Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Booting Comodo Rescue Disc ( Comodo Cleaning Essentials )


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 July 2012 - 06:55 PM

I am at a lost here trying to boot a ISO " Comodo Rescue Disc "
I d/led Comodo Rescue Disc which utilizes SliTaz GNU/Linux for LIve CD
Everytime I reboot with CD in drive it boots up and goes through the process.
then it says something like : Switching to NoHz Mode
then ACPI Exception : AE_NOT_FOUND
then ACPI No dock devices found
then ACPI : PCI Interrupt Link
then complete Total LOCKUP with GREEN SCREEN :
vgaarb : device added PCI:0000:01:00.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=none
My system is :
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Specification AMD Phenom™ 9850 Quad-Core Processor
HP LP2465 (1920x1200[at]59Hz)
2048MB GeForce GT 520 (XFX Pine Group)
Version 4.2.0
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 520/PCI/SSE2

Tried both CD / USB

Tried with Unetbootin / SARDU / XBOOT / YUMI

the issue / problem i am having is :

apon booting up PREWINDOW it goes to a menu

COMODO REscue Disk 1.1.232326.14

giving 2 options :

1 ~ GRAPHIC

2 ~ TEXT

either one picked i keep getting a LOCKUP with a GREEN SCREEN FREEZE

last command line shown to lock up is :

PCI : Using ACPI for IRQ routing

When trying to deploy it inside Xboot QEMU it runs okay until it gets to :
trying to setup timer as virtual wire IRQ then lock up


here is link for more info on the ISO / software trying to create :
http://www.nsaneforu...14-is-released/

#2 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 July 2012 - 07:13 PM

ok i seem to be getting further somehow :

synopsis :
using another software called RMPrepUSB v2.1.648
(F11) Test using QEMU Emulator .

in the first window hint "1"
in the sec window hint "1024"
I seem to think the sec window configuration change is allowing me to go further on .

EULA comes up after click on ACCEPT screen goes blank

Welcome to your box.
SliTaz boot time 278s
root@slitaz:~#_

#3 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 July 2012 - 07:23 PM

the second option seems to be setting the virutal memory size to 1024

is there a way to pre-configure the Grub4DOS build to allow me the option to change / modify the settings ?

#4 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 06:51 PM

Really ? ?
I mean , am i the only one out here with the worst kind of luck involving USb boot ISO with grub4DOS ?!
so my system build is one of a kind eh ?

Well I can see it soon will be time for me upgrade motherboard and possible video card !

THANK YOU NIVIDIA !!!

#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 07:55 PM

ok i seem to be getting further somehow :

synopsis :
using another software called RMPrepUSB v2.1.648
(F11) Test using QEMU Emulator .

in the first window hint "1"
in the sec window hint "1024"
I seem to think the sec window configuration change is allowing me to go further on .

EULA comes up after click on ACCEPT screen goes blank

Welcome to your box.
SliTaz boot time 278s
root@slitaz:~#_


This is normal expected behaviour for QEMU and comodo - if you boot on a REAL system it should work.

#6 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:22 PM

I never got it to work on either simulated system or real re-boot !

#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:24 PM

#COMODO RESCUE DISK - antivirus cleaning tool inc. COMODO CLEANING ESSENTIALS

#Copy the contents of the ISO /boot folder to /comodo/boot on the USB drive

splashimage /comodo/boot/grub/SPLASH_X.GZ

title Comodo Rescue Disk 1.1.232326.14

kernel /comodo/boot/bzimage

initrd /comodo/boot/rootfs.gz
Works for me....

or from ISO


title Comodo Rescue Disk 1.1.232326.14

map /comodo_rescue_disk_1.1.232326.14.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

kernel /boot/bzimage

initrd /boot/rootfs.gz


#8 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:28 PM

is it possible to send me a burn file somehow ?

#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:35 PM

Just format a USb stick with RMPrepUSb (Boot as HDD/2PTNS) and Install grub4dos - add ISO file and menu.lst (press F4).
Then test with QEMU using F11 (only to start booting as it won't complete to GUI) - then test on real system (I used an EeePC Atom netbook).
As you can use QEMU to get it to the Slitaz prompt, the problem must be an incompatibility with your system - can you try a different system to boot it from?

#10 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:51 PM

SeaBIOS
Booting from the Hard Disk...
No DEFAULT or UI configuration directive found !
?????

#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:53 PM

Just format a USb stick with RMPrepUSb (Boot as HDD/2PTNS) and Install grub4dos (hit CTRL-G) - add ISO file and menu.lst (press F4).

Choose MSDOS or XP or Win7/Bootmgr - not syslinux.

#12 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 09:58 PM

copy grldr file to drive G: ?

#13 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:02 PM

how do i add the iso files over to usb if only option would be to copy AFTER format ?

#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:03 PM

Sure - copy over ISO file after format.

#15 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:03 PM

so far i have grldr file and menu.lst

#16 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:10 PM

Booting Comodo Rescue Disk

Filesystem type iso9660 using whole disk
[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x3200, size=0x2c50f0]
[0M/44M]

#17 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6937 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:11 PM

It should load all 44Mb in steps of 8M or so???

#18 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:17 PM

all the way to EULA !!!
then
blank screen :
Welcome to your box.
SliTaz boot time 134s
root@slitaz:~#_

????

#19 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:17 PM

brb going to system boot !

#20 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:29 PM

got the same green freeze screen !

#21 CrOwN

CrOwN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:30 PM

could it be my motherboard or video card that is causing a conflict ?

#22 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2557 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 29 July 2012 - 05:55 AM

could it be my motherboard or video card that is causing a conflict ?

Yes, most likely comodo does not support your hardware.

You might try instead Parted Magic pmagic_2012_07_28.iso and use BOOT_USB.exe to make bootable USB-drive

download pmagic_2012_07_28.iso from http://partedmagic.c...hp?id=downloads

:cheers:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users