Jump to content











Photo

Hirens boot 15.1USB troubles


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 05:12 PM

http://www.hiren.inf...tcd-on-usb-disk

Hi! i try to get HBCD 15.1 working but i can't. I follow this link (see up) and When i try in QEMU everything work but when i restart PC and boot from USB i Ged this screen "!! problem with drivers.7z!!". I try with ISO 15.1 HBCD and the same thing is there

Posted Image

Sory if thread allready have, Than please Move topic :) Thnx in advanced

#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 05:16 PM

Are you booting from a system that has good RAM (memory)?

#3 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 05:22 PM

no. It's 2x4gb Gskill (F3-10666CL9-4GBRL)

But on the same stick i Have Ubuntu x32-x64, UBCD and everything works fine. On the Second stick i have xp and w7 and works fine. Only HBCD getting trouble. I try and ophcrackxp and booting without problems.

Edited by borism25, 18 January 2012 - 05:23 PM.


#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:37 PM

My question was are you booting from a SYSTEM that has good RAM. i.e. is the memory in the SYSTEM OK - have you tested it with a memory test program.
As QEMU boots OK, the USB stick must be OK. So the problem must be with the system you are booting it from.

#5 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

I have some laptop to fix, and i put the stick just to see if it will work with this Config.

Title HBCD 15.1
find --set-root /HBCD/menu.lst
configfile /HBCD/menu.lst

And suprise everything works...now i go to test the Memory on my system.

Edited by borism25, 18 January 2012 - 07:05 PM.


#6 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 08:30 PM

I test memory with MemTest...Everything is good. I try to put only one 4gb mem, than try another. And every time i get the same fu*king error. A put on the shitty laptop and everything is work.

Please give me some advice i don't know what next to do. I try a lot of things but nothing

#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 08:33 PM

Number 5 - need more input!
Try all menu options on HBCD - which ones give an error and does the error message vary much?
Try changing BIOS options - e.g. disable all CPU options, check for memory holes, etc.

#8 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:31 PM

I find what the problem is i have the z68 Pro3 asrock MBO and i5 2500k. And the 2500K have HD3000 and use a memory. First options what was i disable is C1E and IGD. And than has been Work. After that it was very easy to find the problem :)

Just one more question. I have Hirens 15.1 Restored in .ISO ... but when start loading it's 2.7gb image, how to "break" that image. e.g. Ubuntu x64 is about 700mb but when loading i see that only 13mb or 27mb loading and it's really fast. how to get that speed on this iso image :)

Edited by borism25, 18 January 2012 - 09:34 PM.


#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:41 PM

How are you loading the ISO? Do you have menu.lst?
15.1 cannot really be booted from pure iso - you need to extract the HBCD folder, so you might as well boot HBCD from a flat file - see my web site - http://www.rmprepusb.../tutorials/hbcd

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:44 PM

I find what the problem is i have the z68 Pro3 asrock MBO and i5 2500k. And the 2500K have HD3000 and use a memory. First options what was i disable is C1E and IGD. And than has been Work. After that it was very easy to find the problem :)

Which one was the problem?

#11 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:01 PM

the problem was IGD



title HBCDR.iso

find --set-root /HBCDR.iso

map /HBCDR.iso (0xff) || map --mem /HBCDR.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)



title HBCD.iso

find --set-root /HBCD.iso

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /HBCD.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)



title Linux (Ubuntu x32)

find --set-root /linux_menu_x32.lst

configfile /linux_menu_x32.lst



title Linux (Ubuntu x64)

find --set-root /linux_menu_x64.lst

configfile /linux_menu_x64.lst



title UBCD

find --set-root /UBCD.iso

map /UBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /UBCD.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


i read HBCD from the ISO. in Qemu does't work but in the bios works fine (i will post video)
Posted Image
Do you know how the big ISO images "break" in sectors or something what will be faster.

EDIT: http://speedy.sh/pG4...O-compresed.avi

this is video download link it's low rez and my brother was burping :D

Edited by borism25, 18 January 2012 - 10:20 PM.


#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:24 PM

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /HBCD.iso (0xff)

This line means 'try to map the iso file directly - if that doesn't work, then load it all into memory.
The usual reason that it fails to directly map it, is that the iso file is not contiguous.
You can try WinContig and use Add - Object - (your iso file) and defrag the file. This is usually very slow and needs a lot of spare room on the USB drive.
The other way is to copy all the files from USB to the hard disk, reformat the USB, re-add grub4dos, then copy all the files back again.

When you boot to HBCD, do you get all the Desktop items as in my screenshot on my website, or do you just get a few? To get all the utilities, you need to add the HBCD folder to the USB drive.

