Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

QEMU Feb 17, 2012


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 February 2012 - 01:39 PM

Anyone know where I can get a precompiled binary for x86_64 for this version?
Thanks.

#2 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 23 February 2012 - 02:39 PM

I think you have to build your own from source at git repo.
Beware: the introduce of glib2 makes user mode networking broken in win32/win64 build.
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#3 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 February 2012 - 11:44 PM

Thanks, but I can't seem to get it to compile, hence request for precompiled exe...

#4 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:41 AM

Thanks, but I can't seem to get it to compile, hence request for precompiled exe...

Post the build log (configure and make log) here or via pastebin, I can help.

#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:41 AM

Well, I am running Mingw under Win7 64-bit and get

$ ./configure
glib-2.0 required to compile QEMU
How do I add this?

#6 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:32 AM

Well, I am running Mingw under Win7 64-bit and get

$ ./configure
glib-2.0 required to compile QEMU
How do I add this?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1227908/how-to-compile-use-glib-with-mingw

#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:52 AM

Ok, sorry for my ignorance, but I don't understand how to add this to my Mingw environment.
I downloaded the package and copied it to my C:\MinGW\msys\1.0 folder.
Now what?
The doc says to run
pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0
but this doesn't work
Package gtk+-2.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.

Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gtk+-2.0.pc'

to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable

No package 'gtk+-2.0' found
Do I need to add this environment variable - and if so - how?
(sorry but I don't know my way around linux at all!).

#8 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:00 PM

You may see the more detail of instructions here:
http://lassauge.free.fr/qemu/

#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:38 PM

Yes, saw that. I downloaded the packages but have no idea what to do with them after I have downloaded them!

#10 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 24 February 2012 - 01:22 PM

Yes, saw that. I downloaded the packages but have no idea what to do with them after I have downloaded them!

As a common sense of *nixers it is quite hard to tell what you need to do with the packages.

But normal steps for using a development package, extract and move "include" directory to /mingw/include (so include*.* goes to /mingw/include/*.*) and "lib" directory to /mingw/lib, "share" directory to /usr/share (i.e. msys1.0share ), then the development package is properly deployed.

#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:45 PM

Thanks! That was were I was going wrong, I copied them all to msys1.0 !
Configure now runs - next problem: when I run make I get...


  GEN   trace.h

  GEN   qemu-options.def

  GEN   qmp-commands.h

/bin/sh: python: command not found

make: *** [qmp-commands.h] Error 127

I appreciate your help - thanks!

#12 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:55 PM

Thanks! That was were I was going wrong, I copied them all to msys1.0 !
Configure now runs - next problem: when I run make I get...


  GEN   trace.h

  GEN   qemu-options.def

  GEN   qmp-commands.h

/bin/sh: python: command not found

make: *** [qmp-commands.h] Error 127

I appreciate your help - thanks!

install python:
http://python.org/ft...ython-2.7.2.msi
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#13 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:05 PM

and so it goes on!


$ make

  GEN   config-host.h

  GEN   trace.h

  GEN   trace.c

  RC	version.o

C:\MinGW\bin\windres.exe: C:/MinGW/msys/1.0/home/Administrator/qemu-1.0.1/version.rc:5: syntax error

make: *** [version.o] Error 1







$ cat version.rc

#include <winver.h>

#include "config-host.h"



VS_VERSION_INFO VERSIONINFO

FILEVERSION CONFIG_FILEVERSION

PRODUCTVERSION CONFIG_PRODUCTVERSION

FILEFLAGSMASK VS_FFI_FILEFLAGSMASK

FILEOS VOS_NT_WINDOWS32

FILETYPE VFT_APP

FILESUBTYPE VFT2_UNKNOWN

{

  BLOCK "StringFileInfo"

  {

    BLOCK "040904E4"

    {

      VALUE "CompanyName", "http://www.qemu.org"

      VALUE "FileDescription", "QEMU machine emulators and tools"

      VALUE "FileVersion", QEMU_VERSION

      VALUE "LegalCopyright", "Copyright various authors. Released under the GNU General Public License."

