Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

[solved] I Can't use WinBuilder


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 12:14 PM

Hi, I have a problem. every LiveCD I make with WinBuilder does not work. There's always something that is wrong. or When I tried to make a Win98LiveCD the build finished with any errors but the LiveCD boot fails because some files are missing. What have I done wrong? I'm only an italian user...Why other users can build a LiveCD but I can't? :((

#2 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 12:51 PM

P.S here's the last build of BartPECore (of course failed)

http://dl.dropbox.co...uilder/log.html

what's wrong?

#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,613 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 12:59 PM

Hi, I have a problem. every LiveCD I make with WinBuilder does not work. There's always something that is wrong. or When I tried to make a Win98LiveCD the build finished with any errors but the LiveCD boot fails because some files are missing. What have I done wrong? I'm only an italian user...Why other users can build a LiveCD but I can't? :((


Let me assure you that (normally :whistling:) "Italians do it better!" ;) :)
Posted Image
The Win98livecd has seemingly (in it's last version) some problems.
If you want assistance, and go on from where Viden Ivanov left it, continue posting here:
http://reboot.pro/10373/
(provided that you already tested the suggestions made there unsuccessfully)

The "only" project that should you give *always* a successful build is any of the Amalux's "frozen builds":
http://reboot.pro/4111/
maybe you can try one of them, and once having succeeeded (and making sure that is not a problem on your side) you can come back and we will toruble-shoot the specific problems.

:cheers:
Wonko

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,167 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:00 PM

Hi Michele, welcome to the community!

Thank you for posting the log, that really helps but bartPEcore is a project whose developer is no longer around to help debugging this situation.

Would you care to try a more recent project for Windows XP?

Just a few days ago, al_jo posted an updated version of LiveXP that might interest you: http://reboot.pro/15195/

Or you can also try Amalux's packages from http://reboot.pro/4111/ that also contain a nice step-by-step tutorial to help you get it working as intended.


Good luck. :)

#5 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 986 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:36 PM

P.S here's the last build of BartPECore (of course failed)

http://dl.dropbox.co...uilder/log.html

what's wrong?

that project hasn't been updated in years!!! :hyper:

but seriously. if you want help with LiveWin98, LiveXP or WIn7PE_SE you need to post a full debug build log in the appropriate topic. nobody can or is going to try and read your mind.
  • enciktangankidal likes this

#6 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:36 PM

Hi Michele, welcome to the community!

Thank you for posting the log, that really helps but bartPEcore is a project whose developer is no longer around to help debugging this situation.

Would you care to try a more recent project for Windows XP?

Just a few days ago, al_jo posted an updated version of LiveXP that might interest you: http://reboot.pro/15195/

Or you can also try Amalux's packages from http://reboot.pro/4111/ that also contain a nice step-by-step tutorial to help you get it working as intended.


Good luck. :)


The problem IS that I Can't make a LiveXP CD-Rom as my XP CD is unatthended and something is edited (there's Microsoft IE 7 and WMP 11) but it should work. Can I Make a LiveXP build with that CD? It should be a COMPLETE Windows XP CD-ROM

Edited by Michele13, 23 August 2011 - 01:43 PM.


#7 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 986 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:53 PM


The problem IS that I Can't make a LiveXP CD-Rom as my XP CD is unatthended and something is edited (there's Microsoft IE 7 and WMP 11) but it should work. Can I Make a LiveXP build with that CD? It should be a COMPLETE Windows XP CD-ROM

actually if the CD is edited it could very well not work. many times modified CD's don't as changes are made, files are removed or nlitened. there is no way for us or Winbuilder to tell what was modified and how those modifications will affect the result. you should always use an unmodified or OEM cd if you want to ensure a successful build. you are just asking for trouble otherwise.

#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,167 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:57 PM

my XP CD is unatthended and something is edited

First you try with Amalux's package and see if it works or not. His project has been tested several times before in the past and if his project does not work then it is a good indication that your source has been too modified and cannot be used as source.

You are better of using a un-modified version of Windows XP.

:cheers:

#9 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 02:14 PM

First you try with Amalux's package and see if it works or not. His project has been tested several times before in the past and if his project does not work then it is a good indication that your source has been too modified and cannot be used as source.

You are better of using a un-modified version of Windows XP.

:cheers:


Do you know where I can find a full Trial Version of Windows 2003 that I can use to build my LiveCD? I Can't find it anymore on Microsoft Website

#10 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 02:24 PM

..you should always use an unmodified or OEM cd if you want to ensure a successful build...

