Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

multiPE

win7pe vistape multiboot pe3 livecd pe2 pe1

  • Please log in to reply
595 replies to this topic

#151 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 November 2011 - 05:18 PM

Hi,

What has changed since yesterday and more recently today?

:cheers:

#152 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 November 2011 - 05:24 PM

  • A syntax error: Set,%IsSP1%,True,,PERMANENT rather than Set,%IsSP1%,True,PERMANENT
  • Building UFD from PE1 RAM image is working now.
(I think that is mentioned in the download page)

Peter

#153 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 November 2011 - 09:49 PM

It is mentioned on the log, my apologies.. :cheers:

I am subscribed to the download topic so that I get a message with new updates, perhaps it wouldn't be a bad idea to ping this topic with an update so that more members are aware of new multiPE versions when available.

Will try the new version. Unfortunately, so far I haven't succeeded in getting the project to work and I guess many other newbies are getting stuck like me.

At the moment the project stops when WimInfo.exe is called and crashes with the following debug information:


Problem signature:

  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

  Application Name: WimInfo.exe

  Application Version: 0.0.0.0

  Application Timestamp: 2a425e19

  Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll

  Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16385

  Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdaae

  Exception Code: 0eedfade

  Exception Offset: 00009617

  OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1

  Locale ID: 1031

  Additional Information 1: 44b8

  Additional Information 2: 44b87fd85b19f3e87387bf8a46a18c19

  Additional Information 3: 607a

  Additional Information 4: 607adae4d62d970a79a3c5e0601f6df8

I am using Windows 7 Ultimate x86 (no SP), with WAIK and using as source a Windows 7 x86 Ultimate.

Will try the new version and report back.

:)

#154 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 08:58 AM

I tried on win7 x86 Home Premium German with Win7 x86 Enterprise German source.

No issue. :wodoo: ??

BTW: In version 14 there was a small glitch: When changing from PE1 track to PE2 or PE3 track, there came the wrong error message that with this track WIM Boot is not possible. :frusty:

Fixed in version 15 :clap:

Peter

#155 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 09:02 AM

I tried on win7 x86 Home Premium German with Win7 x86 Enterprise German source.

Do we need to have the WAIK installed?

If so, the Vista or Win7 version?

These are the details that would be nice to see your project checking and informing users about what is wrong or missing with their configuration.

If we get a project capable of diagnosing what is wrong on the user-side, it is already a serious advance to get a stable and good working project.

:cheers:

#156 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 09:12 AM

The philosopy is "One Click"

The user has to define the source, clicks "Play" and after a while comes into a running emulator.

Introduced in version 11:
Installed WAIK, version, etc., are checked in WimToolsEx, and the optimum configuration is choosen automatically.
If there is no WAIK, multiPE uses WimCaptEx and loads wimgapi.dll from the source CD.

Diagnosis is already introduced in version 2:
Example: When the user changes in WimToolsEx the "Open *.WIM image files using" from "Auto" to "WAIK", but there is no WAIK, SystemCheck reports this and makes an error halt

Peter
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#157 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 12:29 PM

Ok, I am still trying to discover what is wrong. Might have to reinstall Windows from scratch to properly pin down the cause for the project to fail on my host.

Forgot saying, would be nice to add checks for:
- Is there enough byte room to build the project on the host partition
- Is the partition an NTFS one (where the project is hosted and where the source is located)
- Are there spaces on the build path or path length that might compromise the build

These are relevant checks, I would impose them as mandatory to reduce the possible errors felt by users.

#158 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 02:06 PM

:thumbup:

I included an optional check for an interface-defined amount of free bytes.

NTFS check is already in the SystemCheck of version 2. There is also a check whether %BaseDir% is under user profile.

Why the source should also be NTFS?

Spaces do not matter (if they do, there is something wrong in a script).
The idea of path length is good, but can you give me a value? There are some winsxs paths which not even fit into a %basedir%="C:"
We should discus a reasonable length for %BaseDir%.

Peter

#159 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 02:42 PM

Hello,

Why the source should also be NTFS?

If the source is inside a FAT32 partition and you try to mount install.wim, will this work?

----------------

The idea of path length is good, but can you give me a value?


