Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Will You Switch To Windows 8?


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

Poll: Will You Switch To Windows 8? (54 member(s) have cast votes)

Will you switch to windows 8?

  1. As soon as it's available... (11 votes [20.37%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.37%

  2. NEVER!!!!! (30 votes [55.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 55.56%

  3. Eventually (12 votes [22.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.22%

  4. WOt Is this Wisowz 8 thin ? (1 votes [1.85%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.85%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member




  • Amount:

    Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 10 June 2012 - 02:35 AM

Will You Switch To Windows 8?

#2 i

i

    Silver Member


  • Advanced user
  • 523 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 10 June 2012 - 12:48 PM

:smiling9: Absolutely NO, Bill Gates will have to beg me to stop using XP now.... (before it was Win98...) :happy_dance2:
  • pscEx and Michele13 like this

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member


  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 June 2012 - 03:56 PM

Eventually we will all change.. :lol:

I'm working today from my home computer that has 1Gb of RAM and gets really slow under Windows 7 every now and then.

Really miss the speed of XP on this kind of hardware.

#4 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member




  • Amount:

    Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 10 June 2012 - 04:27 PM

Xp dose not have support anymore ,and using it as my default OS now will be like using Win3.1 on my first PC
It would sux, From a repair stand point its hard to repair,I remove more viruses from it, Drivers like raid and HD-audio you have to jump thru hoops to get it installed, after a clean format you have to install a ass-ton of updates just to play a game or use some new software.

Change is good, for some its scary but we as PC technicians / enthusiasts have too Keep up...if only to be able to fix the system if it fails...

#5 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member


  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:12 PM

I always lived by the rule: "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!" hence, as long as i don't need to upgrade to newer hardware, i see no reason to upgrade to a newer OS.

A lot of people laugh about my stone age computer setup. That is, until we stop comparing theoretical numbers and start comparing real world experience. Then they suddenly start giving new names to their superior Computers! :lol:


:cheers:

PS: If one keeps getting virii on ones computer, one does not require more patches for the OS, but 1 or 2 for ones brain! ;)

#6 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member


  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:13 PM

From testing so far on Win8, it can even work better than Win7 on minimal machines...While I'm not so sure how all the "metro" stuff will be on typical desktop machines or even traditional laptops, the basics of the desktop and the actual desktop apps I use won't change too much.

So, I'll start using it, and we will wait and watch and see how things continue to evolve.

:cheers:
Scott

#7 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member


  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 June 2012 - 08:26 PM

I'm quite happy on win7x64 so I see no reason to switch. And I have a self built high end machine so hardware isn't an issue for me. Also not amused about being forced to use the metro crap. I like good looking ui's but not at the expense of usability. Metro is not for power users.

#8 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member




  • Amount:

    Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:28 PM

Im Running 7x64 with ESET AV v5.2.1 and i never had a virus (that i did not make myself) since 2009,Before then i hand XP and running Eset v2.7.
Formatting every 3 months .I remember we Had LAN party's and i Shared folders with names like PORN that was actually a Bat file converted to a EXE with a Folder Icon,The bat contained code like [shutdown /t 30 /c "How do you Like My Porn Now"] and it worked like a charm.At that time my work had NT4 on there PC's that could be snooped over LAN to see what the users were up to without special software.I remember my friends didn't want to switch to XP SP3 for the same "it ain't broke" attitude.When switched to Vista at first i Hated it ,so many new things :( !! but after i got used to it i loved it (My PE is still Vista, im going to go Windows 8 PE as soon as i can). After that i switched to 7x64 and never whet back and Im still running my first and only windows 7 installation since 2009. Im looking forward to run Windows 8 for the coming years.

PS: I Work as a PC techy and the most viruses i removed from a PC Was running XP,viruses just get everywhere without the UAC,and a up-to-date Antivirus

#9 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member


  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 10:53 PM

Perfect example! Who in their right mind would doubleclick on a porn.exe, just a few kb in size and expect anything but a virus?

I'm waiting for the day a virus scanner turns off mouse and keyboard to protect the computer from the stupidity of the user.

:cheers:

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member


  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 10:59 PM

PS: I run XP since it was first released and every single virus, worm or trojan that i ever had on my PC was running securely in a sandbox, never on the main system. I don't get, how this happens to people.

:cheers:

#11 Virii

Virii

    Member


  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 June 2012 - 02:13 PM

I ran XPx32 on this this OLD computer (Pentium 4@3.4GHz, 512MB Desktop GFX Card, 3GB DDR2@266Mhz) until I decided to bite the bullet with Win7x64.

I'd subjectively say that it runs way better than XP on the same ol' hardware setup. I'd go so far as to say that IF your PC meets the minimum requirements for Win7, make the change. I'm downloading the Windows 8 RP now, but with my slow bandwidth, it might take a while. But my guess would be yes, I will eventually use Win8 even if not on this particular setup.

#12 Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    Frequent Member


  • Expert
  • 234 posts
  • Interests:K-Mart-ian Legend
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 June 2012 - 04:37 PM

As it stand currently, I am not interested in Windows 8. Due to the nature of my job, I have to work with it anyways, but definately won't be using it on any workstations or home pcs.

