Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

QEMU 0.15.1


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:13 PM

Posted Image

File Name: QEMU
File Submitter: roytam1
File Submitted: 25 Feb 2012
File Category: Tools

QEMU is a generic and open source machine emulator and virtualizer.
When used as a machine emulator, QEMU can run OSes and programs made for one machine (e.g. an ARM board) on a different machine (e.g. your own PC). By using dynamic translation, it achieves very good performance.

Click here to download this file
  • Nuno Brito and dziubek like this

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 February 2012 - 05:03 PM

File Name: QEMU
File Submitter: roytam1
File Submitted: 25 Feb 2012
File Category: Tools

QEMU is a generic and open source machine emulator and virtualizer.
When used as a machine emulator, QEMU can run OSes and programs made for one machine (e.g. an ARM board) on a different machine (e.g. your own PC). By using dynamic translation, it achieves very good performance.

Roy, can you please specify the exact date/version? :unsure:
The screenshot, thanks to the stupid board/software settings does not enlarge, so nothing can be read from it. :frusty:

:cheers:
Wonko

#3 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2012 - 06:16 PM

Is there any doc on how to use this as stand alone? I usually use QEMU option from ilko's winsetupfromusb

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 February 2012 - 09:08 PM

Is there any doc on how to use this as stand alone? I usually use QEMU option from ilko's winsetupfromusb


Strangely enough :w00t:, there is command line documentation on the QEMU site:
http://wiki.qemu.org/Manual

What I suggest however (additional to reading the above), is to get Qemu Manager:
http://www.davereyn.co.uk/download.htm
and use it's feature of Tools->Last Run commands as a tool to learn at least the most common ones

:cheers:
Wonko

#5 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2012 - 09:10 PM

Strangely enough ../public/style_emoticons/default/w00t.gif, there is command line documentation on the QEMU site:


Yup, found this earlier but thanks again.


What I suggest however (additional to reading the above), is to get Qemu Manager:


Thanks again. Will do

#6 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 25 February 2012 - 11:57 PM

Roy, can you please specify the exact date/version? :unsure:
The screenshot, thanks to the stupid board/software settings does not enlarge, so nothing can be read from it. :frusty:

:cheers:
Wonko

This thread is auto-generated when I upload file, so for the exact version you have to click the download link which goes to the download page that has version listed.

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 26 February 2012 - 12:08 AM

This thread is auto-generated when I upload file, so for the exact version you have to click the download link which goes to the download page that has version listed.


Can you not edit this thread first post (and/or title) adding to it "QEMU 0.15.1"? :w00t:

What I mean is, HOW would an user find here:
http://reboot.pro/forum/64/
any given version when there will be (hopefully) sev eral threads titled "QEMU"? :dubbio:

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 26 February 2012 - 12:32 AM

Can you not edit this thread first post (and/or title) adding to it "QEMU 0.15.1"? :w00t:

What I mean is, HOW would an user find here:
http://reboot.pro/forum/64/
any given version when there will be (hopefully) sev eral threads titled "QEMU"? :dubbio:

:cheers:
Wonko

OK edited. A better screenshot is used.

#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13480 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 26 February 2012 - 12:51 AM

OK edited. A better screenshot is used.

:thumbsup:

:cheers:
Wonko

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:26 PM

What is difference between qemu.exe and qemu_system_x86_64.exe?

qemu_system_x86_64.exe does not seem to run under XP but runs under Win7 32-bit and 64-bit?
qemu.exe runs under XP (though not as well - e.g. linux boot can hang in QEMU).

I have seen scripts that look for WOW64 and if found use qemu_system_x86_64.exe - so is it 64-bit OS only or is it that it is generally safer to run qemu.exe unless you have a 64-bit Windows OS?

Thanks
Steve

#11 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 14 June 2012 - 01:41 AM

What is difference between qemu.exe and qemu_system_x86_64.exe?

qemu_system_x86_64.exe does not seem to run under XP but runs under Win7 32-bit and 64-bit?
qemu.exe runs under XP (though not as well - e.g. linux boot can hang in QEMU).

I have seen scripts that look for WOW64 and if found use qemu_system_x86_64.exe - so is it 64-bit OS only or is it that it is generally safer to run qemu.exe unless you have a 64-bit Windows OS?

Thanks
Steve

qemu_system_x86_64 emulates a x86-64 system, while qemu.exe emulates a x86-only system, try booting MenuetOS(http://www.menuetos.net/) and it should work only with qemu_system_x86_64.

#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 14 June 2012 - 06:00 AM

Thanks - do I need to add -cpu qemu64 to the command line ?

I can't seem to boot to 64-bit WinPE v2 or v3 successfully from an ISO file - is there a version of QEMU that supports this?

#13 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 14 June 2012 - 10:51 PM

Thanks - do I need to add -cpu qemu64 to the command line ?

I can't seem to boot to 64-bit WinPE v2 or v3 successfully from an ISO file - is there a version of QEMU that supports this?

you may try "-cpu core2duo" first, as Windows seems dislike unknown x86-64 CPU IDs.

#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6557 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 June 2012 - 06:09 PM

you may try "-cpu core2duo" first, as Windows seems dislike unknown x86-64 CPU IDs.

Thanks, get 'not a 64-bit CPU' error on booting WinPE 2 still :-(

#15 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 16 June 2012 - 08:10 PM

Try the one with latest WinBuilder, or take it from latest WinSetupFromUSB:
http://code.google.c...ta8.7z&can=2&q=

#16 friske

friske

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 244 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 January 2016 - 02:40 AM

Do it is possibile to use it in UEFI mode?



#17 friske

friske

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 244 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 March 2016 - 05:29 PM

Do it is possibile to test tftpd32 pxe with qEmu in windows?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users