Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Tweaking isolinux.cfg menu


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 13 June 2011 - 03:18 PM

the first thing i am wanting to accomplish is to create a menu seperator that is not able to be selected. see screenie below
Posted Image

the second thing is i want to be able to hit the ESC key to return to the previous menu.

third, i want to enable wrap-around menus. so when i reach the last selection in my menu choices - it will return me to the top of the menu.

below is my isolinux.cfg

default vesamenu.c32

prompt 0

allowoptions 0

menu width 78

menu margin 4

menu rows 14

menu background sardu.jpg



menu title Umbrella Multiboot Rescue Kit V4



#menu notabmsg Press [Tab] to edit options



menu color border 0 #ffffffff #ee000000 std

menu color title 0 #ffffffff #ee000000 std

menu color sel 0 #ffffffff #85000000 std

menu color unsel 0 #ffffffff #ee000000 std

menu color pwdheader 0 #ff000000 #99ffffff rev

menu color pwdborder 0 #ff000000 #99ffffff rev

menu color pwdentry 0 #ff000000 #99ffffff rev

menu color hotkey 0 #ff00ff00 #ee000000 std

menu color hotsel 0 #ffffffff #85000000 std



#####menu color option  forground #ALPHA/R/G/B  background #ALPHA/R/G/B

#####Black_menu color sel 0 #ffffffff #ff000000

#####Green_menu color sel 0 #ff00ff00 #ff000000

#####Red_menu color sel 0 #ffff0000 #ff000000



label 0

menu label  Boot from HD

TEXT HELP

Boot from the default hard disks' operating system(s).

ENDTEXT

    localboot 0x80

timeout 400

#







#

label -

menu label ^A) AVG Rescue CD

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

MENU INDENT 1

TEXT HELP

The AVG Rescue CD is able to update its virus definitions over 

the internet once initialized. This Version of the AVG Rescue 

CD is based on the linux kernal.

ENDTEXT

kernel menu.c32

    APPEND /AVG/AVG.cfg

#







#

label -

menu LABEL ^:smiling9: Kon-Boot (windows + linux)

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Kon-Boot allows you to bypass the login window on windows and linux systems.

Once Kon-Boot is ran - you are able to gain access to that systems

desktop. After reboot - kon-boot is removed and the normal boot process 

is put back in place. 

ENDTEXT

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

KERNEL memdisk

APPEND initrd=extra/konboot.img

#

#



label Memtest86+

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

menu label ^C) MemTest86+

TEXT HELP

Memtest86+ is an open source memory test software designed to test and stress test an 

86 architecture computer's random access memory (RAM) for errors.

ENDTEXT

KERNEL /memdisk

MENU INDENT 1

    append ramdisk_size=100000 initrd=/memtestp.imz

#

#boot di PMAGIC

label Parted Magic

menu label ^D) Parted Magic

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Parted Magic handles partitioning tasks with ease, as Parted Magic 

supports the following: btrfs, ext2, ext3, ext4, fat16, 

fat32, hfs, hfs+, jfs, linux-swap, ntfs, reiserfs, reiser4, & xfs.

ENDTEXT

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

      kernel vesamenu.c32

    APPEND /pmagic/pmagic_.cfg

#





LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^E) TestDisk / PhotoRec / LiloPwd

menu indent 1

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

TEXT HELP

TestDisk/PhotoRec Can Fix partition table, Rebuild FAT12/FAT16/FAT32 boot 

sector, Fix FAT tables, Rebuild NTFS boot sector, Undelete files from 

FAT, exFAT, NTFS and ext2 filesystem, LiloPwd Is able to 

Crack into Linux OS Drives.

ENDTEXT

kernel /memdisk

    append initrd=/TestDisk.imz

	

	

#boot di UmbrellaPE in RAM

label UmbrellaPE

MENU label ^F) UmbrellaPE V4

TEXT HELP

UmbrellaPE is able to boot on a machine with 256MB+ of RAM. This is a fully 

functional Bootable Windows XP OS. The Entire Image Loads into RAM and the CD 

is able to be removed after the Desktop loaded. This has Driver Support for an 

extended number of Mass Storage Controllers as well as WLAN and LAN Devices.	

