Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Test WinBuilder 082


  • Please log in to reply
169 replies to this topic

#1 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10565 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 June 2011 - 12:51 PM

Hello,

Second and hopefully final preview of version 082 is now available at http://code.google.c...82_preview2.zip

Here is the list of changes:

Update topic:

changed - comp80 default from ON to OFF
fixed - bug in interface editor with multiple selected components
fixed - bug in interface editor with weblabel in panel
fixed - lost custom title
published as release preview
fixed - bug in If command, when a compare string starts with "run"
changed - removed "orphaned" System,HasDOS8_3 command
fixed - bug which in interface editor with multiple selections sometimes "forgot" single selections
fixed - bug introduced by removing of System,HasDOS8_3 command
added - when image does not contain URL, click into the image starts the default graphical editor
changed - place weblabels in front of textlabels
fixed - script editor bug with source code button (the light bulb) http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__131528
fixed - single run now displays script's description rather than script.project description
fixed - bug with endless loop in exiting WinBuilder, when a script has been deleted externally
fixed - When in interface editor activating "resize to fit" on an image, the corner dots of the image are not repositioned correctly until the image is clicked
changed - set "clear" button in interface editor / image to invisible
added - RefreshControl method to TInterfaceComponentManager. That hopefully avoids interface troubles with con-classic themes
frozen for second release preview as 82.0.0.15 on 2011-JUL-01






----------------------------------------------
Initial topic:

I need help testing version 082 of WinBuilder that you find at http://goo.gl/SNfHH


Traditionally, people report defects right after we announce an official stable. Please test the current version and report us back your feedback. If there are no outstanding defects, this version will be published as the official stable release.

Thank you!

Edited by Nuno Brito, 14 July 2011 - 01:17 PM.


#2 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:21 PM

I already mailed thos to peter, just here for the record:

• When using the IF editor in Win7 with an Aero theme active, pressing alt will make all checkboxes disappear from the interface. Minimizing and maximizing WB redraws them. This is annyouing as I often user ALT+PRTSCR to make a screenshot. This screenshot then does not show the checkboxes

• It is not common practice to select objects by shift cklicking them. In the IF editor you currently have to shift click each item to select them as a group.
In explorer or anywhere else in Windows, shift click selects from a selected item to the clicked item, and ctrl click would to what WB does with Shift. This is very irritating. Just replace Shift click with ctrl click in WB please

• When creating a new picture and there is already a checkbox at the area where the mew image is created (top left in the if editor) the checkbox is not correctly redrawn when moving the image to it real location in the interface

• When activating "resize to fit" on an image, the corner dots of the image are not repositioned correctly until the image is clicked

• It is not possible to right click on selected items to bring up the adjust menu (for aligning). Right click only works on fileboxes or free area

The last one is quite annoying…

#3 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:25 PM

from the history file:

added - System,HasDOS8_3 command

as far as i know this has not been added

http://reboot.pro/14...__1#entry128456

#4 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:28 PM

from history:

changed comp80 default from ON to OFF

this might need some more explaination....

#5 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10565 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 June 2011 - 03:09 PM

I recommend using the windows 7 snipping tool: http://windows.micro...s/snipping-tool

It is really handy when compared to the plain prtscr method.

-------

If these are are interface editor defects, I am not so worried.

Right now I am more focused on aspects of running projects from an end user perspective. The Delphi compiler UI support is troublesome and this can be addressed with due time on beta series 083 than rushed with a fix right now.

#6 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 June 2011 - 04:05 PM

I recommend using the windows 7 snipping tool: http://windows.micro...s/snipping-tool
It is really handy when compared to the plain prtscr method.


hmmm, how can anything be more handy than

alt-prtscr, alt-tab,ctrl-v

Faster seems impossible to me:-)

#7 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1030 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 June 2011 - 04:06 PM

System,HasDOS8_3 command - is still in the magic wand

Tools> "No Icon Download" checkbox should be changed to read "No Icons in log" (icons are no longer downloaded) to better reflect what the checkbox does. perhaps even better would be to reverse the behavior and title the checkbox "Show Icons in log" with the default being checked.

Shift-Click for multi-selecting interface components is not consistent with windows or ANY other program. please change it to CTRL-Click

Interface Image component has changed to only open a URL on click. this change is not documented! and will cause confusion as some projects/script developers use the old behavior (clicking on an image opens the original sized image) for instructions/documentation purposes. this change should be documented and perhaps made optional (ex. no url specified reverts to old behavior).

in the interface editor the label for the tooltip inputbox is not visible unless you are using the "Classic" theme.