#13 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member




  • Amount:

    Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:08 PM

Since this is reboot.pro Check this out:


#14 DarkPhoeniX

DarkPhoeniX

    Frequent Member




  • Amount:

    Team Reboot
  • 452 posts
  • Location:In the middle of nowhere
  • Interests:Interesting Things
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:17 PM

And This :


#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member


  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:08 PM

Yep, much more ergonomic to have half the things on the left side and the other half on the right side of the scrreen. Especialy today with the wide screen monitors.

:cheers:

#16 Uvais

Uvais

    Frequent Member


  • Advanced user
  • 180 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 02:38 PM

not switch ; but will install in another drive :loleverybody:

#17 mr-roboto

mr-roboto

    Newbie


  • Advanced user
  • 29 posts
  • Location:NYC
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:18 PM

As a developer, I will eventually have a Win8 VM for test purps, etc, but I'd really like to know what Microsoft plans to do about the Metro UI for non-touch-based PCs. Frankly, I would've thought this Release Preview would already establish their direction on that subject. Needless to say, my first impression of Metro (on a HP dv6 laptop) was less than favorable. Now, with respect to a smartphone/tablet/etc, Metro may be a big improvement over the competition, but for a plain-vanilla laptop/desktop, no way. With every version of desktop Windows since Win95, I've never encountered much of a learning curve when moving from version to version. Granted, it won't take weeks/months/forever, but I'd like to be able to install the Windows Explorer UI initially, then switch to Metro, if and when I feel like it. Did I miss something ?

The YouTube videos of Win8 vs Win7 boot times and operational comparisons are very impressive. Even though I saw some nice power user tips in the 2nd video, when I do upgrade, Win7x64 will probably get the nod....

#18 mr-roboto

mr-roboto

    Newbie


  • Advanced user
  • 29 posts
  • Location:NYC
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:42 PM

I ran XPx32 on this this OLD computer (Pentium 4@3.4GHz, 512MB Desktop GFX Card, 3GB DDR2@266Mhz) until I decided to bite the bullet with Win7x64.

I'd subjectively say that it runs way better than XP on the same ol' hardware setup. I'd go so far as to say that IF your PC meets the minimum requirements for Win7, make the change. I'm downloading the Windows 8 RP now, but with my slow bandwidth, it might take a while. But my guess would be yes, I will eventually use Win8 even if not on this particular setup.


Win7x64 runs well on 2GB P4s, at least as well a WinXPx86 with the same RAM. In fact, one difference I noticed between Vista+Win7, is that the major OEMs installed at least 2GB of RAM+Win7x64 in their low-end PCs and were vastly superior to the entry-level Vista PCs....
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#19 mr-roboto

mr-roboto

    Newbie


  • Advanced user
  • 29 posts
  • Location:NYC
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:21 PM

I got my answer about disabling Metro by following the YouTube link from one of the videos in this thread:



As soon as I can afford to get a new hard drive and RAM for my Dell, I might just take the plunge right away....

#20 Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member


  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:03 PM

Disabling the Metro interface like that only works in last year's Developer Preview, you knew that, didn't you?

#21 mr-roboto

mr-roboto

    Newbie


  • Advanced user
  • 29 posts
  • Location:NYC
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:44 PM

Disabling the Metro interface like that only works in last year's Developer Preview, you knew that, didn't you?


Thanks for the heds-up....

#22 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member


  • Tutorial Writer
  • 167 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 June 2012 - 10:10 PM

I'm old fashioned. I'm still using Windows XP. I started using a PC with Windows 98 and then I've learned how to use XP. well I'd like to use Windows 7 but it does not support my video card (no drivers for the Intel 915GM) :(

#23 SIW2

SIW2

    Frequent Member


  • Advanced user
  • 123 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 01:19 AM

I had to answer Never - because I can't see using it as my main o/s.

I particularly object to the way users are forced to the start screen so MS can aggressively market the online services.

I know there are ways of limiting that - but the average user won't be able to.

Edited by SIW2, 15 June 2012 - 01:22 AM.


#24 Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member


  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 15 June 2012 - 07:32 AM

I know this is not a "Windows 8 tips" thread, but I'd like to sneak in a little tip:
- Turning off the Metro start screen is not easy, but you can still get the system to boot up to the desktop (it still shows the metro screen for a few seconds though, no way around that [yet]):

Make a text file with this in it:
[Shell]

Command=2

IconFile=explorer.exe,3

[Taskbar]

Command=ToggleDesktop
Save it as desktop.scf and copy it to
C:Users[username]AppDataRoamingMicrosoftWindowsStart MenuProgramsStartup

This works for me in the Release Preview version. A previous tip (involving a linkfile: desktop.lnk) worked in Consumer Preview, but stopped working in Release Preview.

With this .scf file, your Windows 8 system will boot to the desktop, and if you play your cards right, you don't have to look at the Metro screen again all day, until you shut down :smiling9:

#25 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member


  • Tutorial Writer
  • 167 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 June 2012 - 08:54 AM

And This :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=jeuuCmHcSX4


this video shows how is confusing to use windows 8. When I saw metro for the first time I said that windows was turned into a little toy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users