ENDTEXT

menu indent 1

MENU PASSWD $4$NTA1MjQ5NDk0OTQ5$2FYuPDIKF5jgumKmVu5AhAzNPeI$

      COM32 /chain.c32

APPEND boot ntldr=/i386/SETUPLDR.BIN



#

	

	

	

	

	

#

label blank

menu label ----------------------------------------------------------------------

#



LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^G) BIOS

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

A Set of BIOS tools that allow you to crack into a password protected BIOS. 

Also Contains tools to wipe a corrupted BIOS.

ENDTEXT

kernel vesamenu.c32

APPEND /ubcd/menus/syslinux/bios.cfg



LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^H) CPU

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Contains a set of CPU utilities that allow you to Stress test and obtain 

information about a computers CPU.

ENDTEXT

kernel vesamenu.c32

APPEND /ubcd/menus/syslinux/cpu.cfg



LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^I) HDD

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Contains a set of tools for HD Diagnostics, information, editing, 

wiping, recovery, imaging, and partition management.

ENDTEXT

kernel vesamenu.c32

APPEND /ubcd/menus/syslinux/hdd.cfg



LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^J) System

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Contains System Information tools, CD Drive tools, LCD Tests, PCI Tools, 

and the ability to test Nvidia Graphic card RAM.

ENDTEXT

kernel vesamenu.c32

APPEND /ubcd/menus/syslinux/system.cfg



LABEL -

MENU LABEL ^K) Windows

menu indent 1

TEXT HELP

Contains a set of tools specifically for Windows Operating Systems.

EDNTEXT

kernel vesamenu.c32

APPEND /ubcd/menus/syslinux/Windows.cfg



#reboot

label Reboot

menu label Reboot

      KERNEL Reboot.c32

your thoughts =)

#2 shamurshamur

shamurshamur

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 322 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 June 2011 - 03:53 PM

well for making unselectable menu you can use MENU DISABLE

Here's the quote from syslinux documents(menu.txt)


MENU DISABLE



	(Only valid after a LABEL statement.)

	Makes the entry unselectable.  This allows you to make a

	section in your menu with different options below it.

	for example:



	# Entries for network boots

	LABEL -

		MENU LABEL Network:

		MENU DISABLE




In you case correct entry should be

#

label blank

menu label ----------------------------------------------------------------------

menu disable

#



#3 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 June 2011 - 05:40 PM

I think that for a "return" to a "previous" menu, the issue is WHAT is the previous menu...You can certainly chain to "another" menu, and have an explicit entry to go back to the previous (if you know it) menu as a normal entry.

Or, you could do what Parted Magic does (did?) and use the SUB menu approach...From the wiki pages on the menu.c32 COM module

MENU BEGIN [tagname]

MENU END



        Begin/end a submenu. The entries between MENU BEGIN and MENU END form a submenu, which is marked with a > mark on the right hand of the screen. Submenus inherit the properties of their parent menus, but can override them, and can thus have their own backgrounds, master passwords, titles, timeouts, messages and so forth. 



MENU GOTO tagname



        (Only valid after a LABEL statement.) 

        This label will transfer to the named submenu instead of booting anything. To transfer to the top-level menu, specify "menu goto .top". 



MENU EXIT [tagname]



        (Only valid after a label statement inside MENU BEGIN ... MENU END) 

        Exit to the next higher menu, or, if tagname is specified, to the named menu. 

