31 replies to this topic

#1 nitussi

nitussi
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 March 2012 - 12:01 PM

Hi, I am a noob to all this and I have a few questions to ask to see if a solution is possible. Hope this is the rite place to ask?

I have a pc running micro xp, 2 GB of ram, and a 500 GB hd. It has a few simple learning games on it and everything is perfect. I prefer micro xp because it is very small and it boots very fast. The OS and apps take up about 3.5 GB of HD space and I will call this the master computer.

I watch kids all day for work and they like to play these simple learning games, so I have 19 other computers with the exact same specs but that they do not have hard drives in them. The mobo's are fairly new and compact in these pc's so they do not have IDE ports. As you may know hard drives are very expensive now, and buying a set of sata hd's for these computers will set me back about $2000!

Since nothing but the installed games is going to be ran on them, is it possible to just capture my micro XP OS from my master and somehow put it on a 4 or 8 GB thumb drive to run in a live environment? That way I would only have to afford 19 usb drives. I do have XP licenses for every computer by the way.

I tried to use imagX and the latest WAIK but it did not boot and I kinda new it wasn't going to ..but I learned a lot from the process. I believe it is possible with LiveXP, but i just don't understand how i would do my registry changes and install the apps if I have to create the PE from the install disk.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

#2 MedEvil

MedEvil

Platinum Member

• .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 12:44 PM

If you don't have licenses for the other computers, it's illegal to run XP on them, no matter which way.
To use a Linux would be the only cheap legal way for you.

ImageX and Waik are for Vista/Win7/Win8 only.

To build LiveXP is very simple.