#13 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:32 PM

yes in mini xp i only get My computer, networkplaces, Command Propmt, Install all Hardware...But if you need the rest of the HBCD you can mount iso image in mini xp in a 5sec...

I use WinContig but it's so slow.Thnx for the info :)

#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:36 PM

How do you mount the ISO in HBCD XP - does it have ImDisk already installed???

#15 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:42 PM

click 2 times on ISO and press OK. And that's is it :) and again you have everything. But you save 500mb (HBCD) -800mb(HBCD Restored)

#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 January 2012 - 12:03 AM

Nice! Thanks.

#17 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member


  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 January 2012 - 05:35 AM

click 2 times on ISO and press OK. And that's is it :) and again you have everything. But you save 500mb (HBCD) -800mb(HBCD Restored)

Does the mini XP in Hiren 15.1 have some kind of ISO-aware software/driver integrated in it?

#18 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:03 PM

Does the mini XP in Hiren 15.1 have some kind of ISO-aware software/driver integrated in it?

It has ImDisk already integrated, so when you click on an ISO it launches ImDisk and allows you to attach it to a drive letter.
This allows you to run HBCDMenu from within the iso. However, if there is no HBCD folder lots of things are not installed by default (e.g. Network Setup!).
I have not managed to find what HBCD runs at startup to include all the extra Desktop icons and network stacks, etc.
If the HBCD folder is not present at startup, I can't seem to get networking to work - any ideas?

#19 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member


  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 January 2012 - 01:06 PM

It has ImDisk already integrated, so when you click on an ISO it launches ImDisk and allows you to attach it to a drive letter.

That's it.

#20 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 19 January 2012 - 09:08 PM

i load 15.1 Restored HBCD...it have W_XP and W_7..when i load w7 i get network and some other files. but than i don't have something other...The bast way it's Folder with HBCD and that is't :D you get everything without any troubles :D

#21 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:32 PM

Maybe this will be helpfull for someone. Today i playing with UBCD and after 4h i can't run parted magic, than i just place the orginal name and "ta daaaa" working like a charm. Then i do the same with HBCD, and know from iso file i can get everything in the XP

title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


#22 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:34 PM

Maybe this will be helpfull for someone. Today i playing with UBCD and after 4h i can't run parted magic, than i just place the orginal name and "ta daaaa" working like a charm. Then i do the same with HBCD, and know from iso file i can get everything in the XP

title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)

So you have no /HBCD folder anywhere ??? Are you sure???

#23 borism25

borism25

    Newbie


  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Croatia

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:53 PM

If you use this for booting hirens, everything bring up but:

title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


if you boot with this setings, then doesn't :

title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)

EDIT: only i need to figure out how to not read all 500mb iso file. 1. Code need to read all 500mb, but 2. code run hirens in a few seconds

Edited by borism25, 03 February 2012 - 06:59 PM.


#24 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member


  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:32 PM

If the HBCD folder is not present at startup, I can't seem to get networking to work - any ideas?


@steve6375, mount the XP.wim with DISM or Imagex and go to the mount folder and look in I386 and then system32 and find the file prep. Open it with notepad ++ or what ever and that should give you your answers. Aslo I changed ram requirements in the I386/system32/RestartShell.cmd. Not sure if this helps but that's where everything from MiniXP commands are started from, the prep file.


15.1 cannot really be booted from pure iso - you need to extract the HBCD folder, so you might as well boot HBCD from a flat file - see my web site -


Also if this is done the flat file way on ntfs, you have to choose ntfs support in the Auto driver menu that pops up and ntfs uses allot of dos ram so some programs may not work. If this is done from fat32 USB stick...Hiren's works fine with the flat file method. I agree much better than trying to load from ISO from USB but keep in mind not all dos programs will function if the USB is ntfs but MiniXP works fine either way

#25 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member




  • Amount:

    Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:38 PM

If you use this for booting hirens, everything bring up but:


title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /HBCD.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


if you boot with this setings, then doesn't :

title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso

find --set-root /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso

map /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff) || map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)

EDIT: only i need to figure out how to not read all 500mb iso file. 1. Code need to read all 500mb, but 2. code run hirens in a few seconds

Ahhh - OK, so what you are saying is that map --mem /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff) works but map /Hirens.BootCD.15.1.iso (0xff) does not. That makes more sense!
So it does not matter what you call the ISO at all, it just matters whether you use --mem or not.
If you use --mem with the HBCD.iso that will work too (but load slowly).


title Hirens BootCD 15.1.iso
find
--set-root /HBCD.iso
map --mem /HBCD.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root
(0xff)
chainloader (0xff)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users