The hard limit for NTFS is set to 255 UTF-16 characters: http://en.wikipedia....TFS#Limitations

I found some additional details:

Maximum Path Length Limitation

In the Windows API (with some exceptions discussed in the following paragraphs), the maximum length for a path is MAX_PATH, which is defined as 260 characters. A local path is structured in the following order: drive letter, colon, backslash, name components separated by backslashes, and a terminating null character. For example, the maximum path on drive D is "D:\some 256-character path string<NUL>" where "<NUL>" represents the invisible terminating null character for the current system codepage. (The characters < > are used here for visual clarity and cannot be part of a valid path string.)

http://msdn.microsof...7(v=vs.85).aspx

I'd say it would be reasonable to limit the %basedir% path to 100 characters, leaving margin for whatever long file names appear during processing.

#160 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 03:54 PM

The longest path I found:

V:multiPEWorkbenchmultiPE_Win7StoredWimsEnE2I1de0617600Windowswinsxsx86_microsoft.security...cyengineapi.interop_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_277482ee76befeb3Microsoft.Security.ApplicationId.PolicyManagement.PolicyEngineApi.Interop.dll

253 characters!

It is not very propable, that especially this file is accessed from the project.
When I looked into a %TargetDir%, the longest path had only 177 characters.
Therfore %basedir% max length of 70 is a good choice. 100 is too much.

But to be safe at all circumstances, the %baseDir% path length must not exceed 12 characters!

Peter

#161 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 04:50 PM

Version 16 online!
check.gif

Peter :clap:

#162 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2011 - 09:14 PM

Congrats on the new version, I've continued my tests tonight.

Issue #1: Incompatible WAIK

While testing Leopard from MaxRealQNX, I noted that he provided the link for the most recent WAIK. I decided to uninstall the old WAIK and try out the new one, this solved the WIM handling.

Users when looking for WAIK on google will inevitably find the old version instead of the newer one since it uses a very un-intuitive designation as "KB3AIK_EN". Your project would benefit by pointing on the documentation that the most recent WAIK is required and provide the download page.

Even better if the project itself is capable of explaining the user that his WAIK is not suitable for handling Windows 7 projects. To make things tough, both the newer and more recent versions use the same install folder.

Would be nice to see this documented, warn users to get the latest WAIK and point them on the right direction.


-------------

Issue #2: WinBuilder restart

The user shouldn't need to restart WinBuilder. The initial scripts should do all the work to configure the project according the source in a way that is invisible to the end-user. I have no idea how you created the multiPE integration and how difficult this request can become, but I mention this to ensure that the "One click" philosophy becomes a strong point on this project.


-------------

Issue #3: Access to the Internet is required

I was testing the project without Internet and it failed to build when trying to download devcon.exe

The error message was not very informative. I know how to read the log but normal users will have no idea of what has gone wrong. A nice project could:
- Warn users on the documentation that Internet access is required
- Check if there is Internet before declaring project failure and quit
- Pause the project processing, allow user connect to the Internet and retry (give options to the end-user)

Otherwise users will have to build things from the start and this is a bother. Sorry if I seem picky. I would really like to see this project become stable and user-friendly.


---------------

Will now try the latest version.

:cheers:

#163 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2011 - 01:33 PM

Thank you for the update and taking into attention my requests.

Will check it during the weekend.

:cheers:

#164 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2011 - 01:43 PM

Issue #1: Incompatible WAIK

When using the 'Auto' options in WimToolsEx, that shold not occur.
auto.gif
But there has been a bug which is fixed.
When you choose the WAIK option, a messagebox "Wrong ImageX" version occurs.

Issue #2: WinBuilder restart

Factory settings is "XP-Source".
When switched to Vista or Win7, a rebuild of the project tree is necessary.
This tree rebuild cannot be done by WinBuilder during process of a project. It can only be done after finishing the process.
Therefore the build must be restarted. A restart of WinBuilder is not necessary. I fixed.

Issue #3: Access to the Internet is required

That was "historical" and contented in one of the very first files by Nightman.
Because there is a "Devcon" script contained in the project, the devcon download is totally unnecessary and redundant. I removed it.

New version 17 downloadable :rofl:

Peter
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#165 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2011 - 02:05 PM

When you choose the WAIK option, a messagebox "Wrong ImageX" version occurs.

Very well.


Factory settings is "XP-Source".

Would it be possible to set the factory setting to Win7? Nowadays this is the most reachable and popular Windows source.


