Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Help!!


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#51 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2011 - 02:52 PM

You should not ignore all recommendations.


I haven't. My point is that there is no complicated scripts that need to be run or anything difficult that need to be modded. The bcd doesn't need to be modded. I am seeing all these post on how to INSTALL 7 or 8 from USB Hard Drive using friadisk and having to hit f10 and load cmds to point the path of the wim. I didn't make the INSTALL part known. This info is not to make a dual booted OS but to install Vista, Wn7 and Win8 from USB Hard Drive and not have to use any type of emulation. :)


You insist on providing partial info, that makes no real sense without my crystal ball working.
WHAT is supposed to be your post?:


I was replying with pics to your comment. You said mbr is not written to a partition but the whole disc and I was showing you could write boot info to partitions :)





The MBR is NOT on the partition, it's on the DISK


but as I have shown you, you can write boot records to partitions.

My point is Simple. Partition 1 (and all of this works flawlessly) has Grub4dos installed with BOOTICE. Partition 2 has the nt60 bootmgr record installed with BOOTICE. Partition 3 has the nt60 bootmgr record installed with BOOTICE. Partition 4 has the nt60 bootmgr record installed with BOOTICE. I copy all my source files from Vista to pt2, Win7 to pt3, and Win8 to pt4. Put this in my menu list


title 02. Windows Vista SP2 Setup.nOctober 2011

password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.

find --set-root /Vista.tag

chainloader /bootmgr

title

root

title 03. Windows 7 SP1 AIO Setup & Vista-Win7 Repair ConsolenNovember 2011. Password Tools, Boot Fix Tools and More

password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.

find --set-root /Win7.tag

chainloader /bootmgr

title

root

title 04. Windows 8 Beta SetupnTesting Only

password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.

find --set-root /Win8.tag

chainloader /bootmgr

title

root

Restart my computer and grub4dos boots my USB and there is my menu. I scroll down to Windows 7 AIO and the loading is off with no problems. I sorry I didn't make the "installing from USB Drive" clear. You can mod the bcd and still get same results but I rather not mod. Takes me 5 mins to partition and another min to assign all the boot info to each partition. It takes me longer to extract each OS from iso to right partition.

My main goal with this thread was that I was getting that stupid fatal error from my 500gig USB Hard Drive and thanks to this forum(128 gig bios limit on USB devices), I solved that issue. Kinda got off track with this. I am thinking of making a detail write up on my method. If you can partition a hard drive, then you can use my method and skip all the friadisk to load Vista, Win7, and Win 8 from iso format from a USB Hard Drive.

#52 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14778 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 November 2011 - 03:13 PM

Look, maybe it is a communication problem. :dubbio:
  • The MBR is part of the disk and NOT of any partition/volume.
  • The PBR or VBR is part of the partition/volume.
  • If you chainload - by whatever means - a loader (like with chainloader /bootmgr) the CODE in the PBR is NOT used in ANY way, ONLY the DATA (BPB or Bios Parameter Block) in it is used.
Please note how the last character in the last three above sentences is a dot, or "full stop" or "period".

If you modify the PBR CODE, it is likely that the BCD needs to be updated/re-specialized.

JFYI, I probably started installing boot records to partitions/volumes long before you were born, and the target has always been the bootsector or PBR or VBR and never the MBR. :whistling:

What you posted:

The nt60 mbr still has to be on that partition for that boormgr command to work if not you get that error

Is TWICE wrong :ph34r:, as there is NO MBR on a partition and there is NO need for a "NT60" boot record if you use direct chainloading of the loader.

The lines in RED below:

password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.
find --set-root /Vista.tag
chainloader /bootmgr
title
root

title 03. Windows 7 SP1 AIO Setup & Vista-Win7 Repair ConsolenNovember 2011. Password Tools, Boot Fix Tools and More
password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.
find --set-root /Win7.tag
chainloader /bootmgr
title
root

title 04. Windows 8 Beta SetupnTesting Only
password --md5 $1$A$hzYlFap3SLNNQ/tA7c3.S.
find --set-root /Win8.tag
chainloader /bootmgr
title
root


Make NO sense/do NOTHING useful.
Of course you are perfectly free to use them and as well to have a PBR invoking BOOTMGR, then by-pass it :).

