Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

how do i fix error: Selected path doesn't contain spaces and is invalid?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:03 PM

when i need to press 1 on the cmd to make a path for the folder that the iso file image created, it gives me an error: Selected patch does contain spaces and is invalid. how do i fix this??????? I need help!!!!!!!!!

Edited by panosg, 28 June 2012 - 12:43 PM.


#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:06 PM

Gives us a clue? What are you talking about? What cmd file, what project? what planet?

#3 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:10 PM

i mean when u click on the usb_multiboot.exe file u need to follow a certain path. when you get at the point where it gives options 1,2,3 you need to press 1 to locate a patch to the folder that u extracted for the iso file you had. when i press my folder after that it gives me an error: Selected path does contain spaces and is invalid. that is the problem. i need help!!!

#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:13 PM

Well what is the selected path and does it contain spaces?

If so then rename the folder and remove any spaces in the name

e.g. C:My pathMy file.iso should be changed to C:My_PathMy_File.iso
  • burki6262 likes this

#5 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:15 PM

i don't know what it means change path without spaces!!! i don't know how to solve that

#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:28 PM

i don't know what it means change path without spaces!!! i don't know how to solve that

Then you shouldn't be using a computer! :loleverybody:

I already asked you a Q which you have not answered and told you what to do

#7 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:32 PM

when i use the usb_multiboot.exe it ask me to do certain things. when i get to the point that asks me chose the path for the folder, i chose the folder that i extracted for the iso file. But after that it gives me an error: Selected path does contain spaces and is invalid. i am asking if u guys have any solution for that.

#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:33 PM

What is the selected path and does it contain spaces?

If so then rename the folder and remove any spaces in the name

e.g. "C:My path" should be changed to "C:My_Path"

i.e. rename the folder so it does not have any spaces in the name.

#9 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:39 PM

first of all here is a picture of the error http://www.msfn.org/...b-multiboot-10/
second when you press to make the path you don't write a path, it gives this little menu that shows 'Your Computer" and you go and locate your folder. you can't write

#10 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:01 PM

i need help!!!!!!!!!

#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:07 PM

Is this correct...
You press 1
  • Then you can select a folder
  • You select a folder
  • It gives an error.

So what I am asking is What is the name (full path) of the folder that you selected?

#12 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:10 PM

Onwer-my documents,Windows(targeted folder)

#13 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:15 PM

well there is a space between the word My and the word Documents and the utility does not cope with spaces in folders - which is what it tells you.
You cannot use a folder or path which has spaces in it.
So please copy the contents of the ISO to another folder (e.g. C:ISO1) and then run the utility again and point it to C:ISO1.

#14 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:15 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\owner\My documents\Windows(extracted file from iso)

#15 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:18 PM

it always gonna have spaces..

#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:20 PM

Not if you make a new folder at C: called ISO1 and copy or move the C:Documents and SettingsownerMy documentsWindows folder to C:ISO1

#17 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:23 PM

where do i make the folder??? cause when you press "1" it gives this menu that says "my computer" "hard drive" removable disk" and "guest documents" and "owner documents".

#18 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:41 PM

i need help!!!!!so much please guys help me

Edited by panosg, 28 June 2012 - 01:42 PM.


#19 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:52 PM

Look - can you get a grown up to help you?

1. Click on Start Menu - My Computer
2. Double-click on C: drive to open it in Explorer
3. Right-click and use the mouse to select New - Folder
4. Change the name of the new folder to ISO1
5. Open My Documents from the start menu and find your Windows folder at C:Documents and SettingsownerMy documentsWindows
6. Select all the files and folders in the C:Documents and SettingsownerMy documentsWindows folder and right-click and choose CUT
7. Now go to the C:ISO1 folder and right-click and choose PASTE

Now all the files are in C:ISO1

Now run the usb_multiboot.exe again and press 1 - browse to the C:ISO1 folder and select it from My Computer - C: - ISO1 - now it should work.

#20 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:56 PM

it works!!!!!!!!!!! i love u man(no homo)

#21 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:59 PM

:coffee:

#22 panosg

panosg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 June 2012 - 02:03 PM

but when i press "2" the next step it says that my usb isnt ready. it says format it with a certain program. ftw i already did that. how do i fix that

#23 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7284 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 June 2012 - 02:18 PM

Please can you give some details in your questions?
What make, model, capacity is 'your usb'
How did you format it?
What format options did you choose?
Can you see the 'usb drive' in Explorer?
If so, can you create a new file on it and see if it the file is present (in Explorer).

#24 burki6262

burki6262
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 31 July 2015 - 07:39 PM

Well what is the selected path and does it contain spaces?

If so then rename the folder and remove any spaces in the name

e.g. C:My pathMy file.iso should be changed to C:My_PathMy_File.iso

İt Working Thanks You So Much Thank you Very Much :D






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users