Because there is a "Devcon" script contained in the project, the devcon download is totally unnecessary and redundant. I removed it.

Yes, no need for it.

-------------

Also, how is one supposed to create a USB pendrive?

I tried doing it last night but was amazed with all the back and forth process to configure the target pendisk and then use PE factory to create the pendisk. Normal users will not enjoy this at all. Personally, I like the way how this is provided at the Win7PE_SE project since it is very intuitive and informative. Users feel confident trying out the tool (albeit it has failed to install the grub4dos as intended and the BCD method also didn't worked so well)

----------------------------------------

Last but not least, the presentation of the project could be seriously simplified. If possible, take away from the eyesight whatever is not intended to be tinkered by end-users (using negative values on the script level number) or move inside subfolders to keep the root of the project simple to follow.

Here is a sketch:
sketch1.png

For example:
- RAM target script move to Core folder
- Components move to Core folder
- Core apps move inside Apps
- Library move to PEFactory
- Tools move to PEFactory
- PEFactory renamed to "Finish"

These changes contribute seriously to make the project easier to understand from a user perspective.

Also, PEfactory is not an intuitive designation and that is the reason why I mention "Finish". This should clearly be defined as the finish steps where some further customization can be found. The "PEfactory" script itself could also use a rename to "Output" or similar name that indicates what it is about. For example, I had to struggle for some time to find out where/how I could create the USB drive from this project. Would never imagine that option to be located inside that script.

These two steps increase the user awareness to what they are intended to do.

:cheers:

#166 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2011 - 03:09 PM

Sorry!

In the latest upload there was a hardcoded local path left:

In script.project:

%ImageIndexScript%=V:multiPE ...

Please replace by
%ImageIndexScript%=%ProjectDir%2-ImageIndex.script

A new upload is running.

Peter

@Nuno: I'm working on making the tree simpler. But sometimes also the WinBuilder rules of process order prohibit something. ...

#167 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 11 November 2011 - 08:57 PM

I got an error

Posted Image

what I have done:
- download latest version of multiPE
- selected my source (win7 ultimate SP1 32bit)
- in Tweaks->wallpaper script I selected no wallpaper and background color black
- clicked on next script
=> access violation
I reproduced that fault now 3 times

here is the log
http://www.fileden.c...uilder/log21.7z

edit..:: just another fault
http://www.fileden.c...uilder/log22.7z

#168 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 November 2011 - 10:48 AM

I cannot reproduce this. But I think it is a WinBuilder issue rather than a multiPE project issue.

Can you make a post in the WinBuilder Bug Trecker, too?

Peter

#169 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 November 2011 - 11:27 AM

in win7pe_se this fault never happened therefore I posted it here
this access violation only occurs if you have a new project with a fresh download. This fault only occurs once in a project, after first "use" that fault never happens again, so you have to do a fresh project download (probably in a new directory as I did)

#170 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 November 2011 - 11:32 AM

After a fresh download you do not see the wallpaper script.

After defining the source, How do you switch to the Win7 track.
  • "Play"
  • execute Tools > WBManager > restore FactorySetting_Win7
  • execute Tools > WBManager > switch to multiPE_Win7?
Peter

#171 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 November 2011 - 11:36 AM

first one: hit the play button ... a message box appears with the info that source has changed and then I have the win7 track

#172 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 November 2011 - 11:41 AM

OK, I'll try

Peter

#173 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 November 2011 - 09:54 PM

just another thing:
I cannot delete the project without problems ... I always have to get the rights from "TrustedInstaller" to delete the workbench folder

#174 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 November 2011 - 08:31 AM

I know this. But this seemes to be a decision by Billy the Door, more than a glitch of multiPE.

The owner of an expanded wim is someone like S-1-5-??-??? ...

In XP I only get "???" cannot be deleted.

Then I eiher boot from Macrium Reflect PE2.1 and delete, or change the owner to me, give full access to all files and delete.

As I'm told, you also can delete from Linux.

Peter

#175 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10536 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 November 2011 - 09:31 AM

Wouldn't it be possible to get rid of the WIM driver once for all on this project?

Decompress files using 7zip and then packing them up inside a nice VHD?

This would be a real progress and solve all these WIM headaches.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: win7pe, vistape, multiboot, pe3, livecd, pe2, pe1

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users