Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

CD/DVD Drivers DOS


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 02:03 PM

Hi

I have a job coming up on an old XP laptop with no USB booting on it.
I have been busy preparing a Bootable DVD for it which autoloads my updated universal ghost image of XP (as per shirin's guide).
I have successfully booted the ISO in VMWARE however on my test machine the CD/DVD drive is not detected & fails.
I'd really like to test it on a physical system before taking it to a project.
I have added as many "generic" cd drivers to the floppy image but still nothing can find it.
Given that I am adding this to my collection of useful USB / CD's I want to make the DVD as compatible with as many CD/DVD rom's as possible.
Can some one point me in the right direction.....

here is my config sys so far, are there other drivers to try? Perhaps a better method altogether?

These are the ones I found so far.....

config.sys

DEVICE=himem.sys /testmem:off /v
DEVICE=oakcdrom.sys /D:cd0
DEVICE=BTCDROM.SYS /D:cd0
DEVICE=ASPICD.SYS /D:cd0
devicehigh=gscdrom.sys /D:cd0
LASTDRIVE = Z

autoexec

LH \MSCDEX.EXE /D:cd0 /L:X
pause
ghost.bat

thanks team!

#2 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 23 October 2011 - 02:24 PM

I have never heared of any computer, which needed special drivers, to find the CD-ROM drive in DOS.

Are you sure, the drive isn't a scsi one or broken?

:cheers:

#3 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 02:53 PM

I have never heared of any computer, which needed special drivers, to find the CD-ROM drive in DOS.

Are you sure, the drive isn't a scsi one or broken? LOL

:cheers:



Not broken and not scsci just a bog standard laptop cd/dvd drive

#4 RoyM

RoyM

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 415 posts
  • Interests:"Booting and Owning".
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2011 - 04:24 PM

Perhaps manufacturer specific driver

Post hardware details, maybe someone will recognize.

#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 October 2011 - 05:35 PM

If you use the CD as "boot disc", the BIOS can (obviously) provide a driver for it.
I.e. the El-Torito emulation image on the CD is booted by BIOS services allright, and NO driver is used for it.
So the solution is simply to forget the "rest of the CD" and use ONLY the El-Torito floppy emulation part.
Until a very short time ago, everyone was convinced that you could have at the most a 2.88 Mb image.
Recently it has been found that a much larger image can be used, up to around 35 Mb, in bytes 37,748,736.
Since the dawn of time it has been possible to have DOS+GHOST in 2.88 Mb, but if you need more space, see here:
http://www.msfn.org/...oppy-emulation/

But of course this won't be useful in your case :( if not as a "kicker" to use the USB.


:cheers:
Wonko

#6 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 05:48 PM

Sounds interesting but not sure how to adapt with the dvd creation. i already have 5mb floppy image with ghost in. and the bootable info in the dvd is a renamed grld r and used imgburn to compile the iso. where do put el torito?

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 October 2011 - 05:58 PM

Sounds interesting but not sure how to adapt with the dvd creation. i already have 5mb floppy image with ghost in. and the bootable info in the dvd is a renamed grld r and used imgburn to compile the iso. where do put el torito?

Read the given thread.

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 06:18 PM

Read the thread and its pretty complicated i get the idea some one got 23gb image to boot off a bli ray disc but how? 3 gb would do me lol thanks

#9 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 23 October 2011 - 08:17 PM

Hello,

forgive my ignorance here, as I'm really not sure the different methods this thing can be booted.

However, I remember way back in the beginning of 2010, I got this thing to boot from a dvd and autorestore. I also wanted to create a sort of universal cd thing where, no matter which laptop/desktop I put this thing in to it must boot. And so I searched with google and so here's my config.sys and abit of my autoexec.bat where I've added few things:
but first:
config.sys relating to the cd rom devices:
device=gcdrom.sys /d:Cd0 /C0
device=gcdrom.sys /d:Cd1 /C1
device=gcdrom.sys /d:Cd2 /C2
device=gcdrom.sys /d:Cd3 /C3
device=gcdrom.sys /d:Cd4 /C4
device=SSCDROM.SYS /D:cd5
DEVICE=OAKCDROM.SYS /D:cd6
device=aspicd.sys /D:cd7
device=btcdrom.sys /D:cd8
device=aspi2dos.sys
device=aspi8dos.sys
device=aspi4dos.sys
device=aspi8u2.sys
device=qcdrom.sys /d:Cd9
device=sbide.sys /D:cd10
device=vide-cdd.sys /D:cd11
device=xcdrom.sys /D:cd12
device=1394cd.sys /D:cd13
device=t3x5aspi.sys /D:cd14
device=CDROM.sys /D:cd15
and abit of autoexec.bat, relating to cd rom,:
LH MSCDEX.EXE /D:cd0 /D:cd1 /D:cd2 /D:cd3 /D:cd4 /D:cd5 /D:cd6 /D:cd7 /D:cd8 /D:cd9 /D:cd10 /D:cd11 /D:cd12 /D:cd13 /D:cd14 /D:cd15

Again, can't help too much with this as from that time, I've not come back to this project till today.
But I hope the above helps you in someway.

:cheers:

#10 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 08:43 PM

nice thanks! Dont suppose you've got those files at hand would save me an age hunting them down?
Also my ghost script is set to run from X:. In the above.. how does a drive letter get assigned to the driver that finds the drive etc?
so lets say device=xcdrom.sys /D:cd12 picks up the device......in the MSCDEX section ho could I apply "/L:X" to /D:cd12
:cheerleader:

#11 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 23 October 2011 - 09:49 PM

Hello,

I'll post the files later tomorrow, as it is on another hdd, not currently with me.
:(
sorry about that.

as for your other question:
I can only assume with the batch file that /l: would be the drive that is assigned the CDRom. so maybe if you changed it to /x:%CDROM%
because, if I remember correctly, I didn't assign any letter in the file to run the ghost followed by the commands to restore the image.

