Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Hotkeys and beeps?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 04 September 2011 - 06:38 PM

Hello people,
I'd like to create a menu, with submenu's that can be accessed by simply pressing a corresponding hotkey.
Example:
title hotkey1. Windows pre-environment
configfile /boot/wpe.lst
and in the wpe.lst contains:
title hotkey1. LiveXP
title hotkey2. w7pE
title hotkey0. back to main menu
configfile (hd0,0)/menu.lst
Is this possible at all, with grub4dos?
One last question
I use the \a after a title, i.e.
title windows pre-environment\a
is it possible to someway specify the various pitch that the sounds make?
I.e. if I'm on the first title, a low pich would be heard and if I move down it will increase in pich?
Help would be much appreciated.
Regards,

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 September 2011 - 06:57 PM

I guess you can remap keyboard numerical keys. :dubbio:
http://reboot.pro/8056/

No idea about the beep. :(

:cheers:
Wonko

#3 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 September 2011 - 10:10 PM

you could perhaps add some code to WENV to add a beep command which takes a frequency and duration parameter?

#4 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 05 September 2011 - 02:23 PM

Hi,

Thanks guys for the replies,
ok, Let's see what I understand of them:
@wonko,
I have followed those links, from the link you have given me, and I find that it is to do with the different keyboard layouts for grub4dos?
or perhaps I don't understand?
I am using the normal US keyboard layout, so I don't think that I'd need to change anything?
or would an example of something like:
title my stuff
setkey1
configfile /mystuff.lst
take me in to the mystuff menu if I had pressed 1?

Sorry for miss-understanding, which I think I've done.

eish, if only I we're good at understanding...
:(

@steve,
I have no clue how to implement what you speak of?
If you could give me an example, which would be a treat, or even give some guide to implement your suggestion, I'd be greatful!

As always, I'm open to any suggestions to get this thing going.

Again, thanks Wonko and Steve for the replies.

Regards,

#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 September 2011 - 02:35 PM

Well, I assumed that you knew that when you have menu.lst choices before you in grub4dos you can choose among them by pressing numerical keys. :)

:cheers:
Wonko

#6 TheRookie

TheRookie

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 156 posts
  • Location:in your mind
  • Interests:computers: (repairing, administration), reading: (technological info), outing: (having a good time), music (electronic, house, instrumental...) and hiking
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 15 September 2011 - 07:44 PM

Hello Wonko,

nope, I am slow with g4d, thus I have only come to know about it now.
thanks.
:)

But may I bug you just a tiny bit please?

Half of my problem is solved, where it actually puts me on the item I want by pressing the desired key. Is there some way to activate it automaticly?
Not that pressing enter is a problem for me, but, maybe you know something?
ok, I don't mean to bug you as in, its so bad that you should help me cause I feel lazy to press enter, but well, maybe wonko knows...

or other people know.

But I do really feel grateful knowing that I can press a certain key and it will put me on the item I want. really nice!

Ok, one more question please.
I'm planning to build myself a new computer. Now I hear these motherboards come with something called UEFI which is the newer type of bios?
will g4d work with this?

Ok, I'm done now, before I have more questions come up and, I don't want to waste anyones time.

thanks for any answers yall can provide!

and really this place, with the people, reboot.pro, is wonderful indeed.

:)

Regards,

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 September 2011 - 12:29 PM

I seem vaguely to remember that if you have no default you can have that effect, but cannot really remember.
steve6375 has played a lot with this and may be able to give you some ideas:
http://reboot.pro/14466/

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 September 2011 - 12:56 PM

If you use the latest version of grub4dos, numbered menus will automatically work - but you must have '0' entry even if it is not numbered 0.

title 1 try me

xx

xx

 

title another heading

root ()

 

title 2 try me

xxx

xxx


Will give strange results.
But


title This is my heading

root ()

 

title 1 try me

xx

xx

 

 

title another heading

root ()

 

title 2 try me

xxx

xxx

OR


title 0 try me

xx

xx

 

 

title 1 try me

xx

xx

 

title another heading

root()

 

title 2 try me

xxx

xxx

will work. You can add any number of blank entries - e.g. heading entries or separator lines as 'titles' and it will not muck up the numbering as long as you include a number at the start of the titles for your valid menu entries.

re. Selection without pressing Enter - not sure if this is possible
UEFI - I don't think grub4dos supports this.

#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 October 2013 - 07:02 PM

Some news on "beep" here:
http://reboot.pro/to...ented-features/
use Fn.2 7

:cheers:
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users