Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Resource limitation???


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 smiley

smiley

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 905 posts
  •  
    Greece

Posted 16 August 2006 - 09:03 AM

Posted Image

What's that??????? :P

A resource limitation?

If i open many windows, some parts of them won't be displayed or some won't open. Then if i close all of them, each one works ok.

Why this happens?

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 August 2006 - 10:34 AM

Resource limitation is an "old" problem fixed on XPE or NU2MENU wich will limit the number of running applications and will force shutdown after 24 hours running.

Since this explorer shell is not based on either one, the problem now arises again..


Here's some links related:

http://www.911cd.net...?showtopic=7049
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=15040


TheTruth explained how his patch worked here:
http://www.911cd.net...&...ost&p=40540

Paraglider resumed the actions here:
http://www.911cd.net...&...ost&p=41512

How to kill the 24h limits here:
http://www.911cd.net...&...ost&p=43133


arunachalam provided some source code here:
http://www.911cd.net...&...ost&p=64736

wich was patched by bart here:
http://www.911cd.net...&...ost&p=64765


Overall

I think perhaps the tool provided by TheTruth might be interesting to try out..

http://www.geocities...in/peloader.zip

Here's his homepage:
http://www.geocities.com/pierremounir/

:P

#3 Yorn

Yorn

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 178 posts
  • Location:United States

Posted 16 August 2006 - 01:00 PM

Even more useful info about each of the processes:

Ok, to make people rest assured I'll clarify this briefly:
First of all, most of the functions of these two processes (winlogon and smss) are carried up at their startup.

+ As for amss.exe process, after carrying up the startup functions (creating the Win32 subsystem process (csrss.exe, win32k.sys) and the Lsass subsystem process, creating paging files and environment variables, etc.), it'll be waiting for any of the two processes winlogon or csrss to exit to terminate your session.
there are however two important functions of smss remainig:
- the first, waiting for client requests to load new subsystems (other than Win32 subsystem, like POSIX and OS/2 subsystems), this function of smss is applicable only if you're going to run PSIX or OS/2 apps.
- the second, waiting for client rquests to create new sessions (Terminal Sessions), and this function is applicable only if you're running the terminal services and there is a user want to start a a session from a remote terminal.

So, I think no missing functionality from terminating the smss process as long as you are not in need of the last two functions, which I'm sure no one in PE is.

+ As for the Winlogon process, after carrying up its startup functions (creating Window Stations and Desktops objects, registering the SAS sequence and negotiating MSGINA.DLL (not in PE), creating the process pointed to by the "CmdLine" reg key, etc.), the remaining functions of Winlogon like loging in/out users, listening to the SAS sequence (Ctrl+Alt+Del), and controlling the differnet desktops are NOT working BY DEFAULT in PE.

So, again I think no missing functionality from terminating the Winlogon process.

Last, if there is anyone who still sees any problems from terminating these processes, let me know.


Nuno's link to TheTruth's peloader should be what you're looking for I think.

#4 Joshua

Joshua

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others
  •  
    Germany

Posted 16 August 2006 - 03:06 PM

you can also use PreLogon.exe from my PreShell plugin, it also removes the resource limits, and
has a password an ExpirationDate function included. :P
a new version will be avaliable soon!

Joshua

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 August 2006 - 03:17 PM

Sounds like a good clean solution..

Can you provide a script for it?

I could do it myself, but I think it would be wiser if you wrote it since you'd know better how to make it fit the script interface options..

It would be nice to have a script with the option to select the shell and password protect the disc from unauthorized users..


Here's the PreShell page for more info:
http://www.drowaelde...ll/preshell.htm

:P

#6 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4163 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 07:47 PM

I took some of this info and posted on "Redcl0ud" post on
"Menu and Taskbar for PE"
at:
http://www.911cd.net...o...=18027&st=0

#7 Zharif

Zharif

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 August 2006 - 05:32 AM

My Script "Zh-Base.script" provides the option to include nu2shell.exe to your build
Joshuas PreShell needs some more additional files to get it run which will increase the cd size.
If Joshua gives permission I could add PreShell (as check box option).
...Joshua?

#8 Joshua

Joshua

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 August 2006 - 10:28 AM

If Joshua gives permission I could add PreShell (as check box option).
...Joshua?

Hi, Zharif, my best BETA-TESTER!!! :P
i give you and this wonderfull project all my permission ! :P
p.s. new version of PreShell will be availiable soon, and i hope you will have a look for it!

Joshua




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users