      VALUE "LegalTrademarks", "QEMU is a trademark of Fabrice Bellard."

      VALUE "ProductName", "QEMU"

    }

  }

  BLOCK "VarFileInfo"

  {

    VALUE "Translation", 0x0409, 1252

  }

}





#14 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:13 PM

and so it goes on!

Well, the good news :) are seemingly that you avoided all errors from 126 down to 2 ;).

Don't give up right now, being myself a "differently able" in anything connected with compiling, you have all my (moral only, I am afraid :() support!

Go, Steve, go! :thumbup: :cheerleader:


:cheers:
Wonko
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#15 bblaauw

bblaauw

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 105 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:29 PM

There might be some usefull hints at http://virtuallyfun....orp.com/?p=1622
As well as buggy binaries at http://virtuallyfun....orp.com/?p=1627

http://qemu.weilnetz.de/ also contains some packages and/or binaries. Somehow I doubt there's any stable QEMU Windows binaries at all though (try installing Windows/Linux/ReactOS or anything advanced). So far for 1.0 release quality.

#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:27 PM

Thanks, I wanted to try the new version.
Early versions work with MS-DOS booting via grub4dos but won't boot a x64 WinPE v3 USB stick (non-x64 cpu detected), later (2011) versions don't boot MSDOS via grub4dos and get further booting PE64 (but stlll crashes later). I wanted to see if the latest version would be better.
Why is it so hard to get a working exe - don't they developers want people to use it?

#17 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:32 AM

Thanks, I wanted to try the new version.
Early versions work with MS-DOS booting via grub4dos but won't boot a x64 WinPE v3 USB stick (non-x64 cpu detected), later (2011) versions don't boot MSDOS via grub4dos and get further booting PE64 (but stlll crashes later). I wanted to see if the latest version would be better.
Why is it so hard to get a working exe - don't they developers want people to use it?

for complete usability experience, you should go back to 0.15.1 as later version (1.0, 1.0.1, even latest git revision) have a broken user networking (slirp) because of the introduce of glib, and the fix they pushed doesn't work at all.

My binaries:
0.15.1 http://roy.orz.hm/qemu/qemu-0.15.1.zip
SDL.dll http://roy.orz.hm/qemu/SDL.dll

latest git build http://roy.orz.hm/qe...-2012022509.zip

My builds depends on SDL.dll only, other libraries are static library and linked into binary directly.

Edited by roytam1, 25 February 2012 - 01:11 AM.

  • Nuno Brito likes this

#18 roytam1

roytam1

    Member

  • Developer
  • 99 posts
  •  
    Hong Kong

Posted 25 February 2012 - 07:59 AM

and so it goes on!


$ make

  GEN   config-host.h

  GEN   trace.h

  GEN   trace.c

  RC	version.o

C:\MinGW\bin\windres.exe: C:/MinGW/msys/1.0/home/Administrator/qemu-1.0.1/version.rc:5: syntax error

make: *** [version.o] Error 1







$ cat version.rc

#include <winver.h>

#include "config-host.h"



VS_VERSION_INFO VERSIONINFO

FILEVERSION CONFIG_FILEVERSION

PRODUCTVERSION CONFIG_PRODUCTVERSION

FILEFLAGSMASK VS_FFI_FILEFLAGSMASK

FILEOS VOS_NT_WINDOWS32

FILETYPE VFT_APP

FILESUBTYPE VFT2_UNKNOWN

{

  BLOCK "StringFileInfo"

  {

	BLOCK "040904E4"

	{

	  VALUE "CompanyName", "http://www.qemu.org"

	  VALUE "FileDescription", "QEMU machine emulators and tools"

	  VALUE "FileVersion", QEMU_VERSION

	  VALUE "LegalCopyright", "Copyright various authors. Released under the GNU General Public License."

	  VALUE "LegalTrademarks", "QEMU is a trademark of Fabrice Bellard."

	  VALUE "ProductName", "QEMU"

	}

  }

  BLOCK "VarFileInfo"

  {

	VALUE "Translation", 0x0409, 1252

  }

}



please cat config-host.h for details. the format of FILEVERSION may be wrong.

