Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Remote access to a Win PE


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Corsario28

Corsario28
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 07:26 PM

Is there any way to add to a PE the www.teamviewer.com application? ran with permanent connection (so you know the ID file and pwd) in order to someone boot the PE from network and you can access the PE from remote site, having the access to that PC for deploy and whatever you want to do with a PE.
I´ve been testing WIM files from AIK, but none of these images support any remote app, even VNC, you can run the service but after type the server password from client, its just reject the connection. Same with Dameware with manual installation.

Thank you in advance

#2 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 08:27 PM

i use livexp.
and the best way i have found to do what you are wanting to do is to run the "teamviewer quick support" application inside your PE.
in livexp - a couple of files are not included in the default system32 folder. so what i have done is created a "launch_Teamviewer.bat" which copies the required files from my CD to they correct locations in my PEs %systemdrive% and then launches the teamviewerqs.exe.

this works great...but does not set a default password =(

as long as you have a way of getting your id and pw from teamviewer - this works great.

again, this was tested inside of livexp.
attached is my PE friendly teamviewer zip file.

maybe you could create a script that
1. launches teamviewerqs.exe
2. takes screenshot of entire screen
3. emails or uploads screenshot to predefined email address or FTP server

perhaps that is the round-about way of doing what you are wanting.

hope this helps a little.

http://www.mediafire...346aaid72gm97hn <---livexp friendly teamviewerqs

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 02 June 2011 - 08:44 PM

For using passwords, you will need a program that does not use Windows resources to handle security. Windows security is disabled in all PE, at least the PE1, not so sure about PE2 & PE3.

:cheers:

#4 oopsboy

oopsboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 22 June 2011 - 10:48 AM

We use www.bomgar.com to do get-in Windows PE2/PE3 remotely. We also automated Windows XP/Vista/7 installation. So anyone with our WinPE DVD could get remote support once they boot up.

#5 RoyM

RoyM

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 417 posts
  • Interests:"Booting and Owning".
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 June 2011 - 02:38 PM

Can you provide more details oopsboy, or perhaps even script. or snippets of script.

Thanx

#6 opieharper

opieharper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 July 2011 - 07:49 PM

I have integrated a SimpleHelp session with a unique ID into my build. It autoconnects to our system, sort of like a Logmein, and we can control it from there. Works really well.

#7 John Willis

John Willis
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:College Station, Texas
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 May 2013 - 05:09 PM

teamviewer version 5 seems to work well in winpe, I've found you can communicate the teamviewer id by "pulling" a false request for a webpage from a webserver and watching the log file for the request say http://www.mywebserver.com/<tvid number>

 

teamviewwer version 6, version 7, version 8 seem to have some special logic to prevent running those in a reduced DLL system

 

might also mention teamviewer is at its core a 32 bit app whcih means winpe 64 bit doesn't work


Edited by John Willis, 16 May 2013 - 05:11 PM.


#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 May 2013 - 06:44 PM

teamviewer version 5 seems to work well in winpe, I've found you can communicate the teamviewer id by "pulling" a false request for a webpage from a webserver and watching the log file for the request say http://www.mywebserver.com/<tvid number>

 

teamviewwer version 6, version 7, version 8 seem to have some special logic to prevent running those in a reduced DLL system

 

might also mention teamviewer is at its core a 32 bit app whcih means winpe 64 bit doesn't work

Teamviewer version 6 has been reported to work, 7 not, at least version 6.0.10511, guess who provided this report? ;):

http://reboot.pro/to...-for-win7pe-se/

 

Just for the record, it is possible to add the WOW64 32 bit sub-system to 64 bit PE's:

http://reboot.pro/to...ession-winpe-4/

though it's the whole idea (IMHO) of 64 bit PE that is "failed" (in the sense that there are not any advantages of a 64 bit PE over a 32 bit PE, or noone has - to the best of my knowledge - managed to provide a valid list of them ).

http://reboot.pro/to...-64-bit-system/

http://reboot.pro/to...drive/?p=151030

http://reboot.pro/to...32-bit-version/

 

:cheers:

Wonko


  • John Willis likes this

#9 John Willis

John Willis
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:College Station, Texas
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:00 PM

That is interesting.

 

Not sure where I went wrong with version 6.

 

As for 64 bit versions, two theorecticals issues:

 

1. diskpart tool might not be able to handle GPT volumes over 2 TB for partitioning if its not 64 bit, or I could be wrong and VDS manages that after disk manager is started.. diskpart might only be for MBR

2. some tools may become 64 bit only or not have a 32 counterpart in the near future

 

Debating in my mind the advantage of WinPE versus VHD over iSCSI for sometime now, for that matter whether boot VHD would be viable even from flash or dvdiso in a ramdisk.

 

The days of WinPE could be numbered if WinPEs advantages are merely crash proofiness when an appropriate driver is not found.

 

If iSCSI ever makes it mainstream into UEFI as a universal module.. and iPXE tends to hint that it might.. then like the Apple Mac target disk mode may become the "normal" method for all installs be that windex, linux, or osx

 

I really like the Syslinux Pxelinux boot from http kernel, that with an iBFT table would make provisoning a server from a Cloud support infrastructure amazingly simple and robust.


Edited by John Willis, 16 May 2013 - 07:05 PM.


#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:03 AM

As for 64 bit versions, two theorecticals issues:

 

1. diskpart tool might not be able to handle GPT volumes over 2 TB for partitioning if its not 64 bit, or I could be wrong and VDS manages that after disk manager is started.. diskpart might only be for MBR

2. some tools may become 64 bit only or not have a 32 counterpart in the near future

#1 is the past, it is not "theoretical" at all (and of course it's not "practical"), there is NO connection between 32 bit processor/code and 2 TB size, the 2 TB  limit is connected to MBR style partitioning (GPT is needed) differences in diskpart (and in filesystem drivers) between 32bit and 64bit are a thing of the past, that applied only to XP.

#2 is the future

 

Live today! :)

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#11 Danode

Danode
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 September 2013 - 02:39 AM

Hi Oopsboy..

I am working on the same right now...

Can you help with any info...

I want to have bomgar start right up because i get alot of users who can hardly turn on a computer..



#12 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2695 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:27 PM

Hi Gents,

 

To remotely access my winpe, I use the following batch launched automatically when winpe starts (from winpeshl.ini).

 

it stops the firewall,

it uses bginfo to display the ip on the wallpaper,

it imports a reg file which disable the need to authenticate in vnc,

it starts tightvnc.

 

With this I can have non IT personel / remote user start a computer on usb boot and then I can do my business (retrieve files, clone the disk, etc) ...

 

 

Regards,

Erwan

 

@echo off
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\extra\bginfo\BgInfo.exe %SYSTEMDRIVE%\extra\BgInfo\BgInfo.bgi /timer:0 /accepteula
call %systemdrive%\extra\stop_firewall.bat
reg import %systemdrive%\extra\tightvnc\vnc_nopassword.reg
cd %systemdrive%\extra\tightvnc
start tvnserver -run

Attached Files


  • llewis likes this

#13 grrrd

grrrd

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 135 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:47 AM

I am another one for VNC, i use VNC4 and state the Port number (which can be very useful if you are going through routers to control a certain machine!)

start /min "" "x:\program files\RealVNC\VNC4\winvnc4.exe" Portnumber=5000





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users