Here is a part of the "language" submenu...
MENU BEGIN

MENU TITLE +   Language



LABEL german

MENU LABEL ^German

TEXT HELP

Set locales to German

ENDTEXT

LINUX /pmagic/bzImage

INITRD /pmagic/initramfs

APPEND edd=off load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal loglevel=9 max_loop=256 vmalloc=256MiB keymap=de-latin1 de_DE



LABEL french

MENU LABEL ^French

TEXT HELP

Set locales to French

ENDTEXT

LINUX /pmagic/bzImage

INITRD /pmagic/initramfs

APPEND edd=off load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal loglevel=9 max_loop=256 vmalloc=256MiB keymap=fr-latin1 fr_FR 

.

.

.



MENU SEPARATOR

LABEL return_main

MENU LABEL ^.. Return to main Boot Options Menu

MENU EXIT



MENU END


Again, it's not "esc" to return, but you have the menu entry to "pop back up" a level, and can go to it with the "." as the shortcut character in the label..

Good Luck
:smiling9:

#4 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 13 June 2011 - 06:51 PM

@shamur
that worked - but it created another problem =/
now it looks as if the "------------------------------" is always selected (see screenie)
Posted Image
at one point in building my menus - i had it the way it should be...but i have made changes..and now its not working.

@sbaeder
yea. i already have a menu item (..) taht is mapped to the previous menu.. i was thinking more of a hotkey solution with being able to hit ESC and returning to a menu.... actually...
now that i think about it... i know that you can use the ^ to create hotkeys in your menu....is there a way to make ESC a hotkey and have it automatically enter that selection upon pressing the key?

#5 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:12 PM

@shamur
that worked - but it created another problem =/
now it looks as if the "------------------------------" is always selected...

@sbaeder
yea. i already have a menu item (..) taht is mapped to the previous menu.. i was thinking more of a hotkey solution with being able to hit ESC and returning to a menu.... actually...
now that i think about it... i know that you can use the ^ to create hotkeys in your menu....is there a way to make ESC a hotkey and have it automatically enter that selection upon pressing the key?

What about just making it be that *IF* they happen to select that line, it just loops back to the display of the same screen??? Not elegant, but same outcome as if it couldn't be selected...

As for escape as the key code - not sure how you enter it into the tect file for the menu or even if it would process it.

p.s. also noticed that there is (with 4.0) new features that aren't yet documented fully -
MENU IMMEDIATE --- permit hotkeys to activate immediately without needing Enter
Edit...
IF you can get escape into file and IF it will process it, then that could work
From looking at code, it looks like it requires it to be an uppercase letter...

Can't you just use a different (printable) charcter?

#6 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 14 June 2011 - 07:28 PM

hmmm... ill just use a different printable character. no big deal.
thakns for the help.

i would like to use the MENU IMMEDIATE command.
how would i use it??
im not sure where it should go in my isolinux.cfg

also, i am using v3.86 on my boot CD
how would i go about upgrading to the latest 4.04 version of syslinux?

#7 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 14 June 2011 - 09:44 PM

@shamur
that worked - but it created another problem =/
now it looks as if the "------------------------------" is always selected (see screenie)
Posted Image
at one point in building my menus - i had it the way it should be...but i have made changes..and now its not working.



on this issue, i have found a solution.
everyone stand down.... i know you guys have been scouring the net to find the answer.
the answer was to have this as my seperator


# 

label blank 

menu label ---------------------------------------------------------------------- 

menu disable

# 


and then for my color formatting - i had to add in this

menu color disabled 0 #ffffffff #ee000000 std



problem solved. =)

now all i need is to be able to use the MENU IMMEDIATE command properly...anyone have any ideas?

#8 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 June 2011 - 11:56 PM

and then for my color formatting - i had to add in this


menu color disabled 0 #ffffffff #ee000000 std



problem solved. =)

now all i need is to be able to use the MENU IMMEDIATE command properly...anyone have any ideas?

Ahhhh...very smart grasshopper! Make it blend into the background for the text colors of "disabled" items! As for the "immediate" mode, are you using the latest/greatest of all the syslinux tools (especially the vesa/menu.c32)? Does it work with "normal" characters? Inquiring minds want to know!