Unfortunately, OEM (supplied by computer manufacturer) CD's can be as problematic as nLited or otherwise modified install disks. If at all possible, use a retail or original M$ image (downloaded ISO is fine) and copy the contents to a folder on your hard drive. Point to this folder as your source directory for Winbuilder to use and it should work fine.

p.s. a link to 2003 image is in the tutorial...

:)

#11 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 02:59 PM

Just for the record, thunns BartPECore works fine!
It's just, that it is a really old project and needs a just as old Winbuilder to work.
Luckily thunn was a clever guy and included the correct WinBuilder version in a script, in the project. So one can extract it after download and use it.

This all assumes of course, that the files on the server are still all ok, after a bunch of server moves and one has a 'valid' CD as source.

:cheers:

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,167 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 August 2011 - 03:12 PM

Do you know where I can find a full Trial Version of Windows 2003 that I can use to build my LiveCD? I Can't find it anymore on Microsoft Website


It seems Microsoft removed all the links from their website. I can find it either.

Would you care to try a project based on WAIK? The WAIK from Microsoft is free to download and can be used with projects that you find at http://reboot.pro/forum/91/

A full tutorial and explanation can be found at http://reboot.pro/14866/

:)

#13 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 03:16 PM

It seems Microsoft removed all the links from their website. I can find it either.

Is there something wrong with this one?
http://download.micr...F/X13-04874.img


p.s. a link to 2003 image is in the tutorial...


  • Nuno Brito likes this

#14 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 03:18 PM

Is there something wrong with this one?
http://download.micr...F/X13-04874.img


not at all. but I was not able to find it again! Homeware I will take the Windows XP Image...It is not unatthended right?

#15 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 03:25 PM

Unattended refers to how something (in this case Windows setup) is installed, separate issue from the image itself or source files used.

;)

#16 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 04:01 PM

I created the Live CD With no errors, burn the ISO reboot the computer...RamDisk full loaded, windows xp screen appears, a grey screen (it seems that the live cd is loading properly BUT I see my desktop wallpaper (What?!) and my pc reboots...I Used my CD. :'( now I will try the XP source that I've downloaded from this website. I hope it will work! :)

#17 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 04:16 PM

..it seems that the live cd is loading properly BUT I see my desktop wallpaper (What?!) and my pc reboots...

Yup, you'll see your wallpaper in PE unless you change this in Components->Tweaks->Wallpaper. Don't know why it reboots, see if it works better with a good source. If you still have trouble, upload your log.html (zipped) to MediaFire or similar and post link here.

:cheers:

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 04:42 PM

Some projects are configured by default, to use the wallpaper from your building machine for the PE.
You can change that.

:cheers:

#19 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 04:53 PM

YEAH!!! IT WORKS!!! I'm writing this post from LiveXP and in the meantime I'm listening to music. But now how can I change my keyboard layout? I know where're some keys but I prefer to hava an italian keyboard. Do you know how I can do this?

#20 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 August 2011 - 05:08 PM

...but I prefer to hava an italian keyboard. Do you know how I can do this?

It may be possible to add the proper registry settings at WB-System\ControlSet001\Control\Keyboard Layouts and supply the layout DLL but I don't have Italian source to try it. I don't think there is a ready made script (yet) for this... Glad it's working :)

#21 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 06:16 PM

Could have sworn, LiveXP has a script, to take the localized settings from the building computer.
Though this might not work for a XP based PE, that is build on a Vista or Win7 computer.

:cheers:

#22 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 06:26 PM

I will need only the International and Language Options on the control panel but it isn't there. BartPE can change the layout of keyboard. The MiniXP on the Hiren's boot CD can too (it should be based on LiveXP)

#23 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,763 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 07:33 PM

Don't ever reason: BartPE can do xxx --> Winbuilder project is newer --> so it can do xxx + more
BartPE+XPE aimed at giving one a PE as close as possible to a real XP.
LiveXP or any other XP based project never ever had that goal!!!

Most project striving for a good compomise between size and features. Usually leaning more to small size than more features.


:cheers:

#24 Michele13

Michele13

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 164 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 August 2011 - 11:52 PM

I have a Question: What does the AutoKeyboard script? It's on Amalux LiveXP build

Edited by Michele13, 23 August 2011 - 11:54 PM.


#25 enciktangankidal

enciktangankidal

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • Interests:Love to learn about developing software. Hope someday can be developer. ^^,
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 24 August 2011 - 01:04 AM

nobody can or is going to try and read your mind.


owh my... :wub:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users