Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Does TRIM work with Win7_se?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 sLiM

sLiM

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:18 PM

If it does, it might help me out.

I'm still using XP and would like to add an SSD to my machine. If TRIM still functions using Win7PE_SE, then I'd like to use it to clean the new drive. This could also change the drive I choose to buy.

Thanks,

#2 sLiM

sLiM

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:35 AM

Anyone?

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 08:53 AM

Just build it and test for yourself. It's not rocket science!

Do it like this:
- extract Win7PE_SE to the root of a drive
- don't rename or change anything
- set your source
- in Main Configuration click "Save"
- in Image Configuration click "Save / Get Wim Info"
- have an online connection and click the blue Play button

:cheers:

#4 sLiM

sLiM

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 February 2012 - 11:06 AM

MedEvil,

My problem is a slow Internet connection. A download that size would cause me to be throttled back. I'm not ready to buy it yet, and before I ask someone to download the trial for me I thought I'd check to see if anyone had tried this. Truth is, I'd like to have tried it before now.

To test it out, I already need to have purchased the SSD. My problem is, XP and Win 7 handle the SSD's maintenance differently. It seems that Win 7 handles it natively and is more efficient. The drive choices are a bit different for XP than for Win 7. I know Win7PE_se is much more, but I thought it would be great if it could be use for maintenance too.

Thanks for the reply.

Edited by sLiM, 17 February 2012 - 11:33 AM.


#5 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 02:20 PM

I think, to hear you saying, that you don't want to buy a new computer any time soon, so go with what works best with your current setup.

On the other hand, a computer is like an orchestra, no point to have one instrument be able to play especialy loud, when the others can't too.
Remember, the weakest link determines the strength of a chain, not the strongest!
So a SSD for a 5 - or more year old computer, is a waste of money, imo.

Better luck with the next reply.

:cheers:

#6 u2o

u2o

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 257 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  •  
    Argentina

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:31 AM

My problem is a slow Internet connection. A download that size would cause me to be throttled back. I'm not ready to buy it yet, and before I ask someone to download the trial for me I thought I'd check to see if anyone had tried this. Truth is, I'd like to have tried it before now.


Try the small release: http://w7pese.cwcodes.net/Compressed/

Small (24.5 MB) 2012-02-16

Win7PE SE Small package, particuarly for newcomers so as to avoid being lost, and then come step by step to the full version of the base.



#7 sLiM

sLiM

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 February 2012 - 01:36 PM

Try the small release: http://w7pese.cwcodes.net/Compressed/


Small (24.5 MB) 2012-02-16

Win7PE SE Small package, particuarly for newcomers so as to avoid being lost, and then come step by step to the full version of the base.



Thanks, I'll be sure to give it a try. My main problem though, is the large size of the win7 iso file.

Edited by sLiM, 22 February 2012 - 01:37 PM.


#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 02:24 PM

Don't you have any friends that have Win7?
Or go to an internet cafe.

:cheers:

#9 sLiM

sLiM

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:01 PM

MedEvil,

Sorry if this question is annoying. Please feel free to close the post.

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 08:01 PM

It's not annoying.

The problem is simply, that you want an answer for an exotic piece of hardware.
Appearantly nobody here has an SSD.
So the only way to the answer is, getting it yourself and with this problem, we're tryed to help you.

You're options are only:
- get Win7 somewhere and build a PE, get a SSD and test for yourself
- get the SSD regardless and forget about Win7PE
- ask the question in another forum
- forget the whole thing

Or, because i'm a nice guy ;), send me the money to buy a SSD and i do the test for you. :idea:

:cheers:

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 February 2012 - 09:43 PM

Or, because i'm a nice guy ;), send me the money to buy a SSD and i do the test for you. :idea:

@sLiM
Don't do it :ph34r:, Medevil is a nice guy :), but also a naughty one! (the most you would get would be the confirmation that it works in German PE :whistling:).

BTW, and OT ;), what is the German translation of "trim"? :dubbio:
Festkörperspeicherseitengruppeausblendung :w00t:

:cheers:
Wonko

#12 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 09:59 PM

Festkörperspeicherseitengruppeausblendung :w00t:

:lol: Where did you find that translation?

:cheers:

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 February 2012 - 10:02 PM

:lol: Where did you find that translation?

I simply faked it up ;).

You know, in the spirit of:
http://reboot.pro/1104/page__st__151

:heh:

One of the reason I am laughing at this is because of:
Posted Image
it's simply stronger than me, I just imagine an old German or Swiss locksmith engraving by hand the name on the prototype of the little thingy. :whistling:
(the trademark would be in my fake German, obviously: Handgemachtgehärtetemstahlnagelknipser )

:cheers:
Wonko

#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 12:11 AM

But as you can see, in your own example, we Germans need only one word, for what others need a whole sentence! ;)

Though it looks less readable, when compared standalone. It is actually way easier to read in a long text, than the sentence equivalent of other languages.

That's why other languages usually refrain from being so precise.
In a general conversation, that's no problem, as one can always ask for further information on things, that are unclear. However in white papers, it's a huge advantage! Cause without the need to interpret the words, misunderstandings are ruled out.

The japanese have a similar system, but instead of creating new words, by adding existing ones, they create new signs.

I connected my printer through an universal serial bus cable to my computer.
Is this an universally usable serial-bus-cable?
or an universally serialy usable bus-cable?

Ich verband meinen Drucker mittels eines Unversalseriellenbuskabels mit meinem Computer.
Does not require any interpretation. The whole thing is a name for something no adjectives involved.