#9 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 15 June 2011 - 01:36 AM

Ahhhh...very smart grasshopper! Make it blend into the background for the text colors of "disabled" items! As for the "immediate" mode, are you using the latest/greatest of all the syslinux tools (especially the vesa/menu.c32)? Does it work with "normal" characters? Inquiring minds want to know!


the ISO i am working with is 3.86.
i have no idea how to upgrade my syslinux/isolinux to the latest version of 4.04.

i am using ultraiso to edit my iso.

EDIT: i have started a new thread about manually updating from 3.86 to 4.04 - please post any replies regaurding this issue here
HERE

#10 Jotnar

Jotnar

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 19 June 2011 - 06:37 PM

I dig the layout :cheers:

Glad to see someone else got some use out of that menu config.

Edited by Jotnar, 19 June 2011 - 06:37 PM.


#11 shamurshamur

shamurshamur

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 322 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 19 June 2011 - 06:49 PM

I dig the layout :cheers:

Glad to see someone else got some use out of that menu config.

well, i too used your layout in my software "xboot" for creating Syslinux menu.
So thanks.:cheers:

#12 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 19 June 2011 - 07:23 PM

yea, it is a really good layout.
i added my own tweaks to it.. good job! lol

#13 u2o

u2o

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 257 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  •  
    Argentina

Posted 19 June 2011 - 07:48 PM

Use MENU SEPARATOR

Posted Image


INCLUDE /isolinux/defaults.cfg

#

say **********************************************************************

say THIS SOFTWARE COMES WITH ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! 

say **********************************************************************

#

TIMEOUT 590

ONTIMEOUT hddboot

MENU AUTOBOOT Booteando desde disco local en # segundo{,s}...

#

LABEL Memtest

	MENU LABEL ^7) Memtest                                        >

	KERNEL /isolinux/vesamenu.c32

	APPEND /isolinux/memtest.cfg

#

MENU SEPARATOR

#

LABEL SHID

	MENU LABEL Otras Opciones:

	MENU DISABLE

#

label sb

	menu label ^N) Fix "NTLDR is Missing"

	menu indent 2

	KERNEL /isolinux/memdisk

	APPEND initrd=/isolinux/ntldr.gz

#

LABEL hddboot

	menu label ^H) Iniciar desde HDD

	menu indent 2

	localboot 0x80

#

LABEL reboot

	menu label ^R) Reiniciar

	menu indent 2

	KERNEL /isolinux/reboot.c32

#


#14 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 June 2011 - 01:41 AM

Use MENU SEPARATOR

This is slightly different, but gives a similar look. Difference is that he wanted an item that couldn't be selected (and also invisible), but acted like an item. This gives a blank space in the menu that you can't "land on"...

BUT, both are just different ways to accomplish nearly the same thing! And more choices/knowledge is always good! :smart:

#15 u2o

u2o

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 257 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  •  
    Argentina

Posted 20 June 2011 - 02:54 AM

Yes, your choice!

#16 DurgaDas

DurgaDas
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Yoga, table tennis, computers (obviously), coaching sports, cycling, Vedanta, philosophy, lifecoaching
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 05:26 PM

Given that the main syslinux website is down, and it seems that all the information I need is housed there, how do I find out how to use sub-menus within pxelinux? I've been searching in vain for syntax references that AREN'T on kernel.org or zytor.

#17 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 07:28 PM

Not sure it will have what you need, but I used the "wayback" machine a few weeks back to access older version of the WIKI...http://web.archive.o...yslinux_Project

#18 DurgaDas

DurgaDas
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Yoga, table tennis, computers (obviously), coaching sports, cycling, Vedanta, philosophy, lifecoaching
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 November 2011 - 08:44 PM

Thanks so much! That's VERY helpful, as is the content of this thread, to my current project.

#19 Mena N. Habib

Mena N. Habib
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 16 September 2014 - 08:41 PM

Can anyone tell me which line can make that transparent menu background :D ??






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users