Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Voodoo comes back?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2011 - 06:37 PM

Maybe we should create a new sub-forum Voodoo.
But as known, I do not believe that. Therefore here the story I cannot understand.

Base conditions:
I create a (Grub4Dos managed) ISO and / or UFD.

They contain 4 different PEs:
  • PE1 read only
  • PE1 with RAM boot
  • PE2
  • PE3
All PE? use Paraglider's great RemapDrives.exe to see in the booted PE "My" well known drive letters.
All PE? map the boot ISO / UFD to a (user choosable) drive letter, in the test case U: BTW: Using Y: (which is used by less flexible projects instead of <free choice:> does not make any difference.
The application Opera.exe is used by all PE?s, but stored only once on the ISO / UFD \localised programs>. The nativeEx_multiPE shortcut functionality links to the "actual situation"

A screen shoot of the booting PE3:
PE_Drives.jpg
All "My-Known-Drives" letters are correct, and Opera links to an usable drive U:
Logically the same result we have with PE2.

Now PE1:
Everything seems to work fine. Here also Opera links to an usable drive U: (Clicking the shortcut opens Opera with WEB connection). And under cmd "dir <known drive>" works well.
And the Voodoo part: Explorer has no knowledge about the current configuration:
PE_Drives_XP.jpg

My question: (Regardless Wonko will answer with "Yes" or "No"):

Can somebody explain this Voodoo, and maybe tell me what I did wrong?

Thanks!

Peter

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,845 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 July 2011 - 07:19 PM

Explorer may need to be killed and re-started.
This behaviour might be (loosely) connected to the one seen here :thumbsup::
http://reboot.pro/7681/
http://pasotech.alte...icoli/regfs.htm

It is possible that Explorer gets drive letters from another key, this one, probably:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints2
or:
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints2

:)
Wonko

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 14 July 2011 - 07:25 PM

Does refreshing Explorer help? Or typing into the addressbar U: and hitting enter?

:thumbsup:

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2011 - 07:28 PM

Explorer may need to be killed and re-started.
This behaviour might be (loosely) connected to the one seen here :thumbsup::
http://reboot.pro/7681/
http://pasotech.alte...icoli/regfs.htm

It is possible that Explorer gets drive letters from another key, this one, probably:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints2
or:
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints2

:cheers:
Wonko

I already tried to restart explorer, but in the actual configuration that is equivalent with exiting the shell and reboots (with the previous results ...) :)

I'll have a look at the links and registry locations you mentioned, but tomorrow ...
Now for me late enough! :)

Thanks for your post. :cheers:

Peter :cheers:

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2011 - 07:34 PM

Does refreshing Explorer help? Or typing into the addressbar U: and hitting enter?

:)

#1: No
#2: As I explained, everything is ok besides what the explorer shows :thumbsup:

BTW: Maybe an additional hint:

I can bring EVERY of the "invisible" drive letters into explorer by
  • renaming under mmc to any free drive letter
  • renaming under mmc to the "official" drive letter
But that does NOT remove the erroneus clone from explorer
Peter :)

#6 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 14 July 2011 - 09:36 PM

The problm is, that explorer does not get the message that something was changed.
Eighter you've found an old bug in PE1 or there is a dependency missing for paragliders program in PE1, so it does not work correct.

Have a similar problem with USB-Drives in Win7PE_SE.


:thumbsup:

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2011 - 07:17 AM

I found this: http://stackoverflow...indows-explorer

The combination of SHChangeNotify() followed by WM_SETTINGCHANGE seems to work quite well on Vista. But I still can't refresh the folder tree on XP if it is displayed.


Peter :thumbsup:

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,845 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 July 2011 - 07:49 AM

I already tried to restart explorer, but in the actual configuration that is equivalent with exiting the shell and reboots (with the previous results ...) :thumbsup:

Try switching the shell to (say) cmd.exe, then restart Explorer (for test).

:)
Wonko

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2011 - 10:10 AM

Try switching the shell to (say) cmd.exe, then restart Explorer (for test).

:thumbsup:
Wonko

I started the PE with cmd as shell.
After everything like RemapDrives has been successfully processed, I started explorer from cmd window.

Result: Same "error" icons.

Peter

#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,845 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 July 2011 - 01:33 PM

Hmmm.
Can you try with remount?
http://www.uwe-siebe...btrouble_e.html

Or good ol' mountvol?

:thumbsup:
Wonko

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 July 2011 - 04:46 PM

Can you try with remount?
http://www.uwe-siebe...btrouble_e.html

Does not make any difference, when I replace my "easyDriveLetter" by ReMount.

In the mean time there are some new experiences / informations. Remapping the drives in RunOnce, seems to be too early.
  • Moving that to AutoStart, shows most of the new drive letters in Explorer *.
    But there are still the "Red Question Mark Phantoms"
  • I do not know why and how (maybe a new voodoo), but MountStorPE lets the phantoms disappear
Everything ok now?
Unfortunatelly NOT.

* In the Explorer my D: drive (second partition of first HDD) is not shown. The other partitions (1, 3, 4) are shown.
With that partition I do not see any unusual. It is NTFS, like all others.

Who kills the Voodoo?

Peter