If I were you, I wouldn't assign it specificly to /d:cd12 because:
assuming from what I can make out of the batch file is no matter what cd it is, be it /d:cd1 2 3 ... if it finds the driver it will assign it to assume l:
appoligies for not giving clear exact help here,
but the way I've tried to make sense of it, is currently working,
and although I only tested this out on a few desktops/laptops (including cd/dvdroms with sata) it all seems to work ok.

But I'll post the files tomorrow and we'll see what can happen here.
:)

:cheers:

#12 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2011 - 10:30 PM

Thanks alot. ;-)

#13 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 24 October 2011 - 06:07 AM

Hello,

Here you go:
http://www.datafileh...d-c15db5d2.html

:cheers:

#14 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 October 2011 - 08:06 AM

Read the thread and its pretty complicated i get the idea some one got 23gb image to boot off a bli ray disc but how? 3 gb would do me lol thanks

No, you might have "skimmed through it", but you didn't actually read it.
I should have said, read the thread, take some time understanding it's contents and repeat the experiemnts suggested.
In that thread there are:
  • info on how to make the biggest possible El-torito emulation bootable floppy image
  • an actual pre-made empty image
  • a small batch to re-create it
  • TWO different methods to create a .iso from that floppy image

Now, you are not anymore a newbie :thumbsup:, you should be well able to replicate those experiments with the info provided without the need for further spoon feeding, if you really want to. :frusty:

:cheers:
Wonko

#15 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 October 2011 - 09:30 PM

Thanks for the Files therookie will put those to the test!
Wonko, OK you got me, I skimmed....twice.....and wasnt sure what I was looking for. I was for all intents an purposes I was in a hurry as I didnt have long before the task.
I will sit down and have a good bash when I get some more time and maybe condense my findings to the forum in a guide or something.
Have you done it successfully? How did you implement the "trick"? What other things are people doing with that technique?

#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 October 2011 - 07:40 AM

Have you done it successfully?

Of course NOT, you know how I normally send people after things I never tested. :smiling9:

How did you implement the "trick"?

Read the §@ç#ing thread, you lazy :censored: ! :ranting2:

What other things are people doing with that technique?

They are using it to build wind turbines and orthopedic aids for people with reduced sensibility in the upper limbs, and it has also been used succesfully - I am told - in marine biology projects. :whistling:
What the heck do you think you can do with a technique to make larger floppy emulation CD's if NOT CD's with a larger floppy emulated? :w00t: :frusty:

:cheers:
Wonko

#17 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 October 2011 - 08:26 AM

You're insane pal.
I would love to see the look on some ones
face when they asked you "wonko, who is Jesus"?
...and you whumped a Bible in their hands and
shouted "read that you c@@ting motherf@@h"
utterly inappropriate.

#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 October 2011 - 08:37 AM

You're insane pal.
I would love to see the look on some ones
face when they asked you "wonko, who is Jesus"?
...and you whumped a Bible in their hands and
shouted "read that you c@@ting motherf@@h"
utterly inappropriate.

Maybe I would suggest the Gospels, instead..... :whistling:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gospels

Talking of religion, guess why Sloth is one of the seven deadly sins? :dubbio:
http://en.wikipedia....oth_(deadly_sin)

:cheers:
Wonko

#19 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 266 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 26 October 2011 - 10:11 AM

You can load a cdrom driver from DOS, so you could try several different ones or have a batch file that loads the cdrom on demand.

You need to have something like pcdos's dynaload.com or something that loads a device driver from the command prompt.

The command is something like this. [LH] loads the device driver high.


[LH] dynaload.com d:pathcdrom.sys /d:cdrom001 ...

mscdex.exe /d:cdrom001 /l:s


I normally set the drive letter high in cases like this, like r: for ramdrive, and s: for cdrom0. cdrom1 can be t: etc. It's what OS/2 does.

#20 bblaauw

bblaauw

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 105 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 28 October 2011 - 07:30 PM

Usually a bootdisk image will do just fine. Standard size for those is 1.44MB, though other sizes are allowed/possible as well.

Bootable CDs have a few options:
1) use el-torito harddisk emulation with a huge harddisk image file so you won't need to load CD drivers to access most/all content of the CD
2) use el-torito floppy emulation with a bootdisk image. The floppy will need to contain controller-specific drivers for the optical device you're booting from if you not only want access to the standard fake A: drive but also want to access the rest of the CD contents.
Which driver to use, depends on through which hardware you're booting your CD. Booting from USB requires USB drivers, booting from IDE or SATA requires standard IDE drivers (like OAKCDROM.SYS, VIDE-CDD.SYS or freely available UIDE.SYS)
3) use el-torito non-emulation mode. This basically comes down to using GRUB or SYSLINUX as bootloader, followed by loading a disk image into system memory as fake diskette (or harddisk) drive. To gain access to the rest of the latest booted CD (or ISO9660 filesystem) you can use ELTORITO.SYS , no matter which (type of) device you booted your disk from. Loading controller-specific drivers afterwards though might mess things up a bit.

I tend to use a (FreeDOS) bootdisk image with in it:
; this is config.sys
DEVICE=UIDE.SYS /D:FDCD0001

@ECHO OFF
echo Assigning drive X: from autoexec.bat to FDCD0001, might be one or more physical units present!
SHSUCDX /D:FDCD0001 /L:X

slightly more complex though in my case.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users