Jump to content











Photo

Remote App for xp, vista, 7,etc...

remote app network app

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Taylor Suchan

Taylor Suchan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 December 2011 - 09:43 AM

Greetings, ive played around a good deal with remote app on 2008 server TS but here are links to some tutorials for setting up remote app on a non server host, I have tested this with various applications with excellent results...


http://blog.stealthp...missing-pieces/


link to tool for making remote app rdp's
https://sites.google...t/remoteapptool

ive tested this with a windows 7 host running in virtualbox on various clients including Win7 PE, Win 8 dev prev, xpsp3...

please read the tutorials, they are not mine so Im not sure i could answer any trouble shooting questions.

good luck.

#2 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 25 December 2011 - 02:59 PM

Can you please provide a bit more elaborate information on the topic since, like me, it can be new to some other members?

#3 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 25 December 2011 - 03:25 PM

Also interesting to understand the usage scenarios. Are you talking about running a Win7 app inside VirtualBox, and making it accessible to run from a host WinXP PC or other PCs on a local network?

What are the advantages of running Remote Apps in Win7 compare to Desktop Sharing?

#4 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 25 December 2011 - 03:30 PM

What are the advantages of running Remote Apps in Win7 compare to Desktop Sharing?

Till now what my understanding is, RemoteApp works on Windows Remote Desktop (mstsc) & enables clients to access specific application running on the server. This way server can selectively publish/deploy applications to be accessible from outside instead of entire session as in Desktop Sharing. Also only the window area of the shared application gets published, thus minimizing the bandwidth requirement for additional GUI.

#5 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 25 December 2011 - 03:38 PM

Thanks!

BUT... Windows Desktop Sharing API also allows Application Sharing ONLY. :dubbio: It would be interesting to test this staff a bit more to figure out the difference. :)

#6 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 25 December 2011 - 03:41 PM

BUT... Windows Desktop Sharing API also allows Application Sharing ONLY. :dubbio: It would be interesting to test this staff a bit more to figure out the difference.

RemoteApp might use them, because

What You’ll Need

First up there is a set of minimum components that will need to be in place:

Some links follow:

#7 Taylor Suchan

Taylor Suchan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 December 2011 - 08:30 PM

Here is a good article explaining Remote App a bit more completely...
http://itexpertvoice...p-applications/

#8 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 25 December 2011 - 09:07 PM

Is it possible for several remote users to access the same RemoteApp simultaneously? Would it require running several instances of such app in parallel? Should the app support running several instances of it in parallel in this case?

#9 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1,109 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 26 December 2011 - 10:58 AM

Is it possible for several remote users to access the same RemoteApp simultaneously? Would it require running several instances of such app in parallel? Should the app support running several instances of it in parallel in this case?


with windows 2008 and the proper licensing mode (admininstrator-2 connections / application-multiple connections), remoteapp, just like citrix, will run multiple session (one per user) in parallel thus lanching several times the same executable in parallel.
now, with the "hack" (not sure i can call it like that) described here : http://blog.stealthp...missing-pieces/, i could not tell (yet).

/erwan

#10 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 26 December 2011 - 03:07 PM

Thanks erwan.I,

I'm more interested in Win7 & 8 implementation of this feature, rather than XP & Vista. It sounds like offering very practical approach to avoid app duplication and unneeded spending of service time. Where did you read about the need for special licensing to allow multiple RemoteApp connections? Is such licensing restricted to Server side only, or also workstation?

#11 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1,109 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 26 December 2011 - 03:51 PM

Thanks erwan.I,

I'm more interested in Win7 & 8 implementation of this feature, rather than XP & Vista. It sounds like offering very practical approach to avoid app duplication and unneeded spending of service time. Where did you read about the need for special licensing to allow multiple RemoteApp connections? Is such licensing restricted to Server side only, or also workstation?


I can talk only for the server side (i am managing servers at my work place).
I have implemented many ms terminal servers (with or without citrix on top of it) at work, from windows 2000 to windows 2008. (it does make me look old :( ).

By default a windows server will be setup with 'admin mode' allowing 2 concurrent sessions. This mode is usually meant for IT guys doing remote administrations.

If you wish to publish desktops for remote users, or to publish apps (with citrix or with windows 2008 remote app), you need to enable the "application mode" and to inject terminal services cals (thru a ms terminal licence server).
Once the "application mode" is turned on you have 90 days to inject your licences.

I might be wrong but I believe you cannot enable the "application mode" on a workstation, unless you perform some kind of hack which this article is about (http://blog.stealthp...missing-pieces/).
Any workstation can be a TS client and starting with XP SP3, can also be a remoteapp client.

Hope this was not too confusing and that I got it right :)

/Erwan

#12 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 26 December 2011 - 04:28 PM

with windows 2008 and the proper licensing mode (admininstrator-2 connections / application-multiple connections), remoteapp, just like citrix, will run multiple session (one per user) in parallel thus lanching several times the same executable in parallel.

In my office, they use Citrix RAD application to offer remote desktops from Virtual Machines.

#13 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,427 posts
  • Location:Chennai, India
  •  
    India

Posted 26 December 2011 - 04:30 PM

I can talk only for the server side (i am managing servers at my work place).
I have implemented many ms terminal servers (with or without citrix on top of it) at work, from windows 2000 to windows 2008. (it does make me look old :( ).

I have little idea about this. Can you please point to some link where I can find some more info about MS terminal server setup?

#14 grrrd

grrrd

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:21 PM

Sorry to bring this topic back from the dead, but i have been using RemoteAPP a fair bit to deliver a Network Hungry Application, to a Wireless device (Wifi) so the network hungry application didn't have to survive on the Wireless connection.

Any way i am getting some great results with this but recently i am getting more and more issues with the installation of the Windows XP SP3 patch to enable it. When installing the Patch and accepting the EULA i get an error message saying that it could not find the reigstry entry and the Setup has failed.

Has anyone come in contact with this error?

At first i assumed that it was due to the fact the machine was running PCAW (Version 10!!) to which i have now uninstalled, but still i get this errror and a ' this machine is not able to accept a RemoteAPP connection' error when trying to conenct to it.

Any ideas / Pointers?


Many thanks all!