#8 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 June 2011 - 04:28 PM

Thanks homes32....

that are the bugs that drive me mad when making interfaces.-))

@peter: please start testing under win7 with aero theme...as you always work with xp clasic theme you never see those bugs.
If i recall correctly you bought a new PC with Win7 just für this purpose almost two years ago.-)

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 June 2011 - 05:15 PM

Thanks homes32....

that are the bugs that drive me mad when making interfaces.-))

@peter: please start testing under win7 with aero theme...as you always work with xp clasic theme you never see those bugs.
If i recall correctly you bought a new PC with Win7 just für this purpose almost two years ago.-)

You are not correct!
The test PC contains Vista x64! ;)

Maybe somebody "donates" a licensed Win7 DVD to me, like fxscrpt did with Vista x64 ...

Pewter

#10 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1739 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 June 2011 - 12:58 AM

I also am seeing the problem with the ALT key on windows 7 when winbuilder has focus. Just click the taskbar then hit ALT to avoid the problem.

You also don't need to minimize to get the check boxes back. Just click winbuilder and move the mouse over the area where the missing checkboxes are.

#11 Scott Dare

Scott Dare
  • Patrician
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 June 2011 - 01:59 AM

Howdy!

I dId not do any detailed feature testing, but was able to drop .82 into an existing Win7PE_SE project folder and it did the job just like .81 (log available at http://goo.gl/b1hib).

Also used .82 to download a fresh copy of the Win7PE_SE project, dropped in the pre-req files and it ran just fine - including the VirutalBox test (log available at http://goo.gl/UtI46)

Fab work as usual!

Cheers, S. Dare

#12 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 16 June 2011 - 05:32 AM

You also don't need to minimize to get the check boxes back. Just click winbuilder and move the mouse over the area where the missing checkboxes are.


Well i tried this and it did not work for me...do not know why.-( Thanks for verifying this

#13 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 16 June 2011 - 05:54 AM

You are not correct!
The test PC contains Vista x64! :smiling9:

Maybe somebody "donates" a licensed Win7 DVD to me, like fxscrpt did with Vista x64 ...

Pewter

If it’s only for testing purpose, there is always “Windows 7 Enterprise trial”
http://technet.micro...center/cc442495
:cheers:

#14 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10565 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:48 AM

Howdy!

I dId not do any detailed feature testing, but was able to drop .82 into an existing Win7PE_SE project folder and it did the job just like .81 (log available at http://goo.gl/b1hib).

Also used .82 to download a fresh copy of the Win7PE_SE project, dropped in the pre-req files and it ran just fine - including the VirutalBox test (log available at http://goo.gl/UtI46)

Fab work as usual!

Cheers, S. Dare

Hi Scott, welcome to the community and thank you for helping!

:smiling9:

#15 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 05:21 AM

http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__131062

system,comp80,on not working?

#16 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 06:14 AM

regarding com80,on:

a few weeks ago Peter told me (please correct me peter if i misunderstood)

com80,off (now default in 082) would result in the following:

constants can not be changed in the project (like %sourcedir%)
variables can not be used as macros
some special regwrite operations work differen

Is this correct?

I really do not like to bring up the issue again, but my project uses some of those features and i would like to use comp80,on until i find the time to fix all of them.

Can i verify in which mode WB is running easily?

Can anybody confirm that system,com80,on does not work aus expected in wb 082?

Thanks!

#17 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2011 - 06:28 AM

System,Comp80,ON and System,Comp80,OFF work. I checked in the debugger.

Can you tell us, what especially goes wrong?

Peter

#18 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 07:39 AM

i was thinking about this

http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__131027

but you already solved it...thanks!

i really would like to verify that my regwrites are not messed up.
Is there any way to find these regwrites that are interpreted differently between comp80,on and off?

#19 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2011 - 08:10 AM

i really would like to verify that my regwrites are not messed up.
Is there any way to find these regwrites that are interpreted differently between comp80,on and off?

This compare is just what Nuno intended when he started this topic :wheelchair:

I would compare comp80 ON / OFF AND the real wb80.

Do the build, export the registry, and compare.
Easier compare would be, when you create WB script lines with reg2WBS, but converting of the software hive needs long time. I remember around half an hour.

Peter

#20 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 09:09 AM

I would compare comp80 ON / OFF AND the real wb80.


is it ok to set the system,comp80,on in the process section of script.project? Or where is the best place to make it active projectwide?

What is the best tool to compare my exported registry? Most recompare tools i tested (a year ago) crashed when comapring really big reg exports...

#21 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2011 - 09:27 AM

script.project [process] is the place I also use in nativeEx_multiPE.

For compare I use ExamDoff Pro, and I'm very satisfied with it. But it is commercial.

Peter

#22 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 09:36 AM

thanks, i will take a look at it...

#23 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1739 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 June 2011 - 12:07 PM

From the history file I see a number of new commands / new parameters have been added. Are these enhancements going to be documented somewhere?

#24 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 June 2011 - 12:38 PM

From the history file I see a number of new commands / new parameters have been added. Are these enhancements going to be documented somewhere?


:-)))

That would be nice...

#25 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15489 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 June 2011 - 12:46 PM

Wonko loves rethorical answers even more than rethorical questions. :dubbio:

;)

:cheers:
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users