:cheers:

#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 February 2012 - 11:11 AM

Sure :), actually I do love the German precision of words :thumbsup: (and also precision in a few other fields).

It is simply that it sounds funny from a foreign language speaker view point.

In my case, there are family historical reasons as I had my uncle, which BTW was a dentist and spoke - I am told - a very good German having made some studies in Germany, that when we were kids mocked us with the story of the firm that had problems because they produced a "special paste to polish the buttons of of the dress uniforms of high officials of the German Empire in occasion of the visits of His Imperial and Royal Majesty The German Emperor, King of Prussia, Emperor Wilhelm the second" and they couldn't print the name of the product (one word) because it would come out with too tiny characters....

:cheers:
Wonko

#16 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 12:26 PM

Exactly my point. In italian, it would probably have taken a whole sentence to get the same precision and that also wouldn't have fit on the package.

But italians, being taught unlike germans, that being cool is more important than being precise, would have just called it Starshine or simply Polish. ;)

btw. "Thanks" to american influence after WW2 in Germany, we're today already way less precise, than in my childhood. Hence 'Made in Germany' is today worth about as much as 'Made in USA'. ;)

:cheers:

#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 February 2012 - 01:13 PM

But italians, being taught unlike germans, that being cool is more important than being precise, would have just called it Starshine or simply Polish. ;)

Actually we are much further than that, :smiling9: we elevated non-sense to a communication (advertising) language, one of the more famous examples being this one (dating back to the 70's)
Spoiler

The text makes no or very little sense, but it was one of the most succesful advertising from Piaggio.

Sardomobiles have tin skies.
Free are those "who Ciao"
"who Ciao" sings the ballad of the rainbow: writes in blue with fresh water, writes in red with roses, writes green with leaves ....
You too know that sardomobiles have four wheels but would like to have just two. Like the Ciao.

Spoiler

Who "Vespa" eats the apples.
Who doesn't "Vespa" does not.

More here:
http://www.elogioall...pubblicita.html

:cheers:
Wonko

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 01:40 PM

What the heck is the first translation? Sounds like google has done it.
What is a 'Sardomobile'?

:cheers:

#19 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 01:56 PM

:lol: 'Sardomobile' was clearly depicted in one of the posters, exactly the picture the word created in my mind.
Sardomobiles = rolling tin can of sardines = little cars :thumbsup:

btw. Looking over the advertisments, i have to say, the ones from the 40ies, 50ies and 60ies would have a good chance to convince me to buy one. Right now!
The later ones convince me rather to not get one. Ever!

What has gone wrong with our societeis, that having fun and a good time is so demonized, that it's not even used in advertisement anymore.

:cheers:

#20 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 February 2012 - 02:36 PM

What the heck is the first translation? Sounds like google has done it.

Actually it is a hand-made, believe me, very accurate translation, it is not the translation that makes no sense, it is the original!

:cheers:
Wonko

#21 cdob

cdob

    Silver Member

  • Expert
  • 976 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 04:30 PM

If TRIM still functions using Win7PE_SE

Booted Win7_SE

X:\>fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify
DisableDeleteNotify = 0

http://technet.micro...5(v=ws.10).aspx
http://blogs.msdn.co...nd.aspx#9594848

Delete notify is related to the driver. TRIM works with a proper active driver (e.g. msahci.sys).

I'm still using XP and would like to add an SSD to my machine.

How do you intent to use Win7PE_SE to clean the SSD?
A simple boot won't clean SSD.

Use a XP friendly SSD: medium garbage collection and a windows service tool: Intel or Samsung.


Remember, the weakest link determines the strength of a chain, not the strongest!

Well, this depends on hardware and usage.
If you deal with a lot of small files, the weakest link is access time.
If you deal with big files, access time is less importand.
PE building: wait for actuator arm of hard disk.
A SSD is a major change as for access time.

So a SSD for a 5 - or more year old computer, is a waste of money, imo.

I'm using a Samsung 470 at a machine from 2005 running XP.
A SSD is worth the money, imo.

#22 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,288 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 February 2012 - 05:25 PM

Totally agree with the above comments. Trim is something that is used in the background to basically refresh the deleted areas so that the performance will be more consistent (and better). But running a cleanup utility is also OK, and what was done before the newer drivers implemented Trim...

Do your homeowrk on the various HW sites, and you should find the tools you need.

Scott
:cheers:

#23 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 February 2012 - 08:11 PM

Trim is something that is used in the background to basically refresh the deleted areas so that the performance will be more consistent (and better). But running a cleanup utility is also OK, and what was done before the newer drivers implemented Trim...

Just for the record ( and should it be needed) a resource about what Trim actually does and why (still IMHO a very good reference to understand the feature):
http://reboot.pro/9615/
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2738
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2738/10

:cheers:
Wonko

#24 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:03 AM

BTW, and OT ;), what is the German translation of "trim"? :dubbio:

German language has the word "Trim":
In the example due to grammatical rules the character 'm' is doubled and the word gets the necessary extention.

Ich lasse jetzt meinen Pudel trimmen.

Means: I'm going to let remove everything unnecessary or disturbing (in this case of hair) of my poodle.

You can also

Ein Fahrzeug, z.B. ein Flugzeug trimmen


Means: Do that "Trim" with a vehicle, e.g. a plane.

An aircraft is considered to be trimmed if the retention of its attitude in a given situation, no aerodynamic control forces the pilot to be spent.


Peter :smart:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users