Some people only do their partitioning/formatting on fridays when the moon is full (in months without an R) this is also part of freedom. :thumbup:

You could ask yourself:

But ... then, why?

and then, my friend, you could find the answer in my signature ;).

:cheers:
Wonko

#53 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2011 - 04:20 PM

Make NO sense/do NOTHING useful

.
The

title

root

puts spaces between my menus choices

Is TWICE wrong ../public/style_emoticons/default/scared9.gif, as there is NO MBR on a partition and there is NO need for a "NT60" boot record if you use direct chainloading of the loader.


If I chainload bootmgr from a partition without that nt60 on it I get this error


File: BOOTBCD
Status: 0xc000000d
Info: An error occurred while attempting to read the boot configuration data


but if I apply the nt60 boot record to the same partition, the OS loads fine. Matter of fact I am loading Vista behind me now. My point is for me, this is the simplest way with out modded scripts and so on



example what the menu list looks like without the
title
root

XP SETPUP
WIN7 SETUP

example with
title
root

XP SETUP

WIN7SETUP

Look, maybe it is a communication problem.


Your right. This is why I never reply much on a forum because of the communication break down. If you were standing right here in my shop, you would see what I am doing makes since. Is there another way to do this...sure! This works for me and its much...much simple than trying to boot OS from a ISO through grub4dos and friadisk.

If I use this command in syslinux with no nt60 on the partition, the OS install works fine


MENU LABEL BOOTMGR

		COM32 /boot/syslinux/chain.c32

		APPEND fs ntldr=/BOOTMGR



JFYI, I probably started installing boot records to partitions/volumes long before you were born, and the target has always been the bootsector or PBR or VBR and never the MBR. ../public/style_emoticons/default/happy22.gif


Your older than 37? :)

Also if you could just copy all the source file from lets say Window 7 disc straight to USB Hard Drive and chainload /bootmgr, then there wouldn't be all the write ups on how to install Windows 7 from USB Hard Drive with firadisk emulation. ;)

#54 NetFanTom

NetFanTom

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 117 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 November 2011 - 04:36 PM

My point is that there is no complicated scripts that need to be run or anything difficult that need to be modded.

... but Bootice is much more complicated and you use it.

The only thing to do is to copy the AddGrub2BCD.cmd to an empty \boot directory
and start addgrub2bcd.cmd.
As a result you get a BCD file that may call grldr.mbr and then grldr (Grub MBR and Grub Bootsektor as Files).
You should ensure that a natural boot sequence is maintained.
Original Windows MBR and original Windows boot sector. :D

#55 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2011 - 04:46 PM

but Bootice is much more complicated and you use it.


Sorry, NetFanTom wasn't talking about your script. Meant the scripts I see in the friadisk folder for loading Win7 from ISO from Grub4Dos.

I thought BOOTICE was rather simple. I am using your script by the way on a test USB Drive. :)

#56 NetFanTom

NetFanTom

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 117 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 November 2011 - 04:52 PM

If I chainload bootmgr from a partition without that nt60 on it I get this error

If you chainload the bootmgr file, then the sequence is:
1. Grub4Dos from Bootsector or MBR
2. bootmgr
3. \boot\BCD (menu) ...

You did not use the nt60 bootsector first.

Change the sequence:
1. MBR
2. nt60 bootsector
3. \boot\BCD (menu)
4. grldr.mbr
5. grldr
6. menu.lst ...

I'm sure the error message does not appear.

#57 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14778 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 November 2011 - 06:01 PM

If you want a menu separator, wouldn't this be more understandable? :unsure:

title
menu separator (you won't see this when booting)


The object of having different ways to do something is "having different ways" ;), you choose the one you like the most and you are happy. :)

Using firadisk or winvblock virtual disk drivers (NO "emulation" of any kind involved) to boot a NT based system from a HD image, is another approach, that has it's advantages and it's drawbacks when compared to other methods.

:cheers:
Wonko

#58 laddanator

laddanator

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Writing code and getting stuff to work when no one else can! Wrote a Windows Vista, 7, and 8 legal activation tool in VBscript and compiled it to exe. First project of this undertaking. Working on an AIO legal activation tool that includes XP.
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2011 - 07:47 PM

title
menu separator (you won't see this when booting)


I been using the

title
root

things for two years. It has always worked so I never did look into a different command. I do like your command and the way it looks better. I will give that a try. I am not that hard to get along with! :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users