#19 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

for complete usability experience, you should go back to 0.15.1 as later version (1.0, 1.0.1, even latest git revision) have a broken user networking (slirp) because of the introduce of glib, and the fix they pushed doesn't work at all.
My binaries:
0.15.1 http://roy.orz.hm/qemu/qemu-0.15.1.zip
SDL.dll http://roy.orz.hm/qemu/SDL.dll
latest git build http://roy.orz.hm/qe...-2012022509.zip
My builds depends on SDL.dll only, other libraries are static library and linked into binary directly.

Sorry, missed this yesterday!!! - many thanks, I will try this version.

#20 neozeed

neozeed
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:retrocomputing, virtualization, OS/2, qemu, dosbox, simh
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:46 PM

The last version of Qemu that could load any 64bit windows stuff was 0.9.0 ... I think 0.9.1 can as well. However it is only limited to xp64 & 2003 (well they are the same thing ...). Sadly from there on I've never gotten either to load on Qemu. Sadly on windows compatibility has gotten worse as time has gone on. I'd love to try to build a 64bit build of Qemu but I've had no luck at all with the build process...

So lately I've been using Virtualbox which is somewhat qemu derived, and loads x64 OS's just fine.

but I still prefer Qemu ... :|
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#21 neozeed

neozeed
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:retrocomputing, virtualization, OS/2, qemu, dosbox, simh
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 March 2012 - 01:37 PM

There has been a major bug/fix (well more of a sidestep) with Qemu 1.0.1, and it works much better now...

I've detailed it here, Long story short, coroutine-win32.c must be built -O0, binaries available here.
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#22 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2012 - 02:45 PM

There has been a major bug/fix (well more of a sidestep) with Qemu 1.0.1, and it works much better now...

I've detailed it here, Long story short, coroutine-win32.c must be built -O0, binaries available here.

Are there the same release as the files on the official page?
Which are also seemingly 1.0.1 as seen here :unsure::
http://reboot.pro/9688/page__st__14

:cheers:
Wonko

#23 neozeed

neozeed
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:retrocomputing, virtualization, OS/2, qemu, dosbox, simh
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 March 2012 - 03:59 PM

Are there the same release as the files on the official page?
Which are also seemingly 1.0.1 as seen here :unsure::
http://reboot.pro/9688/page__st__14

:cheers:
Wonko


I think he just rebuilt the BIOS to support USB booting... While I've compiled that one core file as -O0 so that disk access under things like CentOS (Linux) and Darwin ( OS X) won't crash Qemu when they enumerate IDE controllers...

#24 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:04 PM

There has been a major bug/fix (well more of a sidestep) with Qemu 1.0.1, and it works much better now...

Still doesn't boot Win 7 64-bit from USB or an ISO though! :dubbio:

#25 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:15 PM

I think he just rebuilt the BIOS to support USB booting... While I've compiled that one core file as -O0 so that disk access under things like CentOS (Linux) and Darwin ( OS X) won't crash Qemu when they enumerate IDE controllers...

Sure :), what I meant was another thing.
On this page there is currently a release that is called 1.0.1 already compiled:
http://lassauge.free.fr/qemu/
With this "history" note:

February 29, 2012: updated for Qemu-1.0.1 - Still a "to be tested" version. See bug report win32: git rev 59f971d crashes when accessing disk (coroutine issue). In my version a workaround was to compile coroutine-win32.c without optimisation (-O0): contains qemu-system-arm.exe, qemu-system-i386.exe, qemu-system-ppc.exe, qemu-system-sparc.exe, qemu-system-x86_64.exe and the linux-0.2.img image


In which way is your release different from the above? :unsure: (meaning that IF "nothing") it makes little sense to have yet another "version in the wild" and only adds to the existing confusion on "where to get a pre-compiled" release.

Most probably it is just a case of "converging independent evolution" :), I am only trying to easen the interconnectedness of all things and avoid downloading your version if not necessary.


:cheers:
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users