Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Source CD / ImageX issues


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 November 2011 - 04:27 PM

When building with multiPE project from Win7 Ultimate SP1, there are several glitches in the PE.
  • Compmgmt.msc reports "wrong version" and "reinstall"
  • IE8 does not start.
Build from Win7 Enterprise SP1 works ok.

My question: Is this an issue of Ultimate SP1 generally (maybe with the choosen image index 5 = Ultimate), or is it an issue of my Ultimate SP1 copy?

Please report your experience with Ultimate SP1 in different projects.

Peter

#2 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 November 2011 - 04:51 PM

I am using SP1 and the Ultimate index on x64 now, but used x86 in the past on the Win7PE_SE project, and I didn't have any issues with IE8 or with computer management...I can try MultiPE (it was on my list to try anyway :-)

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 November 2011 - 04:55 PM

I can try MultiPE (it was on my list to try anyway :-)

Wait a bit. New version is appearing soon ...

Peter

#4 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 November 2011 - 05:08 PM

Too late :-) But no big deal...I did get a halt with a section not found (looked like it was pointing at a "V:" drive on first run...second run told me I was changing Source and to check setting, and third is building now...I have fast processor and plenty of disk space, so I don't mind testing it out!

#5 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 02 November 2011 - 05:15 PM

project: Win7PE_SE (v.24)
source: win7 ultimate SP1 32bit german
winbuilder: 082
ie8-script v9 from the win7pe_se project

IE8 starts just fine, compmgmt.msc also ...

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 November 2011 - 05:18 PM

Looks like I have to recycle my ultimate sp1 CD ...

Peter

#7 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 November 2011 - 05:23 PM

Didn't try IE8, but basic computer management seemed to work just fine. Project time: 6 minutes, 57 seconds and 345 milliseconds, but I have to say that boot in Qemu seemed slower than I am used to (in VBox)...I'm sure some of it is basics on use of loader, etc...But overall - Nice Build!

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 November 2011 - 02:55 PM

There are new experiences (Therefore I also changed the topic's title).

The glitch is not caused by the source CD. It seems to be caused by mounting with ImageX.
When I mount Win7 Enterprise SP1, in the PE there is the same glitch like with Ultimate SP1.
When I use extracted WIMs, in both cases everything is working well.

I use ImageX 6.0.6001.18000. It works very fast, about 10 seconds for mounting install.wim and boot.wim.

Maybe during mount it forgots something ...

@all: can you try to reproduce, or give a better result with different ImageX versions?

Check compmgmt.msc in the PE.

Peter

#9 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 03:31 PM

Peter,

This is most likely the "infamous" SP1 vs. original issue...there are issues in the WIM's such that for an SP1 version of windows 7, you need to use the windows 7 version of the tools, not the vista version. This is why there is all the "fuss" about using extracted files...The older version doesn't work right with the WIMs of the SP1 releases. Yes, the older versions of the tools "mount" much faster! the new versions create all sorts of actual disk "links" (for lack of a more proper term) into the WIM, and take a long time to mount the files.

I use the one from the SP1 update of the windows 7 WAIK (6.1.7600.16385) I think there are some other posts here in the forum - I know this was discussed when SP1 first came out...

In general, best to use newest version of the tools, since there are often things like this where the new tool works on older data, but not the other way around.

Glad we (hopefully) got to the bottom of this for you

:cheers:
Scott

#10 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1030 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 03:45 PM

agree with scott, most likley the SP1 issue. M$ can;t ever leave something alone that works. :angry7:

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 November 2011 - 03:48 PM

Thanks Scott and homes32!

For Win7 SP1 sources I remove ImageX from the tools list. I'll use only WimCaptEx.exe (Program I wrote, which can work without WAIK).
BTW: In the German magazin C't the latest WinBuilder based Rescue CD (published by pecd.net) uses WimCaptEx exclusivelly. :clap:

#12 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1030 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:41 PM

also remember that you need wimgapi.dll 6.1.x or higher! 6.0.x will cause you the same issues!
  • pscEx likes this

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 November 2011 - 05:12 PM

Thanks!

I'll try the possible combinations, and when necessary, do not mount, only extract SP1.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users