x64 if you want

add

default 0
timeout=0
title Windows 8 x86 ISO (USB3 included)
map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map /multiboot/ISOs/win8.x64.915440.EI.ISO (0xff)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOs/win8.x64.915440.EI.ISO;n0
chainloader (0xff)/BOOTMGR || chainloader (0xff)

save

now goto the root of your YUMI USB (G: for me) and create a folder

Firadisk

extract the firadisk zip file into there

after that your done and you should have all your windows ISOs booting off the 1 USB

#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:13 PM

For USB Flash drive (removable drive) there is another way (does not required modified ISO unless you want to add USB 3 drivers for pre-win8 OS's) - see RMPrepUSB website - Tutorial #43

#5 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:18 PM

For USB Flash drive (removable drive) there is another way (does not required modified ISO) - see RMPrepUSB website - Tutorial #43


Yeah I used that site to help with this

but wouldn't I still need to modify the ISO if the Flash Drive was USB3? from what I understand there isn't native support for USB3 in XP/Vista/7 Installer (I think windows 8 has it though)

#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:24 PM

Yes, if you want USB 3 drivers you would have to add them in. However, you don't have to add in firadisk to each ISO.

#7 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:26 PM

Maybe, but I did it just in case I might run into problems, couldn't hurt right?

#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:28 PM

Do you mean USB 3 drivers or Firadisk?
Presumably even for the win8 ISO you had to add Firadisk into the ISO?

#9 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:32 PM

isn't Firadisk only needed to boot the ISO? or do I have to inject it into the ISO too?

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:39 PM

Once WinPE boots from the Win Install ISO, it Setup will look for the 'DVD' - however, as it exists in the form of an ISO file and not a DVD device, Setup will not see it and give you the error about needing a driver as it could not find the source DVD.
The grub4dos statements will cause firadisk to load the ISO as a virtual CD, but when WinPE boots it has to load firadisk as a driver first. When firadisk loads it sees the memory command find:/multiboot/ISOs/win8.x64.915440.EI.I and so loads the ISO (searches all media until it finds it and then loads it as a virtual DVD).
So When each ISO boots, somehow you have to get it to run firadisk???
Did you test your method fully?

#11 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:43 PM

honestly no, I made it to the screen where it asks what language / keyboard layout you want, just before you click install, I haven't yet tested the rest

#12 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1,010 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:44 PM

but wouldn't I still need to modify the ISO if the Flash Drive was USB3?

No, you don't need a to add a driver for a Flash Drive.
E.g. a USB 3 Flash Driver at a USB2 controller.

Contrary you have to add drivers for a USB 3 controller, if you like to install from a USB 3 connector at certain hardware.

#13 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:48 PM

Contrary you have to add drivers for a USB 3 controller, if you like to install from a USB 3 connector at certain hardware.


I'm using a USB3 device through a USB3 port, so I assumed it would need the drivers for it

#14 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 September 2012 - 05:49 PM

So do I need to inject Firadisk driver into my ISOs?

#15 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1,010 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 06:34 PM

I'm using a USB3 device through a USB3 port

Which hardware do you use?

#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 September 2012 - 06:39 PM

Try your USB drive again and get to the bit where it asks what version to use. My guess is that it will not find the 'DVD' and ask you to install a driver so it can access the DVD drive that it is looking for.
To boot from a USB 3 port, you don't need USB 3 drivers as the BIOS will map the USB 3 drive to Int 13h BIOS calls - but as soon as you boot to an OS, then the OS will need USB 3 drivers. Win 8 already has them, Win 7 and below don't. Same for linux, most (??) linux builds don't have USB 3 drivers during the initial boot loader (initrd) stage and so will fail if you try to boot linux from a USB 3 port.

#17 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 01:12 AM

Which hardware do you use?


Crucial m4 128gb SSD in a USB 3 enclosure which is a
Vantec NST-200S3-BK NexStar CX HDD Enclosure

Try your USB drive again and get to the bit where it asks what version to use. My guess is that it will not find the 'DVD' and ask you to install a driver so it can access the DVD drive that it is looking for.


OK I will try that.

Same for linux, most (??) linux builds don't have USB 3 drivers during the initial boot loader (initrd) stage and so will fail if you try to boot linux from a USB 3 port.


I tried out ububtu 12.04 64-bit (is this the latest?) and that seemed to boot fine

#18 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 02:59 AM

Yeah you were right, Windows 7 asked for the driver, but it wouldn't accept the firadisk inf file, and Windows XP just went to a BSOD.

So do I just inject firadisk into the ISO? or is there more to do?

#19 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1,010 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 04:18 AM

Crucial m4 128gb SSD in a USB 3 enclosure which is a
Vantec NST-200S3-BK NexStar CX HDD Enclosure

Yes, that's a nice USB Stick :)

Which USB 3 controller do you use?
Which motherboard do you use?
How do you integrate USB 3 drivers?

#20 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:12 AM

ASMedia ASM1041

ASUS P9X79 Deluxe

I used nlite for XP and RT7lite for win7

#21 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:14 AM

Also steve6375, ran into that problem you said I'd run into where it will ask for a driver, and was wondering how to fix?

#22 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:33 AM

See Tutorial #43 - your USB SSD will probably appear to Windows as a Fixed disk rather than a removable, so you will have to tweak the ISO as described in the Tutorial Addendum. For XP ISO see Tut #30.

#23 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:45 AM

I've made some progress, it boots and manages to start the LOADISO.CMD file

however when it reaches the REPAIR WINDOWS? question, I press N and enter, and then it loops and asks the question again

#24 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 5,443 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers (!), programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), OSes, photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:50 AM

Someone else reported the same thing. I am not sure why it happens. Mysetup.cmd should call loadiso and then it should return with the USBDRIVE variable set - for some reason it just loops???
Did you use the mysetup.cmd file from the download or the mysetup.cmd listing in the Tutorial?
I have changed the download now so that it does not test for USBDRIVE - can you try it again?

#25 Damnation

Damnation

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2012 - 08:43 AM

Thanks steve6375! new file got rid of the loop so that's good, I'll try an install with it as soon as I make a backup image of my system

then I'll attempt the XP tutorial

also is there a tutorial for windows 8 yet?